Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rachel Allen’s son arrested for €30,000 drugs seizure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

McCrack wrote: »
    S15a 30k, no previous, guilty plea, 18, weed, remorse, good family, bright future etc etc

Suspended sentence

Nothing to see here at all really
    1.5kg is probably too large for it all to be suspended. He'll do 6 months to a year in prison with the remainder of the three to five year sentence suspended. The importation and trafficking of narcotics is a serious offence.

Guilty plea, good home, first offence (presumably), bright future etc will all result in heavy mitigation. That said, the publicity around this could be used to put down a marker to deter other small-scale importers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Are we allowed to call him a "scumbag" or is that reserved for the lower class drug dealer..??

..btw...Her new book "My son the drug dealer" is out next month...she'll be plugging it on the late late...:).

If he was an 18 year old from Finglas ordering those drugs people would call him a scumbag. But be careful if you call him a spoilt rich kid, you will be called a begrudger.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

Chewbacca wrote: »
    You do realise that you have not given your opinion on the topic but have just layed into other posters?

You are accusing people of being "begrudgers" and even abused a guy by calling him a "tosser".

Nobody gets this passionate unless they know the person being referenced....or they are just here for an argument.

The only "bully" I see here...is you.

Neither. Calling her a c*unt and disparaging her when she has done nothing wrong is disgusting - particularly when she has such a tough time ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,601 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I don't think people really know how'd they react if a family member got involved in criminality.
    I know a woman who'd have being painful/sort of stuck up and would have had a zero drugs policy. All drug dealers are dangerous/etc.
    She worked somewhere with a person who often appeared on TV about the dangers of drugs/etc. Now she wasn't really connected with the person but she made it out like they were best buds.
    Her son got caught with well over €200,000 worth of cocaine.
    Her attitude changed and she backed him all they way. She she'd have done anything to get him off.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Neither. Calling her a c*unt and disparaging her when she has done nothing wrong is disgusting - particularly when she has such a tough time ahead.

So you are just here to defend Rachel Allen and give out to other posters then?

You have no opinion on her son's alleged illegal activities?

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭TOMs WIFE

seamus wrote: »
    Janey mack, WTF is wrong with that family? Grandad done for child porn, grandson arrested dealing drugs.

And those O'Briens radio ads. Just an assault on the ears.

You're forgetting about the food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

I'm blaming that dirty fecker Tim for roping the poor kid into buying drugs. And Darina probably in cahoots.

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Irish Kings

Arghus wrote: »
    Good to see Boards being a big bunch of judgemental bastards again.

Hmm i think you've just tried to judge users of boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

KevinCavan wrote: »
    If he was an 18 year old from Finglas ordering those drugs people would call him a scumbag. But be careful if you call him a spoilt rich kid, you will be called a begrudger.

There’s class warfare on both sides here. Bebob.

It’s ok to love the sinner while hating the sin.

This is not some kid looking for a few joints, this was a definite attempt at trafficking and starting up a criminal drug supply business.

I feel very very sorry for Rachael though, she is genuinely nice and real lady. Such a pity she got mixed up with the Allens.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

This is not some kid looking for a few joints, this was a definite attempt at trafficking and starting up a criminal drug supply business.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/jordanwaldrep/2018/06/27/marijuana-is-now-legal-in-canada-why-the-u-s-will-not-be-far-behind/

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I always thought the grandad took the fall for the son on the child abuse stuff?

Or is that just Chinese whisper bull$hit?

Bull****. Tim Allen used his credit card to buy images of child abuse. He tried to blame a staff member then admitted everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,330 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I don't think people really know how'd they react if a family member got involved in criminality.
    I know a woman who'd have being painful/sort of stuck up and would have had a zero drugs policy. All drug dealers are dangerous/etc.
    She worked somewhere with a person who often appeared on TV about the dangers of drugs/etc. Now she wasn't really connected with the person but she made it out like they were best buds.
    Her son got caught with well over €200,000 worth of cocaine.
    Her attitude changed and she backed him all they way. She she'd have done anything to get him off.

