Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sweden Riots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

And please show evidence that a handshake is a "recognised form of respect".

And this is why these "debates" on Boards go absolutely no where.

When certain posters will not concede even the most obvious of statements, we're simply not dealing with reason or maturity.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

That you openly admit that there are 3 major suburbs located in Sweden where the native populace feel too intimidated to enter, yet still argue Sweden has no major issues with their lax immigration policies, simply highlights your disconnect from the truth... it's ludicrous to be quite frank.

That not one poster can give a single positive to native swedes, either economically or societally, from their self destructive policies, embarrasses those on the wrong side of the debate.

I didn't say they were too intimidated to enter, I can't speak for how others feel, I said I would be wary of going there. I wouldn't mind during the day, but after dark I wouldn't because I don't know the areas. Would say the same about any highly populated suburb anywhere in Europe quite frankly including many parts of Dublin.

I'd go to Angered any time day or night and feel safer than going to somewhere like Rialto or Finglas, that I can promise you, never mind somewhere that looks like a Syrian war zone that's full of white native Irish- places like Southhill or Moyross in Limerick. The worst places Sweden have to offer pale in comparison to the social deprivation, poverty and hopelessness of these places.

Can you rephrase your second paragraph please?, I want to be sure I understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,580 ✭✭✭jmreire

Bootlegger wrote: »
    I don't believe for one second you wouldn't be insulted if someone refused to shake your hand.

While a Muslim woman may or not shake hands with you, depending on her belief and disposition, if you refuse to shake hands with a Muslim man, he will be offended and will feel insulted.. So it can be shaky ground if you are not familiar with Islamic custom's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I see the German's are realizing the folly of letting the enemy in behind the lines.

Germany is considering reintroducing conscription again.

Time to slam that border shut now!.

Greentopia wrote: »
    Can you rephrase your second paragraph please?, I want to be sure I understand it.

Name one positive the mass inmigration of uneducated young males who do not wish to learn the native language or integrate into Swedish society has brought ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

That's what secularism is.
    No wonder youre confused!

(Lovin how you glossed over the equal rights)

I wasn’t confused about that. That’s not glossing over. Many liberal support gender equality. Indeed. That poster contended in the same breath that liberals preach secularism. Some do, some don’t. Many liberals support people’s right to be religious OR secular. There’s no party line on preference for secularism. So I don’t see any conflict or hypocrisy.

Being religious OR irreligious is secularism? What do you mean? They are two different things. Which one is secularism? Both? Could you clarify what you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

I didn't say they were too intimidated to enter, I can't speak for how others feel, I said I would be wary of going there. I wouldn't mind during the day, but after dark I wouldn't because I don't know the areas. Would say the same about any highly populated suburb anywhere in Europe quite frankly including many parts of Dublin.

I'd go to Angered any time day or night and feel safer than going to somewhere like Rialto or Finglas, that I can promise you, never mind somewhere that looks like a Syrian war zone that's full of white native Irish- places like Southhill or Moyross in Limerick. The worst places Sweden have to offer pale in comparison to the social deprivation, poverty and hopelessness of these places.

You should give Ireland a miss in future. Sweden sounds ideal for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,655 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

You are tying yourself in knots to justify ****ty behaviour just because the person is Muslim. Amazing. Imagine being such a loser that you would refuse to shake hands with an interviewer!

I couldn't give a tiny shiney sh1te what religion anyone is! If i had my way ALL religion would be banned because the world would be a much better place without it, i just think the faux outrage from the usual anti muslim brigade here on boards over a fecking handshake has dragged thier petty arguments down to a new low!

Lads ye were in the gutter befire but now have decended to the sewers with this laughable pettiness!
    Are you really saying you have no issue with people moving to different countries and refusing to learn the customs and culture?

Its custom/culture in ireland to celebrate easter/christmas/paddys day, should everyone be forced to do that?

Its irish culture to get sh1t faced drunk at the weekends (and most midweek nights), should everyone be forced to partake?

Not every custom HAS to be adhered to you know! Ive lived in france where its custom to have a glass of wine with dinner, i never partook in that particular custom and no one blinked an eye.

