Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The midlands - say something nice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

down de bohom a de rooaaad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭Archeron

That sculpture on the M6 that looks like the various stages of Pacman eating a ghost, and the one on the M4 that looks like a giant polo mint making a break for it by rolling down a hill.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

croagh patrick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

At least it's not Cork.

Reported.
    You fcuking langer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭satguy

Been living in the Midlands for 25years,, Last 12years in Portlaoise, Have been very very happy.

If Portlaoise had an airport, I would never have drive up the M7 again..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Mailcoachinn

Slieve Bloom Mountains,
    A beach (no, really I’m serious),
    Emo Court & Gardens,
    Tracey’s Bar,
    Rathdaire Lake,
    The Heath,
    Abbeyleix,
    Stradbally,
    Eddie Kirwan’s Pub,
    Kavanagh’s,
    Swimming in the Nore in Castletown,

That’s County Laois alone & even then I could go on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

No jellyfish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭satguy

No M50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,854 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Newbridge is a handy town for shopping!

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭Ian OB

I live there. :P

Me too. It's great!ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

JayZeus wrote: »
    You can get to Naas for a choppy-changey haircut and a visit to Doo-nays Boutique with ease.

It'd take a Jackeen to think Naas is in the midlands

Slieve Bloom Mountains,
    Emo Court & Gardens,
    Tracey’s Bar,
    Rathdaire Lake,
    The Heath,
    Abbeyleix,
    Stradbally,
    Eddie Kirwan’s Pub,
    Kavanagh’s,

Where is the beach in Laois?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,650 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Life Festival, Mullingar, Westmeath
    Body&Soul Festival, Clonmellon, Westmeath.
    Electric Picnic Festival, Stradbally, County Laois.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Quazzie wrote: »
    Where is the beach in Laois?

Just outside Portarlington. Nicknamed the “Costa del Sod”. Have enjoyed many a summer day there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,281 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

... sure, isn't that one of the reasons for the housing crisis in Dublin? Everyone wants to live near their Mammy. :rolleyes:

Not atall

It's all the bleedin' refugees coming in from desperate places like Carlow and Offaly

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Uisneach is a pretty cool place. It's the highest point in Westmeath, so bring climbing gear and bottled oxygen if attempting a solo ascent.

Cool guided tours there at the weekends. The tour guide is a genuinely good story teller, if you are into mythology and legend.

http://uisneach.ie/

Would personally recommend you avoid any of the more crusty events held there, but to each their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,871 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The wife's from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

I married a Midlands man. Fine man too, so he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,881 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Quazzie wrote: »
    It'd take a Jackeen to think Naas is in the midlands

I was going to mention Pollardstown Fen as a unique and pretty unexplored midland attraction, but I'm afraid it will be dismissed by the Dublin obsessed person (like Quazzie here) that will insist it's not a midland attraction, but another East coast jewel instead.

Is the fen in or out?? Is the pretty impressive Curragh landscape in or out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,914 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Not many **** seagulls.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

Slieve Bloom Mountains,
    Emo Court & Gardens,
    Tracey’s Bar,
    Rathdaire Lake,
    The Heath,
    Abbeyleix,
    Stradbally,
    Eddie Kirwan’s Pub,
    Kavanagh’s,

How can you mention Abbeyleix and not Durrow. Durrow is a much prettier village than Abbeyleix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

My sis has a place out overlooking Lough Rea it’s like a spa by the lake I walk the perimeter and indulge in the sauna if I didn’t have that as an escape from time to time I’d go f*ckin nuts... really nice will probs move there someday myself when mam passes it’s no good for my head being boxed up in the ‘burbs at this stage. City isn’t as much use to me either anymore, bored with all that now the wilderness awaits...... how do I get to athlone. Give it another ten years or thereabouts and I’m outta here

There seems to be a lot of people who don't actually know where the Midlands are. I have seen Meath,Croagh Patrick and Naas mentioned on this thread. None of them are in the Midlands. I think people are getting confused with the Midlands and what Dublin people call anywhere outside of Dublin as down the country.
    The Midland counties to me anyway would be Laois, Offaly, Westmeath and maybe Longford.

ewc78 wrote: »
    How can you mention Abbeyleix and not Durrow. Durrow is a much prettier village than Abbeyleix.

