Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

This notion that weed is grand needs some opposition

• 08-09-2018 6:21pm

I like weed fine. It feels warm and fuzzy, and it's a great relaxant. I prefer many Class As over it, but it has its place.

However, a lot of young people just think it's a nice and easy high with no downsides. With recent legalisation in American states, people think that this thing was a drug that should never have been banned. Now, I'm starting to believe that banning it was the right thing to do.

My friend tonight, a 36-year-old English guy, and probably the smarted person I've ever met, smoked a bit because he was offered it by his housemate, and instead of the great conversation we're used to, he was unable to string proper thoughts together. He could talk, but he ended up so frustrated with himself and his thinking that we called it a night early. He knew he could talk about these things better but couldn't manage it.

I myself will drop a pill or do a line nay problem, but the one thing I won't do is weed. It makes my brain incapable of forming coherent thoughts. Zombie-like is the only way to describe it, and my friend fitted that particular bill this evening. I'd rather be on speed in the jacks for an hour than be unable to converse in the smoking area.

Yeah, it won't physically harm you. But it will make you a bore. Some people will benefit from it and their social skills will improve etc., but for the vast majority, it just makes you a bit stupid and you'd do better on anything else. If you enjoy being "stoned" around people, then new friends or friends who want to talk about things you actually care about would be a better idea.

The only happiness myself or my friend have seen with weed is that nice feeling when you come out of the cloud and start to feel normal again. That "high" is way better.

(yes, I'm drunk)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Lost quite a few friends during my younger years from this, lads just lost all their drive and interests.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Just remember, keeping any drug illegal comes at the cost of lives in other countries.

The notion that the war on drugs is grand needs some opposition.

Just remember, keeping any drug illegal comes at the cost of lives in other countries.
    Plenty of people die from ODing on methadone they've bought second-hand.

The so-called War on Drugs has failed, but I wish people wouldn't act as though legalisation is the answer. It isn't that simple. There will always be a black market in drugs, and people will always die from putting weird shit in their bodies, or just fighting over it in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Never really liked it, it's not something that suited me but I think it effects people in different ways.

Legalising it isn't really going to convince people that don't want to do it, that they should, but it will cut that tie between the criminal underworld and its supply. It's as easy for a kid in school to get weed as it is booze but they're not going to be offered pills and powder too if they're drinking, with weed, once they make the connections with the dealers then they can get anything.

I'd be broadly in favour of legalising it, even though I wouldn't use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The stench off it is utterly vile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Only sad fools, imo, will argue that at present illegal drugs should be made legal.
    No one has ever been any smarter/wiser or richer from taking them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It's not fashionable to be sceptical about legalising drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Much like other drugs, in my experience, it depends on the person involved.

I know people who are quite successful who smoke it quite often and it doesn't seem to any harm.

I also know people who smoke a lot and are wasting their lives away. I think if they didn't have weed, they'd find something else to replace it with.

I myself smoke every now and then and I enjoy it. I smoked more a few years back but the I lived with two dealers and another stoner and that put me off smoking regularly.

To each his own, tbh, but it is very naive for anyone to think that weed, like any other legal drug, is harmless. People need to know what it does to them and it's quite possible it's not for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,443 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I don't smoke myself but I wouldn't judge someone for smoking it and I don't mind it being legalized. I look at it like alcohol. I don't see it as being any better or worse that drinking tbh. Try to be responsible about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,656 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Sounds like your super intelligent mate was doing it for the first time, or he doesn't do it a lot. I know plenty of people who smoke more than they eat and can talk the ear off you. Then it's down to the strain. When it's illegal, you get weed. Very hard to get the weed you want, you just get a bag/plastic/tinfoil of weed and you smoke it. If it was legal, your mate could have bought a weed that is more social, sounds like the strain he smoked was for bombing out. There are strains out there for working, relaxing, strains to bring out your creative side, strains to tackle personal issues, etc.

To me, it's great to relax and increase the feelings I get from playing my games or watching my tv shows. If it was legal, I could get a strain for whatever activity I want to do, and have a different experience every time. Remember that there are 2 main types of weed, indica and sativa. One bombs you out, the other wakes you up.

I think it should be legalised and heavily regulated for personal consumption. At the very least, it takes money out of the hands of the big criminals who make their mint from weed and other drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

You might not be at risk of oding but it has its long lasting side effects.

I smoked weed daily from my late teens to early 20’s.

