Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Luas drivers and their lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

This just popped up on a joke thread so I though I would make a slight edit and add it to this joke thread too...seems appropriate!!

Jhonny has just been given a job as a Kuas driver On the first day he asks a fellow driver how could he keep his tea warm as he used to bring his tea to work in a glass milk bottle and by lunch time the tea would be cold. So his work mate shows him this container made from pyrax and says to Jhonny this is a great yoke to keep the tea not just warm but hot for hours. You should get one. On the way home Jhonny's scratching his head as he can't remember the name of the container but spots a sign outside a chemist advertising Durex. He says to himself I think that's the name of the container so goes in to the chemist and says I'll have a packet of those Durex. The lady behind the counter asks what size would you like. Jhonny says make them long and wide as i want to fill them with at least a pint as i'll be on the job all day.

Something for the limp dicks moaning about sandwiches to laugh about while the rest of us laugh at them and their idiocy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Automation isnt really a relevant topic here. There are always going to be minimal skill jobs such as the one dine by Luas drivers.
    The issue in the likes of this dispute is a complete failure of modern trade unionism to behave, represent, and lead in a mature and responsible manner - leading them into these kinds of non issues, escalated to a level leagues beyond their due, and leaving them a laughing stock and without credibility.
    Which is a shame. There is a role for group representation and workers-employers engagement, communication, negotiation, and cooperation for mutual benefit and that of society as a whole. But all trades unions, and this is not confined to Ireland, although Scandinavian ones are least at fault in this syndrome, have singularly failed to adapt to this new role and service they should be providing their members.
    Only a complete wipe, and reboot of tgw movement will facilitate such a transformation. Until then, existing unions will remain the harmful influence on the interests of workers that they are today, and the scourge and drain that they are on society and the economy in general.
    But, yes, lets deal with the big issues first and focus on sandwich storage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Lol unions have been stuck in a partnership and servicing model since the 1980s and have destroyed themselves as a result. The better unions are now shifting to a confrontational organising model and are growing as a result. Workers want to see a union as a viable vehicle that makes real change in their working lives, not some c*nt in a suit who does deals with their boss over their heads and tries to flog them insurance.

In the U.K. the unions having the most success are the militant ones who take on employers. The ones pursuing the approach you’re advocating are dying on their ass as they’re rightly deemed useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

P_1 wrote: »
    You've been given countless examples of SIPTU not giving a Shiite when members of theirs need help because their cause was not big or famous enough? How are you going to defend that? I know you're not going to and instead are going to go into more verbal diarrhoea.

Honestly debating with you is more frustrating then debating with TERFs and SWERFs on Twitter

i have never defended a union not representing it's members. i have been clear always, that a union's job is to represent it's members whether they work for a big or small company. if they don't do that, then they should be, and must be, held to account for it.
    Steviesol wrote: »
    Sack every single on of them who takes issue over their lunch.

on what grounds?
    Shenshen wrote: »
    So... There won't be any anti-social behaviour, broken or obstructed doors, sick passengers or lost children underground?

it would be a lot easier to stop them from getting in to the underground system as it's not open compared to luas. it has openings in the form of entrances to stations and other required entrances but they can be protected against the anti-social. now whether they would be or not is a different story.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Blazer wrote: »
    Let them strike.
    It will just encourage Transdev to automate the entire system and then these guys can sit on the dole queue.
    I won’t even mind my taxes going for their dole as it will teach them a lesson in how good they had it and still took the piss.

transdev won't be automating, or doing anything to the system. they simply run the trams, they don't own them nor do they have any say on how the system operates. they operate to the specified contract. it will be transport infrastructure ireland who will make the decisian over automation, or anything else in relation to the system and it's operation.
    them supposibly being on the dole (they will be long retired before automation) wouldn't teach them any lesson as there would be no lesson to teach.
    TheShow wrote: »
    Get rid of them all and give the jobs to people who actually want to work.

not viable. there is the long term disruption with no guarantee the new staff wouldn't strike. also, the current staff are happy to work and want to work, hence they are working.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    You've missed everything, they don't have to eat it in the cab. They've to eat it in a canteen that's not at the location they start their shift.

