Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The rise of the far right is the greatest threat to Western Civilisation

• 23-08-2018 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭

It's a far greater danger than Islamic terrorism, gender equality, and immigration. IMO the far right comprises a failed group of ideologies, once again gaining popularity amongst morons. The last time this happened, it ended in the slaughter of millions and the almost complete destruction of Europe and the far east.

There is an old saying that "those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it". Why would the outcome of the present situation be any different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Jesus everything is the greatest threat to Western civilisation according to the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,017 ✭✭✭uch

I think Cake is, Look what it's done to the yanks

21/25

Any extreme ideology is a threat. A far left ideology is just as dangerous as a far right ideology. Both will define for themselves about who is "human", "civilised", etc and the remainder will be sent to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,374 ✭✭✭✭endacl

uch wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭2 Scoops

I see Countries wanting control of their own borders because of the problems brought about by widespread immigration from different cultures. I don't see any brownshirts marching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Frostybrew wrote: »
    It's a far greater danger than Islamic terrorism, gender equality, and immigration.

Apart from everything else you mentioned and the general hyperbole: How is gender equality a danger to civilisation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,672 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Moderators closing threads is the greatest threat to Western civilisation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,568 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

2 Scoops wrote: »
    I see Countries wanting control of their own borders because of the problems brought about by widespread immigration from different cultures. I don't see any brownshirts marching.

Nope, definitely no far right marches in europe. No sirree.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-45282065

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,931 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

2 Scoops wrote: »
    Don't go to Hungary then.

methode%2Fsundaytimes%2Fprodmigration%2Fweb%2Fbin%2F6a3ea831-6dcf-4752-9bfd-29ee8cbc7368.jpg?crop=1024%2C683%2C0%2C0&resize=685

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Funnily enough in the last two far-right mobilisations here for the Free Tommy Robinson stuff the people the far-right were far more interested in attacking were British and Irish trade unionists.

Not the paedos, not the Islamic terrorists, not the elite politicians - but other working class people. They're as transparent as f*ck these people. Same sh*te but different flies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

I hear that the reason they are all turning into nazis is because you, OP, YOU called them nazis.

They were 100% not nazis until that point; but being called a nazi mysteriously makes ordinary decent people suddenly starting thinking about racial purity, the superiority of the white race and the need to.... build something... for our white children.

I forget the exact words but I believe there are 14 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

everything that doesnt bow to progressive leftie values is labelled far right these days.

even that crazy women mcAleese calls the popes arrival a far right rally.

normal god bothering folk who just want to go to heaven and have no interest in (or knowledge of) who wins at twitter are now being compared to lads goosestepping shouting "seig heil" ffs.

its lost its meaning at this stage....by some measures Im probably far right...and Im ok with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

If we want to look at history and threats and learning to avoid them fair enough.

Nazi Germany didn't come from nowhere. The Germans were violated economically through Versailles.
    They were told the war was their fault and they would pay. The ended up wheeling stacks of marks down the road in barrows to buy bread.
    They reached for a saviour in desperation, a saviour who did stick two fingers up to the oppressors but who used Jews as a scapegoat and ultimately a focal point for all rage committing one of history's greatest mass murders.

So if governments of 21st century Europe keep taking on more debt, keep sticking with project Europe and its funny money, keep dismantling borders, keep loading more dependant people into our economies, and leave nothing for workers pensions, we could end looking at the same economic disaster that will fuel similar rage to that felt in the Weimar republic.

We have all the tinder there and merely require a spark.

On that basis, is it not the liberal left policies that pose the threat to civilization?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

The most murderous regimes have been those of the far left communism has killed millions but its still cool for trendy lefties to talk it up, hypocrisy much.

everything that doesnt bow to progressive leftie values is labelled far right these days.

normal god bothering folk who just want to go to heaven and have no interest in (or knowledge of) who wins at twitter are now being compared to lads goosestepping shouting "seig heil" ffs.

its lost its meaning at this stage....by some measures Im probably far right...and Im ok with that.
    But what do you think of the people in the image from my last post? Are they far right? Because it seems to me that the opposite of what you say is true as well, NOBODY can be called far right, even when they're literally dressed as blackshirts marching in the street and intimidating gypsies, Jews and immigrants. Apparently that's just protecting Europe's integrity and being "labeled" a Nazi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

