Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you go to the ploughing 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,498 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just so people know the weather around here is very windy and dry. Can't see it being a mudfest tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

It's tonight before the rain from the remnants of Helene are supposed to pass. And wed then has a storm with windier conditions. BIL wants to go regardless but I'll see myself what conditions are like. Busy enough at home anyway, feckin jobs usually done during the summer need catching up on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Reggie. wrote: »
    Just so people know the weather around here is very windy and dry. Can't see it being a mudfest tbh

You would be hoping its dry as the rain is forecast for this evening and early tomorrow. Weather looks crap for the week. Can't see them getting record numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Mooooo wrote: »
    It's tonight before the rain from the remnants of Helene are supposed to pass. And wed then has a storm with windier conditions. BIL wants to go regardless but I'll see myself what conditions are like. Busy enough at home anyway, feckin jobs usually done during the summer need catching up on.
    Ah we've all been working hard enough this year Moo, take an ould day off for the ploughing. It's like going to mass, even if you dont enjoy it all that much, it's nice to feel part of the wider community!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

You would be hoping its dry as the rain is forecast for this evening and early tomorrow. Weather looks crap for the week. Can't see them getting record numbers

Yes a few of my family members have decided against going this year due to the weather forecast, conditions will be dire I would imagine and most definitely crowds will be down on previous years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Ah we've all been working hard enough this year Moo, take an ould day off for the ploughing. It's like going to mass, even if you dont enjoy it all that much, it's nice to feel part of the wider community!

Whuch community would that be? :D

It's gonna take ALOT of rain to turn the ground bad if it's anything like ground around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

They also had different fields for parking each day last year - on our route anyway so even if it cuts up there’s a good park the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

The tents selling their wears will be in a bad way, if it is windy there, will be a bit of a wet squib, if Wednesday come bad, wellies are a must, as well as good rain gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Just off site. The ground is savage dry there and at the minute you can walk around without wellies. They have 100s of tons of bark mulch laid down. Unless it rains non stop tomorrow there will be no bother.

About 6mm forcasted for tonight which will barely make a dent I'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

Fech it. Not going to bother going to the ploughing. Too far away and dodgey weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭fastrac94

Just out off the site der now and ders dust leaving the wheels of the jeep,made a small bit of mist but ya can't even see it on the ground,would take a weeks rain to have any affect on the site...

fastrac94 wrote: »
    Just out off the site der now and ders dust leaving the wheels of the jeep,made a small bit of mist but ya can't even see it on the ground,would take a weeks rain to have any affect on the site...

I'll be there around 7am

People very afraid of a repeat of last year. Not a chance of it I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,858 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I'll be there around 7am

Don't forget your shopping list...

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

I'll be there around 7am

Not concerned with rain. The wind could be a bigger problem. I'm 4 hours from the site, so i wont bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭alps

I'll be there around 7am

That's it so....just setting the phone for 4...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I'll be there around 7am

Reggie you'll have bouncing cheques every side:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Wakey wakey!!!! Rise and shine!

I'm not going but I just caught a mouse with a flip flop and takeaway container so I'm very awake :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Mississippi.

Just leaving now for it

I plink therefore I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭alps

Think we just get away without the raingear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,380 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Wakey wakey!!!! Rise and shine!

I'm not going but I just caught a mouse with a flip flop and takeaway container so I'm very awake :pac:
    Are you a woman trying to be a cat - catwoman :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,981 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I'd say the difference between this year and last year's event was ladt year we had had wet Wednesdays fir a good few weeks beforehand. Ground should be dry underneath. It's very warm this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

I'll be there on Thursday for work.

Onsite. Slight drizzle. No wind and car parks like concrete

Thursday is our only option :(

I’ll be watching reports and the forecast but it’s looking awfully wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

for the first time in years, don't think i'll bother this year. Weather not looking great either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I don’t get this craic of leaving at stupid o clock in the morning to go to the ploughing. I did my jobs, milked for a lad, and rolled into the car park at 12.30 not a car ahead of me.

The car park I’m in is only 2/3 full compared to last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Divil of a shower there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

doesn't look too crowded :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭ABlur

First time at ploughing in 5 years. Thought it was better laid out than previous. Tractors beside other tractors, cars beside cars etc. Previously it was all over the place. Seems the grot shops are gone which is no harm. Crowd was manageable, parking fine. Traffic delays in the morning in Cloughan but no problems on the way out. Once that big shower arrived at 3pm there was a mass exodus.

ABlur wrote: »
    First time at ploughing in 5 years. Thought it was better laid out than previous. Tractors beside other tractors, cars beside cars etc. Previously it was all over the place. Seems the grot shops are gone which is no harm. Crowd was manageable, parking fine. Traffic delays in the morning in Cloughan but no problems on the way out. Once that big shower arrived at 3pm there was a mass exodus.

Still here and great comfort walking around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Great day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Really enjoyed today, will probably go again next year. I love that site in tullamore, access is so easy. I can't see them doing 4 years in the one spot though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Hoping to land around half 2 tomorrow and trapse around til 7.

Most reviews seem positive thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Ground is seriously dry there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭dzer2

Really enjoyed today, will probably go again next year. I love that site in tullamore, access is so easy. I came see them doing 4 years in the one spot though.

In Fenagh Carlow I have heard.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

In the chipper now on the way home. I was apprehensive about the weather but apart from a torrential shower at around 3 o'clock it was a grand day.
    I've gone the last 3 years and think the tullamore site is ideal, it's very central even for us in the west.
    All in a great day out and already looking forward to next year!!

dzer2 wrote: »
    In Fenagh Carlow I have heard.

On the main road above Ballon.
    Fighting cocks area.

Grass has been sowed down for it on the fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I don’t get this craic of leaving at stupid o clock in the morning to go to the ploughing. I did my jobs, milked for a lad, and rolled into the car park at 12.30 not a car ahead of me.

The car park I’m in is only 2/3 full compared to last year.
    Was there at 7.15am, got into exhibitors car park beside entrance, gone at 3 and back for a few jobs this evening. And I left the road clear for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Reall enjoyed today. Wasn't that keen on going but no traffic, smaller crowd, everyone in good form. Spent a lot of time talking to complete strangers. Got soaked by heavy shower but dried out by time I got to car. Really well organised, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭huntsman77

Was there today went there last 3 years great site drove straight in at 8 this morning and out at 5 no hold ups. Personally think not what it was say 10 year ago was in market for a chainsaw and only really husqavarna there couple year ago had stihl husqavarna ole Mac and oregen with big stands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,170 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Ploughing postponed opening to 11am for general public tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

huntsman77 wrote: »
    Was there today went there last 3 years great site drove straight in at 8 this morning and out at 5 no hold ups. Personally think not what it was say 10 year ago was in market for a chainsaw and only really husqavarna there couple year ago had stihl husqavarna ole Mac and oregen with big stands

Crowd from Kilkenny had a stihl stand there.

Ploughing postponed opening to 11am for general public tomorrow

There'll be some Q's at the gates at 11.

They may get Reggie with a machine gun to keep order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,170 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

There'll be some Q's at the gates at 11.

They may get Reggie with a machine gun to keep order.

We were all set here to leave at 5am! Guess I'll be miilking in the AM

Every cloud has a silver lining. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭huntsman77

Crowd from Kilkenny had a stihl stand there.

Yea was chatting them alright had small selection 5or 6 saws

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Anything of note that ye would recommend as a must see apart from the usual stuff.

Going on Thursday