Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What is the worst thing you've been falsely accused of?

• 04-09-2018 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭

With this whole Roxanne Pallett thing from CBB dominating the entertainment social media today, it got me thinking: what is the worst thing you've been falsely accused of, and were you eventually exonerated?

Years ago in a previous career, I was falsely accused of covering up a mistake at work. I made the mistake but didn't realize I had done it until it was brought to my attention.

My manager accused me of knowing about it from the get go and just covering it up, which would be grounds for gross misconduct. There was absolutely no evidence of that and basically her argument was that I was too smart not to notice it. I'll never forget the utter confidence and arrogance she had that she was right and I was wrong, which was actually amusing to me because I knew it was completely misplaced narcissism on her part. I wasn't fired but it basically cost me my job because I left voluntarily soon after. Didn't want to work for her anymore after that. But it actually kick started a career in a much more fulfilling industry so ultimately it was a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Being sound and an incredibly great lover.

Lying feicers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

With this whole Roxanne Pallett thing from CBB dominating the entertainment social media today, it got me thinking: what is the worst thing you've been falsely accused of, and were you eventually exonerated?

Years ago in a previous career, I was falsely accused of covering up a mistake at work. I made the mistake but didn't realize I had done it until it was brought to my attention.

My manager accused me of knowing about it from the get go and just covering it up, which would be grounds for gross misconduct. There was absolutely no evidence of that and basically her argument was that I was too smart not to notice it. I'll never forget the utter confidence and arrogance she had that she was right and I was wrong, which was actually amusing to me because I knew it was completely misplaced narcissism on her part. I wasn't fired but it basically cost me my job because I left voluntarily soon after. Didn't want to work for her anymore after that. But it actually kick started a career in a much more fulfilling industry so ultimately it was a good thing.

Thinly veiled "I've a good job now " post ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,682 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Looking gorgeous at 3am outside the nightclub

Or was that me saying it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

fritzelly wrote: »
    Looking gorgeous at 3am outside the nightclub

Or was that me saying it..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Shared this before. Got hit from behind while driving through Dublin city centre, she was trying to overtake me, ran out of road and as she tucked in behind me, hit the back of my car. Went to court, she told a pack of lies about me cutting across her. Road layout showed that I was right, but the (female) judge believed her. I was held liable and lost a 7 years no claims bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭SScope

Shooting the deputy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Leaving the toilet seat up or is that down

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Murder.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Being straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

Posting facts in AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Bringin da family into disrepute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

Farting.
    It wasn't me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭The Phantom Jipper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

SScope wrote: »
    Shooting the deputy

But you did shoot the sheriff...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Lying, I may be a lot of things, a communist, a pig, an idiot, a liar, but I am *not* a porn star!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Without going into too much detail, I had to leave my job due to an 'incident' and in a complete career change, enlisted in the Navy.

Unfortunately, whilst partaking in a training exercise on a submarine, I accidentally fired my captain out of a torpedo tube and unintentionally steered the vessel into Russian waters. This sparked international outrage where I was accused by all and sundry of being a communist.

Thankfully, my father leaped to my defence in a live tv interview. I will never forget the words he said: :My son is not a communist. He may be a liar, a pig, an idiot, a communist, but he is *not* a porn star"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

As m 8 year old I was accused of being a glue sniffer by a doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭SScope

deise08 wrote:
    But you did shoot the sheriff...

That was Bob...... I swear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Dat ass tho

Surely you havent been accused of being a womans arse

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

In 1972, my crack commando unit was sent to prison by a military court for a crime we didn't commit.
    We promptly escaped from a maximum security stockade to the Los Angeles underground.
    Today, still wanted by the government, we survive as soldiers of fortune.
    If you have a problem, if no-one else can help, and if you can find us, maybe you can hire... The A-Team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Wrong thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Worse for me was been accused of robbing a car by the Guards! Was after been attacked unprovoked walking home at night and was seen running away and guards thought I was running away from the scene of the car (car was burning a bit down the road) , I was even identified by a another Garda as been the person they seen getting out of car and running!! Only for I had a witness that night things could’ve ended differently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

I was accused of being a copper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Being late for dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

Ordering a "Code Red"

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,657 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Was accused of dropping an empty crisp packet at Electric Picnic a few years ago, but I was not even there. Made up for it this year mind.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

Dat ass tho

Only of looking at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,958 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

major bill wrote: »
    Worse for me was been accused of robbing a car by the Guards! Was after been attacked unprovoked walking home at night and was seen running away and guards thought I was running away from the scene of the car (car was burning a bit down the road) , I was even identified by a another Garda as been the person they seen getting out of car and running!! Only for I had a witness that night things could’ve ended differently!

Sorry to hear that, super unfortunate! Hope long did it take to get sorted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

In 1972, my crack commando unit was sent to prison by a military court for a crime we didn't commit.
    We promptly escaped from a maximum security stockade to the Los Angeles underground.
    Today, still wanted by the government, we survive as soldiers of fortune.
    If you have a problem, if no-one else can help, and if you can find us, maybe you can hire... The A-Team!

