Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rachel Allen’s son arrested for €30,000 drugs seizure

• Registered Users Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭Treppen

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Id say thats a good analogy. Lawerance Stroll is a multi billionaire who bought a Formula 1 team so his son Lance could race fast cars. His dad can afford to waste hundreds of millions of dollars on a hobby for himself and his son. The Allens arent billionaires but Lucca wants to drive Formula 1, their wealth is nowhere near the league of Formula 1 so instead they're tapping up people for a dodgy investment that will never pay off.

And shur let them at it. What business of it is ours?

People on this thread using gossip to try and tar a whole family. Very sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,055 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Treppen wrote: »

Fact , it’s a very strange thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

Do the Allen's boots taste of relish?

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    Do the Allen's boots taste of relish?

That’s a very dickish post isn’t it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Tomaldo wrote: »
    Wrong again, over 99% of people who use drugs do NOT die from them, google cocaine-related deaths in Ireland

I said they pee away their college opportunities. I didnt say anything about dying from them. Yeah they are in the same place in country towns doing the rounds instead of living productive lives.

college isn't for everybody

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

What good is college for a boy who dropped out at junior cert and is dyslexic? If there’s somewhere where drugs are rampant it’s college.

True, I have avoided drugs all my life and tried to lessen my contact with people who do drugs. What is wrong with that?
    What I do know about motorsport is it is a rich mans game and a lot more than the whole of Ballymaloe is worth.
    I come from a very very stable family background and with strong ethics what ever that has to do with anything?

Many of young Joshs choice are poor? Give me a call when he does something smart. Joshua is a big boy now he is an adult he is old enough to drive a car, buy a beer and take responsibilities for his own actions. For actions there are reactions and repercussions, young Josh is intent on learning this the hard way bumping his head off every post on his way down. Dont blame me for that.

What good is college for a boy who dropped out at junior cert and is dyslexic? If there’s somewhere where drugs are rampant it’s college.

If he persevered he would have gotten somewhere. Dyslexia isnt a death sentence, it can be assisted in education, Josh just gave up at the first hurdle. He didnt even try to continue education plus his parent enabled him. College is what you make it, if you are looking for drugs in the north pole you will find them. I wasnt looking when I was going so I never saw them.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

there's a lot of bitterness.....so what if he's trying to race f1,

we had a formula ford driver before who's parents sank every penny into his racing and he was heading to f1 he was that good. It's an amazing tragic story.
    RTE Radio 1 have a doc about him.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Shanahan

Its not bitterness, its just a heavy dose of realism from someone who has followed the sport for over 30 years. It has always been a rich mans sport but in the last decade it has gone on to higher and higher levels where it has now become a plaything of billionaires who can afford to drop hundreds of millions on it and not bat an eyelid when they lose.

The harsh reality is to get a drive in it today you either have to be a billionaires son or else one of the top 0.00001% racing car drivers in the world. If Lucca Allen fitted that latter description his talent would have been evident at a very young age, just like it was for Senna, Schumacher and Hamilton before him, all drivers who ran rings around their peers when racing go karts as children. Lucca is not in this category, if he was he would be in Formula 1 already as a test driver or part of a teams academy of young promising drivers.

And now its getting worse because even some of the most talented drivers in the world are not getting their chance in F1 because the likes of Lance Stroll with a billionaire father are coming in and securing it for their son. Even Lewis Hamilton has spoken about the lack of opportunity for talented young drivers who get usurped by wealthy drivers whose dad can sponsor the team for millions to guarantee his son a seat. As a fan of the sport I decry it too and if it continues on its current trajectory it will evolve further into a sport that is not about deciding who is the best racing car driver but deciding who is the best wealthy race car driver.

If the Allens put every penny they have into Luccas attempt to get into F1 I wouldnt have a problem with that, Id say fair play to them because they would they have backed him with their own money even when his dad knows all of the realities of F1 that Ive outlined above. But they're not doing that, they are touting him around as a 250k investment on his future wages in Formula 1. So they're not prepared to lose money on him but they're happy for other people to do so. That says a lot about them IMO.

college isn't for everybody

No it is not, but its not like he tried anything else (not just my opinion, the judges also). Never tried a trade or enlisted in a course or tried a legitimate business (importing cannabis is entrepreneurial but the law takes a dim view of it)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

golfball37 wrote: »
    I heard also that she is a lovely lady from someone who had dealings with her, no heirs and graces at all. In Ireland we dismiss someone with a posh accent as a snob, same way we do with an inner city accent as a skanger. Both wrong

This.

Simply put we are world champions of begrudgers. Look at the state of this thread for example?

If any Irish person does well for themselves, there will always be an army of people wanting to pull them down.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

markodaly wrote: »
    This.

Simply put we are world champions of begrudgers. Look at the state of this thread for example?

If any Irish person does well for themselves, there will always be an army of people wanting to pull them down.

This is the sad truth of the situation. Any opportunity to rain on someone's parade is taken every time by a certain cohort of people that enjoy dragging others down to their level of misery.

True, I have avoided drugs all my life and tried to lessen my contact with people who do drugs. What is wrong with that?
    What I do know about motorsport is it is a rich mans game and a lot more than the whole of Ballymaloe is worth.
    I come from a very very stable family background and with strong ethics what ever that has to do with anything?

Many of young Joshs choice are poor? Give me a call when he does something smart. Joshua is a big boy now he is an adult he is old enough to drive a car, buy a beer and take responsibilities for his own actions. For actions there are reactions and repercussions, young Josh is intent on learning this the hard way bumping his head off every post on his way down. Dont blame me for that.

