Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tyrone Boycott of RTE Continuing Through Final

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Strabanimal

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Gas how some people just can't admit that Dublin are a great team

And no that's not me needing to be told Dublin are great, it's just a fact.

I will say so if you beat us on the 2nd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Beating this Tyrone team is the benchmark of being a great team !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

But we've already done that this year

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭mattser

Personally I wouldn't want him representing my county. We all have our demons but a gay porn star gambler who preyed on a kid while in a relationship and makes excuses for his behaviour is hardly someone who I would respect or cheer on. Or wish young fans to cheer on.
    That's just my view, others are entitled to theirs.
    You should respect others opinions on the subject. It's an amateur game and he is representing your county.
    I see her is going playing football for Athy now. Hopefully he will never touch a Kildare jersey.

Get all PC if you want but if you can't see why others aren't taken by him, so be it

He'd hardly ever be that desperate :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,127 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Of course they are a 'great' team. My problem though is that the 'great' bit comes from the elephant in the room bit.
    If the field was level they would be just the same as other top teams and football would be better for it.

Winning 4 in a row is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Winning 4 in a row is

Correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Niles Crane

Of course they are a 'great' team. My problem though is that the 'great' bit comes from the elephant in the room bit.
    If the field was level they would be just the same as other top teams and football would be better for it.

The field has never been level.

The bigger counties have always had an advantage over the smaller ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

I would take issue with Liam Hayes article in the Daily Mail today. He has no idea nor have I of the hell Harte has gone through since the murder of Michaela. It is not his place to get on a soap box and condemn Harte for not speaking to Rte. The skit was I’ll timed and rubbish. It showed a serious lack of Both intelligence and empathy.
    Losing a child is every parents nightmare and for him to be subject to a skit like that at anytime is out of order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Correct.
    Winning 4 in a row is
    By that logic there's only been 3 great teams in the history of inter county gaelic football

holyhead wrote: »
    I would take issue with Liam Hayes article in the Daily Mail today. He has no idea nor have I of the hell Harte has gone through since the murder of Michaela. It is not his place to get on a soap box and condemn Harte for not speaking to Rte. The skit was I’ll timed and rubbish. It showed a serious lack of Both intelligence and empathy.
    Losing a child is every parents nightmare and for him to be subject to a skit like that at anytime is out of order.

A 'skit' that never mentioned his daughter at all? :confused:

He had lost his daughter in the most horrific circumstances so no skit is justifiable unless he himself was in on it.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Maybe not overtly, maybe not even intentionally but the choice of song was extremely distasteful

He had lost his daughter in the most horrific circumstances so no skit is justifiable unless he himself was in on it.

He was a public figure who had just tried to get somebody a job in RTE and took the hump when they didn't give it.

I fully sympathise with the loss of a beautiful daughter but life goes on and Mickey himself went on with normal life.

RTE were doing something normal too.

Weepsie wrote: »
    Maybe not overtly, maybe not even intentionally but the choice of song was extremely distasteful

It is a song synonymous with Tyrone, are you saying it should never again be played within earshot of Mickey Harte?

Yes, that does sound ridiculous and that is because it is a ridiculous notion, now and at the time of the programme.

Mickey 'took' offence, it is impossible to guard against that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I am a County Londonderry native but I live in a Gaelic settlement unlike Mr Mulligan and I won't have him cracking his smug little jokes.

Well call down to Cookstown and tell him then. His pub is between the chapel and the petrol station just opposite the fire station. He's there most days.

There's a lot of 'thuggery' in football, yet when Dublin do it, or Tyrone, it's rarely called out.
    Brian Dooher, Peter Canavan for Tyrone.
    There were numerous 'puke' football players over time.

Jesus I wouldn't have called Dooher or Canavan "puke" footballers.
    Dooher almost reinvented the modern midfield player. One minute he was defending his goal the next he was scoring an outrageous point from the sideline.
    Canavan was one of the greatest ever players to wear a jersey.

Spillane stupidly coined the phrase puke football. He wasn't so quick to use the term in 2008 when kerry's tactics mostly involved hoofing high balls from midfield into Donaghy and Walsh.

Weepsie wrote: »

There was absolutely nothing intentional about with regard referring to Michaela's death, don't be so ridiculous. Do you really think someone could be that heartless.

Unfortunate choice in hindsight, thats about it. Distasteful suggests some sort of intention.
    I honestly don't think Harte was offended by the song, in so far as he honestly believed there was any intention behind it, morseso he was offended (or moreson bitter) for the reason behind the skit itself which took the pi*s out of his ego. He just used the lyrics for leverage for his stand off (a stand off, as I mentioned earlier was well under way anyway)

Winning 4 in a row is

And winning 5 out of the last 7 isn't?

