Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

When did you realise you weren’t really a young person anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I don't pay a whole lot of attention to the fact that I am on the wrong side of 30. I believe it's an privilege to grow older, a privilege that is denied to many. I feel that deep down, nobody has a clue what they are doing or where they are going, at any age. Nobody fully has their sh!t together. We are all in the same race, young and old. Only difference is that some of us are smiling.

It's worth remembering that when you were say 19/20 or younger, you probably didn't spare much thought for the **** feelings people in their late 20s or older definitely would have felt about being out of touch with the culture and experience of people your age. Some things in life are simple, and the fact that it is better to be younger rather than older is one of them. I was in a bad way during what should have been the best years of my life and it still eats me up that I missed out. Those of us lucky enough to live past 24 got one chance to experience life aged 24 and younger (to place a rough figure on what the best years clearly are) and if you don't get to enjoy them for whatever reason, it's a harsh fact that you can never have another "go" at it.

It occurred to me recently that most of the people who did their Leaving Cert this year wouldn't have been born when I did mine.

Ah well, dead soon.
    I just did the maths on mine now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

when i was on the flat of my back . watching the surgeon on the screens overhead putting a stent in and doing a bit of plumbing work on smaller blockages . BIG dose of reality hit that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I spent the entirety of my 20's going to bed at 2am, up for 7.

Now it's bed for 12, up for 7:30, and i'm still knackered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Yieldcurve wrote: »
    Why do people consider it a bad thing to get older? What's so bad about it? I turn 34 in a couple of months and I don't see the big deal. Maybe 80 is bad because your body will begin to fail, but it just seems ridiculous that anyone under 40 would have a problem with feeling old.
    So you consider over 40 old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Millennium babies started getting learner permits for tractors and mopeds in 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭Dante

When I started developing intolerences to pretty much every food and drink I once loved in life.

No bread, no beer, no milk. I'm a shell of my former self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I spent the entirety of my 20's going to bed at 2am, up for 7.

Now it's bed for 12, up for 7:30, and i'm still knackered.

What age are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

When I politely asked a teenager to put the dumbbells he had finished using back onto the rack in the gym and he said to me “F*ck off OLD MAN”. I’m 45, and look younger (not a humblebrag before anyone suggests that!). It really hit me, was pretty much speechless; I guess as much for his reaction as to what he actually said. I’m not the violent type, but if he reacts like this to everyone he encounters he’s going to get his ass handed to him at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

When someone pointed out to me that I am older than Justin Bieber’s mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

When I realised most of my niece and nephews teachers are younger than me.

Teachers were always old people to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

2016 wrote: »
    When I realised that the soccer players that were my 'heroes' were now younger than me

When you realise you're old enough - just - to legally be the grand mother of the player who's just come on as a sub.

That's a grand one!

When someone pointed out to me that I am older than Justin Bieber’s mother.

Not that bad tbh tho - she had him at like 15 or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

sundodger5 wrote: »
    daughter at E P. checked out the lineup....prodigy and after that i was struggling
    Same here, except I knew more than The Prodigy (and I'm 45 so that's not too bad). This was my first year not to go to the Electric Picnic.

I got a mortgage at 24 which didn't make me feel old, but getting my first credit card at 28 did. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I've yet to notice. I just drift on from one year to the next, one decade to the next, one stage of life to the next and never consider the age aspect at all. It's a natural flowing process and I go with the flow constantly discovering, learning and enjoying as I go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭ec18

When I spent my saturday in a DIY Store

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

When I attended my son's passing out parade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

When your friends 16 year old nephew says "isn't such and such rapper (that I've never heard of) totally dope" and you take a moment and all that comes out of your mouth is...

"Aww yeah,he seems like a thick cnut indeed"

I'm 34 and the kids use the term dope In a totally different way nowadays (it's good to be dope from what I can gather)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

When youngsters started having fewer 'mams' and more 'moms'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

It's worth remembering that when you were say 19/20 or younger, you probably didn't spare much thought for the **** feelings people in their late 20s or older definitely would have felt about being out of touch with the culture and experience of people your age. Some things in life are simple, and the fact that it is better to be younger rather than older is one of them. I was in a bad way during what should have been the best years of my life and it still eats me up that I missed out. Those of us lucky enough to live past 24 got one chance to experience life aged 24 and younger (to place a rough figure on what the best years clearly are) and if you don't get to enjoy them for whatever reason, it's a harsh fact that you can never have another "go" at it.

Life is over at 24? Absolute nonsense

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Reading this thread and ticking the boxes as I go along...

Knees -check
    Gardening check
    New bands, young crowds in pubs, early to bed, check check check check fookin checkity check. Feck yous all I’m going back to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

nose/ear/eyebrow hair growing faster than head hair

eyesight going to pot, developing a fat face with a second chin

and finding yourself watching gardener's world and actually enjoying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Patww79 wrote: »
    The day I woke up and I was 30.

The absolute oldest I've ever felt was turning 30 -literally felt like a coffin dodger. I'm 44 now and back to feeling (and acting) like a teenager again.

(well - a strangely inflexible teenager, with dodgy joints and who listens to newstalk anyway:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Seeing stuff in shops that I remember the first time around (hair springs and plastic chokers in particular).

Opting to listen to Q102 on the car radio after turning off Spin due to it being sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    What age are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Going shoe shopping and not bothering with the likes of Lifestyle Sports, JD or Champion.

Oh, and remembering Max Verstappen exists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Not that bad tbh tho - she had him at like 15 or something!

He was born a month before she turned 19, but she was still a very young mother.

