Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wales Vs Rep. Of Ireland, 06 Sep 2018, 7:45pm KO. UEFA Nations League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I think they are better off picking the best of the League of Ireland and stick with them for four years.

Will give the league more exposure, will get fellas who have pride, passion and give a sh*t.

John Toshack blooded a load of new welsh young lads back around 2006-2010.
    Ireland has to do the same.

Young Irish fellas are needed who want to play for the country and stick with them until they gel.

It can't get any worse.
    Give the league of Ireland lads a go.

Meh, rather stay as a third seed and have a shot than aim to become a sixth seed. It wouldn't be fair to them - the LOI is miles and miles off international football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

I think they are better off picking the best of the League of Ireland and stick with them for four years.

Will give the league more exposure, will get fellas who have pride, passion and give a sh*t.

John Toshack blooded a load of new welsh young lads back around 2006-2010.
    Ireland has to do the same.

Young Irish fellas are needed who want to play for the country and stick with them until they gel.

It can't get any worse.
    Give the league of Ireland lads a go.
    Honestly, what is the logic between giving League of Ireland lads a go? As a fan of a LOI club who knows the league is sh*t in terms of standard, I'd much prefer to enjoy it relative to itself, and not see players from our league get trounced by possibly double the score of tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

vicwatson wrote:
    He’s an English born player that has recently got cold feet about staying with the country he was with since a youth. That is all for the moment. He’ll be getting his first competitive cap for Ireland within the month. Watch and see.

I do hope your right but i have a bad feeling your not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Arter aside, thats nonsense. Who would you have dropped to accommodate these?

Cunningham for ward
    Manning for odowda
    Doherty for christie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Ryan Manning, Greg Cunningham, Harry arters , derrick williams, darragh lenihan, conor masterson not in the squad.

POOR.

They are all bang average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Ampadu is going to be a decent player,only 17 and tore us apart. Our loss is the Welsh gain

He seems to be a real prodigy made his pro-debut for Exeter at 15!
    Good luck to him - needs a decent barber though....

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    By all means move the deckchairs on the Titanic around. The reality is that we have the weakest playing pool since the Liam Tuohy, and our results will inevitably reflect that. Beating Denmark and qualifying for the World Cup would have been a herculean achievement on behalf of all involved.

I'm resigned to a long period of underachievement. The players simply aren't good enough.

Thats a fair enough argument but do you not think that they are good enough to be able to try and play a system that doesnt mainly rely on hoofing the ball up the pitch? That is of course if the manager could be arsed to even attempt such a thing. They are a scared looking team and regardless of ability, thats down to the management

As I said, change the manager and change the system if you like. It won't improve the results. When an Irish team can't make up the gap via physicality and will and the technical ability of the squad is as run down as it is there is no possibility of good results. Just read the clubs on our recent squad lists. We're in the ****.

Cunningham for ward
    Manning for odowda
    Doherty for christie.

Meh!

Has Cunningham even played for Cardiff this season yet? Manning was let go by a ****e QPR team and Doherty? ok ill agree with you on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Mr.H wrote: »
    Its very true. Its a shame he doesnt want to be in the team because I really think he could be a top player and someone we could build a proper Richard Dunne type defence around. We could even play him as a defensive mid and he could protect the back 4. Huge loss but to be fair you cant blame an English player wanting to play for England

I feel sorry for any midfielder in that side. You've no chance of getting on the ball and expressing yourself. The team plays far too much direct football. You couldn't blame anyone for thinking twice about declaring for an international career filled with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

As I said, change the manager and change the system if you like. It won't improve the results. When an Irish team can't make up the gap via physicality and will and the technical ability of the squad is as run down as it is there is no possibility of good results. Just read the clubs on our recent squad lists. We're in the ****.

We seem to be grasping at straws for the next wave of Irish footballers too. The majority of players we discuss as the future and build up are fast approaching their mid 20s and still not exactly featuring.