FFS, they are a brilliant team.

They don't need to beat Tyrone to prove that. And even if Tyrone get the better of them, they ill still be one of the best (if not the best) teams ever. Although I find it ugly to compare an essentially professional, modern day team to a team like Kerry in a completely different era forty years ago.

It makes me laugh when that conversation comes into play, especially by people who would have never seen them play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Winning 4 in a row is

And winning 5 out of the last 7 isn't?

FFS, they are a brilliant team.

They don't need to beat Tyrone to prove that. And even if Tyrone get the better of them, they ill still be one of the best (if not the best) teams ever. Although I find it ugly to compare an essentially professional, modern day team to a team like Kerry in a completely different era forty years ago.

It makes me laugh when that conversation comes into play, especially by people who would have never seen them play!
    Whilr I agree to sme degree that comparing teams from different eras is somewhat pointless, if we were to use your logic then its safe to say that who ever wins the AI in a given year is teh greatest team of all time??

There was absolutely nothing intentional about with regard referring to Michaela's death, don't be so ridiculous. Do you really think someone could be that heartless.

Unfortunate choice in hindsight, thats about it. Distasteful suggests some sort of intention.
    I honestly don't think Harte was offended by the song, in so far as he honestly believed there was any intention behind it, morseso he was offended (or moreson bitter) for the reason behind the skit itself which took the pi*s out of his ego. He just used the lyrics for leverage for his stand off (a stand off, as I mentioned earlier was well under way anyway)

It's notable too that a huge amount of people believe now that Michaela was directly referenced in a skit on probably one of the most innocuous, inoffensive programmes RTE ever had on air. The idea that John Murray would be involved in what would have been one of the most shocking things RTE ever did, is ridiculous.

Harte or nobody else is very quick to correct that.

Pogue eile wrote: »
    Whilr I agree to sme degree that comparing teams from different eras is somewhat pointless, if we were to use your logic then its safe to say that who ever wins the AI in a given year is teh greatest team of all time??

That is an entirely different logic.

Absurd to suggest it is the same thing????

The argument regarding Dublin owes a lot to their longevity dominating the championship. Their professionalism, attitude, motivation to keep coming back every year and win which abandons most championship winning teams, their ability to chop and change, alter their game, fine tune their players into the system they use, keep players on the fringe of the team on board and equally fine tuned hen they do come in.

Dublin aren't even winning finals by huge margins or even comfortably, they are getting over the line by the minimum but have a winning attitude that is unprecedented for a team over such a long period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

That is an entirely different logic.

Absurd to suggest it is the same thing????

The argument regarding Dublin owes a lot to their longevity dominating the championship. Their professionalism, attitude, motivation to keep coming back every year and win which abandons most championship winning teams, their ability to chop and change, alter their game, fine tune their players into the system they use, keep players on the fringe of the team on board and equally fine tuned hen they do come in.

Dublin aren't even winning finals by huge margins or even comfortably, they are getting over the line by the minimum but have a winning attitude that is unprecedented for a team over such a long period.
    Why is it absurd, isnt the game evolving all the time and training methods getting more professional? Its the same argument whether it be one year or 40, or is it just that you use 40 years as your cut off as to dismiss the great Kerry team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Hayes has good experience of personal loss. It's not only Mickey Harte has had great sadness visit their lives. Using it to leverage anything is distasteful.

Why is it absurd, isnt the game evolving all the time and training methods getting more professional? Its the same argument whether it be one year or 40, or is it just that you use 40 years as your cut off as to dismiss the great Kerry team?

You have suggested that my logic regarding Dublin's claim to greatness and the reasons mooted to back this claim up, in terms of a GAA football team, is analogous to every team that wins an AI having a similar claim for greatness.

Obviously your definition of greatness may be different to mine. A vast amount of my reasons to attribute the term greatness to this Dublin team owes to their longevity/ dominance at the top. I have given you a short snippet of reasons above that back up this factor.

Also, I never dismissed any team, I simply said you cannot compare them. Different things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

mfceiling wrote: »
    Dooher almost reinvented the modern midfield player. One minute he was defending his goal the next he was scoring an outrageous point from the sideline.

Spillane stupidly coined the phrase puke football. He wasn't so quick to use the term in 2008 when kerry's tactics mostly involved hoofing high balls from midfield into Donaghy and Walsh.

That isn't puke football, that is how the game should be played, according to the puritans of West Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Rubbish.

You just have to look at a few Apres Match episodes to realise how precious Harte is being about this.

I don't know if you remember Spitting Image but it is amazing that any politician spoke to the BBC after that, if you are using Harte standards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

By that logic there's only been 3 great teams in the history of inter county gaelic football

And one of them is Wexford :rolleyes:

blanch152 wrote: »
    Rubbish.