Ah okay. In that case I don't see the problem, really then. Cab seems plenty big to transport a lunch box without impeding on comfort. Offer of high quality cooler bags seems more than sufficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

transdev won't be automating, or doing anything to the system. they simply run the trams, they don't own them nor do they have any say on how the system operates. they operate to the specified contract. it will be transport infrastructure ireland who will make the decisian over automation, or anything else in relation to the system and it's operation.
    them supposibly being on the dole (they will be long retired before automation) wouldn't teach them any lesson as there would be no lesson to teach.

not viable. there is the long term disruption with no guarantee the new staff wouldn't strike. also, the current staff are happy to work and want to work, hence they are working.

Unfortunately, what TII will need to do here is to split the operating contact into two or more contacts so that an industrial dispute at one company will not escalate into a system shutdown.

The goal here, as I said is to force the private companies out of the operating contact by making the company unrunnable - achieved by tying management up in spurious labour disputes.

The plan here is that if no private company bids for the contact, the government will be forced to set up a company to run luas. Our comrades will not only be able to retain all their perks, but will turn profitable endeavor into BÉ or IR, creaming it until the company breaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Ah okay. In that case I don't see the problem, really then. Cab seems plenty big to transport a lunch box without impeding on comfort. Offer of high quality cooler bags seems more than sufficient.

Hopefully they will ask the driver's why it's suddenly a problem now when it hasn't been for years!

FTA69 wrote: »
    The better unions are now shifting to a confrontational organising model and are growing as a result. Workers want to see a union as a viable vehicle that makes real change in their working lives, not some c*nt in a suit who does deals with their boss over their heads and tries to flog them insurance.

In the U.K. the unions having the most success are the militant ones who take on employers. The ones pursuing the approach you’re advocating are dying on their ass as they’re rightly deemed useless.

This is exactly the problem though, the opposite of the needed modernisation, and is making the situation worse. It raises the profile and appears to be active on the part of members, but really is counterproductive, and feeding from the same pool of people that vote for the likes of Trump, for self harm in Brexit, the FN in France, or AfD in Germany. Its lowest common denominator rabble rousing simplification, missing the big picture completely, and the only winners are the union officials on their very nice indeed salaries.
    Its a legacy of old style unionism that only appeals to a very limited portion of the workforce these days, with the great majority of workers these days understanding its outmoded uselessness.

Trasna1 wrote: »
    Unfortunately, what TII will need to do here is to split the operating contact into two or more contacts so that an industrial dispute at one company will not escalate into a system shutdown.

unfortunately this would not be viable. it's a small system, and a few companies operating small parts of it is likely to increase costs. not to mention the possibility of fragmentation. i reccan if this was viable then it would have been done already with for example, 1 company running the green line and the other the read line.

Trasna1 wrote: »
    The goal here, as I said is to force the private companies out of the operating contact by making the company unrunnable - achieved by tying management up in spurious labour disputes.

The plan here is that if no private company bids for the contact, the government will be forced to set up a company to run luas. Our comrades will not only be able to retain all their perks, but will turn profitable endeavor into BÉ or IR, creaming it until the company breaks.

i disagree. i don't believe that is their aim for 1 second. as i said, they apparently get a lot more working for transdev then they would get working for CIE, and that would likely be the same with any potential new state company. even if it did turn out that you were right, the luas wouldn't be rolled into CIE, nor would a new company be set up to run it. transport infrastructure ireland would run it directly, and they wouldn't have the funding to pay good wages and give decent perks. so it's not in any union's interest to force transdev or any private company out of the operating contract. + siptu are now in go ahead ireland who are running 10% of dublin bus routes which were tendered out along with some services around the kildare area.

This is exactly the problem though, the opposite of the needed modernisation, and is making the situation worse. It raises the profile and appears to be active on the part of members, but really is counterproductive, and feeding from the same pool of people that vote for the likes of Trump, for self harm in Brexit, the FN in France, or AfD in Germany. Its lowest common denominator rabble rousing simplification, missing the big picture completely, and the only winners are the union officials on their very nice indeed salaries.
    Its a legacy of old style unionism that only appeals to a very limited portion of the workforce these days, with the great majority of workers these days understanding its outmoded uselessness.

