Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Top three worst places you’ve lived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭corks finest

Carrigaline, carrigaline,and guess what carrigaline, barking dogs,barking tenants,litter louts,noise pollution,and currently my neighbour who has his 60/70 cider empties all in a row in the back garden,what a ****ehole

Can't say I've ever lived in a crap place, but the abject poverty and the heartbreaking and very open child prostitution - I still shudder at the images of white male adults walking around hand-in-hand with young teenage Cambodian girls - I witnessed in Cambodia brought home to me how even the worst possible place in Ireland is a heaven compared to the horrors happening in other places in our planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

snowgal wrote: »
    Grand Cayman??!! How?! Why?!
    Sunshine is not everything..

It attracts ****ty people, I found it difficult to make real connections there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I have only really disliked on place that I have lived.
    Phibsboro. I was on low wages and lived in a bedsit there for a few months. Was so happy to be able to move out.

At the time it felt like a suburb for those that had lost hope. Other people loved it there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭kal7

Tripoli, Libya ( was ok when I was there though I am told and I was only 2 and 3 years old)

Notting hill, london

Not really got a third be lucky maybe Shantalla, Galway. Mainly bad landlord and house, area just felt depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭flatty

Edgware wrote: »
    flatty wrote: »
    I absolutely loved it. Full of art, culture, music, life and the loveliest people.
    When I hear the word culture I reach for my shotgun.
    My idea of culture mind is a decent cinema and a good band scene and beautiful buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

sugarman wrote: »
    Das Reich wrote: »
    How are the women there?

babushkas-e1529020003782.jpg?fit=1024%2C576&ssl=1
    Yeah but did you see their daughters? Nothing to complain about with Moldovan women.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

First Up wrote: »
    Yeah but did you see their daughters? Nothing to complain about with Moldovan women.

The first one is the mother, other three are the daughters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Blanchardstown
    Manama - Bahrain
    Um Qasr - Iraq

From Blanchardstown, but worked in Iraq from 2006-2008 during the war.Not even joking when I say I had less trouble in Iraq than Blanch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,826 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Charleroi.
    Mayo.
    Grand Cayman.

All for very different reasons!

Lived in charleroi as well. Was robbed, feared genuinely for my life. There were rapes at least once a week.
    Ballaghaderreen.
    Bialystok in Poland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭stevek93

Ireland.. p*xy Pope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Whitehall Dublin 9: The area was good but the shared house was a nightmare. The junkie who robbed my food and DVDs was replaced with a disgusting alcoholic. I was delighted to get out.

Skerries: Live in landlady was a pain in the hole. Lovely town but 90% of the population of Skerries seem to be 40 something middle class commuters. I had little in common with anyone there. I certainly don't miss having to get that bloody train in the mornings. The town was practically depopulated by the commuters in the morning and repopulated in the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

stevek93 wrote: »
    Blanchardstown I am not old enough to have three :D

I rented in Whitestone for a year.... Birkenhead comes in as a close second. Wheatfield prison limps into third place comes in to make up the trio, although it in fairness it has food fit for a Duke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

3. Navan - kip
    2. Dundalk - even rougher kip
    1. Darndale - place should just be bombed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

Tallaght
    Lucan
    Inchicore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

3. Navan - kip
    2. Dundalk - even rougher kip
    1. Darndale - place should just be bombed

1. Dundalk , late eighties, early nineties.
    2 .See above.
    3. Also see above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

1. Belfast
    2. Harelawn
    3. Balgaddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

1. Dundalk , late eighties, early nineties.
    2 .See above.
    3. Also see above.

You bet your ass! Lived there from 1990 to 1992 horrendous kip

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Currache

1. Tallaght

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

D3V!L wrote: »
    Is Blanch really that bad ?

No.

Crewe.

Glasgow.

Manchester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,155 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Clonmel
    Youghal

I've had no problems with other places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I lived in a few places but only one tops the bill. Portsmouth in south England. Unfriendly, ugly, anti-immigrant and very entitled as a population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Tzardine wrote: »
    Blanchardstown
    Manama - Bahrain
    Um Qasr - Iraq

From Blanchardstown, but worked in Iraq from 2006-2008 during the war.Not even joking when I say I had less trouble in Iraq than Blanch.