They also give wine to young children at mealtimes something i would never do but hey its their custom right so we should all allow our children to drink alcohol from.a young age!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

dav3 wrote: »
    I'll go with option 6.

Laugh at you. Then feel sorry for you. Then laugh at you again. Then feel disappointed with you for not posting a 19 hour long YouTube video.

Okay, so you went for number 3.

It was just as tired and repetitive as I expected.

Come on, if you're going to go for ad-hominem go for the jugular! Say something cutting in the hope that the conversation gets totally sidetracked. That's the only way you're going to be able to provide a distraction.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Okay, so you went for number 3.

It was just as tired and repetitive as I expected.

Come on, if you're going to go for ad-hominem go for the jugular! Say something cutting in the hope that the conversation gets totally sidetracked. That's the only way you're going to be able to provide a distraction.

Option 7: Still laughing.

Btw if anyone is interested in the upcoming Swedish elections they can view the always up-to-date opinion polls below

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opinion_polling_for_the_Swedish_general_election,_2018

As we can all see, the far-right are having a bit of a meltdown. Although there's still time for a few more "masked men" burning out cars, so you can't write them off just yet.

You can also view the percentage that certain coalitions are on. Including the Left Party who are currently on 9.5% compared to 5.7% in the last election, and are described as...

The Left Party (Swedish: Vänsterpartiet, V) is a socialist and feminist political party in Sweden. The party originated as a split from the Swedish Social Democratic Party in 1917, as the Swedish Social Democratic Left Party (Sveriges socialdemokratiska vänsterparti, SSV), and became the Communist Party of Sweden in 1921. In 1967, the party was renamed Left Party - the Communists; it adopted its current name in 1990. The party has never been part of a government at the national level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

I wasn’t confused about that. That’s not glossing over. Many liberal support gender equality. Indeed. That poster contended in the same breath that liberals preach secularism. Some do, some don’t. Many liberals support people’s right to be religious OR secular. There’s no party line on preference for secularism. So I don’t see any conflict or hypocrisy.

Being religious OR irreligious is secularism? What do you mean? They are two different things. Which one is secularism? Both? Could you clarify what you mean?

in fairness, if you dont support gender equality, I dont think you'd be regarded as liberal... you might convince me otherwise?

here it is again:
    Do all liberals preach secularism? :confused: I would have thought many support freedom to be religious or irreligious, as is your wont.

I'll repeat. thats what secularism is, freedom to practise your religon as you see fit (as long as others arent negatively impacted)
    liberals would subscribe to that position.
    if you didnt subscribe, you wouldnt be "liberal£.

or are we talking about "preaching"
    Some liberals do "preach" about stuff.
    Some dont.

You really are making absolutely no sense.

I couldn't give a tiny shiney sh1te what religion anyone is! If i had my way ALL religion would be banned because the world would be a much better place without it,

Jesus, that's a bit extreme. Communist much?
    i just think the faux outrage from the usual anti muslim brigade here on boards over a fecking handshake has dragged thier petty arguments down to a new low!

Lads ye were in the gutter befire but now have decended to the sewers with this laughable pettiness!

Are you including me in that? Because I think it was fine her not giving a handshake. Her choice. My only argument is that a potential employer should be free to not hire her because of it. Nobody, besides endoftheroad, has even bothered trying to argue against the position.

Its custom/culture in ireland to celebrate easter/christmas/paddys day, should everyone be forced to do that?

Look, if you choose to go to a place, and then choose to engage in a particular activity, don't be surprised if people expect you to accept the social norms that go along with that event.

If you go choose to go to a church, don't be surprised if people get offended if you are openly drinking a can of larger. If you choose to go on public transport, don't be surprised if people get offended if you don't make space for someone who is disabled. If you choose to go to a funeral, don't be surprised if people get offended if you refuse to shake the next of kin's hand.

The woman that is being talked about here chose to go to Sweden. Sweden turns out not to be a Muslim country. Then she chooses to apply for a job, and when accepted for an interview, and she chose to go to it. The interviewer offers her his hand and he is offended when she chooses to refuse it. Imagine her shock at this turn of events.

Not every custom HAS to be adhered to you know! Ive lived in france where its custom to have a glass of wine with dinner, i never partook in that particular custom and no one blinked an eye.

