Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rachel Allen’s son arrested for €30,000 drugs seizure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

southstar wrote: »
    No sounds like the sheeplike virtue signalling that a convicted granny mugger might spout out to impress the other degenerates in his company ...Grow up

Christ - todays internet loser for using the above term.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

Joshua Allen is a G from the mean streets of Ballyma-glue whos mom spent a lot of time around white powered substances and his grandad is a convicted felon

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

nullzero wrote: »
    I'm confused where far play comes into it.

Just that she is facing the public rather than go into hiding which is the easier thing to do. She is a mother so she will naturally be blaming herself for what the son did and asking herself what she did wrong in bringing him up, etc. She will be paranoid that people are thinking the same thing (and this is Ireland so some people will be thinking and saying it).

At the end of the day Rachel hasnt done anything wrong here so its unfair to label her guilty by association like some people will. Im not a fan of the Allens because of the previous but I give her credit for showing up yesterday when she is clearly at an extremely low ebb and wishes the ground would just swallow her up. That takes courage imo.

nullzero wrote: »
    He was quaking when his computer was seized.

And before unfortunately

Muahahaha wrote: »
    .........and asking herself what she did wrong in bringing him up, etc. .............

she has plenty food for thought anyway.......All the time taken to run the business, write the book, do the TV bits & bobs, the O' Brien's stuff etc etc etc coupled with letting the little fncker have too much disposable income and that's not mentioning wondering did Tim ever have a leer or worse in his direction.

Tough gig.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I think they mean she didn't sit at home in the dark and got up and got on with things.

I know what it meant, I don't see why anyone should say fair play to her for it

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 52,014 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Wonder is the bauld Tim a quaker

I bet he was quaking when the house was raided.

Ha ha beaten to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Just saw there that Tim paid €40,000 to charity and did community service. Will his grandson get similar, a seemingly severe financial penalty, followed by community service? Presume the Allens would know plenty of people in high society, no pun intended!:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 30,602 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

KevinCavan wrote: »
    Just saw there that Tim paid €40,000 to charity and did community service. Will his grandson get similar, a seemingly severe financial penalty, followed by community service? Presume the Allens would know plenty of people in high society, no pun intended!:-)

Well going on Googling people caught even larger amounts of cannabis he should get a suspended sentence.

wow i never knew that, presumably if you marry in you have to become a Quaker? thats even more surprising that they allowed the son have a fancy car and the other son drives cars in england

were they always Quakers? surely auld myrtle allen wasnt a quaker?

Myrtle was an ordinary common or garden Protestant, married Ivan, a Quaker and became assimilated into the Quaker community. A bit like a devout Roman Catholic becoming part of a Christian Orthodox or Coptic community, which is approproved by Vatican. It’s fully open for a Church of Ireland member to go into the Quakers who are regarded as holding true Protestant principals, learning and seeking guidance of conscience in scripture and reflecting on applying it in the tasks of daily living, but in case of Quakers they don’t depend on a vicar/priest to conduct services or prayer meetings. It’s up to the folk attending the meetings to do the prayerful reflections, and can be quite spontaneous. BTW I’m RC. But I do know people among the “Society of Friends”.

lazygal wrote: »
    meeeeh wrote: »
    I didn't know you have inside knowledge of their family life. So tell us how did the grandfathers conviction influence son to buy weed.

Well he got a message that if you commit crimes the family will rally around you outside court and then go on national TV to do a soft interview to make sure the cash keeps rolling in.

What sort of a s*it family wouldn't stand behind a member of its family accused of something? Are you saying you wouldnt support a member of your own family accused of something? Some family member you are if you wouldn't.

Families stand up for each other. Also it's laughable how you think you are some authority on the case the way you are dismissing any posters who puts forward the well backed case that Tim took the hit for someone else. Yet you haven't a clue and have some vested interested obviously, there are far far better sources than you supporting the Tim took the blame story.

The amount of idiotic nonsense from some posters expecting people to boycott Ballymaloe, it's beyond stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,330 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

KevinCavan wrote: »

Forty Grand was nothing in comparison to what Ballymaloe was rolling in at the time.

Even $140 000, as others felt was warranted, was paltry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

What sort of a s*it family wouldn't stand behind a member of its family accused of something? Are you saying you wouldnt support a member of your own family accused of something? Some family member you are if you wouldn't.

Families stand up for each other. Also it's laughable how you think you are some authority on the case the way you are dismissing any posters who puts forward the well backed case that Tim took the hit for someone else. Yet you haven't a clue and have some vested interested obviously, there are far far better sources than you supporting the Tim took the blame story.

The amount of idiotic nonsense from some posters expecting people to boycott Ballymaloe, it's beyond stupid.

So you believe the theory that Tim took the hit for someone? Who could that someone be? Family?

If your father was charged with the same offences as Tim Allen, would you take the hit for him? Since he is family?

So you believe the theory that Tim took the hit for someone? Who could that someone be? Family?

If your father was charged with the same offences as Tim Allen, would you take the hit for him? Since he is family?

I can see why some parents would take the hit for things there kids do even when it's serious.
    It can vary from so many things from known they won't cope in prison, to financial reasons, you don't want there lives ruined, to blaming themselves, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,330 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I can see why some parents would take the hit for things there kids do even when it's serious.
    It can vary from so many things from known they won't cope in prison, to financial reasons, you don't want there lives ruined, to blaming themselves, etc.

