Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Irish Government discussion thread [See Post 1805]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,732 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

PeadarCo wrote: »
    My comment wasn't about Irish water my comment was about the broadband contract. What was superfluous about the work that was done?

Consultant's exist because they have very specialised skills that are too costly to maintain for most organisations on a normal basis.

On the topic of Irish water unfortunately I disagree. The idea that you wouldn't need to bring in specialists when starting it up and taking over from the 30 odd country councils is completely unrealistic in terms of IT alone, never mind all the other transitional issues which the Irish public sector has a bad reputation of managing. The HSE and Ppars project being stand out examples.

Are sure, we could also just ask a bunch of Taxi drivers how to fix everything. We all know they are experts in everything. From project management, programming to deploying IT infrastructure.

Ireland is no exception to the idea that people spout easy solutions to fix very complex problems. It's the 'build the wall' mentality spouted by Trump supporters. In Ireland, its usually about TD's pay, privatisation, consultants and the arch boggy man of them all, Denis O'Brien.

Every malcontent, superfluous, anti-intellectual rant about 'da government' usually contains at least one of those four points. Entirely predictable and entirely a waste of everyone's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I see Maria Bailey, TD for FG in Dun Laoghaire is suing the Dean hotel in Dublin because she fell off of a swing in the establishment.

The basis of her claim is , wait for it.

]
    In circuit court proceedings, she accused the hotel of negligence, saying the swing was "unsupervised" and there were no signs to instruct patrons how to safely use it.

You read that correctly, a 43 year old mother elected to legislate is suing a Dublin business because she was left unsupervised on a swing, and their was no signs anywhere directing people how to use it.

Note.
    Ms Bailey was not in court. She is being represented by Madigan Solicitors, a law firm run by a brother of Culture Minister Josepha Madigan. Ms Madigan, a solicitor, stepped away from the firm after becoming a TD.

Great PR for her and the party I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I see Maria Bailey, TD for FG in Dun Laoghaire is suing the Dean hotel in Dublin because she fell off of a swing in the establishment.

]

You read that correctly, a 43 year old mother elected to legislate is suing a Dublin business because she was left unsupervised on a swing, and their was no signs anywhere directing people how to use it.

Note.

Leo must be going ape after that. Ridiculous carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

PeadarCo wrote: »
    My comment wasn't about Irish water my comment was about the broadband contract. What was superfluous about the work that was done?

Consultant's exist because they have very specialised skills that are too costly to maintain for most organisations on a normal basis.

On the topic of Irish water unfortunately I disagree. The idea that you wouldn't need to bring in specialists when starting it up and taking over from the 30 odd country councils is completely unrealistic in terms of IT alone, never mind all the other transitional issues which the Irish public sector has a bad reputation of managing. The HSE and Ppars project being stand out examples.

You responded to a one line comment on IW and I responded to that. It wasn't clear to me anyway.
    Consultants aren't a finite entity. Theres degrees of usefulness. It's like hiring Bertie Ahern as a financial advisor and telling people what 'advisor' means.

There are similarities in both processes.
    If the deal is queered or not great but, it needs to be stopped and scrutinised, unless of course they are fine with seemingly unspecified costing to the tax payer and the Denis O'Brien consortium.
    The problem thus far is the preferred bidder on foot of PWC and their reporting on costs being exaggerated and this bidder remaining to receive preffered bidder status under a 'sure they're all we have' get out of jail free card as it were if and when it goes tits up for the tax payer as it likely will based on the record of this fiscally conservative Fine Gael party.

Do you have faith in this government to get the tax payer a good deal? I don't based on their record and the process so far.

Leo must be going ape after that. Ridiculous carry on.

This is different because something. Like Leo's nimbyism. Theres plenty of hypocrisy to go around with FG.

]

Note.

Maria could be in more than just a spot of bother, and to make matters worse, sure hasn't she entangled Josepha Madigans family law firm into the middle of what appears to be a truth stretching compo claim.

TD Bailey ran 10km race three weeks after swing fall

Fine Gael TD Maria Bailey took part in a 10km race three weeks after falling from a swing in a Dublin hotel.

The politician lodged a personal injuries claim on the basis that she suffered injuries to her head, lower back and hip after falling backward off the swing in the well-known Dean Hotel.

