Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The midlands - say something nice

• 23-08-2018 8:42am
    Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The midlands are a much-neglected, overlooked part of Ireland that rarely feature in tourist brochures or lists of must-see places.

But what are the hidden gems of the Irish steppe, amongst the vast, unspoiled prairies of the hinterland, where would you go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭99nsr125

The midlands are a much-neglected, overlooked part of Ireland that rarely feature in tourist brochures or lists of must-see places.

But what are the hidden gems of the Irish steppe, amongst the vast, unspoiled prairies of the hinterland, where would you go?

It's an hour from everywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭buzsywuzsy

Lough Boora Discovery Park

You can get to Naas for a choppy-changey haircut and a visit to Doo-nays Boutique with ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,706 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Its only restricted to the midlands, so at least the rest of us don't have to listen to their accents ?

That's nice ! :)

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

What counties are you defining as the Midlands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

They now have a nice motorway to Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

They get impressively high temperatures from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its nice that's all the towns are by-passed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,281 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Airports on the coast means you can avoid it.

Prolific source of mutations and genetic anomalies for scientific researchers due to years of inbreeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

At least it's not Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

A (long) river runs through it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

Granard

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

It's great to get back there evenings and weekends away from scummy Dubs.

Is the Dublin city motto ACTUALLY "2 euro for a hostel ?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No it's 3 bananas for a euro, everyone knows that. Typical Midland Mucker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

No it's 3 bananas for a euro, everyone knows that. Typical Midland Mucker.

Ah am just a blow in apparently lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Fantastic, gorgeous agricultural land up around there, especially if you venture up as far as Co. Meath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

buzsywuzsy wrote: »
    Lough Boora Discovery Park

yep, was here last week, great place!

Also, Birr Castle and Clonmacnoise are excellent places to visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭GaGa21

Birr Castle is a great day out with the kids or for anyone with an interest in astronomy. Kinnitty Castle and the nearby glamping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

It’s awfully nice in Offally but can be chilly in Birr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

GaGa21 wrote: »
    Birr Castle is a great day out with the kids or for anyone with an interest in astronomy. Kinnitty Castle and the nearby glamping.

the tree house is brilliant, my 4yo spent four hours in that playground and didn't want to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Bike park Ireland, fcuk yea!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

It's not Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

cournioni wrote: »
    It's not Dublin.

I'm from the Pale and to be honest with you it really isn't as great as they say it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I can say one thing about it, it's obvious from this thread that's there's a load of people who have no idea what the midlands is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Hurrache wrote: »
    I can say one thing about it, it's obvious from this thread that's there's a load of people who have no idea what the midlands is!

It's lands that are in the mid.

Prolific source of mutations and genetic anomalies for scientific researchers due to years of inbreeding

It's funny the reversal in perception. Most of those I know in the midlands would say the same about Dubliners. So concerned to keep their 'purity' and not be contaminated by the Culchies... sure, isn't that one of the reasons for the housing crisis in Dublin? Everyone wants to live near their Mammy. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭GaGa21

Having lived in both, Dublin is good for the social scene in your 20s. Midlands is better for quality of family life in your 30s+
    Pros and cons of living in either place, it all comes down to personal choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

The Wineport

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

More lads selling turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

GaGa21 wrote: »
    Having lived in both, Dublin is good for the social scene in your 20s. Midlands is better for quality of family life in your 30s+
    Pros and cons of living in either place, it all comes down to personal choice.
    Pretty much sums it up, although when I was in Dublin in my 20s after paying all the bills there wasn't much left for socialising

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Bog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It may be full of farmers, but those farmers are more important to the country than some cityslicker that cannot contribute anything other than a stupid accent and a useless opinion on just about anything that moves..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,281 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

beertons wrote: »
    More lads selling munching turf.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

The Mullingar traveling community are supposed to be very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,881 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

biko wrote: »
    It may be full of farmers, but those farmers are more important to the country than some cityslicker that cannot contribute anything other than a stupid accent and a useless opinion on just about anything that moves..

You shouldn’t have to resort to putting people and areas down to make your area look good Biko, this name calling only lets yourself down. Nobodies more important than anyone no matter who pulls in the money or who gets the subsidies.

My tuppence;

Inland Waterways, canals, lakes and rivers
    Craic
    Baking summers
    Beef
    Wildlife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

OOnegative wrote: »
    What counties are you defining as the Midlands?
    The ones that used to be at the bottom of the prehistoric lake left after the ice age.

Bogland and such.

There’s something else nice to say; some of ye actually remember to go home instead of competing with Dubs for housing in Dublin, all the while moaning about Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

I don't know why but yer post made me think about this song:

I'm from the Gar and no, no they are not a nice bunch.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

I don't know why but yer post made me think about this song:

I'm from the Gar and no, no they are not a nice bunch.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Generally speaking the absence of scripted speech by staff in restaurants , pubs. This does my nut in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭NOVA MCMXCIV

The midlands, unlike RTE – is not b*stardful.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Auld Maggie Cashs relations are generally around in the AM

Can anyone talk about the Midlands without talking about the capital?

This is a thread about the nice things in the Midlands and all ye lot can talk about is Dublin!! I'm a Dub and I've better things to say about the Midlands than you lot!!

I live there. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,429 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Can anyone talk about the Midlands without talking about the capital?

This is a thread about the nice things in the Midlands and all ye lot can talk about is Dublin!! I'm a Dub and I've better things to say about the Midlands!!

Bits of Dublin are in the East Midlands.

It's the other way around bro. Bits or the Midlands are considered "Dublin commuter towns"!!

Anyway, more about the midlands!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It's quite good for cyclists

It's got a telescope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I've never heard anyone say the midlands is full of d*ckheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I've never heard anyone say the midlands is full of d*ckheads.