Inhaling smoke is never a good thing. But the main reason I gave it up was because instead of enjoying the high. It was making me paranoid, and giving me anxiety.

It also caused memory issues, which I suffer still to this day. Some 20 years since giving it up. In particular, I now find I’m hunting for words when talking to people.

I can’t say I’d recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Drink is harder on the body smoke is much harder on the mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Mailcoachinn

As far as the so called doctors and other self appointed experts are concerned, there is only one strain of cannabis. Ipso facto the do not deserve to be taken seriously.

There are more strains than ever before.

Me & THC don’t mix. I love high CBD strains. As in I’d smoke Charlotte’s Webb while driving late at night with 90’s dance music playing. I didn’t think it was actually possible to be so relaxed yet so focused at the same time

Only sad fools, imo, will argue that at present illegal drugs should be made legal.
    No one has ever been any smarter/wiser or richer from taking them.

Nobody in their right mind has ever taken them to become smarter, wiser or richer, either!

They can be fun, that's all.

This is a general comment, so it isn't aimed at you at all, but the worst kinds of people to talk to about drugs, in my opinion, are the drug evangelists and those who approach the topic like school matrons. Most of us are somewhere in between, and can acknowledge the positive aspects, as well as the possible harm, associated with illicit drugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Here we go.

I’d rather a joint over booze any day.
    Saying that, excess of anything will cause harm.

You can even die if you drink too much water, the bringer of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,854 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

A bit of it in moderation is fine in my experience but sometimes people have addictive personalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

A bit of it in moderation

So the mask finally slips. The AH mods are having massive weed parties, injecting it into each other.

Weed parties don't do it for us anymore. We're onto coke and hookers parties now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

I believe medical cannabis has its place. It's proven to help so many people.

As a recreational drug, I believe it should remain illegal.

The go to argument of people if favour of legalising drugs is - sure cigarettes and alcohol are legal. We all know the downfalls of both. It's a school yard argument "their allowed to do that, why can't I do this".

I've experience of seeing first hand what recreational drugs can do to someone, whether is be cannabis or something stronger.

Buying illegal drugs perpetuates crime. Yet the people buying the drugs somehow think it's the fault of the authorities for banning drugs. Yet at the same time quiet happily get their high, dismissing any notion that the fact their buying the drugs is the reason people are dying all over the world so they can get high.

The world doesn't need more poisons to became legal, the world needs people to cop the fcuk on and stop buying them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

I know a person who moved to Canada and has been using weed for a few years, getting it leagally from dispensaries.

He turned into an ass hat. Paranoid, mood swings, can't handle not being high anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

As another poster pointed out thc strains are not for me - but, op, had your friend smoked a high CBD weed - His conversation, focus and thinking would have been far more heightened and would probably have been a really really good night of ideas and conversation!

ardinn wrote: »
    As another poster pointed out thc strains are not for me - but, op, had your friend smoked a high CBD weed - His conversation, focus and thinking would have been far more heightened and would probably have been a really really good night of ideas and conversation!

High CBD weed is awesome imho. It also has great health benefits. This is coming from someone who never sees a doctor and didn’t bother to register with a GP when he returned to Ireland a couple of years back. It should be absolutely legal for me to grow the stuff in my own backyard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Here we go.

I’d rather a joint over booze any day.
    Saying that, excess of anything will cause harm.

You can even die if you drink too much water, the bringer of life.

There she is!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I had similar experience , one of my friends was smoking too whos very intelligent and we were kind of having a deep conversation of sorts and I remember finding her points very interesting but I literally could not think of any meaningful way to respond what so ever,couldnt get a word out, it was like my brains thoughts and the motor function of my mouth were no longer working in sync, weed seemed to make her even more coherent and chatty than usual, I felt so stupid

It also made me very paranoid I kept thinking my friends found me boring/buzzkill that night and that my bofriend was really angry with me about something which he wasnt at all. I also jumped out of the bed in the dead of night thinking for some reason that my boyfriend was pouring a glass of water over me and it gave him a big fright :pac:

Just generally a very unpleasant experience I found, which was disappointing to me as I was excited to try out something that might give me a nice high/or make me more sociable like alcohol without any negative health impacts

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭holy guacamole

I believe medical cannabis has its place. It's proven to help so many people.

As a recreational drug, I believe it should remain illegal.

I think the calls to legalise it for medicinal purposes have misled many into believing it's okay to smoke it recreationally.