You just have to look at a few Apres Match episodes to realise how precious Harte is being about this.

I don't know if you remember Spitting Image but it is amazing that any politician spoke to the BBC after that, if you are using Harte standards.

Most people don't lose a child, let alone in such heinous circumstances. To call him precious is insensitive. Apres Match is rubbish if you want to talk about rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,364 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

mfceiling wrote: »

Dooher would fall down if you even sneezed in his direction. It was worse than Italian soccer. This would be five minutes after he punched another player unprovoked.
    Canavan famously threw an unprovoked punch at then 19 year old Colm Cooper, knocking him to the ground. Canavan was in his 30s at the time.
    No red or yellow card for either player.
    Hence puke football.
    That isn't puke football, that is how the game should be played, according to the puritans of West Kerry.

Nope, no sucker punches is a very nice way to play the game. Dublin have thrown quite a few of these as well, but nobody says anything.
    Most people don't lose a child, let alone in such heinous circumstances. To call him precious is insensitive. Apres Match is rubbish if you want to talk about rubbish.

And nobody has ever forgotten what happened to Michaela. Especially as Tyrone had to deal with Conor McAnallen's death, and it reopened old wounds. Michaela was at all of the matches, was often pushed out to speak because Mickey and his wife weren't exactly comfortable in front of the cameras (not mocking them btw, point a camera at me and I'd run a mile). Plus she was their only daughter. A former Tyrone Rose. It was a horrible crime and they will never get justice, instead putting their hopes in the possibility of an afterlife and judgement by a deity.

There was a horrible double-murder that befell a family in my home place. And I can't discuss the details, because it was a very heinous crime. But nobody forgot it.
    It made the news, was covered extensively.
    Nobody from that place will ever forget the crime. But even then, it wasn't as high profile as Harte-and the family got their day in court and justice.
    The Harte's never received that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Just to be clear, you are making the point that Mike Harte has no right to get upset because other people don't get upset at apres match? That's a serious stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Peter Canavan puke footballer.

I have heard it all now!

They are trying every slant or angle to get at MH. Pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Any team that wins an all Ireland is a great team,these are never easy won and a lot of counties would love to win one,just look at last weekend result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

dixiefly wrote:
    In my opinion Mickey was totally out of line in the first instance making comments to RTE regarding the use of Brian Certy, to even consider that you could influence the planning of an independent organisation is laughable.

blanch152 wrote:

The sooner Dublin do 'the five in a row' next year the better. It will finally put an end to the Kerry supremacy nonsense. Listening to Spillane et al spouting about Kerry football is draining to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

It's notable too that a huge amount of people believe now that Michaela was directly referenced in a skit on probably one of the most innocuous, inoffensive programmes RTE ever had on air. The idea that John Murray would be involved in what would have been one of the most shocking things RTE ever did, is ridiculous.

Harte or nobody else is very quick to correct that.

When Tyrone footballers were involved in abusing a young man about his father's death the Tyrone County Board closed ranks.
    They are a shower of hypocrites.

When Tyrone footballers were involved in abusing a young man about his father's death the Tyrone County Board closed ranks.
    They are a shower of hypocrites.

In fairness, that particular allegation was investigated by the Ulster Council and their finding that it didn't happen was accepted by both teams.

I can categorically assure you it happened. Proving it was the issue.

Well, even if it did, I would think management of most underage or minor teams would have found themselves in that position to a greater or lesser serious degree. Young people mouthing off inappropriately or acting rashly is an entirely different thing to adults keeping a trivial huff going for 8 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭rpurfield

That's grand we'll take some chap on the internet using a fake name for his word over an investigation by Ulster Council!!

Go on then.

Categorically assure me. I'm not saying it didn't happen, in fact nothing would surprise me but for you to come out with a definitive statement like that, I'm intrigued.

rpurfield wrote: »

That's grand we'll take some chap on the internet using a fake name for his word over an investigation by Ulster Council!!
    Edit

Dooher would fall down if you even sneezed in his direction.

Yeah that never actually happened.
    Canavan famously threw an unprovoked punch at then 19 year old Colm Cooper, knocking him to the ground. Canavan was in his 30s at the time.
    No red or yellow card for either player.
    Hence puke football.

When was this? Canavan was the only inter county player in history to throw a punch?

Puke football for throwing a dig....so every game of football and hurling is puke...ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

Fascinating documentary on Tyrone on TG4 right now. Seems to be about overcoming adversity and building resistance in times of need.

Whatever we think of Mickey Harte and his personal battles, his managerial reign will live long in GAA folklore. The success he brought to Tyrone is remarkable from schools to All Ireland’s at senior level