Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rachel Allen’s son arrested for €30,000 drugs seizure

• Registered Users Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

....... wrote: »
    She married into a family who had an existing business and brand.

She did not start the Allen brand from scratch. It is her husbands family name and brand.

To suggest that she would have done all of this by herself without the full backing of an already successful business and brand is nonsensical.

She is the one who became better known in the UK but the brand and the business were already in existence AND successful before she came along.

In ireland. she made the brand in the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

In ireland. she made the brand in the UK.

She extended it into the UK - I dont think anyone disagrees with this?

But anyone could have extended it into the UK. She was a good choice and she was married into the family. If it hadnt been her it would have been someone else.

The brand already existed and they already had a hugely successful business and cookery school - a world famous cookery school. Long before Rachel came along.

She didnt do any of that. She married into it.

She extended it into the UK - I dont think anyone disagrees with this?

But anyone could have extended it into the UK. She was a good choice and she was married into the family. If it hadnt been her it would have been someone else.

The brand already existed and they already had a hugely successful business and cookery school - a world famous cookery school. Long before Rachel came along.

She didnt do any of that. She married into it.

I know all that. But i disagree that she extended it in the UK. they were not known in the UK until she came along. without her they would not be known in the UK.

The Ballymaloe cookery school was well known much further afield than just the UK.

The time was ripe for the family to move into the UK market and they used Rachel to do that.

She didnt appear out of nowhere and become something in the UK without the backing of the Allen family brand and their tv and business contacts.

Its a bit like arguing that the British Royal family were not well known outside of the UK until Diana came along. Sure, Diana became well known worldwide, but that was predicated on the family she married into. Same for Rachel Allen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

The Ballymaloe cookery school was well known much further afield than just the UK.

The time was ripe for the family to move into the UK market and they used Rachel to do that.

She didnt appear out of nowhere and become something in the UK without the backing of the Allen family brand and their tv and business contacts.

Its a bit like arguing that the British Royal family were not well known outside of the UK until Diana came along. Sure, Diana became well known worldwide, but that was predicated on the family she married into. Same for Rachel Allen.

You're desperate to give her no credit for her career. Knock yourself out.
    The land of the begrudgers...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I think this thread is full of people who would be great success if only they were born or married into right family. Because then all you need to do is flutter your eyelashes to succeed.

Are you related to them or something that youre so anxious for people to say nice things about them?

I think she did a great job on her career, but it is also true to say that she had opportunities afforded to her that most wouldnt through the family she married into and that this allowed her to have the career she had. If you think thats begrudging then perhaps you just have a lack of understanding as to what begrudging means.

Do you think if she had publicly denounced her father in law for his disgusting crimes that the Allen family would have continued to back her and further her career? As if. Her career depended on her compliance with the family supporting a man who has been convicted on child pornography charges.

Now it looks like her son is going to do his best to destroy the Allen brand. If anything I feel sorry for the kid.

Begrudging lol.

Are you related to them or something that youre so anxious for people to say nice things about them?

I think she did a great job on her career, but it is also true to say that she had opportunities afforded to her that most wouldnt through the family she married into and that this allowed her to have the career she had. If you think thats begrudging then perhaps you just have a lack of understanding as to what begrudging means.

Do you think if she had publicly denounced her father in law for his disgusting crimes that the Allen family would have continued to back her and further her career? As if. Her career depended on her compliance with the family supporting a man who has been convicted on child pornography charges.

Now it looks like her son is going to do his best to destroy the Allen brand. If anything I feel sorry for the kid.

Begrudging lol.

Whatever about her family being a help when she started off the bit in bold is balls. Her career does not now depend on her family.

Begrudging lol.

Such a lot of crap.

Her career depended on her being good at her job. Which she is.

I am not related to her. I just cant stand bullies getting the boot in when someone is going through a tough time.

As a parent of a lad of similar age to her son, I can only imagine how she is suffering at this very minute.

Do you squint out your windows at your neighbours by any chance?

So should everyone who is related to criminal publicly denounce their relative to be allowed to continue to work? How far should we go, just children and their families or should we extend it to all relatives to make sure the public flogging will be thorough enough?

Whatever about her family being a help when she started off the bit in bold is balls. Her career does not now depend on her family.

No - not now it doesnt. But Tim Allen was convicted in 2003 - when her career was just starting out.

