Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

They all have lovely bottoms. It's Rose of Tralee 2018 time

• 12-08-2018 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,551 ✭✭✭✭

Jaysus lads,

57 lovely-bottomed young ladies

Who is your favourite? I can't make me mind up

https://www.roseoftralee.ie/2018-roses/c/0

The Rose of Tralee is great isn't it? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Cavan Rose for me. The rest all look like primary school teachers.

23222211-25592562.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

57 lovely-bottomed young ladies

I’ll bite :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would, would.

So in a sense, they're all winners.

I’ll settle for Julie

23229112-25674524.jpg?v=1530264722

dacent lookin colleen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

About time a member of the trans community won it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,839 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Star Bingo wrote: »
    I’ll bite :D

Think thats frowned upon, or illegal without permission

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

I like this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

23222211-25592562.jpg

She is the poster child for a primary school teacher!

Think thats frowned upon, or illegal without permission

Just wait til the maxim lads start crashing the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

San Fran rose is a fine bitta stuff.

She is the poster child for a primary school teacher!

Bollox. You're only saying that as I said it of the rest of em. She's easily the hottest of the lot and I won't be discussing this further.

At 66/1 she's gonna make me rich too!

RTB.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

But it's not a beauty contest! They're judged on... on... err what exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Pale and stale

Pinkeye is 16/1?!

It's all a bit of cringe but it's ultimately fairly harmless. As long as women are happy to continue entering and are treated respectfully by the organisers then more luck to them.

At 66/1 she's gonna make me rich too!

Had to look at North Carolina to see why she's rock bottom in the odds. Can't see anything wrong with her, seems harsh to put her at 200/1. Unless she has a really irritating personality or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,303 ✭✭✭batistuta9

queensland & wexford

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,227 ✭✭✭893bet

How can one be such a **** hot favorite at this time?

Its not like horse racing. If the favorite stutters during her poem she is ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

They all have lovely bottoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

The Newcastle rose is lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/should-we-still-be-treating-father-ted-like-a-sacred-cow-37201669.html

The irony of the anonymous writer of this article claiming that the Father Ted “Don’t they all have lovely bottoms” references people still use for the Rose of Tralee outdated and misogynistic is baffling. It is like some 19 year old, just out of school and lacking life experience wan tried to write something topical and edgy but dressed up in a valid point. Not even a name to the article!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Who else have 3 weeks off in July / august to compete?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,601 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's a bit cringey but it as long as it makes money for Killarney's ugly sister of a town that's all that matters I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,023 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The Finalists!
    Abu Dhabi: Sara Kate Mangan.
    23260506-25610619.jpg?v=1529930838
    Arizona:Kelsey Kelleher.
    23221739-25592473.jpg?v=1529767618
    Boston & New England: Sorcha Rochford.
    23221950-25592506.jpg?v=1529768015
    Carlow: Shauna Ray Lacey.
    23222147-25592554.jpg?v=1529768735
    Chicargo: Kate Callahan
    23222223-25592586.jpg?v=1529769110
    Cork: Erinn O'Connell
    23222374-25674887.jpg?v=1530266271

Down: Ciara Kelly.
    23222846-25753172.jpg?v=1530779561
    Dubai:Rebecca Egan.
    23222924-25753077.jpg?v=1530779039
    Dublin: Tanya Feigery.
    23223047-25739452.jpg?v=1530697761
    Florida: Victoria Sexton.
    23223204-25792050.jpg?v=1531050143
    Galway: Deirdre O'Sullivan.
    23223256-25593103.jpg?v=1529773177
    Germany: Glulia Kearney.
    23223338-25721717.jpg?v=1530609645

Kerry: Caline O'Shea.
    23223410-25646448.jpg?v=1530111275
    Kildare: Gráinne Carr.
    23223417-25674726.jpg?v=1530265487
    Kilkenny: Helena Hughes.
    23224338-25674765.jpg?v=1530265665
    Laois: Gráinne Hogan.
    23224423-25593394.jpg?v=1529776482
    Leitrim: Imelde Scally.
    23224441-25593431.jpg?v=1529776798
    London: Gráinne Hawkes.
    23225214-25593567.jpg?v=1529778634

