Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do shops have to let customers use their toilets?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Keepaneye wrote: »
    Amazing how short sighted some people are. Let the customer go to the bathroom and you will more than likely have them as a customer again.

In an ideal world, that is true. But we live in a world that has a large number of scumbags.

As per my post above, some people either are not toilet trained or purposely piss and sh1t on the floor and some will falsely claim they fell.

Sorry, but when staff tell you they refuse to work if cleaning toilets after "customers" is required, you stop allowing it.

And you'd be very surprised at how many and how "decent" these people looked.

Sorry, but I can do without these customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Could be going in there to do drugs, you never know with these kids, and that's the problem.*

You are too innocent op. This isn't 1970's rural Ireland where everything was ran on a nod and a wink and an ara you're grand casual lax attitude. These are sophisticated businesses. There are significantly increased risks to just be opening the Jacks like that, unless that's the product you are selling. Without googling the risks can you name 3?

If you can't, you have zero place to be complaining here. This is people's livelihoods.

And separately, I'm with the poster who would call the guards. I'd call them aswell. You don't leave kids unattended like that. It's also not a baby sitting service. I'd put this behaviour in the same category as those who would buy a single MiWadi in a pub so he could watch the game. I'd f#ck him out on his ear.

*Joking of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

If a shop doesn’t provide public toilets and lets a customer use staff toilets and that customer happens to have fall the shops public liability insurance won’t cover it as a member of the public was let into a restricted area..

Another issue is some people are scum bags I remember when I worked in a shop I let a very respectful looking lady use staff toilet only for her to **** on the floor and smear it on the wall..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Bredabe wrote: »
    I have a sibling who works in an area where there is a lot of drug abuse. His boss is forced by Health Authority to keep the toilets for the shop open, resulting in staff having to clean up all kinds of bodily fluids and drug paraphernalia on an hourly basis.

They get NO training on how to dispose of the paraphernalia or any clue as to where to dispose of it safely, there are no grants for his boss to buy special gloves/masks for them to wear while they clean this up.

While in general, I would be pro shop toilet, only if ppl using it, respect it!

Many garages and shops keep the toilets locked and you have to ask for the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Not sure if it has been mentioned but in a lot of shops the toilets are in the back room. In order for a customer to go there they would have to be escorted. You would them have had a situation of a staff member escorting an unaccompanied minor into a private area of the store alone. We might have had a completely different thread then.

I used to work in shops where we sometimes had to escorted customers to the toilets and the policy was minors only with their parents (or the adult they were with)

matrim wrote: »
    Not sure if it has been mentioned but in a lot of shops the toilets are in the back room. In order for a customer to go there they would have to be escorted. You would them have had a situation of a staff member escorting an unaccompanied minor into a private area of the store alone. We might have had a completely different thread then.

I used to work in shops where we sometimes had to escorted customers to the toilets and the policy was minors only with their parents (or the adult they were with)

yep, that's a given and didn't realise the person in the OP was unaccompanied.

Simply open to all sorts of allegations/issues and no store will or should take that risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

[QUOTE=mackeire;107766520

The young lad and his friend and the friends dad were in the shop getting a few bits when the dad realised that he had left his wallet at home and had to go back and get it. So the lads stayed in the shop while the dad went home.

[/QUOTE]

Wexford folks stupid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭badtoro

Couldn't read all the thread but there were some early replies from people who might think about spending less time online 🀔

What kind of a country where a child is refused a basic need, out of ??legalism??

??Lack of basic humanity??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Graces7 wrote: »
    What kind of a country where a child is refused a basic need, out of ??legalism??

It's generally either a case of safety or security.

Nonsense... as I said, legalism. and very distressing for the child.

Over and out from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,159 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Nonsense... as I said, legalism. and very distressing for the child.

Over and out from me.

Maybe the dad should have factored in the potential distress on the child and not left him alone . Its not always black and white and everyone elses fault when things don't go to plan for us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Maybe the dad should have factored in the potential distress on the child and not left him alone . Its not always black and white and everyone elses fault when things don't go to plan for us

Dad leaves underage child alone. Shop has to consider safety and insurance concerns. If the child was to be taken to the staff toilets who would accompany the child, as it would have to be two adults for child protection reasons? Of course there are legitimate legal reasons not to allow a child use private toilets on the premises.

Anybody who can't see where the blame lies here is hiding their head in the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

someone mentioned jamie bulger, good context there. in 25 years we have gone from two ten year olds murdering a child to two ten year olds who cannot be trusted to walk across a road to a toilet without daddy to guide them.

