Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How far is your commute and what type of bike?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

19km each way, mixing between a Carrera Comp Hybrid with lots of upgrades - xt 10spd triple
    my 30 year steel Peugeot with 10spd triple Ultegra and a
    Giant Defy carbon r8000 hydro disc beast.
    Showers in work, no worries about locks as location is secure and private.
    Have pannier on the hybrid and on the Peugeot, so no bags in the back.
    No helmet cam yet, but with schools back I might have to get one as city driving is atrocious.
    Quite hilly my way, especially the first km from the front door of my house takes 5mins!
    Dynamo lights soon to be fitted to the hybrid, as that will become main winter commuter.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Either 5 or 8km depending on which office I'm going to. Both mostly flat but the 5km has a bit of an up-and-over profile so a bit hilly both ways. Road bike with race blades and pannier but I have a bag on my back mostly. Decentish cycle lanes (magic paint) for much or most of both commutes.
    It takes 12-14 minutes for the 5km commute and 18-23 for the 8km. Driving the 5km takes between 10 minutes and over an hour(!), the 8km is into Dublin city centre so driving just isn't an option, although bus/train would take upwards of 45 minutes door to door between walking to/from stops and the journey itself, so cycling is a no-brainer and usually very pleasant :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

13k each way on a b’twin triban. Dublin west to Tara street. Grand commute. Have full mud guards on and Shimano r501 wheels and 23mm gatorskins which have made a difference. For €500 for the bike plus about €150 in extras (wheels and mudguards) can’t complain. Heading into my decade of continuous commuting this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭TooObvious

Most days now commuting in from Kill, on my Kinesis cross bike. On the way in usually the N7 as it's fastest, on the way home I mix it up between canal, tallaght and N7. N7 is best on way in though when traffic @7.30am is usually slow. I drive in at the beginning of the week and leave the car at work. 240km commuting by bike last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Fian

Just over 14k each way. Specialized allez with entry level dora group set. 25mm tyres. Keeps me going

ah, the groupset desigedn for explorers... :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Fian

7.5km each way, dundrum - merrion square.

Orbea vector hybrid with Sora gears, hydraullic disc brakes, i extended the rear mudguard using a piece cut off the mudguard from a previous bike. Lovely bike, still pretty new so everything just works smoothly.

No panniers or dynamo.

Slight downhill on way into work, slight uphill on way home, which is ideal. But I guess that is the benefit of dublin centre being in the centre of the river valley.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,587 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Fian wrote: »
    ah, the groupset desigedn for explorers... :P
    he meant to say 'dora ace'.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Dublin 12 to Dublin 1 so about 7 kilometers. I ride a battered, 12 year old Specialised Crossroads. It weighs a ton and is showing it's age a bit but does the job all year round. Panniers on the back and I'd bring shirts and trousers in in my backpack once a week. Don't carry a lock because there's a shed in work.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

14km each way for me on a Fuji hybrid, with rack, panniers and a Weeride mount bar! I'd been commuting on a cyclocross bike before needing the child seat and plan to return to something like that in a couple of years time..

over half of my commute is on segregated cycleway as part of the S2S route and I extend my journey to use this rather than cycle the Howth road. regardless of how windy it can get by the coast, the benefits always outweigh sharing space with motorists during rush hour :)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭ted1

bilbot79 wrote: »
    Fair play. I'm going to be jumping from 7k each way to 30 soon and nervous about whether I'll be able

You’ll be grand. I was doing 15km each way till the office moved from town to the airport.

I had planned to get an e bike when the journey got to much , but 18 months later I have forgotten about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭bilbot79

TooObvious wrote: »
    Most days now commuting in from Kill, on my Kinesis cross bike. On the way in usually the N7 as it's fastest, on the way home I mix it up between canal, tallaght and N7. N7 is best on way in though when traffic @7.30am is usually slow. I drive in at the beginning of the week and leave the car at work. 240km commuting by bike last week.

So are you on the big crazy road then? Is it not dangerous?

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭TooObvious

bilbot79 wrote: »
    So are you on the big crazy road then? Is it not dangerous?

That is a good question. The traffic was quite bad today, and I would say i was not much slower than the other road-users from Kill to the Red Cow. When i take the N7 I tend not to deviate from the normal route, so i go under the flyover at Rathcoole, taking my lane, I go over the Newlands Cross as traffic is always busy here and I am quicker than every car, and same again for the Red Cow, mixing it with the cars but claiming my lane and not "getting in the way".