Yeah there’s you using the word “modernisation” again but what you actually mean is that you want unions to be compliant in a system that is leaving workers short-changed while employers make astronomical profits. And as I said, the unions who follow your way of doing things are collapsing - the ones fighting for workers and aggressively organising low paid services etc are the ones growing.

As for your comments about Trump etc, the reason workers are turning to Le Pen and the likes is precisely because unions and social democrat parties collaborate with and advocate for the casino capitalist system you’re espousing. Workers were left without industrial power or a political voice so ended up turning to the far right as they were the ones speaking to their material interests.

In a few weeks I’m looking to put in a pay claim to an employer making £32m profit and asking them to had over the coin or face strike action. Workers are united and determined, hopefully we can export it to other places.

It’s time workers fought back.

Hopefully they will ask the driver's why it's suddenly a problem now when it hasn't been for years!

Because the last threat of strike action was successful and has given a sense of invincibility to the drivers..?

Just my guess, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

It’s time workers fought back.

That company is very profitable.

There's a case in Limerick where the union rep took the workers on strike, despite the company saying they could not afford what was requested.

The particular rep has a reputation of being uncompromising and she wouldn't back down. It was very specialised work, well paying... and the company shut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Because the last threat of strike action was successful and has given a sense of invincibility to the drivers..?

Because it's only become a problem since the introduction of the new Luas line, but hey, don't let little things like facts get in the way of your rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Problem solved this cooler bag keeps food and drinks cold for up to six hours and is only €17.99 on Amazon.

41vjOpwoiPL.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,941 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS-rlq8ZDQ1CbeOoFNTeH2C30GreWwixvQLhEWqIKi_8sBTZnRg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

A slightly more serious take on that: they do a 6 week training course and start on €10k more than a teacher who's trained for 5-6 years. I say invest in the robots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

That's a bit harsh! Surely they also have to master the light and windscreen wiper switches as well - or do they get extra allowances for driving in the dark and/or when it's raining?

Kat1170 wrote: »
    Because it's only become a problem since the introduction of the new Luas line, but hey, don't let little things like facts get in the way of your rant.

What rant?

Here's a rant:

It's a non-issue, is the problem. My dad worked security and had to eat his lunch on the shop floor as there were no 'off-the-floor' breaks permitted. Chap never seen the inside of the canteen.

But that was the job. And he did it.

I work long days, eat my lunch in the car on the go, or stop quickly into a petrol station to buy something (to eat, also in the car), but that's the job. And I do it.

The Luas driver's complaint is a heap of nonsense. Who gives a sh/te if you cant eat your lunch in the same depot you started work in? Why is it even a thing? What's the issue with having your lunch with you in the cab or buying something at a different depot?

They're getting decent pay, good hours and an easy job. God forbid they make a (trivial) sacrifice along the way.

What rant?

Here's a rant:

It's a non-issue, is the problem. My dad worked security and had to eat his lunch on the shop floor as there were no 'off-the-floor' breaks permitted. Chap never seen the inside of the canteen.

But that was the job. And he did it.

Sounds gammy. It's also generally illegal to prevent someone taking a break away from their workstation. I've put the head down and cracked on in some mad work situations, it's not a bad trait.

But equally it doesn't mean that that situation was necessarily ok or should have been tolerated long term.

Sounds gammy. It's also generally illegal to prevent someone taking a break away from their workstation. I've put the head down and cracked on in some mad work situations, it's not a bad trait.

But equally it doesn't mean that that situation was necessarily ok or should have been tolerated long term.

It wasn't ideal, but it was part of the job he had to do.

They used to have 2 security guards, one left, and instead of hiring another, this kinda thing started up. He got a few extra euro out of it, they got their security presence, etc. and life moved on.