Don't get me wrong, am glad we do not have psycho kids running around the place, but are we really in a position were 2 ten year old boys need hand holding ffs.

oh and next time, just take them home to use toilets there, not pawn them off on staff and complain when they don't jump to the little angles every whim. lazy parenting, coddled kids, staff were right to refuse access to toilets. Its also very easy to see in this thread who has worked retail and who has not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,159 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

soups05 wrote: »
    someone mentioned jamie bulger, good context there. in 25 years we have gone from two ten year olds murdering a child to two ten year olds who cannot be trusted to walk across a road to a toilet without daddy to guide them.

Don't get me wrong, am glad we do not have psycho kids running around the place, but are we really in a position were 2 ten year old boys need hand holding ffs.

oh and next time, just take them home to use toilets there, not pawn them off on staff and complain when they don't jump to the little angles every whim. lazy parenting, coddled kids, staff were right to refuse access to toilets. Its also very easy to see in this thread who has worked retail and who has not.

Well I fully understand the shop staff and have never worked in retail so not sure how you would see that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Keepaneye wrote: »
    Amazing how short sighted some people are. Let the customer go to the bathroom and you will more than likely have them as a customer again.

More likely they'll be back in to your shop again and again just to use your toilet

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

im glad the little c*nt was turned away, i hope he **** himself and IBS plagues him forever, serves him right for even existing, i would have smashed his little fuucking face in. cheek of him.

dont mind me just joining in the kid bashing!

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Robsweezie wrote: »
    im glad the little c*nt was turned away, i hope he **** himself and IBS plagues him forever, serves him right for even existing, i would have smashed his little fuucking face in. cheek of him.

dont mind me just joining in the kid bashing!

As a sufferer of colitis myself, I wouldn't wish IBS or it's horrible relations on anyone.

Even if it's a particularly bratty kid! ;)

The toilets in that shopping centre in Gorey are a fair old trek away too. Its like they hid them 24 kilometres away from the shops in there - mad stuff altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

LirW wrote: »
    I hope nobody here was out for a whole day with no toilet around when suddenly the sh1t properly hits you and it feels like you burst.
    Never had an unexpected pressure that just got you?
    Seems like boards is occupied from the poop elite that never had any movements whatsoever.

Use a public toilet or risk the alleyway. It just run free cause your parent abandoned you in a shop.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The lack of decent public toilets in all of our cities and towns in a real problem. 30 years ago Dublin had public loos in quite a few spots - now all gone because of anti-social activity.

Large stores should have toilets available for customers. A friend who works in the legal profession told me that if a toilet is present in an establishment, a customer using that business is entitled to use it if they need to.

Amsterdam has a few spots around its shopping area that are like posh super clean toilets. Very nice and clean. :) Also a lot of cafes have loos available to the general public and not just customers but you have to pay for the privilege of using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Dempsey wrote: »
    What sort of country are we turning into when we dont let people use a fcuking toilet
    A sue happy country where the insurance companies increase premiums for car owners and business owners because fraudsters are pulling scams to get money.

No lack of humanity. Purely because of scum pulling scams. If the child brought to the toilet was scum, they could make the persons life a living hell though blackmail.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    A friend who works in the legal profession told me that if a toilet is present in an establishment, a customer using that business is entitled to use it if they need to.

Here's some advice...

...never use that person for any legal issue you have.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

God bless McDonalds. You can go anywhere in the world and know you’ll find a McDonalds where toilets are up to scratch. Can pinch out a McShïte in peace and relative tranquility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

JupiterKid wrote: »

Large stores should have toilets available for customers. A friend who works in the legal profession told me that if a toilet is present in an establishment, a customer using that business is entitled to use it if they need to.

Does he clean toilets in a court? That’s not the legal profession really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

A few years ago I was in a small outdoor clothing store and I was trying on walking boots that were 280 euros , id already decided I was going to buy them as I told manager of shop that id be taking them.

My 4 year old started saying he wanted toilet badly , like they do , they say nothing till it's nearly to late. I asked manager if I could use toilet for boy to which she said no that they didn't have a customer toilet , so I had to take off boots quickly and leave shop , the manager asked me while I was taking off boots was I still buying them to which I said I haven't time as nearest toilet was 10 mins walk away in large department store.

I asked again would she reconsider , I didn't care how clean it was , I would be buying boots to which she said no.

Obviously I didn't go back , and I went to another town in county and bought same boots somewhere else .

I just thought it was bad form and they ended up losing sale over it , and I might add the manager knew me from my previous purchases in shop which was 250 euro walking shoes just months before and a 150 euro jacket 12 months before that. ....never went back since

I feel better for getting that off my chest. ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I just thought it was bad form and they ended up losing sale over it , and I might add the manager knew me from my previous purchases in shop which was 250 euro walking shoes just months before and a 150 euro jacket 12 months before that. ....never went back since
    Sadly, it was probably cheaper to lose your business than to risk anything happening whilst your kid was in the toilet. I've worked in retail; daily visitors are remembered. Coming in once every few months won't be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

I blame the parents.