OP, can you give us a clear definition of Far Right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I wouldn't say it's the greatest threat but it is a threat - religious conservatism runs hand in hand with it. Attempting to deal with it by dismissing and ignoring it (as is the common way to deal with it among modern day sheep) is the wrong way to stop it - it should be confronted head on. I absolutely despise individuals that say "you can't reason with Nazis" etc. in order to avoid confrontation with it, that truly is the statement of someone who will wake up one day with an extreme right wing government.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

My hope is more people walk away from leftist politics and towards conservatism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Frostybrew

OP, can you give us a clear definition of Far Right?

A very brief summary from Wikipedia.

Far-right politics includes but is not limited to aspects of authoritarianism, anti-communism and nativism. Claims that superior people should have greater rights than inferior people are often associated with the far-right. The far-right has historically favored an elitist society based on its belief in the legitimacy of the rule of a supposed superior minority over the inferior masses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Moderators closing threads is the greatest threat to Western civilisation

Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely. - John Dalberg Acton 1st Baron Acton

Taytoland wrote: »
    My hope is more people walk away from leftist politics and towards conservatism.
    My hope is for a United Ireland and the abandonment of the moribund, cancerous ideology of modern unionism. But sure hope and reality are seldom bedfellows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

My hope is for a United Ireland and the abandonment of the moribund, cancerous ideology of modern unionism. But sure hope and reality are seldom bedfellows.
    Fair point, we all have pipe dreams I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

So the greatest threats to Western Civilisation according to the scribes on AH are (this is not in ranked order btw).....

1. Fascism
    2. Communism
    3. Socialism
    4. Feminism
    5. Cultural Marxism
    6. Islamism
    7. Capitalism
    8. Gombeenism
    9. Unionism
    10. Catholicism

Too many ****ing isms.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Don't be upsetting Tattooland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Blacktie. wrote: »
    Jesus everything is the greatest threat to Western civilisation according to the internet.

Maybe just maybe....The internet is the greatest threat to western civilisation...im gonna protest some broadband wires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,672 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

The cure for a lot of this is reading philosophy or at least listen to some podcasts of philosophy.

I suggest John Grey and A. C. Grayling they are diametrically opposite in their views a pessimist and an optimist both very good on the future of the human project.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

While there are always political extremists and malcontents in any society, the far Right(or the far Left for that matter) needs fertile ground to grow in. They don't spring from the ether. As topper75 notes Nazi Germany didn't come from nowhere. It can be directly linked with how Germany fared and was treated after The Great War in things like the terms of the Treaty of Versailles. It fostered economic hardship, social problems and a feeling of being made to take the entire blame for WW1. That's a vacuum something will rush to fill, and a few somethings did, from far left to far right, the "winner" was the far right.

Today the Right is rising in Europe in some quarters because of economic downturns, social problems, immigration and the feeling that enough seem to have of disillusionment with centre/mainstream politicians both locally and in the wider EU. The latter very much in play in Greece, Italy, Greece and the UK, hence one of the reasons for Brexit. If you're one of the large percentage of unemployed in say Greece and on the one hand you hear the EU calling for belt tightening, yet on the other hand you're also being asked to take in many thousands of migrants, many of whom are economic migrants, it's easy to hear the siren call of those who promise a fix and a feeling of national pride.

Here in Ireland I have far fewer concerns about any extreme politics coming in, right or left. Culturally and thankfully we tend to be more a "meh, sure it'll be grand" and leave our "extremism" in more local politics, and even there it's hardly extreme at all. Plus while we've had economic problems, we seem to be weathering them well enough and our geography also tends to keep immigration at a low level compared to the rest of Europe. Our lack of a direct colonial past helps here too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Western civilisation is the greatest threat to Western civilisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,160 ✭✭✭Odhinn

uch wrote: »

No, it's cheese. Yanks do be mad for it altogether. Course they have the cake as well, which is probably part of the problem.

topper75 wrote: »
    If we want to look at history and threats and learning to avoid them fair enough.

