Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

When did you realise you weren’t really a young person anymore?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

RTÉ report stabbings at a concert for Swedish House Mafia

Tens of thousands of young wans there

You never even heard of them :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

mickeyk wrote: »
    Was at a family event a few years back and my significantly younger sister in law dragged me out to a bar afterwards as she had nobody else to go out with.

Don't leave us hanging, tell us about how you ploughed the sister-in-law in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

I'm in the early half of my late twenties.
    I recently saw videos on YouTube when they played music for teenagers and they had to say if they knew the song or not.
    They had no idea who Snow Patrol, Kylie Minogue, etc were.

It's weird to think that Kylie Minouge's comeback was nearly 20 years ago now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

When I actively wanted to listen to the news headlines, not forced to switch it on by the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

The biggest impact the Budget used have on me was that it cancelled "The Den" for the evening.

Now it just takes my money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

After France won the world cup and Mbappe was going up to get the young player of the tournament award, the commentator said that Mbappe wasn't born the last time France won the world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

When I politely asked a teenager to put the dumbbells he had finished using back onto the rack in the gym and he said to me “F*ck off OLD MAN”. I’m 45, and look younger (not a humblebrag before anyone suggests that!). It really hit me, was pretty much speechless; I guess as much for his reaction as to what he actually said. I’m not the violent type, but if he reacts like this to everyone he encounters he’s going to get his ass handed to him at some stage.

Probably juiced up to his eyeballs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

When I started asking people in resturants + pubs to turn down the f*cking racket in the background so I could hear my friends roar at me over stuff that wasn't cider any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

A good few years ago now, was walking across the field at the bottom of my estate and a young lad screamed "Mister, will you kick that ball back to us." I genuinely thought he was talking to someone else, so ignored him. It was only after he screamed "MISTER!!" again that I turned around and was sad to see that he was referring to me. A little bit of me died that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭facehugger99

When a graduate started working in here and, not sure how this came up, I realised I was closer in age to her mother than I was to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

First time was when I realised I was more years out of secondary school than I had spent in it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

When hangovers started lasting multiple days. Not even after a mad one - a few pints wipes me out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Waking up in the morning and having random parts of your body hurt for no reason. Making involuntary grunting/sighing noises when picking something up or get up out of a chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Waking up in the morning and having random parts of your body hurt for no reason. Making involuntary grunting/sighing noises when picking something up or get up out of a chair.

And the transition from "Argh, random pain for no reason, annoying" to "Argh, random pain for no reason. This is probably the start of how I die"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

When the funerals of friends and acquaintances my age stopped being suicides...

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭LordBasil

When you can vividly remember events that happened 20+ Years ago

Looking at clothes and thinking 'That's nice but too young for me'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

First when I became older than any Premier League player still playing - and then when Premier League managers started being younger than me

Actually the latter happened before the former

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I've recently started getting really into Irish history (a sure sign of age), so I was explaining some historical stuff to my four year old son and he just stares at me blankly and shouts "BORING!". Never felt so old...:(

Ush1 wrote: »
    I've recently started getting really into Irish history (a sure sign of age), so I was explaining some historical stuff to my four year old son and he just stares at me blankly and shouts "BORING!". Never felt so old...:(

I started reading that but as soon as I saw the words 'Irish History' I got sooooo bored I gave up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

When some of the lads started wearing blazers on Saturday nights. And when the lads stopped wanting to go to nightclubs actually.

"Let's go to Coppers lads."

"We could go to Coppers, but we're a bit old for that scene now."

"Hmm, we're late 20s and early 30s?"

"Indeed we are. Too old. No, let's sit here in our blazers, drinking moderately in a sh*t pub on the outskirts of town, talking about one another's job. So, how's work going Rory?

"Suck a thousand dicks Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

Imagine how creepy you'd look hanging out with a load of 17-18 year olds...

I put my neck out by simply being asleep. Fúck that ****.

Yes of course I wouldn't of gone however I think I'm 25, yer wan obviously sees me as an old fart.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

Turnipman wrote: »
    March last year, heading into town from Chapelizod, stopped the bus which was full so I stood in the aisle. After a couple of minutes, a young lady stood up and offered me her seat. Assuming that she was dismounting the bus at the next stop, I thanked her and sat down. She then stood in the aisle beside me all the way to O'Connell Bridge. :eek: (I was 56 and, up to that incident, had considered myself as looking fit and healthy, although a bit overweight!) :(

My Dad recently got out of his seat for two women on a train, about 20 and 40, the 20 year old took the seat. I broke my hole laughing, Dad's 60!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

When one of my mates became a grandad we are both only in our mid 40s

You know when you're on a night out and people pull their phones out for group selfies and start talking about how much they drank the last time they were out? That's never been me. When it does happen I always wish I was at home or out for a run or clipping my toenails or anything else, but that's not really a new thing as I've always been easily bored. I'm 31 now and much better at saying no to things I don't want to do or to people I don't want to be with.