Lots and lots of people work in situations that are less than idea. Luas driving is a handy (albeit, most likely very boring) job. These kind of arguments becoming public makes them look entitled and out of touch (which is the issue) whilst many others are in much worse conditions but slogging through it.

If i didn't already have a job, I'd have a CV into Luas every month until they hired me.

And remember, these guys are overpaid in the first place. Which contributes to the loss of perspective, the sense of entitlement, and endless confrontational non-issues. Once management yields on one front, it tends to promote further unreasonable demands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

.......It’s time workers fought back.

increasing worker insecurity is good for us, the wealth created from such activities eventually trickles down to us all, so, suck it up! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

That company is very profitable.

There's a case in Limerick where the union rep took the workers on strike, despite the company saying they could not afford what was requested.

The particular rep has a reputation of being uncompromising and she wouldn't back down. It was very specialised work, well paying... and the company shut down.

We had similar.
    unionised staff wanted a pay rise, SIPTU backed them, wouldn't believe the books and the company went into examinership shedding half the jobs (300 people) and outsourced all the drivers to other companies who didn't pay overtime, sick pay, attendance bonus or lunch money. They all took their new jobs gladly.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Right on FTA, feckers giving us ONLY 50k plus per year to drive a tram.
    Sure how are we to finance lunch?
    My brain is still fried from the stop go stress of last week!
    If mt egg sambos overheat again i'm deffo on the picket line......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Here's a rant:

No, that's just whining without actually doing anything about your situation. What has that got to do with what anyone else gets. Grow a pair and submit that CV. You never know, maybe you'll get lucky.

mikhail wrote: »
    A slightly more serious take on that: they do a 6 week training course and start on €10k more than a teacher who's trained for 5-6 years. I say invest in the robots.

teachers are in a union. they should be demanding their union to do their job and improve their terms conditions and pay. however it's irrelevant to the luas drivers, and doing a 6 year course is no guarantee of receiving a good wage after it.
    And remember, these guys are overpaid in the first place. Which contributes to the loss of perspective, the sense of entitlement, and endless confrontational non-issues. Once management yields on one front, it tends to promote further unreasonable demands.

they aren't over paid. earning a wage you believe they shouldn't earn doesn't make someone over paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What do you reckon the Luas drivers talk about at work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What do you reckon the Luas drivers talk about at work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

they aren't over paid. earning a wage you believe they shouldn't earn doesn't make someone over paid.

I'll bite,

At what point would you consider them overpaid or is that even possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

teachers are in a union. they should be demanding their union to do their job and improve their terms conditions and pay. however it's irrelevant to the luas drivers, and doing a 6 year course is no guarantee of receiving a good wage after it.

Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Just made my sandwich for tomorrow and put it in the fridge.

Will take it out in 8 hours then carry it with me for another 6 hours before eating.

I’ve been doing this for 25 years and am still alive.

There is your risk assessment, morons.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭vectorvictor

Will take it out in 8 hours then carry it with me for another 6 hours before eating.

As are all the children of Ireland who don't enjoy a fridge or cooler bag for their school lunch as mentioned by someone earlier in the thread. Should there be some sort of immediate risk assessment done there too?

Risk assessing cooler bags ... Absolute brain dead morons , my frustration is less with the luas drivers and moreso the authorities who are pandering to this crap.

What next a risk assessment on 2ply versus 4ply?

Overpaid babies who are completely detached from the real world.

I would question if people unable to plan a work lunch are mentally fit to transport 200+ commuters.
    Gatling wrote: »
    Is this spreading to Dublin bus now ,?

Was on a bus in the city centre while in traffic near Dublin castle a call came across the driver's radio (standing close to the cab) specifically reminding drivers to check the temperature of their bags on Thursday ,

Sounds really odd for a random message to come across the radio

Dublin Bus controllers have been known to have a sense of humour...

I'll bite,

At what point would you consider them overpaid or is that even possible?

i don't think there is any specific point. wages will depend on many factors, sometimes different between sectors and companies. the market, staff fighting for better pay etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,958 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

The sooner these things are automated, the better.