I've extended family who had issues with drugs-hoping for the best turnout for the person, but it's absolutely heartbreaking tbh. The extended family often have to do classes or courses on how to help their brother/ sister/ son/ daughter etc not relapse. And the person who's addicted often has to do about 2 to 3 years of counselling.

A friend of mine is completely tee-total. Doesn't drink, doesn't smoke. His brother on the other hand has had some serious dealings with drugs. Was even a mule, used to smuggle drugs internally.
    His wakeup call was waking up in a bedsit in Scotland, where the buddy he used to shoot up heroin with was lying across the way, dead.

He came home, went to the guards (a few outstanding warrants) and did his time in jail.
    Addiciton can be horrible. But sadly, you get tarred for life with that stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

She hitched her wagon to a very successful family operation with a dark family conviction.

She has pushed the brand well and her TV show like her appearance is not unpleasant.

They seem like the perfect family, all smiles and good genes.

She does have a weird fake accent.

KevinCavan wrote: »
    If he was an 18 year old from Finglas ordering those drugs people would call him a scumbag.

Actually there would not be a bad word or thread about him on here.
    Inverted snobbery is just as bad as snobbery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Why the attack on Rachel Allen is beyond me. I think she's very unfortunate to be related to that sex offender and now her son has gone and done some really dumb shít. What crime has she committed exactly? People are baying for blood and she is an easy target. It's pretty pathetic really.
    chicorytip wrote: »
    My point is Cannabis is an illegal drug in this country and for very good reasons.

Could you list those "good reason"? Cannabis is illegal in Ireland for reasons probably not on your list ;)
    washman3 wrote: »
    And I know loads that have been destroyed by drugs, and guess what, it all started off with 'a little bit of harmless cannabis' taking.
    Surprise, surprise.

Well that's complete and utter hyperbole. A nonsensical, manufactured comment with zero factual evidence to back it up.
    washman3 wrote: »
    Has she ever come out publicly and condemned what Tim Allen did.?

Did you?

Should she have to publicly condemn him? What would that do exactly? Apart from appeasing the whims of some mere peasants.
    Having a brother od and died here in Cork,a dealer is a dealer,hope the yummy mummys boy gets a sentence ( but of course he won't)

Sorry for your loss. However, unless your brother overdosed on marijuana, what has that got to do with this case?
    It's not her chromosomes I have an issue with, it's her tacit support for her filthbag father in law that disgusts me.

Do you have anything to back that up? Has Rachel Allen actually said that she supports her father in law? Or is it just something you contrived as it suits your agenda?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Commentary on a couple of other sites saying the young lad was known to be dealing in the Shanagarry area for the last couple of years, this was not his first punt and more likely it was him getting even deeper into the drug trade.

Rachels restaurant in Cork city centre is also due to be re-launched in four weeks time after a 1 million quid renovation. It was only in business about a year so pretty strange that they would close it down in peak summer to do a renovation of a restaurant not that long open. The 25 staff were up in arms about just being told at short notice that they had no work for two months and sent her a legal letter seeking answers. On top of that the main investor has pulled out. 2018 has not been kind to Rachel and now she has the son trafficking drugs on top of everything else.

She hitched her wagon to a very successful family operation with a dark family conviction.

Get Real wrote: »
    The fact is, if this was someone from a less priveleged background it wouldn't be creating as much controversy. But it is, because the circumstances are different. This young man had no need to be greedy. Has his own a5, a succssful instagram account, access to money which could have been used to beter himself.

And fair play to him for all that, and his comfortable position. But with that comes extra responsibility.

So, rather than allow the law to punish him merely for being a drug dealer, it appears from this thread that he should be additionally punished because of the crimes of a close relative and because he is a spoilt little rich kid who was just greedy and had no need to deal drugs (it would seem from this logic that drug dealers from poor backgrounds have a "need to be greedy" - as if most people from poor areas had to resort to drug dealing to escape hardship!)