Maybe there are more players there than I'm overlooking but it's hard to be overly optimistic about the future of our squad.

CSF wrote: »
    Honestly, what is the logic between giving League of Ireland lads a go? As a fan of a LOI club who knows the league is sh*t in terms of standard, I'd much prefer to enjoy it relative to itself, and not see players from our league get trounced by possibly double the score of tonight.

That is possible but surely a few of them will shine and show a bit of promise?
    The League gets exposure and the players will only improve over-time.
    It will also encourage more lads to come back to Ireland from the UK, thereby increasing the standard of the league.
    Short-term pain for long-term gain.
    Give the best of the league of Ireland a chance at the very least.
    Dundalk and Rovers have shown it is possible at club level, throw more lads in.
    How else will lads improve?

Much better then picking journeymen from the lower leagues of England with no real connection to the jersey - Calum Robinson???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Berserker wrote:
    I feel sorry for any midfielder in that side. You've no chance of getting on the ball and expressing yourself. You play far too much direct football. You couldn't blame anyone for thinking twice about declaring for an international career filled with that.

I agree completely.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Giggsy hasnt enjoyed a pummeling like this since he was riding his sister in law

Meh!

Has Cunningham even played for Cardiff this season yet? Manning was let go by a ****e QPR team and Doherty? ok ill agree with you on that.

Snigger. Honestly. After watching that tonight you still think we should stick with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

John Delaney needs to go
    MON needs to go
    Keane needs to go

The management team are living in the past, falling out with players and picking ones with no form nor physically able anymore.

We dont have the deepest pool of players but any argument that they are getting the best out of what they have got at their disposal is dead.

We dont have young players coming through because thats the way MON operates. Rice would and should of been capped competitively long before now

Berserker wrote: »
    I feel sorry for any midfielder in that side. You've no chance of getting on the ball and expressing yourself. The team plays far too much direct football. You couldn't blame anyone for thinking twice about declaring for an international career filled with that.

They don't play direct football, that has purpose.
    They play directionless football with no composure and panic on the ball.

Snigger. Honestly. After watching that tonight you still think we should stick with that.

Easy to be wise in hindsight. Ward is very experienced player yet you wanted to throw Cunningham in there and Manning ffs?? Come on?Nothing to suggest they would have made any differnce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭chicorytip

O'Neill should select native born players only and not disinterested "Anglos" whose sole motivation is financial. Rice and Arter are prime examples of this type. There are a number of Irish born and bred players now featuring regularly for teams in championship. Egan, Lenihan, Browne, Burke, Maguire to name a few. Pick these on a consistent basis and avoid experimenting with all these new additions that seem to feature in every squad. This is how we will form the basis of a team that, at least, should never be embarrassed against mediocre opposition like we were tonight. We're stuck with O'Neill but there are no other alternative candidates of a higher calibre who would even consider taking the job, if offered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

chicorytip wrote: »
    O'Neill should select native born players only and not disinterested "Anglos" whose sole motivation is financial. Rice and Arter are prime examples of this type. There are a number of Irish born and bred players now featuring regularly for teams in championship. Egan, Lenihan, Browne, Burke, Maguire to name a few. Pick these on a consistent basis and avoid experimenting with all these new additions that seem to feature in every squad. This is how we will form the basis of a team that, at least, should never be embarrassed against mediocre opposition like we were tonight. We're stuck with O'Neill but there are no other alternative candidates of a higher calibre who would even consider taking the job, if offered it.

Jaysus, they really are out tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

O'Neill should select native born players only and not disinterested "Anglos" whose sole motivation is financial. Rice and Arter are prime examples of this type. This is how we will form the basis of a team that, at least, should never be embarrassed against mediocre opposition like we were tonight.

Idiotic nonsense

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Tell that to the likes of Kevin Kilbane and Jon Walters. Even Roy Keane wasn't born in Ireland.

