Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2019 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales / Requests **

• Registered Users Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

On the flip from most of you here, I'm happy enough with Gavin James and Kodaline. They're decent acts that I'll probably go see. I've spent the morning listening to Viagra Boys and Otherkin and am really impressed with them too. I wasn't expecting much from this last announcement but I'll have enough to keep me amused for the weekend. Just need the times and site map now and I'll be happy.

Am I right in saying that Kneecap are the irish language rappers? They'll be great craic. I'll definitely pop along to see them.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭glennponder

Still v surprised at this, last years announcement included a whole lot of fillers such as gavin James, coronas etc but no one cared as the prodigy were also on it....think ep missed a trick here

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Plush289

Acosta wrote: »
    People need to stop buying tickets for this before the line-up is announced. They're only taking your money and laughing at ye.

Would love to wait for the line up before buying but then if i was happy with it i would be forced to overpay for tickets or spend weeks haggling with time wasters

• Registered Users Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Rfrip

where my frustrations lie around dance is i see DJs announced in Dublin that id love to see all the time
    Hidden agenda/district 8 have some great bookings. Cant understand for the life of me why EP cant book them

I know thats a very simplistic view and i obviously dont know how it works but still i cant understand it!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Still v surprised at this, last years announcement included a whole lot of fillers such as gavin James, coronas etc but no one cared as the prodigy were also on it....think ep missed a trick here

And Death Grips.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 19 melwurdo

Plush289 wrote: »
    Would love to wait for the line up before buying but then if i was happy with it i would be forced to overpay for tickets or spend weeks haggling with time wasters

Exactly. Impossible to get everyone to agree to wait til after the lineup announcement, a few people doing it makes no difference. I get the early bird ever year because it's not worth the stress of not having one later on. Easy to sell if I hated the lineup but I won't lie, it's an amazing weekend every year regardless so...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Big gaping Irish gaps in tour schedules from major acts this summer/autumn. Odd.

- KoL
    - Anderson Paak
    - Chems
    - Wilco
    - Raconteurs
    - Robyn

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭BigMo1

I was already delighted with the line-up.

Latest announcement is a bit sh1te but I'm still really excited.

This time two weeks we'll be swilling lovely cans in (hopefully) Sunny Stradbally.

So no Freetown announcement as such then just all the electronic acts gleaned from the main bill being placed in there, so probably no Little Big tent this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭rubick

Rfrip wrote: »
    where my frustrations lie around dance is i see DJs announced in Dublin that id love to see all the time
    Hidden agenda/district 8 have some great bookings. Cant understand for the life of me why EP cant book them

I know thats a very simplistic view and i obviously dont know how it works but still i cant understand it!

Heading to Wigwam in December for Andy Weatherall's annual visit! He's also playing The Menagerie in Belfast 4th Oct. Been quite a while since he was in Little Big Tent.

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

Missed a trick? the trick is on those who paid for a ticket before a line up was announced..

Melvin Benn is the prankster and you lot are the victims!

*not said with any hint of jealousy... honestly...maybe a bit...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,196 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

So no Freetown announcement as such then just all the electronic acts gleaned from the main bill being placed in there, so probably no Little Big tent this year.

There's not enough announced yet to fill Freetown for the weekend unless it a night time only venue.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

there are several smaller areas/stages that haven't announced acts yet, so I'd say there's almost certainly plenty more to come. by "final announcement", I'd assume they mean for the main arena.

look at the clashfinder for Sat/Sun last year, there's way more there than has been announced so far this year.
    https://clashfinder.com/s/ep2018/

I wouldn't be holding out much hope for big names in Freetown or anywhere else though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Kodaline, Razorlight type bands are already covered with FATM, Hozier, 1975's. A real narrowing of the spectrum in this year's line up!!

I don't think we can pin hopes of a big act in Freetown. 8,000 is huge but certainty not big enough for the chems and underworld... think about if 12,000-13,000 show up at that location the area through the former Wilde site would be completely blocked as its a natural bottleneck + If it's free flow booze they may not want a big name performing.