Has it occurred to you that perhaps they moved the media focus AWAY from Darina and ONTO Rachel for a reason?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Cannabis needs to be decriminalised sooner rather than later. If it was put to a vote I feel there is a very good chance that it would pass.

Garda resources should only be focused on heroin and coke and other Class A drugs. It is a massive waste of time and money going after weed.

As a drug it is far more benign than alcohol, fags and anti depressants and other prescription drugs.

Last time I checked Colorado (with a similar population to Ireland) was bringing in an extra billion dollars in tax revenue since the legalised it. That's not counting the money saved from court and Police time as well. There has also been a decrease in drink driving over there.

There is no need to lock people in cages because they smoke weed. I see someone who sells weed the same as a barman or a pharmacist. Heroin and coke are the problem drugs that have massive social consequences, weed is not in the same league.

No - not now it doesnt. But Tim Allen was convicted in 2003 - when her career was just starting out.

Has it occurred to you that perhaps they moved the media focus AWAY from Darina and ONTO Rachel for a reason?

You are getting worse. Stop before you start suggesting aliens or the Illuminati.

meeeeh wrote: »
    So should everyone who is related to criminal publicly denounce their relative to be allowed to continue to work? How far should we go, just children and their families or should we extend it to all relatives to make sure the public flogging will be thorough enough?

Where exactly did I say she shouldnt be allowed to work?

In fact, I stated that she did a good job with her career. Had she denounced Tim she would have lost that career.

Her career is predicated on the family she married into and on supporting them, including the support of a man convicted of purchasing almost 1000 child porn images - do you disagree with that statement?

I just cant stand bullies...
    Do you squint out your windows at your neighbours by any chance?

I suppose the irony is lost on you?

You cant stand bullies you you like to launch personal attacks on someone who makes factually correct statements.

LOL - you couldnt make it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,659 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Heroin and coke are the problem drugs that have massive social consequences, weed is not in the same league.

alcohol probably on a same level with cocaine and heroin when abused, when it comes to social consequences, if not worse.

Her career is predicated on the family she married into and on supporting them, including the support of a man convicted of purchasing almost 1000 child porn images - do you disagree with that statement?

I don't know how supportive she was because I don't know her or the family enough but since you have inside knowledge, can you tell us in what way was she supportive?

The whole family openly publicly supported him. He remained a member of the business. They wheeled Rachel out as the public face of the Allens while Darina stayed in hiding.

Im sorry if you dont remember any of this - feel free to google.

As you simply asked a question rather than answering one I take it you do not disagree with my statement.

The whole family openly publicly supported him. He remained a member of the business. They wheeled Rachel out as the public face of the Allens while Darina stayed in hiding.

Sorry I can find any statements of her support, maybe I didn't Google well enough. Could you supply them?

As you simply asked a question rather than answering one I take it you do not disagree with my statement.

Yes I do, I don't agree with punishing the family for the sins of one person. I have no idea how much support or how little was offered privately but Ballymaloe is a business and I don't know why business which didn't benefit from crime should be destroyed. You evaluate all the work of number of people, of previous and future generations by the actions of one person, I think everyone should be judged by what they do. And I also don't believe people should be forced to publicly state anything just to satisfie mobs need for appropriate closure.

Yes I do.

So you disagree that Rachels career is predicated on the family she married into and on supporting them, including the support of a man convicted of purchasing almost 1000 child porn images.

What is her career predicated on then?

I said nothing about punishing anyone but its perfectly obvious that Rachel had to show support for the family or she would have had no career. They quite deliberately began to use her when Darinas name was tainted due to the conviction. Really - this is basic stuff.

btw - you can do your own googling, Im not your research assistant.

So you disagree that Rachels career is predicated on the family she married into and on supporting them, including the support of a man convicted of purchasing almost 1000 child porn images.

What is her career predicated on then?

btw - you can do your own googling, Im not your research assistant.

As I thought there is nothing to find.

Her career is predicted on being good enough to survive quite a big scandal involving her father in law.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Her career is predicted on being good enough to survive quite a big scandal involving her father in law.

That, and she's a nice lady - she can "work" a room, people take to her and like her. That husband of hers is a bit of a fuck-arse, though. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,330 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Cannabis needs to be decriminalised sooner rather than later. If it was put to a vote I feel there is a very good chance that it would pass.

