Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PHP/MySQL/Blockchain

Options
  • 14-08-2018 11:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭

I'm looking for a way to verify data inserted and updated into a MySQL database from a PHP application, is it possible to use specific columns of a record and create a blockchain transaction based off these values, in turn i can validate any record in the database against it's blockchain transaction.

I need a way to make sure that data in the database is consistant and hasn't been manipulated by anyone it shouldn't.

P.S. - I'm a noob when it comes to blockchain so any help/advice is appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭14ned

Ziycon wrote: »
    I'm looking for a way to verify data inserted and updated into a MySQL database from a PHP application, is it possible to use specific columns of a record and create a blockchain transaction based off these values, in turn i can validate any record in the database against it's blockchain transaction.

It is possible, but probably impractical. You'd either need some custom logic per record insert which goes off and does the blockchain transaction and blocks the database until it completes, or you'd need two tables and implement the concurrency resolution logic between them by hand. The former is easy to implement, but won't scale. The latter is hard to implement, garbage collection and ensuring consistency will be tricky.
    I need a way to make sure that data in the database is consistant and hasn't been manipulated by anyone it shouldn't.