People don't seem to realise that most medicinal users take it as a suppository and don't experience the high associated with the drug.

It's a fantastic medicine but then so is morphine, both should be the reserve of the physicians and doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,112 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Yet the OP is ok with sniffing lines and dropping pills that came out of someone's arse.

Quality.

I think the calls to legalise it for medicinal purposes have misled many into believing it's okay to smoke it recreationally.

People don't seem to realise that most medicinal users take it as a suppository and don't experience the high associated with the drug.

It's a fantastic medicine but then so is morphine, both should be the reserve of the physicians and doctors.

Low THC should be full on legal and uncontrolled. No prescription required.

Morphine is a sh1te drug. I refused it on numerous occasions. I’d rather be in pain than be a zombie

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

listermint wrote: »
    Yet the OP is ok with sniffing lines and dropping pills that came out of someone's arse.

Quality.

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,256 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

As far as the so called doctors and other self appointed experts are concerned, there is only one strain of cannabis. Ipso facto the do not deserve to be taken seriously.

There are more strains than ever before.

Me & THC don’t mix. I love high CBD strains. As in I’d smoke Charlotte’s Webb while driving late at night with 90’s dance music playing. I didn’t think it was actually possible to be so relaxed yet so focused at the same time

Yeah...these so called "scientists"...bah, what would they know about drugs!

Morphine is a sh1te drug. I refused it on numerous occasions. I’d rather be in pain than be a zombie

I reacted very badly to morphine after a serious accident. Really badly.

Pethidine on the other hand....just far too nice to be safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭Arytonblue

The notion that keeping it illegal and trying to equate it with actually dangerous drugs like heroin is what should have died out a long time ago. Everyone who opposes legalization has their anecdotal tragic story of some genius rocket scientist friend who turned into a dole scrounging zombie because of weed. Addictive personalities exist and they always end up abusing something, be it weed, booze, porn or video games. They're vices, something most reasonable are able to avoid overdoing in excess. Christ everyone in Ireland apparently has that drunk relative that spends 80% of their day in the pub completely wasted. Still doesn't make me want to pontificate about how people should spend their time and money as long no one else is harmed or bothered.

Tldr; Seriously, it's fecking weed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I don't, never had weed in my life, but I don't mind if adults have a little now and then, I gave up smoking about 16 months ago, and as far as I am concerned I was hooked, still am craving a ciggie now and then, have to fight the urge, addiction is hard to beat, but I think cannabis is just a step up from tobacco, I stand to be corrected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I'm a bit on the fence. I used to smoke a lot when I was young and it completely melted my brain for a long time. Haven't touched it years but now that I am older and more controlled, I wouldn't mind a joint or two if it were legal.

I am a libertarian, so I believe in personal freedom. If we do go legal, we need to shut down the nonsense from the media class shouting for more services for mental health. If you smoked a lot of weed over a prolonged period and messed yourself up, it's your problem, you deal with it.

An idea, if legalised would be a license to buy cannabis, with a disclaimer to not avail of state mental health services if availed of.

If you cant moderate and want to mess your own life up, sign the form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I kinda agree Op , my drugs use would be similar to what you describe.
    Occasionally I'd have some weed but not often.

I find I'm monged too much after a smoke and I can't do anything bar lie on the couch.
    I much prefer stimulant type drugs.

To each their own and I fully support legalising weed but I don't think it's that great for the reasons you mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭chicorytip

goat2 wrote:
    I don't, never had weed in my life, but I don't mind if adults have a little now and then, I gave up smoking about 16 months ago, and as far as I am concerned I was hooked, still am craving a ciggie now and then, have to fight the urge, addiction is hard to beat, but I think cannabis is just a step up from tobacco, I stand to be corrected

It's a step up from tobacco alright in the sense of it's carcinogenic properties being much greater. Lung and throat cancers are far more prevelant amongst Potheads than tobacco smokers.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

I have a neighbour that takes the piss out of me because I smoke weed. Calls me "hippy" and suchlike. Tells me I'm breaking the law. I couldn't care less that I'm breaking the law. I quit drinking a few years ago and it's the best thing I ever did. A bit of weed once in a while is a nice way to wind down and helps me to sleep better too, something I've had problems with in the past. It being illegal to grow a plant that I want to smoke is laughably stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

As in I’d smoke Charlotte’s Webb while driving late at night with 90’s dance music playing. I didn’t think it was actually possible to be so relaxed yet so focused at the same time

Are you fu£king serious?