Nazi Germany didn't come from nowhere. The Germans were violated economically through Versailles.
    They were told the war was their fault and they would pay. The ended up wheeling stacks of marks down the road in barrows to buy bread.
    They reached for a saviour in desperation, a saviour who did stick two fingers up to the oppressors but who used Jews as a scapegoat and ultimately a focal point for all rage committing one of history's greatest mass murders.

So if governments of 21st century Europe keep taking on more debt, keep sticking with project Europe and its funny money, keep dismantling borders, keep loading more dependant people into our economies, and leave nothing for workers pensions, we could end looking at the same economic disaster that will fuel similar rage to that felt in the Weimar republic.

We have all the tinder there and merely require a spark.

On that basis, is it not the liberal left policies that pose the threat to civilization?

That's what's happening now. If someone told you 12 years ago that a man like Farage and his mates would take Britain out of the EU, that Corbyn is posed to be the next Prime Minister, Trump is the President, that a bunch of loolas would take over Italy etc you'd think they were mental. But that's the world we live in now.

However today the people driving project Europe and austerity and deindustrialisation aren't the "liberal left". This sort of capitalism has its roots in Thatcher and Reagan and is currently being perpetuated by conservative parties at the behest of big business. It's not the Guardian dickheads who (painful as they are) are causing stagnating wages and flogging off public services.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,160 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Walk down a traditional route, like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,568 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Odhinn wrote: »
    Walk down a traditional route, like?

Taytoland is always banging that drum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

the easy answer is don't give the far right fuel by snuffing out the middle ground and don't denigrate whole swathes of the population by referring to them under terms like "populism" "reactionary" etc. maybe they have a point

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

As a "normal god bothering" person why did you call yourself the King of Kings?

FTA69 wrote: »
    That's what's happening now. If someone told you 12 years ago that a man like Farage and his mates would take Britain out of the EU, that Corbyn is posed to be the next Prime Minister, Trump is the President, that a bunch of loolas would take over Italy etc you'd think they were mental. But that's the world we live in now.

However today the people driving project Europe and austerity and deindustrialisation aren't the "liberal left". This sort of capitalism has its roots in Thatcher and Reagan and is currently being perpetuated by conservative parties at the behest of big business. It's not the Guardian dickheads who (painful as they are) are causing stagnating wages and flogging off public services.

I would agree with this. The rise of the far right in the UK and other countries is a result of the failure of centre and centre right policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭euser1984

so are the lefts in ireland

Wibbs wrote: »
    While there are always political extremists and malcontents in any society, the far Right(or the far Left for that matter) needs fertile ground to grow in. They don't spring from the ether. As topper75 notes Nazi Germany didn't come from nowhere. It can be directly linked with how Germany fared and was treated after The Great War in things like the terms of the Treaty of Versailles. It fostered economic hardship, social problems and a feeling of being made to take the entire blame for WW1. That's a vacuum something will rush to fill, and a few somethings did, from far left to far right, the "winner" was the far right.

Today the Right is rising in Europe in some quarters because of economic downturns, social problems, immigration and the feeling that enough seem to have of disillusionment with centre/mainstream politicians both locally and in the wider EU. The latter very much in play in Greece, Italy, Greece and the UK, hence one of the reasons for Brexit. If you're one of the large percentage of unemployed in say Greece and on the one hand you hear the EU calling for belt tightening, yet on the other hand you're also being asked to take in many thousands of migrants, many of whom are economic migrants, it's easy to hear the siren call of those who promise a fix and a feeling of national pride.

Here in Ireland I have far fewer concerns about any extreme politics coming in, right or left. Culturally and thankfully we tend to be more a "meh, sure it'll be grand" and leave our "extremism" in more local politics, and even there it's hardly extreme at all. Plus while we've had economic problems, we seem to be weathering them well enough and our geography also tends to keep immigration at a low level compared to the rest of Europe. Our lack of a direct colonial past helps here too.

I work for a union and spent years in construction, I meet that type of working class person every single day. Despite the rhetoric a lot of the commentariat throw out about the "White Working Class", it's not really about clashing cultures and race etc. This is a way bigger thing than that. I nearly got into a digging match with a black football hooligan at one event. It's got its roots embedded in, as you said, the nature of our economic system that has replaced well-paid skilled jobs with bullsh*t McJobs coupled with declining public services that people relied on. Also, we'll be having 60% of your sh*tty Asda salary for a room somewhere too cos you'll never get a gaff yourself. It's all well and good telling some 46 year old former pipe-fitter from Burnley that he should go to university and become a code writer.