Unless they can pull someone like Tame Impala and a good bit more in the undercard im really at a loss and feel displaced!

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭GentleHumour

Ah well. Very disappointed in that announcement.

Kodaline being announced is akin to looking forward to a nice dessert in restaurant, and instead the waiter arrives to your table and just kicks you square in the balls.

Bicep? Chemical Brothers? Robyn? Tame Impala? Aphex Twin? Nope. Have the 2006 You’re A Star runners up, 21 Demands/Kodaline!

Strange no Le Galaxie too. Hopefully added when Love Sensation is done this weekend.

Still 14 days out. I blindly/naively hope another few names will be added. Maybe for Freetown?

Still lots on the line up for me already, but finishing up with this announcement is clouding that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Rfrip wrote: »

Yep I agree. I think there are enough DJs on the main lineup this year but a lack of big hitters and they seem to be mainly of the same variety. Would any of them sell out a show in District 8? Four Tet arguably the only one I would say, maybe Kolsch or Kjaak, (completely forgot Richie Hawtin who is big in fairness) whereas in previous years we had:

2018: Denis Sulta, The Blaze, Nina Kraviz, Mall Grab, Peggy Gou, DJ Koze, Mount Kimbie
    2017: Bicep, Annie Mac, Mura Masa, Floating Points, Tiga, Soulwax, Kiasmos, Hannah Wants
    2016: Todd Terje, Mura Masa, John Talabot, Gorgon City, Mount Kimbie, Daniel Avery

All of them I would argue would sell out a big venue. Not to mention we have had electronic headliners most of these years too. The rave in the woods headliners dropped off altogether once Red Bull pulled out, and I would argue Casa Bacardi is getting worse every year too.

But then again the festival sells out quicker than ever. Maybe we are alone in having an issue with it or it is our own tastes that aren't adapting to the times! Hopefully there is still an announcement to come for Freetown and it makes me eat my words. I find it highly unusual that none of Krystal Klear, New Jackson, Mano le Tough, DJ Deece, R.Kitt have been announced yet...

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Spreece

As somebody not into hiphop or dance music, I was already happy with the lineup. Kodaline will appeal to the kids but not relevant to me. I will only go to about 10 acts over the weekend anyway so there’s more than enough to keep me going. It is very rock and pop focused this year and that’s a pity because it used to have a broader appeal.

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Pablo_Flox

Spreece wrote: »
    As somebody not into hiphop or dance music, I was already happy with the lineup. Kodaline will appeal to the kids but not relevant to me. I will only go to about 10 acts over the weekend anyway so there’s more than enough to keep me going. It is very rock and pop focused this year and that’s a pity because it used to have a broader appeal.

So you don't like hiphop or dance, but you think its a pity that its so rock and pop focused? What exactly were you hoping for? Classical?

Jesus, there are some amount of moaners on this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭rubick

I'm still happy enough electronica-wise. My personal favourite style is jungle/dnb, think I've counted one act that even comes close this year (MC Dynamite & Bazza Ranks) but to be fair on the Friday last year the Anachroncia folks played a bit of old skool breakbeat on the Friday and Saturday nights. Casa Bacardi doesn't really appeal to me, although Heidi will be worth checking out pending clashes. You don't necessarily need big names to have a dirty oul rave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

Had another look through the line-up there again, i'd be looking at this...
    The Strokes
    The 1975
    Billie Eilish
    Christine and the Queens
    Four Tet
    James Blake
    Jarvis Cocker
    Brittany Howard
    Courtney Barnett
    DJ Seinfeld
    Le Boom
    Mitski
    Parquet Courts
    Talos
    Just Mustard
    Let's Eat Grandma
    AE Mak
    The Claque
    Powpig

A lot of those would be easy to catch throughout the year in Ireland anyway but it's not a bad list. But, it's not a classic list either - Blake and Mitski would be a lot better in headline shows, for e.g., I wouldn't class myself as a big fan of 1975, Billie Eilish or Christine but I'd probably pop my head into each show if there was no clash. Still, while there's a lack of hip-hop and electronic music, I'd wager most people could manage to have a very good weekend based on what is there, even if it hasn't quite hit the heights that some people hoped.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Reggie noble

Pablo_Flox wrote: »
    So you don't like hiphop or dance, but you think its a pity that its so rock and pop focused? What exactly were you hoping for? Classical?

