Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shenmue I & II (re-release)

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SomeSayKos

Unpopular opinion:
    These games are crap and do not hold up well at all
    It's a divisive game, always has been and especially now given how much gaming has progressed in the near 20 years since its release. I personally love it. It made a huge impact on me when I first played it and I'm currently loving playing through it again as it is a pure nostalgic experience. I like the tone of the game, the deliberacy of its pacing ( which i know and understand will infuriate some people, but i like it ) and the general 'vibe'.

I really can't stand Jim Sterling or other youtubers who've made a career out of negativity but hey, each to their own

So is it worth getting? Considering I have both games on Dreamcast and the second one on Xbox, does this release add anything new?
    I've got the first on the dreamcast ( never got the second ), but I bought it on the ps4 because I fear my dreamcast's days are numbered

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

SomeSayKos wrote: »
    I really can't stand Jim Sterling or other youtubers who've made a career out of negativity but hey, each to their own

To be fair, he's not negative about every game.

No that's true, but he is negative a LOT of time and I used to be a fan but after a while it started to grate on me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Unpopular opinion:
    These games are crap and do not hold up well at all

Crap? No.
    Don't hold up well? Almost certainly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Shenmue has a myriad of flaws but on the other hand there really isn't anything else like it. If you can immerse yourself in the world then you will enjoy yourself and at it's heart it's a detective story so more like a visual novel than an open world game. And the open world is so intricately detailed (in many senses overly so) that it's unique among other games.

Definitely not a game for everyone.

Some of the cut scenes borked in mid to later stages of the first game for others? Really annoying, you'll hear the dialogue fine but the screen will be stuck on a wall or the ground :mad:

Over all enjoying this

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭blaa85

Some of the cut scenes borked in mid to later stages of the first game for others? Really annoying, you'll hear the dialogue fine but the screen will be stuck on a wall or the ground :mad:

Over all enjoying this

I have read about this, it seems to happen to people playing in aspect ratio 16:9. I'm holding off playing it for the next week in the hopes it gets patched.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Retr0gamer wrote:
    Shenmue has a myriad of flaws but on the other hand there really isn't anything else like it.

Yakuza is very much in the same vein as it.
    I think these re-releases are quite shocking as the graphics & audio are somehow worse than I imagined games were in 2001/02. When you think stuff like MGS 2 & Silent Hill 2 were out around the same time as these originally it makes Shenmue look tacky and out of date.

blaa85 wrote: »
    I have read about this, it seems to happen to people playing in aspect ratio 16:9. I'm holding off playing it for the next week in the hopes it gets patched.

Ah ok I'm one of those people in 16:9

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭blaa85

ERG89 wrote: »
    Yakuza is very much in the same vein as it.
    I think these re-releases are quite shocking as the graphics & audio are somehow worse than I imagined games were in 2001/02. When you think stuff like MGS 2 & Silent Hill 2 were out around the same time as these originally it makes Shenmue look tacky and out of date.

Shenmue was out in 99, 2/3 years before then. Something closer was Ocarina of time in 98. Shenmue's graphics were unbelievable at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Jim Sterling with an edgy opinion for attention.

I'm shocked.

I'm still on the fence about having to pass time, can be annoying but on the other had I do think fair play to the devs for trying this 20 years ago. I stopped watching the sterling video after a few minutes as I felt he was going to start repeating himself or try to apply modern standards to it. Ok i heard you the first time Jim.

Some the attention to detail given it's age is pretty cool, like brollies going up when it rains , shop keepers opening up their shutters, closing up and walking to a bar, the streets changing a week before Xmas. and santy walking around etc. You might not see that in some games released today.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I think the devs themselves knew the waiting around was a bit too far as they let you skip forward in the sequel!

I was enjoying this up until I had to start moving crates around on a forklift.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Ah, the first job i ever had...forklift driving :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,190 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

That's the best part. Race to beat co-workers in the morning, race to beat quotas during the day.

Shenmue made me want a forklift licence in real life.

Day 1 was was fun day 4 not so much.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,468 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

That's the best part. Race to beat co-workers in the morning, race to beat quotas during the day.

Shenmue made me want a forklift licence in real life.

Coincidentally, I got a forklift licence couple of months before the game came out. So I was really enamoured with the forklift part :D

That's my favourite part of the game!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

This is one those games I would buy just to experience the genesis of this genre. I never played it before but I have seen it creep up on articles/magazines and online videos throughout most of my life. It's a game that passed me by because I never owned a Dreamcast growing up (I was a PlayStation lad almost exclusively).
    I watched Jim Sterling's hilarious bashing of the game - I actually like to laugh at his negative opinions on games, even ones I genuinely like. Like Dynasty Warriors 9: Terrible DW game, but it's still a lot of fun on its own despite how ugly it looks and sometimes performs, but I digress.

People say Yakuza took what Shenmue had and made it better. I have had Yakuza on PS2 for a few years but never touched it once, so I can't comment or compare either game.

Never saved my game at the end so have to fight Golem again and sit through the credits so I can import it into the next game.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Great look at the remaster here, really seems to live up to the dreamcast versions and then some.

I just need time to pick this up and play.

People say Yakuza took what Shenmue had and made it better. .
    I would agree with this but only to a point. The actual gameplay is better. Movement, camera controls etc but that is where I would stop making comparisons. Tonally the two games are miles apart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

SomeSayKos wrote: »
    I would agree with this but only to a point. The actual gameplay is better. Movement, camera controls etc but that is where I would stop making comparisons. Tonally the two games are miles apart

Yeah tonally and story wise they are very different, no comparison. Personally, I'd say the only thing Yakuza really took from Shenmue was the incredible sense of place it manages to create.

Also, Kiryu wouldn't need 3 games to kick the bollix off Lan Di :D

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭matty55

I have vague memories of this on the Dreamcast. Just remember drinking cans of soft drinks and driving forklifts lol can't remember too much about the story so glad to be able to play it with an almost blank canvas

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

So, should I buy this or Yakuza?

Yakuza would be the better game and much easier to get into.

Get Shenmue and then get Yakuza later :pac: