Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it ok to be proud to be white?

167891012»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭keffiyeh

Bootlegger wrote: »
    Right. Tbh I think you're just another lefty whinger who wants even stricter moderation. What is it with you people and punishment and silencing dissent?

You've been at it since the days of the gulags.

I'm actually quite conservative leaning, I'm just not a racist lunatic. Also love how you try to associate extremism with 'lefties' when the world's most famous examples are the opposite. Dunno who you think you're fooling, racists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

keffiyeh wrote: »
    I posted two links explaining it in detail, you'll need to look for yourself.

And then play our new bingo game! It's even in an American theme, because people love being concerned with American topics here for some reason. https://mfbc.us/m/kbzc8q

No, you did not.

You made the accusation, you either back it up or withdraw.

No, you did not.

You made the accusation, you either back it up or withdraw.

I literally posted two links.

Not my problem you're so busy posting transphobic memes to notice.

Also if you were indeed trans, you wouldn't need the links surely, you'd already be aware. It's a known issue within the LGBT+ community and people sympathetic to it.

I literally posted two links.

Not my problem you're so busy posting transphobic memes to notice.

Also if you were indeed trans, you wouldn't need the links surely, you'd already be aware. It's a known issue within the LGBT+ community and people sympathetic to it.

WTF does that mean ? When have I ever said I was trans ???

I've looked and I posted NO transphobic memes, comments or slurs.

You either back it up NOW or you can face the report.

I'm not going to rise to the bait and call you the "t" word, but rest assured I know what you are.

I've looked and I posted NO transphobic memes, comments or slurs

'did you assume my gender' is in fact a transphobic meme. As the two links I provided demonstrate.
    You either back it up NOW or you can face the report

OH...

NOOOOOOEEEEEESSSSSSSSSS
    I'm not going to rise to the bait and call you the "t" word, but rest assured I know what you are.

... tennis player?

'did you assume my gender' is in fact a transphobic meme. As the two links I provided demonstrate.

OH...

NOOOOOOEEEEEESSSSSSSSSS

... tennis player?

1. You have no idea what a meme is.
    2. You've demonstrated zilch - except for a lack of cognitive ability and being a complete WUM.
    3. No, I like tennis players. They have a use.

Welcome to the ignore fraternity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Just reading the tail end of the thread and I'm sensing this is more about being petty and attention seeking, than it is about challenging a concensus that white pride is solely an oppressive and racist idealogy with black pride being about people positively identifying themselves.

I honestly can't imagine any white person using the term 'white pride' that wouldn't be a racist. It's used extensively by white separatist groups as a motto. What challenge can you make to that consensus?

1. You have no idea what a meme is.

C'mon you get do better than that surely...
    2. You've demonstrated zilch - except for a lack of cognitive ability and being a complete WUM.
    3. No, I like tennis players. They have a use.

Welcome to the ignore fraternity.

Guess not.

You transphobe.

Mod: banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭7aubzxk43m2sni

It's a meme based on the ridiculous behaviour of some people, who get offended and outraged at the very slightest of things, for example someone assuming their gender.

These people exist, I've been accused of "deliberately misgendering" someone on boards because I used the word "dude" in a post

It's a meme based on the ridiculous behaviour of some people, who get offended and outraged at the very slightest of things, for example someone assuming their gender.

These people exist, I've been accused of "deliberately misgendering" someone on boards because I used the word "dude" in a post

Really ?

I've had "lads", "dude", mate" etc etc - should I have been taking offence all these years ?? :D:D:D:D:D:D

Sure Planespeeking does the same thing, I was told I 'misgendered' him haha.

It's still a transphobic meme and it was used by Planespeeking.

At least you admit it actually is a meme. Planespeeking's fantastic straw man defence was that I didn't know what a meme was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

Reminds me of the South Park episode where cartman makes this factual argument about the swastika. It's fine to be proud of being white or black,gay,Asian, and so on but a minority have destroyed the phrase white pride so maybe we just need a new way of saying it. I would also say there is a minority of hard left who don't think there is any pride in being white like the 4chan (yes I know it's 4chan but at the time no one knew and they did it to expose the thinking of the hard left) put a poster up in a collage saying ITS OK TO BE WHITE . Which was quickly taken as hate speech and racial intimidation

Here we go wrote: »
    Which was quickly taken as hate speech and racial intimidation

Can you link to an article on that please?

At least you admit it actually is a meme. Planespeeking's fantastic straw man defence was that I didn't know what a meme was.

I still don't see how it's transphobic. It's merely mocking the ridiculous over sensitivity of some people.

Jaysus is ze still on about me ?

The ignore button is such a welcome tool.

Can you link to an article on that please?

Can't find the original but I google it and there's tons all about far right stuff which may be true honestly don't know but the original incident was on one collage with no more then a poster and reports of racial hate speech some far right groups may have seen it and ran with it hers the first link I found https://www.google.ie/amp/s/qz.com/1144783/the-rise-of-the-alt-rights-catchphrase-its-ok-to-be-white/amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

White pride? What's to be proud of? An accident of birth?

Hopefully, someday there will be no need for black pride or gay pride or any other kind of pride.

White pride? What's to be proud of? An accident of birth?

Hopefully, someday there will be no need for black pride or gay pride or any other kind of pride.

The same reasons black and gay are rightly prideful of all the differences they have

Can't find the original but I google it and there's tons all about far right stuff which may be true honestly don't know but the original incident was on one collage with no more then a poster and reports of racial hate speech some far right groups may have seen it and ran with it hers the first link I found https://www.google.ie/amp/s/qz.com/1144783/the-rise-of-the-alt-rights-catchphrase-its-ok-to-be-white/amp

Ah here! Glad I asked, mate unless you've seen info from a trustworthy outlet don't repeat it, cause then someone else picks it up and regurgitates it and that's how you get people believing in this fantasy world of blue haired feminazi invasions.

Planespeeking I will be on you until I prove what you are to everyone :)

Ah here! Glad I asked, mate unless you've seen info from a trustworthy outlet don't repeat it, cause then someone else picks it up and regurgitates it and that's how you get people believing in this fantasy world of blue haired feminazi invasions.

Planespeeking I will be on you until I prove what you are to everyone :)

Here's the Wikipedia entry https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/It%27s_OK_to_be_white

I'm pretty sure it was on boards at some point

Here's the Wikipedia entry https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/It%27s_OK_to_be_white

I'm pretty sure it was on boards at some point

Oh you can bet it was :pac: true or not :pac: Frankly if it happened, I of course agree with that message, I am white, and if it was considered hateful, that's as ridiculous as the radicalized right. Wikis can be edited by anyone though. And I don't think I've seen more citation requests in a wiki before, and what links are there are links to the likes of David Duke lol (former KKK grand wizard).

It literally doesn't have a single ["citation needed"] in the entire article

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Its the typical kneejerk PC reaction some must be permanently about what someone says to give their lives meaning i just simply try to ignore such people.

Mutant z wrote: »
    Its the typical kneejerk PC reaction some must be permanently about what someone says to give their lives meaning i just simply try to ignore such people.

Right, and I often do too, but sometimes it's too much, or sometimes I'm concerned that if it's unchallenged, a neutral reader might come in and be swayed by such nonsense without giving it much thought.

I really fail to see his obsession with me!

I'd say it was rather flattering but that's what Gianni Versace must have thought!

I really fail to see his obsession with me!

I'd say it was rather flattering but that's what Gianni Versace must have thought!

It's hilarious that you're the bigot and transphobe, given the rainbow avatar clearly showing your support for the LGBT community :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod: keffiyeh is taking a short holiday. Please stop responding to his posts.

It's hilarious that you're the bigot and transphobe, given the rainbow avatar clearly showing your support for the LGBT community :rolleyes:

And the fact The George know my drink so well, they now just ask "how many love ?"

:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

I'm pretty happy to be white, and Irish, OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

The same reasons black and gay are rightly prideful of all the differences they have

Hmm, that is not the way I saw it. My take on it is that they are showing they are proud of their differences because of the negative shite heaped on them over the years for those very things and not because they themselves feel different. What differences... skin colour, sexuality... a big deal just because some people over the years have made it the wrong kind of big deal. Now it's all becoming less of a big deal and hopefully no deal at all in the future hence no need for 'pride' in years to come. I don't feel the need to celebrate my differences because no one has made me and others similar to me suffer for such things although that could change in the future with a couple of them the way the world is going.

I'm not sure if I've expressed what I meant correctly.

Hmm, that is not the way I saw it. My take on it is that they are showing they are proud of their differences because of the negative shite heaped on them over the years for those very things and not because they themselves feel different. What differences... skin colour, sexuality... a big deal just because some people over the years have made it the wrong kind of big deal. Now it's all becoming less of a big deal and hopefully no deal at all in the future hence no need for 'pride' in years to come. I don't feel the need to celebrate my differences because no one has made me and others similar to me suffer for such things although that could change in the future with a couple of them the way the world is going.

I'm not sure if I've expressed what I meant correctly.

I kinda know what you mean, and I've been to my share of Pride shindigs!

The reason for them currently is that for decades people were treated like being gay was something to be ashamed of (which of course it is not).

I, like you, want to see a time in the future where no Pride events are needed but they are still I believe.

And besides, they're tons of fun!!!!!

If only people could fake online personas so they can get away with saying anything.

Jesus, I just realized.

Boards.ie has its own Milo Yiannopolous.

Quite literally in fact, it may as well be him posting.

milo_transphobia_bill_maher_by_digi_matrix-dazgak9.gif

Originality is truly dead.

(and of course boards.ie mods have no issues with posting of his calibre, despite the fact he's been deplatformed from almost all social media outlets)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

If only people could fake online personas so they can get away with saying anything.

Jesus, I just realized.

milo_transphobia_bill_maher_by_digi_matrix-dazgak9.gif

(and of course boards.ie mods have no issues with posting of his calibre, despite the fact he's been deplatformed from almost all social media outlets)

What the hell are you on about?

Nobody's talking to you, which is why you may seem a bit lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Aren't you just great.

What the hell are you on about?

I've given up worrying, reported away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Jesus, I just realized.

Mod: Your first post back after a ban and you start attacking people again???

Don't post in this thread. And trust me, banning you from this thread is doing you a favour.

OP You misspelled UVF in the original question there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

I identify as a blade of grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭EmmetWhitey

Why does nobody understand that James Bond is not meant to be the same person in every film. It's the name they assign the agent called 007.... so theres no problem with him being black .... smh

True, but it's like when Doctor Who cast a woman - the new showrunner specifically decided to cast a woman, before anyone had auditioned.

Like casting Idris Elba or other black actor as Bond and not auditioning anyone - maybe he'd be crap in the role ?

Unless a character is specifically one race or sex and casting would need to stories being altered (Elementary works quite well, no changes need to the Sherlock Holmes story) then anyone can play anyone!

What annoys me is when a decision is made not for theatrical but political reasons. Black singer Beverley Knight playing white real life person, suffragette Emmeline Pankhurst. That's just political.

Think your in the wrong thread : but lazenbys Moore’s Dalton’s and maybe brosnans all make reference to his wife from ohmss and in sky fall you see Craig’s bonds parents grave and there bond

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Pretty much. How they handle it is important because for example ghost busters was an utter disaster (and if they really do want to go down that road it also defeated the purpose with a male director and the sassy/"from he streets" black woman offsetting the white, more educated scientists). But as far as Idris Elba himself, I think he's got the persona and look (yes, look!) to make an absolutely fantastic James Bond.

It is important though that they keep him simply Bond and ignore his skin colour though, in the movie. Constant reminders that "hey he's black now you know!" would be massively disruptive to the overall flow and feel of the movie, and would entirely defeat the purpose.

If it were a movie about race or a remake of a movie that hasn't aged well racially then I would get it, but their best approach here would be to simply ignore his skin colour for the entire film.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

This thread is

A) a zombie thread

B) not appropriate for AH

Thread Closed