Lackey wrote: »
    Are you fu£king serious?

Yes. I stopped in Castletown for a swim at about 3 am.

I wasn’t driving my usual car. I was in an Austin A35. It was like driving in the 1950’s except I had long hair and was smoking CBD as if it was 20 Major

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

People on weed are boring as ****. People who talking incessantly about legalising weed are also boring as ****.

paw patrol wrote: »

I find I'm monged too much after a smoke and I can't do anything bar lie on the couch.
    I much prefer stimulant type drugs.

There are strains which, after consumption, many people would struggle to sit down, such is the stimulation, physical and creative.

Cannabis is a much maligned substance. Mostly misunderstood, even by many of its most ardent admirers.

Like everything else, moderation is key. And sometimes total abstinence. If it's not for you then that's grand.

I've a few friends take ketamine, cocaine, pills whatever. Wouldn't dream of ingesting cannabis. These same heads invariably slag off any cannabis use, it's beneath them somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,429 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

There is a lot of regulation and bureaucracy involved in the supply of tobacco and alcohol. Even then alcohol is being bought by underage people, and it is being sold outside licencing hours illegally. I would not want to see the same for new substances, which would have to happen if they were legalised. Medical staff would have to be on site also at the drug shops.

All drugs should be decriminalised, not legalised. Then anyone who wants to sell them or buy them can do so under the present conditions, and law enforcement will stay away. No more arrests, no more court cases. Plenty of work for the hospitals, but that is happening already for both legal and illegal drug misuse.

The Revenue authorities should be the only ones interested, to tax whatever part of the supply chain they can identify. And that would mean if a consignment worth 10 million was found at Dublin Port, it would have to be seized, like any other contraband. Because the importer could not supply customs documentation, if it was coming from a country where it was still illegal to trade. But no need to arrest anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,164 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

The one thing I think we can all agree is that a lot of people who want it legalised for supposedly medical reasons are full of ****e. Just admit you want it legalised because you like it ffs. :P

However in saying that, we trust the masses when it comes to booze and gambling and most people who use those services live productive lives, I don't see why weed should be different.

Personal responsibility and moderation ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The world doesn't need more poisons to became legal, the world needs people to cop the fcuk on and stop buying them.

Or, how about stop telling me to do something I want to do, regardless of legality? It's entirely my choice if I want to smoke weed, why should I have to jump through hoops to illegally buy something which I don't know the quality of, when I can grow it easily out the back of my house? It's going to be legal, as soon as they figure out the best way to get the most tax out of it. Oh, and as soon as the VFI stop giving handjobs to politicians.
    wakka12 wrote: »
    ust generally a very unpleasant experience I found, which was disappointing to me as I was excited to try out something that might give me a nice high/or make me more sociable like alcohol without any negative health impacts

Most likely the strain you were smoking. Every strain affects people differently!

Or, how about stop telling me to do something I want to do, regardless of legality? It's entirely my choice if I want to smoke weed, why should I have to jump through hoops to illegally buy something which I don't know the quality of, when I can grow it easily out the back of my house? It's going to be legal, as soon as they figure out the best way to get the most tax out of it. Oh, and as soon as the VFI stop giving handjobs to politicians.

Most likely the strain you were smoking. Every strain affects people differently!

Boring!

My mate has a 3D printer, could print a handgun in his living room if he wanted. Why are the big bad bullies telling him he can't do this even if he wanted to? He's only be shooting at tin cans ffs. Boo ****ing hoo.

All about the strain.

Let’s just suppose that I have a doctor who I see regularly:

Dr: I want you to stop smoking
    Me: *discharges a high powered firearm

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

Balanadan wrote: »
    Boring!

My mate has a 3D printer, could print a handgun in his living room if he wanted. Why are the big bad bullies telling him he can't do this even if he wanted to? He's only be shooting at tin cans ffs. Boo ****ing hoo.

Hardly the same now, is it? But of course you know that.

Owl. wrote: »
    Hardly the same now, is it? But of course you know that.

What's the difference? What harm is a guy going to do out in an empty field taking potshots at tin cans ffs. He's already paid his ****ing taxes, VAT on the 3D printer and ancillaries.

I do know a few people who did very good leaving cert and would have being considered bright but when they went to college things went a bit down hill. They might have dabbled with drugs and alcohol but the main reason for there down fall is their mammy wasn't with them to hammer everything into them and pay for grinds.