Haha maybe they wanted heavy metal

We need more metal , hip hop and different variety of dance other than techno 💪ðŸ»

• Registered Users Posts: 8,664 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

That’s sh!t news about Otherkin. Saw them in Rankins Wood a few years ago and they blew the roof off the place.

They rocked Salty Dog whenever they were there too.

That debut album was class.

I hate to be a dissenter and am sad to see them go as think they are a decent but not a great band who've fallen down the pecking order given the talent we're now producing. I was underwhelmed by them at EP 2/3 years ago as I expected more. Maybe I was too hungover for them?

It's also got to be tough when a new set of young bands like the Fontaines and TMC completely usurp you. That Salty Dog gig will be very special, I'll be there and they'll possibly change their minds given the reception they get.

And I fully agree with the previous poster. Get to gigs, buy merch, chat to bands and tell they how much you appreciate their effort. These musicians are always appreciative of such feedback and I've had some lovely chats with bands since returning home two years ago.

dansan7 wrote: »
    I was really hoping for a Franz Ferdinand type act to be announced. Hope they announce some good electronic acts for Freetown.

Anyone decent in that new announcement? Besides KKC.

The Clockworks are a decent Galway band. Relocated to London in January and got signed up by Alan McGee's new Creation label in March. Nice bunch of lads who've been making progress in the UK and did a SoccerAM TV slot two weeks ago. Worth a look.

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    The Clockworks are a decent Galway band. Relocated to London in January and got signed up by Alan McGee's new Creation label in March. Nice bunch of lads who've been making progress in the UK and did a SoccerAM TV slot two weeks ago. Worth a look.

Am currently in the Galway cafe where the lead singer & guitarist used to work. And the Strokes playing in the background. Serendipity innit?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

Don't think spreece was moaning, just commenting on the lack of eclecticism this year.

Here is what moaning looks like: "This is the worst lineup ever and I am selling my ticket. EP has really sold out this year, catering to the young ones and forgetting those of us who propped it up through the hard times. Bah humbug!"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

?

that might be the biggest understatement ever

rubick wrote: »
    I'm still happy enough electronica-wise. My personal favourite style is jungle/dnb, think I've counted one act that even comes close this year (MC Dynamite & Bazza Ranks) but to be fair on the Friday last year the Anachroncia folks played a bit of old skool breakbeat on the Friday and Saturday nights. Casa Bacardi doesn't really appeal to me, although Heidi will be worth checking out pending clashes. You don't necessarily need big names to have a dirty oul rave.

Don't forget Gaudi at Body & Soul and hopefully the Earthship stage has some of the jungle style from last year. Also rubick check out DJ Kali at Trenchtown, she plays some wicked DnB, jungle, gabba and rocky dubstep in her set.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

that might be the biggest understatement ever

I remember when there were more moaners. The quality of moaning is gone downhill also. Overall, this thread has gone to the dogs! Think I will unfollow.

/s

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

I remember when there were more moaners. The quality of moaning is gone downhill also. Overall, this thread has gone to the dogs! Think I will unfollow.

/s

Last year was probably my favourite year for moaners, would always be hard to top that

Poorside wrote: »
    Last year was probably my favourite year for moaners, would always be hard to top that

Absolutely. Didn't we surpass ourselves with our complaints about the second announcement delay? Following that 2019 has been an ocean of serenity.