I lived in Iraq from 85-86. Blanch from 2009-2011.
    Blanch was definitely worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

Clonmel
    Youghal

I've had no problems with other places.

My two favorite towns in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Sheffield.... Warrington..... maybe Manchester in parts..

In ireland? Donegal, Donegal and.. yep. Donegal.... the cats cheered when we finally escaped..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

1. Blanchardstown
    2. Mallow
    3. East Acton, London
    Mallow is grim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

lawred2 wrote: »
    The head of the boar

Kanturk!
    I may be from the area.

May Allah have mercy on your soul.
    Bweeng :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

1. Blancherstown
    2. Bluebell

Don't have a third yet as I've liked the other places where I lived.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I lived in a few places but only one tops the bill. Portsmouth in south England. Unfriendly, ugly, anti-immigrant and very entitled as a population.

I'll agree with you on that.

I was in portsmouth for three hours and even that was too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

mgn wrote: »
    I'll agree with you on that.

You lived there?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

You lived there?

Yes.Back in the 80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Ah lads, Blanchardstown is not that bad at all, especially since pubs and off licences no longer sell Harp. You have a lot of life to see if you think that place is bad.

+1 on Dundalk though, definitely had it's challenges, but we shouldn't be trying to beat each other down; lots of good honest god fearing people in Dundalk, and lots of young kids looking forward to a better future. If you keep laughing at them, you ostracise people.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭pawdee

Edmonton (London not Canada)
    Tralee
    Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

pawdee wrote: »
    Edmonton (London not Canada)
    Tralee
    Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo

which is worse , Tralee or Kinshasa ?

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭pawdee

2smiggy wrote: »
    which is worse , Tralee or Kinshasa ?

Tralee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Many parts of Tralee were **** in 1989, mostly down to the knackers
    Dolphins Barn was grim when I lived nearby in 1990, gang of 14 year olds throwing stones from the roof of the flats at cops and fire brigade who came around for a car fire that they started
    Limerick in the early 90's was **** as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

DellyBelly wrote: »
    1. Blancherstown
    2. Bluebell

Don't have a third yet as I've liked the other places where I lived.

You've noticed Bluebell has a church but no graveyard , they eat their dead

I may have family living there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Kreuzberg, Berlin.
    Possibly Cergy-Pontoise outside Paris, although it's a nice place. Just boring and too far from Paris to go for an evening out.
    Mayo. Had some lovely friends but it was ruined by some very backward-thinking and sadly powerful ****wits.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

pawdee wrote: »
    Tralee

what was wrong with Tralee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

bear1 wrote: »
    Lived in charleroi as well. Was robbed, feared genuinely for my life. There were rapes at least once a week.
    Ballaghaderreen.
    Bialystok in Poland.
    Did you work in the Irish bar?

Honestly having since lived in Bangkok and Buenos Aires I'm not as threatened by Charleroi as I was when I was there!

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Dark and Long

Newry
    Ballymun
    Belfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭miss_shadow

lawred2 wrote: »
    Mallow is worse to be fair

Yep, mallow.

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭Cyclepath

Antrim Road, Belfast
    Doha, Qatar
    Inchicore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭GuessWhoEh

1) France
    2) Blanchardstown
    3) Ballymun (where I'm originally from)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

myshirt wrote: »
    Ah lads, Blanchardstown is not that bad at all, especially since pubs and off licences no longer sell Harp. You have a lot of life to see if you think that place is bad.

+1 on Dundalk though, definitely had it's challenges, but we shouldn't be trying to beat each other down; lots of good honest god fearing people in Dundalk, and lots of young kids looking forward to a better future. If you keep laughing at them, you ostracise people.

My sibling lives there, or thereabouts. Nothing very memorable about the place but nothing terrible either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

1. Balbriggan (worst)
    2. Coolock (2nd worst)
    3. Dawson Street (3rd worst)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

myshirt wrote: »

I beg to differ and it seems like a lot of other feels the same way about the place. I only stayed there for 10 months and was happy to get away from there. Had a few run ins with teenagers and just never felt safe. And boy during Haloween was it dodgy as hell..