Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Contracting and unusual travel distance.

Options
  • 31-08-2018 10:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭

Ive been contracting with a company for a few months now and im based 100% at home. They pay me my day rate which gives them 8 hours dev time.

Now they have requested that i go to one of their offices in europe for a week to work with one of their employees on a project.

Theyre obviously paying for accommodation, travel etc

Is there an accepted way in the contracting world to charge extra for unusual travel? Maybe a certain % of the day rate or something?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭purpleisafruit

Maybe charge them for your travel time at your rate +25%? I've never contracted but I get paid for travel days and a day off in lieu also. If I travel on a weekend day, I get paid for that + 2 days off in lieu

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭14ned

Ive been contracting with a company for a few months now and im based 100% at home. They pay me my day rate which gives them 8 hours dev time.

Now they have requested that i go to one of their offices in europe for a week to work with one of their employees on a project.

Theyre obviously paying for accommodation, travel etc

Is there an accepted way in the contracting world to charge extra for unusual travel? Maybe a certain % of the day rate or something?