I believe the real culprit was a one-armed man...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,660 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I was accused of being a copper

I was accused of being in Coppers. Much worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭BurnUp78

This is more funny than bad. I got accused of throwing snow balls at an Indian chef in a takeaway just because I was wearing the same colour jumper of the perpetrator. Garda jumped out and pinned me onto the bonnet of his car and the Indian guy even drove up to confirm it was me who did it. They eventually let me go thankfully, would have been less funny if I actually got arrested for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I've been accused of all sorts. Started off with an apple in a garden and then the downfall of man !!

I didn't do nuttin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I got my wages in an envelope on the Friday just before lunch, it was a retail job in a jewellery shop after I graduated and was looking for something else, but as yet hadn't found anything
    Went to meet my girlfriend at the time, took out £30 from the envelope and gave her the rest and asked her to put in the bank for me as she was passing it on the way home. Which she kindly did, filling out the form etc.

I went into work on the Saturday morning and had taken my jacket off about to start my shift when the Shop Manager and the deputy Manager approached me, and told me that an extra £10 had been put in my wages as an honesty test and as I hadn't reported it I was duly sacked.

It was a horrible job, working with horrible bitchy people and I didn't mind losing it but I was devastated at the way my reputation was sullied, basically accused of theft and I had no idea about how much was in my wage packet as Id never checked it. I appealed the decision but got nowhere, went to a solicitor for a half hour free advice, he wrote them a letter but they didn't bother to reply. Happened years ago but Im still angry when I think about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Oops!

BBDBB wrote: »
    I got my wages in an envelope on the Friday just before lunch, it was a retail job in a jewellery shop after I graduated and was looking for something else, but as yet hadn't found anything
    Went to meet my girlfriend at the time, took out £30 from the envelope and gave her the rest and asked her to put in the bank for me as she was passing it on the way home. Which she kindly did, filling out the form etc.

I went into work on the Saturday morning and had taken my jacket off about to start my shift when the Shop Manager and the deputy Manager approached me, and told me that an extra £10 had been put in my wages as an honesty test and as I hadn't reported it I was duly sacked.

It was a horrible job, working with horrible bitchy people and I didn't mind losing it but I was devastated at the way my reputation was sullied, basically accused of theft and I had no idea about how much was in my wage packet as Id never checked it. I appealed the decision but got nowhere, went to a solicitor for a half hour free advice, he wrote them a letter but they didn't bother to reply. Happened years ago but Im still angry when I think about it

They did you a favour... Who'd want to work for or put with C**ts like that with a capital C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

When I just left school I worked in a shop with owner and one other lad . I was on a youth training scheme at time and other lad who was older used to bully me a bit when boss had gone, making me do all dirty jobs while he just watched and laughed at me.

Anyway the owner pulls me in back of shop after I'd been there a few weeks and tells me money has been going missing out of till since I started and basically pointed finger at me. As a young innocent lad I told know one and totally stressed out about it.

Every couple of days the boss continued to pull me a side and say money is still going missing so I went to see my youth training officer and as soon as he saw me he said ..." ohhh I was wondering how long you'd be coming to see me , I heard about the money . " he told me to go back and talk it over with boss.

That night on way home I finally came out and told my older sister who is 5 years older than me and she went mad . She was my hero .

She marched me into youth training officer 1st thing next morning and told him he was a disgrace and so was shop owner and that she was pulling me out of there .

I got job somewhere else the next week and they were lovely .

It turned out other lad was stealing, he took off with days takings and never came back after I had left, the shop went out of business 6 months later ..

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Go Tobban

Was wrongfully accused of hitting a girl in a disco bar years ago

I was walking home by myself at 3ish in the morning when a garda car pulled up right in front of me. I was fairly locked but knew what was going on as I had actually seen the incident earlier in the night. Anyway, the male guard jumped out and just started laying into me without saying a word. The ban garda who was with him had to pull the fucker off me after she saw how messed up I was. She was horrified

As it turned out, there was another squad car at the club and they found the bloke who had actually done it. My mates said he did look a bit like me to be fair, handsome divil!

After days of trying to track the guard down(he broke my front tooth and gave me a serous shiner), I eventually found out what station he was working in and went in to confront him. I just wanted an apology and for him to pay for my dental bill. Bad idea! The ****er said that if I was to report him, he would drag me through the courts with him with and report me for being drunk and disorderly and abusive or some shite

Looking back now, I should have followed through with the court date but I was young and scared ****less that I'd get a criminal record. Smug scumbag though, hope he gets his commumpence

Someone once thought I was from Dublin :shudders:

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

A colleague of mine spent some time spreading a rumour that I was having a lesbian affair with a married colleague. Very damaging rumour to spread. We confronted her, she went on the attack and hasn’t spoken to either of us since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Never being able to finish my

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,324 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Releasing sheep into my secondary school on the last day....