It is claimed Ms Bailey can no longer sit or stand for long periods without experiencing pain and discomfort as a result of the incident on July 10, 2015.

Eight days later she attended the Longitude music festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,226 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Maria could be in more than just a spot of bother, and to make matters worse, sure hasn't she entangled Josepha Madigans family law firm into the middle of what appears to be a truth stretching compo claim.

Yeah she has some explaining to do it seems.

If she were a single mother on welfare we'd be hearing thunderous comments and spin off threads on spongers and the like, cutting welfare etc. This is a privileged TD, also funded by the tax payer yet somehow garners less attention.

She's dropped the claim, which imo is an admission that the claim was never legitimate to begin with.

Let's see what Leo does with a spoofer who lodges questionable claims against a business, whilst pledging to tackle same.

Toxic now, she must surely be toast.

Maria's interview with Sean O'Rourke is car crash material.

I would say she's finished, and possibly Josepha Madigan will join her.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1132950765033725953?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,083 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I have seen you posting several times across threads on this with respect to Josepha Madigan.

Which aspect of client confidentiality do you expect her to break, if she was the solicitor involved?

blanch152 wrote: »
    I have seen you posting several times across threads on this with respect to Josepha Madigan.

Which aspect of client confidentiality do you expect her to break, if she was the solicitor involved?

What are you on about?

Varadkar was saying Bailey didn't consult with the party. I suppose he can pull, consulted with a party member but not Fine Gael proper, if she did receive advice from Madigan?

We'll no doubt have this issue pulled down a legalese rabbit hole shortly.
    The sight of Bailey holding a bottle of beer on a (highly polished) swing and falling while reaching for wine must have been something.

The story that keeps giving, both Josepha Madigan and Maria Bailey are refusing to confirm or deny if Josepha had any involvement in either instigating it, or providing legal advise in the case.

The way this story has evolved, I wouldn't be surprised if that too is leaked, or, if Bailey is hung out to dry, spills the beans.

I have bookmarked that car crash interview, because I'm going to get immense enjoyment from hearing it a few more times. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,668 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

FG, the party of fraudulent insurance claims, you couldnt make it up

Muahahaha wrote: »

It isn't very often that you get gifted with an interview of a politician burying their own career live on air.

That interview was almost more cringe worthy than the claim itself.

I particularly liked it when O'Rourke hit her fair and square between the eyes with the troubles facing small and medium businesses with insurance premiums due to compo claims......

Her response?

Yeah, bit they're fake claims, mine was legitimate.

Absolutely shocking stuff from a public representative.

It isn't very often that you get gifted with an interview of a politician burying their own career live on air.

That interview was almost more cringe worthy than the claim itself.

I particularly liked it when O'Rourke hit her fair and square between the eyes with the troubles facing small and medium businesses with insurance premiums due to compo claims......

Her response?

Yeah, bit they're fake claims, mine was legitimate.

Absolutely shocking stuff from a public representative.

That's the attitude though. She said she only wanted medical expenses covered and that the hotel were happy to pay them, so why the claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,378 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Surely FG will expel her from the party?

That's the attitude though. She said she only wanted medical expenses covered and that the hotel were happy to pay them, so why the claim?

She also said that she already had paid the 7k from her own pocket, and had absorbed that cost - from one side of her mouth.

Then, when questioned, told us that she had already been reimbursed by her private health insurance from the other side of her mouth.

She's a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,668 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Oh that car crash interview was definitely one for the ages, it is up there with P.Flynn and the three houses. The arrogance and smack of entitlement off her almost knocked me out. It was Fine Gael-ness at its very purest.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Surely FG will expel her from the party?

Paddy Power odds

Yes 1/2
    No 6/4

Spotlight is on Leo now, if he doesnt act quickly his position will be weakened. Good chance of a general election this year and if Bailey is on the FG ticket they will be an even bigger laughing stock. Its bad enough they put faith in this type of person in the first place but if they double down and back her then they can expect a serious backlash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Just listened to the Maria Bailey interview. Absolute car crash. The sense of entitlement staggering, not to mention the fact she believe she is the victim. Even threw in the gender card at the end in desperation.

Hilarious that FG style themselves as the party of hard workers, "those who get up early in the morning". We'll find out how committed they really are to tackling those who abuse the system. Over to you, Taoiseach.