Insurance fraud, maybe stealing money, or being caught with stolen goods you 'might' take the hit for a family member.
    Being caught with child pornography, as well as 'allowing' someone to purchase that pornography with your credit card...:confused:

Nope, I don't know anyone who'd take that hit for someone. I'd rather be labelled a murderer than a paedophile (or a rapist, not relevant to Tim, just another thing I would rather die than have that label on me).
    It's why I don't buy the 'story' people are parading claiming he was covering for a family member.

Especially if it meant he was possibly going to jail. Plus Quakers believe in the Testimony of Integrity, like telling the honest to God truth-not a 'my truth' or 'our truth', but instead 'the truth'. Couple that with lying to a judge, and he'd be going to Quaker hell, in their eyes.

Insurance fraud, maybe stealing money, or being caught with stolen goods you 'might' take the hit for a family member.
    Being caught with child pornography, as well as 'allowing' someone to purchase that pornography with your credit card...:confused:

Nope, I don't know anyone who'd take that hit for someone. I'd rather be labelled a murderer than a paedophile (or a rapist, not relevant to Tim, just another thing I would rather die than have that label on me).
    It's why I don't buy the 'story' people are parading claiming he was covering for a family member.

Especially if it meant he was possibly going to jail. Plus Quakers believe in the Testimony of Integrity, like telling the honest to God truth-not a 'my truth' or 'our truth', but instead 'the truth'. Couple that with lying to a judge, and he'd be going to Quaker hell, in their eyes.

The only reason why I can think of why a parent might take a hit for a sexual offence would be they'd blame themselves for not getting help with an issue when the child was growing up or they didn't want to ruin there future.
    I do know somebody who raped a women and there parents paid the victim a larger amount of money not to take the case any further, they knew there son was guilty and wanted to give him a chance.
    Going to jail would be another matter to be honest but I could imagine some would.
    I don't know how serious they take there Quaker beliefs but I know catholic who'd consider themselves very Catholic and they aren't going by the book.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

If anyone was wondering if Tim Allen is still involved in Ballymaloe or not then wonder no more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

If you were related to Larry Murphy would you stand behind him?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

If anyone was wondering if Tim Allen is still involved in Ballymaloe or not then wonder no more.

Jaysis, that creepy giggle of his!

Sick bastard.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭seanin4711

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

If you were related to Larry Murphy would you stand behind him?

If I were related to Larry Murphy, I would be changing my, Name, Address and changing my appearance, and not wanting to know or support him,

But if my child was caught purchasing a **** load of drugs, Yes, I would have to help him, he is only 18, still not mature enough to know the implications of what he is doing, he did not physically attack anyone, just bought an illegal substance,it could be my own son, and there are many people smoking cannabis, which is legal to have and use in other countries, no big deal really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

goat2 wrote:
    If I were related to Larry Murphy, I would be changing my, Name, Address and changing my appearance, and not wanting to know or support him,

Plastic surgery seems a bit ott

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

The funny thing is in a month’s time this will be old news and nobody will care... until the trial starts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

KevinCavan wrote:
    The funny thing is in a month’s time this will be old news and nobody will care... until the trial starts.

As with everything in life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I don’t see why family should always support family if a heinous crime is committed. If you would think a stranger a scumbag for a crime they were convicted of, can you explain why that same crime would suddenly be okay because they are family? Like seriously, what's the logic there?

Serious crimes - rape, murder, assault. You’d seriously be grand with supporting a family member that was proven to have committed a crime that serious? A crime that destroys or takes the life of the victim? All because of some woolly notion of always sticking up for family?

And accessing child pornography IS one of those serious crimes. Every single person who downloads the stuff adds to the demand for those images and videos and that means destroying the lives of the children featured in them. It is a serious fucking crime and I would in my hoop support a family member who committed it.

I don’t see why family should always support family if a heinous crime is committed. If you would think a stranger a scumbag for a crime they were convicted of, can you explain why that same crime would suddenly be okay because they are family? Like seriously, what's the logic there?

Serious crimes - rape, murder, assault. You’d seriously be grand with supporting a family member that was proven to have committed a crime that serious? A crime that destroys or takes the life of the victim? All because of some woolly notion of always sticking up for family?

And accessing child pornography IS one of those serious crimes. Every single person who downloads the stuff adds to the demand for those images and videos and that means destroying the lives of the children featured in them. It is a serious fucking crime and I would in my hoop support a family member who committed it.

I can't commit on the child porn thing but over the years I've seem people stand by their kids for rape, serious drug dealing, assault, etc.
    Some of these people would have previously said oh I'd have nothing to do with my child of they did something wrong but when the problem was on there door they supported there family member especially if it was there child.
    I don't think it's because they now suddenly think the crime is acceptable but at the end of the day they can't turn their back on them when reality hits.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,014 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You can detest the deed but the child is still yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

I agree.
    I think it's only non parents who could expect a parent to shun their child who has done something wrong.
    Unconditional love is unconditional. This loyalty might destroy your life but you can't walk away.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

What this young fella has done isn't worthy of being shunned by his family, its not like he's a p***o.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Irish Kings

Everyone is a critical expert until it happens in their family.

This lad must be a total nightmare idiot to steer in the right direction, focused on all the wrong stuff, no appreciation of the opportunities he could have had, and has now at least severely damaged them, if not thrown them away.

He definitely has no idea how lucky he is to have such a decent mother, who is an absolute lady.

Youth really is so wasted on the young.