I didn't, just to be clear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Opening the front door in my dressing gown!

Go Tobban wrote: »
    Was wrongfully accused of hitting a girl in a disco bar years ago

I was walking home by myself at 3ish in the morning when a garda car pulled up right in front of me. I was fairly locked but knew what was going on as I had actually seen the incident earlier in the night. Anyway, the male guard jumped out and just started laying into me without saying a word. The ban garda who was with him had to pull the fucker off me after she saw how messed up I was. She was horrified

As it turned out, there was another squad car at the club and they found the bloke who had actually done it. My mates said he did look a bit like me to be fair, handsome divil!

After days of trying to track the guard down(he broke my front tooth and gave me a serous shiner), I eventually found out what station he was working in and went in to confront him. I just wanted an apology and for him to pay for my dental bill. Bad idea! The ****er said that if I was to report him, he would drag me through the courts with him with and report me for being drunk and disorderly and abusive or some shite

Looking back now, I should have followed through with the court date but I was young and scared ****less that I'd get a criminal record. Smug scumbag though, hope he gets his commumpence

Common enough Go Tobban, In fact had a similar experience myself with a member of the Gardai. Unfortunetly for him i was a bit more thick skinned and headed than he thought... In fact his man in uniform bullying tactics only spurred me on more.... He had'nt a leg to stand on in front of the judge and got what he deserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I was stopped at a roundabout, giving way to traffic, when I was rear ended. I was on a motorbike and she was driving a car. She hit me with such force that my bike was stuck in her bonnet and my back wheel was bent from her bonnet. I was thrown up and off the bike. I got up after a minute and the driver didn't come near me. She was already on her phone so I shouted at her to ring the gardai. I sat on the side of the road and called my husband and tried to gather myself. 25 minutes later and still no sign of the gardai but the driver was still on her phone so I decided to ring them. Eventually the gardai arrived, 4 Garda cars, 8 gardai altogether, which I thought was very bizarre. I went through the whole story with 2 of the gardai and they seemed very surprised when I said I was rear ended, I can still remember their faces and them saying "she hit you from behind?", like it didn't make sense. They called an ambulance and I was told "you'll have to get that bike out of here", which I also found very bizarre, vehicles are towed from collisions and this is organised by the gardai. In a state of shock, my husband arranged for my bike to be brought to our house and I headed to the hospital. I was xrayed, nothing broken but horrendous back and hip pain and alternating numb arms. I was discharged that night and went home.
    So I started into my recovery. 2 days later I said to myself I must report it to the insurance company, just as a matter of procedure, assuming with the involvement of so many gardai that this would have been looked after. So I called the insurance company and was relieved that it had already been reported. The lady on the phone asked me to just go through what had happened, grand. Imagine my surprise when she said "oh, we received a different version of events", my heart nearly fell out of my body.
    So, it transpired that the fucking bitch who rear ended me had made up a story that I had undertook her on approach to the roundabout and hit her. Thankfully, I had pictures of my bike embedded in her bonnet, which saved me.
    Funnily enough, this bitch was married to a garda and, despite there being 8 gardai at the scene, not a single witness statement was taken nor was a single name or phone number taken from the 10+ other drivers who witnessed the accident so, if it wasn't for the 3 photos I took at the scene, before the gardai told me to move my bike, I could have been in a right pickle.
    5 weeks after the crash, I received a phone call to say that the bitch's father had called the gardai to admit she had lied. 5 weeks of actual hell for me. No action was ever taken against her for lying, although my claim for my bike damage etc was sorted by the insurance company.
    It was a really really awful experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭alan1963

Opening the front door in my dressing gown!

You have a front door in your dressing gown?

Surprise, surprise. I bet her first phone call wasn't to her insurance company either....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I've never been falsely accused of anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Pa8301

Selling Avon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,908 ✭✭✭daheff

BurnUp78 wrote: »
    This is more funny than bad. I got accused of throwing snow balls at an Indian chef in a takeaway just because I was wearing the same colour jumper of the perpetrator. Garda jumped out and pinned me onto the bonnet of his car and the Indian guy even drove up to confirm it was me who did it. They eventually let me go thankfully, would have been less funny if I actually got arrested for it.
    yeah well you white boys all look the same to them indians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Not the worst, but the most recent. Was leaving a concert where there were a number of buses queued up to take people away from the venue. It was absolute bedlam, and while at the front of the queue, I stepped aside to let some people past who were just looking to escape the crowd, and when I went back into place, the guy directing things starting shouting at me for skipping the queue. I tried to explain to him that I'd been there the whole time but he kept aggressively yelling at me to go to the back of the queue. While I'm normally very polite, there is a time and place where you simply have to call someone a fcuking c***, and this was it. Stinging from the injustice, I went over and skipped the next queue over to get onto another bus.