It's a pretty sad story. She suffered sexual abuse throughout her entire childhood, started using LSD and other drugs at 14, tried to kill herself when she was 17, and spent time in a mental institution. She got pregnant by Jeremy Bieber shortly after her release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

When you see a clip of a soccer/hurling/football match that you remember watching Live and notice how dated the picture/sound/graphics quality are and how old this must seem to younger people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

[QUOTE=fryup;107977625]nose/ear/eyebrow hair growing faster than head hair

eyesight going to pot, developing a fat face with a second chin

and finding yourself watching gardener's world and actually enjoying it[/QUOTE]

Looks at username. Looks at post. It all makes sense now. :pac:

Just joking btw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭JonnyM

When you make groaning sounds getting up off the chair!!

He was born a month before she turned 19, but she was still a very young mother.

It's a pretty sad story. She suffered sexual abuse throughout her entire childhood, started using LSD and other drugs at 14, tried to kill herself when she was 17, and spent time in a mental institution. She got pregnant by Jeremy Bieber shortly after her release.

Heartbreaker that one, I'd no idea just that he and her seem really close, which is lovely to see.

I was actually on a packed LUAS and couldn't change music and heard one of his, it's actually not terrible!

JonnyM wrote: »
    When you make groaning sounds getting up off the chair!!

And the orgasmic sigh when you sit down at the end of the day and take your shoes off!!!!!

When you see a clip of a soccer/hurling/football match that you remember watching Live and notice how dated the picture/sound/graphics quality are and how old this must seem to younger people.

Having a VHS tape of one of your team's greatest games and some young un goes a) "isn't it on YouTube ??" or b) "I was born 12 years after that!".

FML!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭sundodger5

Recent visit to the science museum in London...too many items on display that i have owned....and not that long ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭daithi84

When my lunch break conversation with my work pals went from stories of wild nights out and sex stories to continual non stop conversations about every movement their kids make. I now go on break at different times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭victor8600

Sheesh, 20-somethings noticing that they are not young anymore? This is ridiculous. I had noticed that my metabolism was not the same around the age of 33 when I went to try on a shirt in one of those changing rooms with three mirrors and saw a beer belly in a side reflection. That is when I've realised that I am not young anymore and that now I have to watch what I eat and drink. To get back in shape I have started to do HIIT instead of lazing about in a gym and switched to whiskey instead of beers ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭strawdog

Tried keeping up with the young folk in to my early 30's as didn't have too much going on in terms of family and career etc. Starting to settle down a bit now in my mid 30's but I think the biggest change I've noticed is that I've started lookin forward to a relatively booze free weekend with the same excitement I used to look forward to a boozy weekend. Don't get me wrong, i still love an aul session from time to time but, in the last couple of years, having moderation now means that I don't lose half my week to brain fog and the Fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

When I started developing back, hip and leg pain as a result of something as innocuous as too much sitting mixed in with poor posture. That's when I realized my indestructible youthful body was gone and now I needed to actually look after it!

That and all movies, music, terrestrial tv and general pop culture is gone to hell obviously.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Feed Up

When playing football and someone called me Mr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I used to work on a University campus in my late twenties. I didn't get handed a single flyer about any of the nights out.

When I was maybe 27 I was walking down Shop Street and there were club girls handing out flyers, one of them actually had one held out, then I got close enough for her to see my face and she just like stopped seeing me and turned to someone else :(:(:(

The other night I had to get my little brother to show me how to do something on my phone. In hindsight I probably could have figured it out if I wasn't completely mangled, but he didn't help by saying "oh good, this sh1t is starting, is it?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

When the young wan next door (18) came over as she has having a BDay party that weekend.

Not to give me an invite, to say there may be some noise and would that be OK!?!

I'm only 34, 33 at the time.

First they came for the socialists...

When I was maybe 27 I was walking down Shop Street and there were club girls handing out flyers, one of them actually had one held out, then I got close enough for her to see my face and she just like stopped seeing me and turned to someone else :(:(:(

The other night I had to get my little brother to show me how to do something on my phone. In hindsight I probably could have figured it out if I wasn't completely mangled, but he didn't help by saying "oh good, this sh1t is starting, is it?'

I work in a Uni and regularly get called Ma'am.

I know it's respectful but it still makes me feel old!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

March last year, heading into town from Chapelizod, stopped the bus which was full so I stood in the aisle. After a couple of minutes, a young lady stood up and offered me her seat. Assuming that she was dismounting the bus at the next stop, I thanked her and sat down. She then stood in the aisle beside me all the way to O'Connell Bridge. :eek: (I was 56 and, up to that incident, had considered myself as looking fit and healthy, although a bit overweight!) :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Feisar wrote: »
    When the young wan next door (18) came over as she has having a BDay party that weekend.

Not to give me an invite, to say there may be some noise and would that be OK!?!

That's code for an invite to an orgy! Thought everyone knew this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Ah god there's a few,
    When you talk about world cup 90 in work and the young lads weren't alive,
    When the idea of going to a nightclub is a nightmare, 
    When you enjoy doing home improvements ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Ah god there's a few,
    When you talk about world cup 90 in work and the young lads weren't alive,

If you think that's bad, try talking to someone about the days when Shamrock Rovers played in Milltown! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Feisar wrote: »

Imagine how creepy you'd look hanging out with a load of 17-18 year olds...

I put my neck out by simply being asleep. Fúck that ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,240 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I think it was when I realised that people born in 2000 could vote in the last referendum.
    I was drunk for most of the year 2000!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Explaining to a younger colleague that when we did school projects we had to go to the library and look things up in books because we didn’t have the internet then.

When a teenager bumped into me and said “Sorry madam”