Roy Keane? He was born in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

vicwatson wrote: »
    Ask me anything in welsh in 105 minutes :D

Wyt ti eisio prynu crys Cymru? 😀

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    Wyt ti eisio prynu crys Cymru? 😀

4-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

vicwatson wrote: »
    4-1

Do you want to buy a Welsh shirt? 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Idiotic nonsense

Why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Felt sorry for Walters still running about on his own up front at almost 35 when most attacking players look to retire at about 30 from international football. Shows how short on options we are.

O'Neill should select native born players only and not disinterested "Anglos" whose sole motivation is financial.

Agreed on this point you need people that really want to play for the country.
    That includes the likes of Kilbane.
    Not the Rice/Artur's of this world for whom it is a career move first not a life's ambition.
    Passion and commitment count for a lot no matter what the level.
    Imagine how pumped up LOI lads would be if they put on the Green jersey?
    As I said earlier it will have other knock on effects and improve the domestic league.
    Otherwise they are going around in circles and going nowhere.

How come Northern Ireland Iceland Russia Denmark and sweden can be hard to best and play football. I would argue their picks areno better than ours.

MON out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

How come Northern Ireland Iceland Russia Denmark and sweden can be hard to best and play football. I would argue their picks areno better than ours.

MON out.

Northern Ireland are ****e, not something we should aspire to, but have a progressive manager.

Sweden dont play good football at all, very similar to us but have a functioning professional league where players can grow up with proper coaching, live at home and eventually move away mature and ready if its what they wish, ditto Denmark.

Iceland, having their day in the sun, like our Italy 90 but might sustain it a bit longer due to investment in grass roots coaching and facilities, real investment.

And Russia?? Are you for real? Huge population, football culture and history, champions league clubs. Light years away from us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

O'Neill should select native born players only and not disinterested "Anglos"

MON and his style of play is the major problem for Ireland not where the players are born. 7 of the 14 players used by Wales to destroy us tonight were English born. It didn't affect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

You are so blinded by your own post history that you can't admit that Trapattoni and O'Neill have been disasters for Irish soccer.

We are an embarrassment.

You are so blinded by your own post history that you can't admit that Trapattoni and O'Neill have been disasters for Irish soccer.

We are an embarrassment.

The senior manager is not responsible for youth player development. The playing pool dried up. It has never been so weak. O’Neill maintained competitive results as it ran down, under him we have *not* been an “embarrassment” at all from a competitive perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Berserker wrote: »
    Would be really interested to see a poll on MON/RK to stay or go.

One of the clickbait sports sites (Balls, 42, etc) are sure to have one today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

We are an embarrassment.

The senior manager is not responsible for youth player development. The playing pool dried up. It has never been so weak. O’Neill maintained competitive results as it ran down, under him we have *not* been an “embarrassment” at all from a competitive perspective.

Few examples, he's failed to cap Rice competitively. Arter is gone, and we still have Walters playing up front on his own. A 35 year old, that has no form to speak of. We are not getting the best out of what we have, not by a long way.

There is no long term plan in terms of blooding players and systems, its all short term goals and 3 laps and a match type training when people get over here for camps.

Other international managers are sending players videos when not in camp of what they are expected to do when they come over and a million other little things they do other than go watch football matches.

Exactly.

Very good!

The tactics have been frustrating, we had a very poor run of results last year bar that against a Wales side missing Bale and losing Allen early, and that has changed to hammerings. Yes, the playing pool has dried up, so management should be more conscious than ever of rows with the players we have, yet it seems Keane has turned rogue again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

I don't get why people are blaming the manager, he can only work with what he is being given. If Pep himself took the job there would be nothing much he could do. Its the structure of football in Ireland that needs to change. The blame rests solely with John Delaney.

Oh and why was there an Ireland game not on the national broadcaster??? I am going to vote with my feet, I will not be following the Irish team for the foreseeable future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I don't get why people are blaming the manager, he can only work with what he is being given. If Pep himself took the job there would be nothing much he could do. Its the structure of football in Ireland that needs to change. The blame rests solely with John Delaney.