Mayo:Rachel Gibbons.
    23227478-25674799.jpg?v=1530265782
    Melbourne: Suzie Jackson.
    23227698-25674823.jpg?v=1530265874
    Monaghan: Hannah Mooney.
    23227801-25792069.jpg?v=1531050366
    Newfoundland & Labrador: Bridgette Abbott.
    23228145-25594373.jpg?v=1529787855
    New York: Sarah Ward.
    23227803-25610757.jpg?v=1529931353
    New Zealand: Jolene McLaughlin.
    23227842-25643963.jpg?v=1530103062
    Perth: Laura Cannon.
    23228338-25744296.jpg?v=1530715682

Philadelphia: Katie Keenan.
    23228422-25811988.jpg?v=1531147345
    San Francisco: Annie Powers.
    23228972-25674839.jpg?v=1530265989
    Sydney: Caitlin Macinante.
    23229301-25610930.jpg?v=1529931900
    Toronto: Carly McGrath.
    23229387-25779480.jpg?v=1530962736
    Waterford: Kirsten Mate Maher.
    23229732-25623650.jpg?v=1530006641
    Westmeath: Leanne Quinn.
    23230087-25674873.jpg?v=1530266151
    Yorkshire:Alana Gallagher.
    23230424-25610714.jpg?v=1529931207

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,364 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

^^^^ you've way too much time on your hands :D

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

All pretty much wholesome looking “girl next door” types of girl according to those photos. The San Fran Rose looks a little like Cameron Diaz.

The Arizona and Cork roses look very attractive to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

JupiterKid wrote: »
    All pretty much wholesome looking “girl next door” types of girl according to those photos. The San Fran Rose looks a little like Cameron Diaz.

The Arizona and Cork roses look very attractive to me.

I’ve known a couple of the ones from my county all I can say is they are out and out wagons. Put on a show publically and are horrible people otherwise.

Doesn’t go for all of them obviously!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Sterling work there freshpopcorn.

Why isn’t there a “Lovely Man” contest akin to the Rose, somewhere? One of the “Hidden Heartlands” more boring towns could drum up tourism by inventing such as fest. They would have female escorts, be they straight or gay, for the period of the festival; a female host would ask questions about the mammy, daddy, granny etc, what’s your great career path, and then the obligatory song or dance. Or what about a “Trans of Tuam” contest, that would make for a good festival.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Why are most of the escorts at the Rose of Tralee mildly ok looking at best, usually rather plain or downright spud in the mouth ugly? :confused:

Is so that the Roses’ boyfriends/partner’s don’t get too jealous or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭amovingstatue

Why isn’t there a “Lovely Man” contest akin to the Rose, somewhere? ....

The hose of Tralee ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

The hose of Tralee ?

Yes, but that's a different kind of show altogether.

differnetshow.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Bradlin

Actually, that's a great idea. Just like the way certain towns miraculously had moving statues and kids who say the Sun dancing in the sky, there must be some place that could make a name for itself by arranging this. It's probably beyond the pay grade of Local TDs and Councillors though. If Claire Byrne hosted it, I'm in!!

Here we go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

Mom is alright too!

The rose that is in the judging panel is Brenda Hyland. Her daugther was on Dancing With The Stars this year. Her name was Alannah Byrne.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

London or Dublin ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

We bitta Florida wouldn't go amiss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Swallow tats...prison tats...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Just so cringe, cringe, cringe, and that's just the Daithi f**kwit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

What the hell was that supposed to be??did she feck it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,406 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

This could go very very badly.

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Irish Kings

Why do people who don't like this festival watch it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Why do people who don't like this festival watch it?

To bitch about it! why do you think?

It is the ONLY redemption of the entire circus, that it can be used to mock

I’m in tears at the Carlow rose story