If you refused the double-kiss greeting with a look of 'ugh' I think that an eye would indeed be blinked.

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

If i had my way ALL religion would be banned
    Okay, so obviously you're not a fan of free speech/choice/belief?
    For you, The Rights of the individual bow to the collective I imagine?
    Not every custom HAS to be adhered to you know!
    But wait, you don't feel Customs worthy of censorship, so there is some permitted free choice!

Please tell me how this works exactly?

Incredible, you're actually saying that people don't need to make even the basic attempt to fit in with their host culture. To give an example, if a person moves to Japan and refuses to bow, is that ok? What if they refuse to take off their shoes when entering their guests' home? I'm not talking about eating sushi or drinking sake, I'm talking about learning and respecting the cultural norms of a culture that you have chosen to live in.

Have you ever been to japan? I have and in the 7 weeks i was there i didnt bow, i (ironically) shook hands.
    I don't know, you seem to struggle with the concept of shaking hands, so maybe you genuinely can't comprehend these things.

No problem with the concept of a handshake, just don't get the outrage from the anti muslim crowd who have jumped on this issue as if its the start of the fabled apocalypse.

Option 7: Still laughing.

I'm counting on you to use the same type of deflection the next time you are so easily fact-checked.
    As we can all see, the far-right are having a bit of a meltdown.

That is interesting, but I haven't seen any explanation for it. I'm not expecting one from you.. or one that has any merit at least, but I am interested in the cause.
    Although there's still time for a few more "masked men" burning out cars, so you can't write them off just yet.

There hasn't been any appreciable bounce due to the first round of car burning by immigrant gangs, so I'm not sure that another round would make much impact.

Okay, so obviously you're not a fan of free speech/choice/belief?
    For you, The Rights of the individual bow to the collective I imagine?

So you are ok with isis belief that it's ok to chop the head of a non believer?

People can believe what they want, i believe the world would be a better place without religion.
    But wait, you don't feel Customs worthy of censorship, so there is some permitted free choice!

Please tell me how this works exactly?

Free choice is fine as long as no one is hurt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Why do muslims keep coming to Christian Countries and not wanting to integrate to the societies they are moving to ? Why are they not moving to Muslim Countries ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭JPCN1

blinding wrote: »
    Why do muslims keep coming to Christian Countries and not wanting to integrate to the societies they are moving to ? Why are they not moving to Muslim Countries ?

Better welfare for one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

We should be copying the Scandinavian model

Member when everyone used to say that 10 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭JPCN1

warsaw2018 wrote: »
    We should be copying the Scandinavian model

Member when everyone used to say that 10 years ago

Sadly we are. Only the bad bits though.

Yeah you were a tourist so you got some slack which is fine. If you moved there permantly it might be different.

But seeing as you don't understand how refusing to shake hands is rude then I don't think there's much point having this discussion.

I was actually there on business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭pearcider

blinding wrote: »

Most Muslim countries are authoritarian holes. Other developed countries like Singapore and Japan simply refuse entry.

TBH all this thread shows is what will cause the fall of Europe. We've lost religion (which I'm fine with) but that needs to be replaced with something. America has the American Dream which, while total bull****, enough people believe. Europe for a while believed we were something. That our compassion and our tolerance gave us a moral superiority and something that all should aspire to. That our low rates of criminality and violence and attempts to distribute wealth were signs of a superior culture. Now that's fading, people will concede and concede to accommodate other cultures. People will speak out one side of their mouth about women's right while excusing or obfuscating about Shariah patrols and courts. We're importing and turning a blind eye to a large cohort that is completely incompatible with our culture and people want to say it's our fault for not being more accommodating.

Ah well, it was nice for the little while it lasted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Sorry, was out for a while.
    Have we had hysterical posts about sharia law, stonings, beheadings with rusty kitchen knifes, something something halal, praying towards Mecca with a Kalashnikov at our heads yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

I couldn't give a tiny shiney sh1te what religion anyone is! If i had my way ALL religion would be banned because the world would be a much better place without it, i just think the faux outrage from the usual anti muslim brigade here on boards over a fecking handshake has dragged thier petty arguments down to a new low!