I knew I was past youth and into mature territory when I started making Very Sensible Decisions about pensions, health insurance, savings and mortgages and most tellingly of all, buying three months worth of toilet paper because it was on special offer.

Imagine that, thinking three months ahead in terms of loo roll. That's maturity, my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

When a co-worker is shocked to hear that someone would kidnap a horse, and you realise Shergar was kidnapped 10 years before she was born.
    :(

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Ironman76

When I watched a p0rn once and thought “God that bed looks comfy”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

You cant keep up with all the new singers in the charts
    Many female singers sound the same to me if ,i,ll listen to spin fm for 15 minutes.
    The songs i loved as a teen are just played on radio 1 or classic pop stations.
    I dont understand all the new genres of music, what is grime,
    euro house,trance etc
    There used to be folk, trad, pop, rock ,jazz , now theres edm, house etc
    When gaurds and postmen look young , and people ask you for directions in the street.
    I remember if you liked a group you just bought the lp or cd,
    streaming or smart phone apps did not exist.

riclad wrote: »
    Many female singers sound the same to me if ,i,ll listen to spin fm for 15 minutes.
    euro house,trance etc
    When gaurds and postmen look young , and people ask you for directions in the street.

Are they lyrics to a Johnny Logan song?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Are they lyrics to a Johnny Logan song?

Old me now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

Yieldcurve wrote: »
    Why do people consider it a bad thing to get older? What's so bad about it? I turn 34 in a couple of months and I don't see the big deal. Maybe 80 is bad because your body will begin to fail, but it just seems ridiculous that anyone under 40 would have a problem with feeling old.

True. I plan to live past 100. At 50, I should be peaking physically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

riclad wrote: »
    euro house,trance etc

Don’t tell me you don’t enjoy pervin on Pharrell’s baes though. Or the asian ones at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

When you are referred to as 'the man'.

e.g. you're in a supermarket and a toddler nearly bumps into you. Their mother tells them to 'mind the man'.

When you're the man, you're not young anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭griffin100

I used to work on a University campus in my late twenties. I didn't get handed a single flyer about any of the nights out.

I also work on a university campus. I knew I was old when I started finding the first years mammies more attractive than the students themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,110 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Large billboard ads for massive gigs for acts I've never heard of. Usually pop or hip hop acts.

Sometimes I feel like I'm in a movie where I go to the future and don't recognise anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

I never smoked, was never a heavy drinker and always kept myself fit. Being fair skinned, my sun screen would offer more SPF than a duffle coat. As I result I always codded myself that I was improving with age until I got a passport in my early 40's and compared the photo to the old one. Holy Mother of God, some ould bastard had taken over my soul in the intervening 10 years! The difference was astonishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

When I dread getting wedding invites. Can't do those long days/nights anymore with all the young wans. And we get the privilege of sitting at the Granny/Granda table too.

When I buy shoes for comfort not for style.

Clothes are also for comfort and expansion.

Not giving a hoot anymore what anyone thinks. I don't do pubs/late nights anymore, bye now. We head into town for 5pm on a Saturday, have a pre dinner drink, have a bite to eat, post dinner drink, home for 9.30. Bliss.

Holidays are for reading. No feckin tours, organised activities, all inclusive. Just us and a kindle (each). And hols the minute the kids are back in school. Guess when I'm going away!

Ah it's all just a process. I love getting older. Was as mad as a box of frogs when younger, but I'm enjoying this phase too. So far no creaks, sticks, aches or pains. But that's next phase I suppose!

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

When I’m sat on a Friday evening reading reviews on lawnmowers and deciding the best one to buy the following morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

When kids of drinking age in pubs don't know who the Stone Roses, Smiths, Suede or even the Smashing Pumpkins are. Even the Arctic Monkeys are a stretch, when you think they were only an up-and-coming band what seems like only a few years ago.

Maybe they're just not into that type of music, but you really know it's because they're too young. And you notice you're a bit old.

(but you'll still judge their horrible taste in your auld head :))

Then again, there are some great new bands out there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,367 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

When the page 3 girls were younger than me; that freaked me right out. A more real example would be getting on the bus and the driver is younger than you.

Tbf, I often remember the page 3 girls being 17, either the same age or a year younger than me at the time.
    It's worth remembering that when you were say 19/20 or younger, you probably didn't spare much thought for the **** feelings people in their late 20s or older definitely would have felt about being out of touch with the culture and experience of people your age. Some things in life are simple, and the fact that it is better to be younger rather than older is one of them. I was in a bad way during what should have been the best years of my life and it still eats me up that I missed out. Those of us lucky enough to live past 24 got one chance to experience life aged 24 and younger (to place a rough figure on what the best years clearly are) and if you don't get to enjoy them for whatever reason, it's a harsh fact that you can never have another "go" at it.