Garda resources should only be focused on heroin and coke and other Class A drugs. It is a massive waste of time and money going after weed.

As a drug it is far more benign than alcohol, fags and anti depressants and other prescription drugs.

Last time I checked Colorado (with a similar population to Ireland) was bringing in an extra billion dollars in tax revenue since the legalised it. That's not counting the money saved from court and Police time as well. There has also been a decrease in drink driving over there.

There is no need to lock people in cages because they smoke weed. I see someone who sells weed the same as a barman or a pharmacist. Heroin and coke are the problem drugs that have massive social consequences, weed is not in the same league.

We've been hearing about 'marijuana' legalisation for decades. (Apparently Stefanie Preissner's grandmother was hearing about it during her training.) The UK decrimalised it, then recriminalised it due to other studies. (If you're saying Cannabis oil-well, there's no high from that, even if there may be medicinal qualities).

I don't know where you got those numbers-the report I read said they made 247 million dollars on taxes, revenues and fees. So the 'billion' number doesn't seem to exist. :confused:

I don't understand the comparisons between cigarette and alcohol and prescription medications, especially anti-depressants? Nobody takes those in order to get a 'high'.
    The reports of a 'decrease' in drink driving-that's completely false. There's been an increase year on year.
    https://www.sawayalaw.com/2018/02/colorado-drunk-driving-statistics/

The last paragraph...uh, except a barman or pharmacist wont pull a brick of weed out of their rectum and say 'here, smoke this'.

Darina wasn't kept in hiding- RTE screwed up, and showed a repeat of her cooking show weeks after Tim's sentencing.

Some idiot in RTE sheepishly pulled the 'well, she didn't do anything wrong'... while members of the public demanded their license fee back.

You have stated that you didnt google well enough and you want me to do the work for you. Fair enough but that doesnt mean there is nothing to find. Just that you cant be bothered finding it.

You dont even need to google - is it not obvious by the fact that she is famous for the Allen name and brand that thats what her career is based on? She didnt go off and get famous off her own bat, under her single name. You wont find any public denouncement of Tim (by any of the Allens) (not that youd be bothered looking of course because you want other people to do the work for you).

LOL - she was only wheeled out so that the Allen family would survive the scandal.

Short memories around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

maxresdefault.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

She’s a c*unt according to you.
    Of course you would never have the guts to say that to her face, you weasel. She would slap you down.
    Tosser.
    Such a lot of crap.

Her career depended on her being good at her job. Which she is.

I am not related to her.

Jaysus, I'm starting to think you ARE Rachel Allen :D

If you aren't, she should probably consider some sort of restraining order, you seem a tad hysterical and obsessed. Never a good combination!

Jaysus, I'm starting to think you ARE Rachel Allen :D

If you aren't, she should probably consider some sort of restraining order, you seem a tad hysterical and obsessed. Never a good combination!

You're the one lusting after the "c*unt".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

I am not related to her. I just cant stand bullies

You do realise that you have not given your opinion on the topic but have just layed into other posters?

You are accusing people of being "begrudgers" and even abused a guy by calling him a "tosser".

Nobody gets this passionate unless they know the person being referenced....or they are just here for an argument.

The only "bully" I see here...is you.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

eviltwin wrote: »
    I feel sorry for her, it's a private matter and having people know about it and gloat must be humiliating. I know there is a lot of negativity towards the Allen's after previous behaviour and a soft sentence but that's not anything to do with Rachel.

ahh bullcrap.
    Some people are happy to play at happy families
    RasTa wrote: »
    Also whatever Gardai leaked this to the press should be sacked.

Why, he is 18 not a minor.
    Augeo wrote: »
    .................. a course where?
    ...................preganant by ?
    ...................married to ?

She's Darina mark 2 .......Darina had already done the RTE gig, the path was carved out.

I always wondered how come it was always the women out front in that family.
    First was Myrtle, then Darina daughter in law, and then Rachel daughter in law.
    After seeing what the lads in the Allen family get up to, they are a freakin liability.

Anyone that reckons she would have as successful thus far without the well known Allen brand name behind her is really deluded.

BTW as far as I know Myrtle was the first Irish woman to be awarded a Michelin star.

I am not allowed discuss …