That’s great ,but you’re not coming across well on this thread as a person , perhaps some magic mushrooms would fix that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

This.

Begrudgery goes on everywhere. I'm not sure where we got the idea that we have a monopoly on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Did you notice from the court pictures that it was Issac and Lucca that were at the court house and not mum with a batch of homemade shortbread? Either she didnt want his image sullying the brand or they had some blow out argument. This stuff writes itself, its better than Dallas.

Probably off filming somewhere.

Aren't you great.

This.

For once I agree with you mark

This.

ah the old tired and battered begrudgery trope, I could have predicted it would be along shortly. Its the last refuge of posters who cannot argue the point so they roll out the begrudgery trope and descend to attacking other posters instead.

I dont know about others but I certainly dont hold any jealousy or begrudgery to a family who harbours a paedophile and a drug dealer. Paedophiles disgust me so I wouldnt trade their position with my own for all tea in China. They've made their own bed now so they can go and lie in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

ah the old tired and battered begrudgery trope, I could have predicted it would be along shortly. Its the last refuge of posters who cannot argue the point so they roll out the begrudgery trope and descend to attacking other posters instead.

I dont know about others but I certainly dont hold any jealousy or begrudgery to a family who harbours a paedophile and a drug dealer. Paedophiles disgust me so I wouldnt trade their position with my own for all tea in China. They've made their own bed now so they can go and lie in it.

Well, as you know, I have stayed out of this thread recently, because its a cluster**** and a legal minefield. I would not be surprised if it's closed by a mod because of the potential libellous claims made on here.

As you well know, this is a thread in general about the Allen family, which is now approaching 2000 posts. The post count says it all tbh.

Aren't you great.

Thank you. I do try.

That’s great ,but you’re not coming across well on this thread as a person , perhaps some magic mushrooms would fix that ?

For me or you? I ain't taken shrooms before and I am not likely to afterwards.

Well, as you know, I have stayed out of this thread recently, because its a cluster**** and a legal minefield. I would not be surprised if it's closed by a mod because of the potential libellous claims made on here.

As you well know, this is a thread in general about the Allen family, which is now approaching 2000 posts. The post count says it all tbh.

I dont think this thread hasnt exposed anything that wasnt talked about in the media or in east Cork but Shure, g'wan bring on the mod. There is nothing going on that hasnt been ruled in court by a judge so its in the public domain. The only controversial thing is how fast Josh will be back in prison the next time. Nothing more pathetic than an addict.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Probably off filming somewhere.

Probably not wanting more media attention to this dumpster fire..... but you cant help wondering how its going to get worse.

And yet you came back in and straight out with the old begrudgery trope. If you are here to defend the Allens then make an argument in favour of them and others will make counter arguments and we'll have a civil discussion.

But throwing around tropes that other posters must be begrudgers is not attacking the post, it is attacking posters. They're a family in the public eye by their own choice and who have two convicted criminals in their ranks, people are going to hold strong opinions on that. You might not agree with those opinions but that doesnt give you the right to call other posters begrudgers without recourse.

If we follow that flawed logic then it must mean that people dont really mind the Kinahan cartel murdering 17 people in Dublin over the last few years, instead they are really just begrudging them their wealth of hundreds of millions from the cocaine trade. People dont mind Jimmy Saville sexually abusing hundreds of kids, rather they are begrudging that he was famous and on tv. See where we are going now?

That’s a very dickish post isn’t it?

Btw Rachel isn't going to send you a cheque in the post or give you a lifetimes supply of relish for kissing her arse.

And yet you came back in and straight out with the old begrudgery trope. If you are here to defend the Allens then make an argument in favour of them and others will make counter arguments and we'll have a civil discussion.

But throwing around tropes that other posters must be begrudgers is not attacking the post, it is attacking posters. They're a family in the public eye by their own choice and who have two convicted criminals in their ranks, people are going to hold strong opinions on that. You might not agree with those opinions but that doesnt give you the right to call other posters begrudgers without recourse.

If we follow that flawed logic then it must mean that people dont really mind the Kinahan cartel murdering 17 people in Dublin over the last few years, instead they are really just begrudging them their wealth of hundreds of millions from the cocaine trade. People dont mind Jimmy Saville sexually abusing hundreds of kids, rather they are begrudging that he was famous and on tv. See where we are going now?

No clearly we're all jealous of the perfect Allen family. Grandad was caught with pictures of child pornography, granny forgave him instantly and feels he was hard done by to this day, mammy spends too much time swanning in front of the camera to realize what's going on and one son has been caught with class a drugs and the other is trying to convince people he's Michael Schumacher.

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    No clearly we're all jealous of the perfect Allen family. Grandad was caught with pictures of child pornography, granny forgave him instantly and feels he was hard done by to this day, mammy spends too much time swanning in front of the camera to realize what's going on and one son has been caught with class a drugs and the other is trying to convince people he's Michael Schumacher.

Thats where the Shrooms are !!! They are ALL on drugs!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Never tried a trade or enlisted in a course or tried a legitimate business

As Rachel said herself: 'He’s done a tractor-and-loader course, and an outboard motor course. Once he’s putting in a day’s work and he’s happy and learning, we’re happy enough.’

Fair enough, it hasn't turned out as she hoped, but you can't say he hasn't tried anything legit.

Effects wrote: »
    As Rachel said herself: 'He’s done a tractor-and-loader course, and an outboard motor course. Once he’s putting in a day’s work and he’s happy and learning, we’re happy enough.’

Fair enough, it hasn't turned out as she hoped, but you can't say he hasn't tried anything legit.

Obviously he wasnt happy enough.