Its irish culture to get sh1t faced drunk at the weekends (and most midweek nights), should everyone be forced to partake?

They also give wine to young children at mealtimes something i would never do but hey its their custom right so we should all allow our children to drink alcohol from.a young age!

Move to a muslim majority country and don't partake in their customs, see where that gets you.

So we should become equally as intolerant?
    To improve Europe, become like Saudi Arabia.
    Find a Muslim, drag him into a restaurant and force beer and pork down their throat.
    Nah,can't see that taking off here.

Find a Muslim, drag him into a restaurant and force beer and pork down their throat.
    Yep, one or the other are the only two options.

Lived in Turkey and UAE 2 years each, never an issue

This may surprise a lot of people who are used of being told that any Muslim country is a hellish place with limbs being hacked off left right and center and daily beheadings in the town square.
    They think Muslims all carry knifes, guns and an explosive belt and given half a chance will turn all of Europe into a copy of Iranistan.
    There is an incredible amount of hate propaganda by the right wing scene and they are shouting very loud and angry hate propaganda against anyone who isn't the right skin color or the wrong religion.
    I'm living in Germany, but it must be a different Germany, because I don't see the rape gangs or daily jihad attack.
    Must ask Jalal down the kebab shop when he's planning to cut my head off on the internet with his big knife.
    Or maybe Samir at work has some Semtex strapped to him.

We are becoming increasingly intolerant. Sure just the other day we saw a case being entertained in court in Sweden and a company fined 4 thousand kr for refusing to consider hiring a woman because she refused to shake the interviewer's hand.

This may surprise a lot of people who are used of being told that any Muslim country is a hellish place with limbs being hacked off left right and center and daily beheadings in the town square.
    They think Muslims all carry knifes, guns and an explosive belt and given half a chance will turn all of Europe into a copy of Iranistan.
    There is an incredible amount of hate propaganda by the right wing scene and they are shouting very loud and angry hate propaganda against anyone who isn't the right skin color or the wrong religion.
    I'm living in Germany, but it must be a different Germany, because I don't see the rape gangs or daily jihad attack.
    Must ask Jalal down the kebab shop when he's planning to cut my head off on the internet with his big knife.
    No harm being on the safe side . Tell us their answers . And can you live stream and extreme stuff just for scientific research ; like ..

Apparently including yourself, given the way you described the type of behavior you would expect if we tried to ape Saudi Arabia.

I know you have a bee in your bonnet, which is causing you to shout very loud and angry statements, but I suggest you take a step back, and look at the circular argument you keep introducing. Also false dilemma, and appeal to emotion. Well I suggest you do so if you want to improve your reason, as it stands you'll get plenty of support from the same sort of people who lap up shouting, far-right, bigoted videos, only those who position themselves on the left instead.

If Samir did have semtex, it would be irrelevant, as there would be no evidence that it was representative, in much the same way that you are ignoring the numerous jihadi attacks that have occurred in Germany in the last couple of years.

We are becoming increasingly intolerant. Sure just the other day we saw a case being entertained in court in Sweden and a company fined 4 thousand kr for refusing to consider hiring a woman because she refused to shake the interviewer's hand.

Well, these people are different. They don't eat pork, don't drink, have to run off to pray every now and then, but otherwise they are fine. And Muslim is not an ethnicity. Turkish, Middle Easter and North African Muslims are worlds apart from each other.
    I guess you see them as some sort of evil caricature because you have no idea about them. Growing up in Ireland is of course a very sheltered existence and we hate and fear what we don't know.
    We will never agree on the handshake, I agree to disagree and I'll leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

What would happen a westerner in Saudi if they were seen in a public place eating and drinking during Ramadan

Well, these people are different. They don't eat pork, don't drink, have to run off to pray every now and then, but otherwise they are fine. And Muslim is not an ethnicity. Turkish, Middle Easter and North African Muslims are worlds apart from each other.