The far-right doesn't exist because working class people are stupid, or because the far-right are "bad people" (some of them are though) - but because they're perceived as the only alternative to a really sh*t situation. Wages have stagnated for 20 years, inequality is skyrocketing and so called Social Democratic parties' only answer is to tell people f*ck up and embrace modernity. Then they're absolutely stunned when people go another way.

Huge swathes of people have abandoned Labour here and trying to sell Labour after 25 years of the same party full of elite suits threw them on the scrapheap is like trying to palm off a sh*tty nappy. The damage is done in a lot of places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭euser1984

the neo-conservatives in america are the most important thing we have in the western world to protect it - and I was shocked when i found out first what they do as well

they are far right!

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    As a "normal god bothering" person why did you call yourself the King of Kings?

honestly i liked the ben hur type piece in the simpsons....with mister burns

AH answer : I am jesus.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What is Far Right these days? Normal run of the mill traditional conservative views seem to be called Far Right.

Even classical liberals are being labeled as such.

But what do you think of the people in the image from my last post? Are they far right? Because it seems to me that the opposite of what you say is true as well, NOBODY can be called far right, even when they're literally dressed as blackshirts marching in the street and intimidating gypsies, Jews and immigrants. Apparently that's just protecting Europe's integrity and being "labeled" a Nazi.

of course there is a far right....but as for those gloifying nazi's and hitler its tiny....

people lose the argument when they label everything they dont like far right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭Cordell

Far left far right far bollix, the real problem is the us vs. them pack mentality. We get further and further away from a way in which people with radically different ideas can coexist and collaborate for the greater good.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Wibbs wrote: »

Ireland currently has a Quisling Government that was recently in Italy begging reluctant "refugees" to come to Ireland. An excellent social welfare package was one of the enticements. Leo is Merkel's and the EU's bitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The Nazi economic stuff always confused me.

Seemed more left wing to me.

quintana76 wrote: »
    Ireland currently has a Quisling Government that was recently in Italy begging reluctant "refugees" to come to Ireland. An excellent social welfare package was one of the enticements. Leo is Merkel's and the EU's bitch.

I doubt that Quisling would have been begging refugees to come to his country.

i kinda agree but hitler got things done..cant imagine paul murphy being so efficent...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭Cordell

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horseshoe_theory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,672 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

FTA69 wrote: »
    I work for a union and spent years in construction, I meet that type of working class person every single day. Despite the rhetoric a lot of the commentariat throw out about the "White Working Class", it's not really about clashing cultures and race etc. This is a way bigger thing than that. I nearly got into a digging match with a black football hooligan at one event. It's got its roots embedded in, as you said, the nature of our economic system that has replaced well-paid skilled jobs with bullsh*t McJobs coupled with declining public services that people relied on. Also, we'll be having 60% of your sh*tty Asda salary for a room somewhere too cos you'll never get a gaff yourself. It's all well and good telling some 46 year old former pipe-fitter from Burnley that he should go to university and become a code writer.

The far-right doesn't exist because working class people are stupid, or because the far-right are "bad people" (some of them are though) - but because they're perceived as the only alternative to a really sh*t situation. Wages have stagnated for 20 years, inequality is skyrocketing and so called Social Democratic parties' only answer is to tell people f*ck up and embrace modernity. Then they're absolutely stunned when people go another way.

Huge swathes of people have abandoned Labour here and trying to sell Labour after 25 years of the same party full of elite suits threw them on the scrapheap is like trying to palm off a sh*tty nappy. The damage is done in a lot of places.

Great post, but you have to answer one or two-points well paid unionised semi-skilled manufacturing jobs are not coming back so what is the answer? what happened to Rover cars for example.

Why is the answer always to appease those who voter far right instead of an appeal to the 'morality' ( not sure if that is the right word ) of voting for a far-right party, in other words, educating people and asking them to do the right thing. I know that is a bit nieve.

property in Burnley is cheap by the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

What load of nonsense OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

quintana76 wrote: »
    Ireland is responsible for bringing a lot of the refugees to Italy...I think its only fair that the finders be the keepers.