The back road from Kill, on a day like today, is arguably more dangerous as it is used as a rat run to avoid the N7. Canal is lovely, but an extra 4km, takes about 10 minutes longer but once the dark mornings and evenings set in I will be more inclined to go this route.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

I commuted the N4 today (avoiding the canal after the recent spate of muggings)... oh is it noisy, it is almost frustrating with the constant drone. I was so glad to get to Palmerstown and the quiet of the old Dublin road.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Varies depending on my laziness level :)

I'm ~ 50K from work - but the far side of Dublin and I'm only in office 3 or 4 days a week.
    Full spin: 50K
    Drop the car at the M3 Parkway: 30K
    Drop the car in Coolquay: 23K
    Noodling around via The Naul or Lucan>Tallaght>Dublin Mountains: As much time as I have to spare.

Felt Road Bike (Z6 upgraded to 105)

The journey across town is always faster by bike sometimes spectacularly so.

Invest in decent lights and comfortable cycling gear and you'll be surprised how easy it gets, I started cycling regularly about 10 years ago, initially going in from Coolquay was a once a week "spectacular" but your fitness builds over time.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Blahfool

mloc123 wrote: »
    (avoiding the canal after the recent spate of muggings)

wtf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭tnegun

21k each way about 9 on the canal about 50 mins each way unless there's serious wind or rain. Maynooth - Parkwest
    Bike is a Hybrid Focus with mud guards, disc brakes and a pannier. Have a bike shed and lockers in work. Take a shower in work and swop clothes in and out during the week. Have only driven twice since May but wasn't in the office for about 5 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭G-Man

mloc123 wrote: »
    I commuted the N4 today (avoiding the canal after the recent spate of muggings)... oh is it noisy, it is almost frustrating with the constant drone. I was so glad to get to Palmerstown and the quiet of the old Dublin road.

Have you done Leixlip to Lucan via Catherines Park. I do Drimnagh to Leixlip socially and prefer this route into city. Go out via canal ok to the "metal bridge" and then north towards Lucan supervalu. Great morning route.

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭clod71

15km each way that sometimes become a lot more... Mixing fixed gear, CX and road bike depending on weather and routes

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

4.6km each way, it says mostly flat on maps but it certainly doesn't feel that way. Riding a 20 odd year old mountain bike so it's quite heavy. A red Raleigh Max that i got for my confirmation haha.

Couldn't have picked a better day. Dry on the way in wet on the way home.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,433 ✭✭✭Gerry

Either 27.5 or 30k depending on my route - maynooth to Portobello. Mostly going n4 but inclined to take strawberry beds home, today was the first day doing that on the new commute. Little shorter than previous 34-36k Should be doable 3-4 days a week. Trusty giant defy on 25mm gp4000

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Wow. Surprised to see so many people doing the 25k+ commute.

• Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭El Vino

15 km each way, can take road or follow a section of tow path which is the same distance but take a little longer. Use a Gravel bike with proper mudguard mounts, G-one tyres and disc brakes. Most important thing to me is braking in any weather and prefer drops as there is usually a headwind on way home

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

G-Man wrote: »
    Have you done Leixlip to Lucan via Catherines Park. I do Drimnagh to Leixlip socially and prefer this route into city. Go out via canal ok to the "metal bridge" and then north towards Lucan supervalu. Great morning route.

Yes, that is usually my route home strawberry beds, Lucan, Catherines park to Lexilip. The park is nice, much nicer than the N4 :)

5km each way, 2017 Rapide RL2.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 doolepat

Hijacking thread but how long are 25km each way commutes taking people?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

2018 Trek 1.2 Road bike with sora group set. 12.5 km daily total.25mm tyres. Sometimes go for a 20k lunch spin with a group from work so it’s good for that.

Sold the Trek and now do the same on my 2015 Cube Peleton Pro SL - 105 groupset and 25mm tyres.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

doolepat wrote: »

Used to take me 60-70 minutes iirc. 70% back roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Paul_Mc1988

doolepat wrote:

Purely based on fitness. I'd do it in 52 mins on the way in with a slight head wind and 44 on the way home with a slight tail wind. I'd say im reasonably fit and usually average between 32 and 36kmph depending on the wind. Starting of 2 years ago i was averaging between 24 and 28. Fitness primarily dictates the time :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

150km ew on a Schwinn Sting-Ray. Of course by the time I get there it's almost time to go home which is why I really love my commute so much.

I put the Bike into work.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

doolepat wrote: »

Little over an hour on a touring bike. I think.