You missed my point, which had nothing to do with religion, or ethnicity. The court was intolerant of the interviewer in this situation. His opinion, and his actions, were not tolerated. He was in effect fined for acting in accordance to his culture and personal belief.
    I guess you see them as some sort of evil caricature

This is the worst sort of sh*tposting. Every time someone pulls you up for being illogical you turn it back to race and religion, because that's where you feel safest. Attacking someone for pointing out that your posts are rants with a slur of 'well you are just a racist' is really the weakest of your very weak plays.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

What would happen a westerner in Saudi if they were seen in a public place eating and drinking during Ramadan

What's your point, that we shout become as intolerant as them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭tigerboon

The problems started when white Swedes moved out of these million programme working class areas like Rinkeby and joined the middle classes in the cities.

So, in Sweden you can just move and join the middle class.
    These white Swedes didn't spend years working hard to better themselves by any chance? Unlike....

RustyNut wrote: »
    No need to shout .

Why do people come to countries where they do not want to integrate in ?

Its as if they think that their new Country is not suitable for them !

Why do they not choose Countries more suitable for them .

Is it ok that they should try to force change on their New Countries . Wouldn’t everyone be better off if the chose to move to Countries more suitable for them or stay where they are .

They think Muslims all carry knifes, guns and an explosive belt.

You sound hysterical, perhaps you need a break from the internet so you can form a more logical counter argument for those of us simply calling for less lax immigration laws to those which have served Sweden so poorly.

Shouting "brown people" incessantly is not working here for you I'm afraid.

And Muslim is not an ethnicity

This statement is going to come back and haunt you considering your past reactionary tactic of pulling the race card on any thread pertaining to Islam, like I said, you really should consider taking a step back from the internet for a while, you're becoming increasingly angry.

So you agree that they are intolerant, and yet don't see an issue with importing enmass this intolerance to Europe... okay so.

You missed my point, which had nothing to do with religion, or ethnicity. The court was intolerant of the interviewer in this situation. His opinion, and his actions, were not tolerated. He was in effect fined for acting in accordance to his culture and personal belief.

Well, OK, I agree to that. We have two cultures and believe systems caught up in a situation where they collided.
    Interviewer blew a fuse and frogmarched her out of the office. I dare say he wasn't very professional and he gave her grounds to sue.

Growing up in Ireland is of course a very sheltered existence and we hate and fear what we don't know

You seem to be suggesting that those of us who are critical of Islam have never spent considerable amounts of time living and working in Muslim majority countries, in my case, this is absolutely untrue.

So you agree that they are intolerant, and yet don't see an issue with importing enmass this intolerance to Europe... okay so.
    Is the woman in question from Saudi?

This statement is going to come back and haunt you considering your past reactionary tactic of pulling the race card on any thread pertaining to Islam, like I said, you really should consider taking a step back from the internet for a while, you're becoming increasingly angry.

There is only one race my hysterical friend. (Homo Sapiens in case you are unaware).
    Henceforth racism is a concept with a slightly misleading name. We could be racist to Neanderthals, since they are a different race from us, or aliens, but both cases are hardly applicable these days.
    It should really just be called discrimination and that could be on the basis of sex, religion, skin color and any number of other criteria.
    And your provocation game is weak at best.

There is only one race my hysterical friend. (Homo Sapiens in case you are unaware).
    Henceforth racism is a concept with a slightly misleading name.

So now you're arguing with the Oxford English Dictionary... I can't... you're on a windup surely? There's only one race? Fcuk me.

RACE

NOUN

Each of the major divisions of humankind, having distinct physical characteristics.

‘people of all races, colours, and creeds’

So now you're arguing with the Oxford English Dictionary... I can't... you're on a windup surely? There's only one race? Fcuk me.

RACE

NOUN

Each of the major divisions of humankind, having distinct physical characteristics.

‘people of all races, colours, and creeds’

Homo sapiens. If you can get me the official name of another race, I'll concede this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Far right: all muslims are dangerous
    Far left: no muslims are dangerous.

Me: some muslims are dangerous and because of their ideology they are more likely to act in ways detrimental to western society.
    Even "moderate" muslims will kill their offspring for going against the family's wishes.

fuzzenstein, pretend you are gay and see how Jalal and Samir react. Or tell them you are dating a muslim girl and might marry her.

And your provocation game is weak at best.

I'm trying to provoke you by highlighting the banality of your argument? Stop playing the victim.