I actually completely disagree with this, tbh. I don't think it's 'better to be younger'. Nor is it better to be older. Probably better to just be alive, tbh.
    But I do agree with the 'being in a bad way' thing. There was a period of my life, similar to you, where crap just seemed to always hit the fan. When I read people talking about this, that and the other things-the friends they made etc etc, I think to that period and remember I was being a carer, working, dealing with a lot of issues, and can't identify with any of those stories. Then two guys in my home placed died in separate incidents, both aged 22. One had a heart issue, another died in a vehicular accident. And another died aged 25, also a vehicle accident. What made his death so much sadder was he had a 4 year old daughter, who he'd just dropped off at school.
    Yieldcurve wrote: »
    Why do people consider it a bad thing to get older? What's so bad about it? I turn 34 in a couple of months and I don't see the big deal. Maybe 80 is bad because your body will begin to fail, but it just seems ridiculous that anyone under 40 would have a problem with feeling old.

I suppose there is biology-for guys it's not so much a major issue, but for women it's like 'if you want children, you have a limited time to do so'.
    My cousin was working with a vet a few years back-the guy was 82 or 83 years old. The vet was jumping over gates, far more agile than a guy many years his junior. My cousin jogs daily and tries to exercise. Even he was having trouble keeping up.

He's the kind of guy I'd like to be at 80. If I live that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Seeing stuff in shops that I remember the first time around (hair springs and plastic chokers in particular).

Opting to listen to Q102 on the car radio after turning off Spin due to it being sh*t.

4fm is best for the oldies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,677 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Probably last year on a stag do when I found myself in a nightclub for the first time in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Cushtie

I think it magically happened one night when myself and Mrs Cushtie were in one Sat night. Flicking through the channels we came across Crufts. Oh how we happily settled in for a weeked of canine shennagins!! Well my young self departed my body that night to be replaced by the ageing excuse I'm becoming.

Also when I stopped listening to Todayfm and 2Fm and instead listening to Radio 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,652 ✭✭✭✭fits

When I bumped into a bus load of picnickers in macdonalds earlier and felt decidedly smug that I didn’t feel or look like they did 😄.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭kegg

When I typed 'fun' on my fone and predictive text gave me 'funeral'.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,657 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

About 3 weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I teach teenagers.
    I get reminded daily, either playfully, or innocently. :pac: :o

Little things, like their birth dates (2005 !!!), or the fact they genuinely do not know what a phone book is. I also have to explain what a landline was pretty often.
    These little people were 4 when Michael Jackson died, he was 15 when I was born.
    I'm at the stage where ex students have a gaggle of kids, for some their kids would be the same age as my youngest, soon the students themselves will turn up at parent/teacher meetings for their offspring.
    Beat that for feeling old !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ridiculous.
    Just leave it on 24/7 it's far better!

Better for what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

When people no longer recognised Alan Partridge references.

Life is over at 24? Absolute nonsense

I didn't say life was over at 24. It just .. loses it's potential or something. Less potentially sweet. There are fewer novelties. The years after you finish school are typically very heady, up until about 21,22 I would reckon. In my own life I've personally had a better time of it being 25 onwards but taking life as a human being generally I believe life peaks between 16 and 21 - that's 6 years. At those ages you are still going on nights out with most of your friends. The future is still comfortably far away that you've plenty of time to change path and you look forward to when your sh'it is together and you have a wife and family and nice house and nice job, but you typically are not tied down yet by a mortgage or family of your own and in the meantime you do what you like. Your parents are younger (obviously) than they are when you get older. Atheletically, you are comfortably before your peak in most sports at 24 and younger. For the intellectuals, your maths abilities peak in your mid 20s. There is a value in potential for it's own sake; at say 20, you have another 8 years left maybe playing sport to a high level. You can eat crap food with more abandon than when you get older because your metabolism is quicker and you are less prone to suffering health problems from it. By 25 the thought of doing the same stuff you did aged 17 to 21 is kind of depressing and feels like you're too old for it, and because your friends vaguely feel similarly they don't want to do such stuff either in any case. You see your friends much less often because you are all doing your own thing, and aren't just in college. Things just feel sweeter when you're younger - music sounds better, anything to do with girls is more exciting, life is just headier. The whole entertainment industry is geared towards people 24 and under - I'm being generous even saying 24, as ages 23 and 24 are like a transition period. Between 23 and 27 say life turns very different. At 20 you are 20 years off 40, which feels very comfortably far away to you at that age. At 28, you are 12 years off 40, and, given you left school only 11 years before (and that never feels that long ago for some reason, anecdotally), being 40 doesn't seem so theoretical anymore. Reminds me of the saying- "Isn't it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back everything is different?".