Gintonious wrote: »
    The sooner these things are automated, the better.

that wouldn't make much if any difference in terms of industrial relations issues. there would be a lot less staff sure, but there would still be staff.
    also, we don't know yet how automation will fully effect the job market. it is probably likely that there will be a lot less jobs, meaning we then have an increased wellfare bill in some form. it is a good while away yet, but responsible government would be preparing for all possibilities now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I'm slightly inebriated. Well, more than slightly.
    Class post. It gave me a chuckle.
    It is really as simple as that, but the union heads want to make it a big deal in order for them to be relevant in Ireland.
    We haven't had strike in a few months, so they have to justify their ludicrous wages.

What you don't understand though Wheelie, is that the stance by the Luas drivers will be supported to the hilt by fluckers who have never experienced the joy of "work".

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭The Bollocks

LUAS drivers can ask my bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Kivaro wrote: »

It is really as simple as that, but the union heads want to make it a big deal in order for them to be relevant in Ireland.

We haven't had strike in a few months, so they have to justify their ludicrous wages.

What you don't understand though Wheelie, is that the stance by the Luas drivers will be supported to the hilt by fluckers who have never experienced the joy of "work".

Union reps have to do what their members tell them; so if some LUAS-driving motormouth kicks up enough fuss about the cheese in his sandwich having melted during the recent heatwave, then the local SIPTU muppet has to take action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭TheShow

Turnipman wrote: »
    Union reps have to do what their members tell them; so if some LUAS-driving motormouth kicks up enough fuss about the cheese in his sandwich having melted during the recent heatwave, then the local SIPTU muppet has to take action.

yes, but the local muppet should tell the luas operative to cop da fluck on and come to him with real issues only.

mcginty28 wrote: »
    the door usually has to be reset with a key or locked out if it doesn't reset so not gonna happen with passengers.

I removed a bottle that was blocking a luas door only yesterday. No key was needed and I didn't interact with the driver at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Wonder did he have a fridge in the taxi to keep his sambos cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

I removed a bottle that was blocking a luas door only yesterday. No key was needed and I didn't interact with the driver at all.

SCAB!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,958 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

that wouldn't make much if any difference in terms of industrial relations issues. there would be a lot less staff sure, but there would still be staff.
    also, we don't know yet how automation will fully effect the job market. it is probably likely that there will be a lot less jobs, meaning we then have an increased wellfare bill in some form. it is a good while away yet, but responsible government would be preparing for all possibilities now.

Introduction of automation or any kind of increase in production will eventually lead to more higher paying jobs. Happened when diggers were replaced with JCBs etc, and those who operate those were paid higher wages over time.

Gintonious wrote: »
    Introduction of automation or any kind of increase in production will eventually lead to more higher paying jobs. Happened when diggers were replaced with JCBs etc, and those who operate those were paid higher wages over time.

true, but like farming, a jcb equals less jobs over all.
    the question when automation comes in full is whether the tax take from less jobs with a higher wage will be able to add up to an amount that will be able to run what will be a very different country, where a lot more people then now will possibly need some sort of support from the state benefits system.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

true, but like farming, a jcb equals less jobs over all.
    the question when automation comes in full is whether the tax take from less jobs with a higher wage will be able to add up to an amount that will be able to run what will be a very different country, where a lot more people then now will possibly need some sort of support from the state benefits system.

My eyes hurt.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,080 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Just like businesses and private commercial enterprises, unions sometimes take silly decisions. This disagreement over where drivers take their lunch break is silly, however unions are 100% still the best way to improve working conditions for the average worker imo.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I saw a bus driver in Spain take a break and proceed to bring out his cooler bag, and eat his lunch from it.

That was in the height of the Spanish summer. Seemed ok to keep his lunch fresh in blistering heat.

But not good enough for Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

The amount of space wasted on this. A private company and a union are engaging in a dispute of no consequence to anybody else and it generates pages of comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

The amount of space wasted on this. A private company and a union are engaging in a dispute of no consequence to anybody else and it generates pages of comments.

if they strike, as they are threatening to do, it would be affect a lot of people surely ? all over having to use a cool bag for their lunch ...