Oh and why was there an Ireland game not on the national broadcaster??? I am going to vote with my feet, I will not be following the Irish team for the foreseeable future.

The players aren't that bad for their clubs and are certainly better than a good handful of countries that make us look like amateurs.

Patww79 wrote: »
    The players aren't that bad for their clubs and are certainly better than a good handful of countries that make us look like amateurs.

That Welsh side consists by and large of Championship players, with a novice manager too, and they looked very comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

That Welsh side consists by and large of Championship players, with a novice manager too, and they looked very comfortable.

That’s down to Jonathan Ford rather than Giggsy, probably :rollseyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

Brian kerr produced are best players at youth level for the past 20 years but wouldn't get inside the door in abbotstown now.

Sums up the shambles of an association, but I suppose his accent isn"t dutch or Spanish enough for Delaney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

It's the managers job to get them highly organised and drilled and disciplined, that's what you'd get with Pep. He wouldn't try and play free flowing football but would recognise the limitations in the squad and set the team up to be hard to beat, heck Michael O'Neill done that with Northern Ireland and his experience came managing a team in Scottish league 1 and Shamrock Rovers. Being organised alone can get you to major finals, heck it won Greece a major tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Looking back, Randolph beaten on his front post at least twice

Really poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,600 ✭✭✭✭siblers

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Looking back, Randolph beaten on his front post at least twice

Really poor

First goal he could do nothing about, was a rocket. Was awful defending by Clark

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

tastyt wrote: »
    Brian kerr produced are best players at youth level for the past 20 years but wouldn't get inside the door in abbotstown now.

Sums up the shambles of an association, but I suppose his accent isn"t dutch or Spanish enough for Delaney

Brian Kerr happened to manage a fairly talented bunch of underage kids and did very well with them. Personally I don't think he really helped produce those kids at all. Back then there was no real plan or coaching structures in place, the coaching was fairly poor compared to now, the facilities to coach kids on was fairly non existent particularly in the winter. Most of those talented kids Kerr ended up with would have played 11 a side on full size pitches from the age of 8. So if you think about it how Kerr ended up with such a talented bunch of 16-18 year olds was actually despite the system and structures in place. The difference between now and 30 years ago which is when Kerrs teams would have been between 8-12 is that kids spent all day and all summer holidays out on the green or on the road playing football and practising their skills. If you think about that particular era of players was a golden era for us. Robbie Keane, shay given, Ian harte, Damian duff, John o shea and Richard Dunne. 6 very good PL players all within a couple of years in age and all born in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

I think people are blaming MON because the evidence suggests he's actually not working with what he's been given. Showing up at Abbottstown and telling the lads to hoof the yoke up the field at every opportunity isn't my idea of working with the tools you've been given. A mix of Premiership and Championship players, as average as they are, should be able to function as a coherent team who are able to actually pass the ball around a bit. Nobody's asking for, or expecting tiki-taka, just a few passes and a game-plan would be nice.

I would agree though that Delaney is poison, yet it seems like a closed shop at the FAI. None of the committee there would dare upset the apple-cart, and if the government were to ask what's going on in relation to the money he and his cronies are being paid, then Ireland would be kicked out of UEFA competition for government interference!

The only way for any change would be for the public to vote with their feet, and wallets, and stay away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

It's the managers job to get them highly organised and drilled and disciplined, that's what you'd get with Pep. He wouldn't try and play free flowing football but would recognise the limitations in the squad and set the team up to be hard to beat, heck Michael O'Neill done that with Northern Ireland and his experience came managing a team in Scottish league 1 and Shamrock Rovers. Being organised alone can get you to major finals, heck it won Greece a major tournament.

I suspect there was a bit of magic juice involved with Greece too.

That win has never sat well with me. Exact same year they held the Olympics and had a load of sportspeople make dramatic improvements, just like the football team, with many getting busted not long after.

Doping was rife in Greek sport at that time.