Not for the first time, the (so-called "reverse") snobbery here is fúcking awful. People from wealthy families can, and often are, messed up. By far, the most messed up and lonely child in my childhood was a friend who was removed from primary school in high infants and sent to a boarding school in Kells, Co Meath at 6 years of age. By the time he committed a crime at 18, he had just as much reason for his messed-up status as a kid from a poor background. To give somebody a special punishment for being from a well-off background is ignorant and unjust in every respect. Also, the idea of an 18-year-old rich kid having to be more responsible because of his birth than an 18-year-old poor kid has to be because of his birth is just a further example of reverse snobbery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Re: Rachel Allen’s accent, isn’t it down to her mixed Irish-Icelandic parentage with a dash of South Dublin plumminess thrown in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

From what I remember the same lad took transition year out of school and she was unsure If he was going back or not.
    She said he did a tractor courses/etc and once he was working at something she was happy. He also said he had some learning disability.(It was years ago and can't fully remember)

That sounds like a load of bollocks and a young lad with too much money and not enough hard work to do during the summer.

Actually there would not be a bad word or thread about him on here.
    Inverted snobbery is just as bad as snobbery.

You’re not from around these parts, are ya?

So, rather than allow the law to punish him merely for being a drug dealer, it appears from this thread that he should be additionally punished because of the crimes of a close relative and because he is a spoilt little rich kid who was just greedy and had no need to deal drugs (it would seem from this logic that drug dealers from poor backgrounds have a "need to be greedy" - as if most people from poor areas had to resort to drug dealing to escape hardship!)

Not for the first time, the (so-called "reverse") snobbery here is fúcking awful. People from wealthy families can, and often are, messed up. By far, the most messed up and lonely child in my childhood was a friend who was removed from primary school in high infants and sent to a boarding school in Kells, Co Meath at 6 years of age. By the time he committed a crime at 18, he had just as much reason for his messed-up status as a kid from a poor background. To give somebody a special punishment for being from a well-off background is ignorant and unjust in every respect. Also, the idea of an 18-year-old rich kid having to be more responsible because of his birth than an 18-year-old poor kid has to be because of his birth is just a further example of reverse snobbery.

Courts often take bad backgrounds into account for leniency sake. They also take good backgrounds into account (respectable family).

It’s us in the middle I am worried about.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭margaretdublin

The brand could have been destroyed back then but it survived through introducing new blood and and that was Rachel. Darina paid the price for Tim Allen's crime, she took a backseat. Financially the family didn't lose out but I'm sure Darina begrudged taking that back seat.

But what was Rachel supposed to do at that time? refuse to take on the new challenge? If anything we should be blaming the judge who heard the case.

Also, did Cully Allen (Cully & Scully)denounce Tim Allen? That's just business for you and this latest crime won't destroy the brand either.

....... wrote: »
    Are you related to them or something that youre so anxious for people to say nice things about them?

I think she did a great job on her career, but it is also true to say that she had opportunities afforded to her that most wouldnt through the family she married into and that this allowed her to have the career she had. If you think thats begrudging then perhaps you just have a lack of understanding as to what begrudging means.

Do you think if she had publicly denounced her father in law for his disgusting crimes that the Allen family would have continued to back her and further her career? As if. Her career depended on her compliance with the family supporting a man who has been convicted on child pornography charges.

Now it looks like her son is going to do his best to destroy the Allen brand. If anything I feel sorry for the kid.

Begrudging lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

Street value I suppose.

"I don't know where your buying your drugs but it certainly on my street" quote from the guard movie with Brendan Gleeson :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Courts often take bad backgrounds into account for leniency sake. They also take good backgrounds into account (respectable family).

Sure, we all know someone from a respectable family should be handled leniently, or in effect, let off with a fine/donation that is well within the family's means. But some judges have been going a bit rogue on this in recent years, and meting out punishments that we would have previously only seen for people from less respectable families. A mish mash of areas with mixed respectable/not respectable families has added to the difficulty. In the Allen case, though, who are clearly of means and off the right sort, a little community service, or appropriate nominal fine will be arrived at.

That sounds like a load of bollocks and a young lad with too much money and not enough hard work to do during the summer.

Well being from a farming background I'd know people who've done similar. They were never troublesome at school but it just wasn't for them and they left once they got the chance. They then tipped around at home and did other bits and pieces.

Like criminal level drug importing and dealing at 18 ?

No, generally driving tractors for contractors!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Don’t they run a cookery school as well

And charge very high prices.

You’d wonder are the people on the premises Garda vetted