Agreed & apologies. Like I said, I hadn’t mentioned everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Star Bingo wrote: »
    My sis has a place out overlooking Lough Rea

Lough Rea is in Loughrea, Co Galway. Lough Ree is in the midlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

OOnegative wrote: »
    Lough Rea is in Loughrea, Co Galway. Lough Ree is in the midlands.

:rolleyes: Lough Ree it is then

There seems to be a lot of people who don't actually know where the Midlands are. I have seen Meath,Croagh Patrick and Naas mentioned on this thread. None of them are in the Midlands. I think people are getting confused with the Midlands and what Dublin people call anywhere outside of Dublin as down the country.
    The Midland counties to me anyway would be Laois, Offaly, Westmeath and maybe Longford.

You're dead right according to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midlands_Region,_Ireland

Some of us would call areas the West midlands or the East midlands, but they're not officially the midlands. It's not from ignorance thought, some of us coastal dwellers tend to think anywhere an hours drive from the beach is a midland area!! But officially the midlands are where you say they are.

My original point remains true. The inland waterways are amazing. I've canoed them for years, mostly before they were navigable and they're just amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Reasonable property prices, decent infrastructure, convenient to Dublin Airport, no congestion, you can get to any part of the country in reasonable time, beautiful countryside and loads of space.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    You're dead right according to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midlands_Region,_Ireland

Some of us would call areas the West midlands or the East midlands, but they're not officially the midlands. It's not from ignorance thought, some of us coastal dwellers tend to think anywhere an hours drive from the beach is a midland area!! But officially the midlands are where you say they are.

My original point remains true. The inland waterways are amazing. I've canoed them for years, mostly before they were navigable and they're just amazing.

Well I'm from Laois originally so I would hope I'd know where the Midlands were :)

Some of us can't smell the tang of the salt air and think we're landlocked!! Did the Barrow a few times, the nicest river in the country to canoe.

tang

Great part of the midlands, the area where “The Busy Mill” is located, made famous by a poem from Oliver Goldsmith.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Great part of the midlands, the area where “The Busy Mill” is located, a famous poem by Oliver Goldsmith.

I know it well. I bought an old Porsche 944 in Tang!! Had it for a few years, sold it on, think it's in the UK now.

Jaysis wasn’t to many of them around when I was growing up there!!

Just outside Portarlington. Nicknamed the “Costa del Sod”. Have enjoyed many a summer day there...

Well then you should know that the Costa del Sod is actually across the border in Offaly ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

Gunning's in Rathconrath.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Gunning's in Rathconrath.

Is it still operating? Past by it a few times when I was home few weeks back & it looked shut. Mind you it has always given that appearance. Drank fair few pints in my youth there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Ah am just a blow in apparently lol!

Or a blow out, even worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

And has a Scarecrow festival that is brilliant!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Grandeeod wrote: »
    And has a Scarecrow festival that is brilliant!

I know someone who got married in Durrow - is it as ritzy as they made out ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Most likely Castle Durrow which would be a bit Ritzy alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,532 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Not many **** seagulls.

Seagulls are nature's scangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

Seagulls are nature's scangers.

Nature's chavs indeed!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I grew up in the midlands and found it very bleak tbh. I always wanted to live by the sea.

The ok thing in my area I suppose is the weather. We never seem to get hit with the worst of any storm. Also it can get very hot during the summer, and cold in the winter. We get snow most years where I live up on high ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The coastal counties value the Midlands tourism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    The Wineport

I would think Glasson // Village of the roses // has few other restaurants that are nice. Time stops for me when I get there for a meal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭badabing106

The best male golfer and female golfer in Ireland are from the midlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

Ah am just a blow in apparently lol!

Hmm.. So you're only third generation, then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

It's quiet (at least where I live).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭sydneygolfdude

Was at a wedding in Castle Durrow last year, spectacular venue and Durrow was great little village. The scare crow festival was on the same weekend, some craic!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Rock of Dunamase is amasing (sic).