Just listened to the Maria Bailey interview. Absolute car crash. The sense of entitlement staggering, not to mention the fact she believe she is the victim. Even threw in the gender card at the end in desperation.

Hilarious that FG style themselves as the party of hard workers, "those who get up early in the morning". We'll find out how committed they really are to tackling those who abuse the system. Over to you, Taoiseach.

One of my favourite pieces from the interview.....

SOR: Just clarify one thing. Did you have something in each hand when this happened?

MB: That would have been a matter for the judge to adjudicate on and I'm not opening a trial here.

Wait a minute, is this person, someone the public have entrusted with legislating, seriously suggesting that a judge would need to adjudicate on a very binary question, that surely no-one would be better qualified to answer than herself?

Did you have something in each hand Maria? Yes/No are the only two answers needed to a very simple question

She should've just went the full hog with Sean and replied that "it was an ecumenical matter" for Christ sake.

I'd pay good money to see Leo's reaction to that absolute dogs dinner of an interview this morning, there must surely have been steam coming from each ear hole. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭blackwhite

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/views/analysis/a-closer-look-at-maria-bailey-who-is-the-controversial-swing-case-td-927018.html

If ever an article read like “party sources are briefing against....”

Seems fairly clear Ms Bailey is for the chop - if not now, then in selection for next election

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Paddy The Pirate

The minute DeValera died this country was doomed. In the past few decades our only true moral compass has been degraded again and again and again. Atheism is rampant, corruption, bribery, sexual deviancy, it's all on the rise, and anyone who says it has nothing to do with our having forsaken God is deluded.

A thoughtful and balanced critique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

That interview was something. Sean O'Rourke was really enjoying himself also. Some savage lines thrown in "...and three weeks after you ran a 10k, and a very good time too!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,538 ✭✭✭✭walshb

That SOR interview stank of a real arrogance for me.

Clinging on for dear life to the "I got legal advice" angle, as if that is some bastion of good; but not clinging to the common decency and moral rightness angle...

I am reading in the papers day in and day out of these vexatious and fraudulent claims relating to the staging of car accidents etc....From what I know on this case, I can't distinguish it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Finally got around to listening to it last night and I don't see how MB will make it to the end of the week, but not sure what JM has to do with any of this? I know MB slightly dodged the question as to whether she consulted JM in relation to the claim, but it would seem to be a stretch to blame JM for this?

walshb wrote: »
    That SOR interview stank of a real arrogance for me.

Clinging on for dear life to the "I got legal advice" angle, as if that is some bastion of good; but not clinging to the common decency and moral rightness angle...

I am reading in the papers day in and day out of these vexatious and fraudulent claims relating to the staging of car accidents etc....From what I know on this case, I can't distinguish it.
    That was nothing more than throwing her legal team under the bus to claim plausible deniability. The fact of the matter is that her saying her legal team "filled in" her affidavit is B.S. - an affidavit is a sworn statement by her, it should be written from facts that she provides and swears are true and at the very least it should be read in its entirety by the deponent before they sign their name to the document by oath.

Likewise with the Statement of Claim - admittedly it can be remedied and amended, but the point isn't that you just slap down any old junk on the page and turn it in to the Courts. It should be a clear summary of the facts supporting your claim that you intend to prove to be factual. It's very unlikely that her legal team went on a solo-run here and just drafted any old ****e without her approval/review.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Just to clarify, I don't believe it's correct to say that her claim was fraudulent - on the facts, she was on the swing, she fell off the swing and she incurred medical expenses and pain as a result of the fall.

The question here is, really, to what extent was the fall due to the negligence of the hotel or her own contributory negligence? That leads to a secondary question which is, in my view, more of a general question about the level of compensation claims in Ireland about whether a soft-tissue injury with no long-term effects attracts general damages of the level which can/should be granted by the Circuit Court.

MB was correctly worried at the negative PR of what sounds like significant contributory negligence in the fall from what was described on the radio interview as well as the general view of her claiming Circuit Court general damages when she falsely claimed on numerous occasions that she was only seeking her medical expenses.

EDIT: To clarify, MB was doing nothing that hundreds of other people are doing at the moment as well in seeking damages for soft-tissue injury which is not commensurate to the injury - there's a serious problem there in terms of Court awards which has hopefully been fixed by the updated book of quantum.