Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Frederick St protest and reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,210 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

20Cent wrote: »
    Four of the people evicted were hospitalised due to injuries suffered during the eviction. Assault by masked men protected by the Gardai, a sinister thing to happen.

What were the injuries?
    Have you any links to reports of these 4 injured people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Of course I know it affects middle-class people - I didn't suggest otherwise. What do you mean "Do you genuinely believe" in relation to something when I didn't mention believing anything about it. I was specifically referring to the likes of Paul Murphy, who DO lecture other middle-class people. I didn't mention anything about middle-class people in general who support this protest. I would support protest but not through breaking into a private property and occupying it.

There are a lot of self loathing middle-class people though. Speaking of self loathing:
    Samsong wrote: »
    Not really.
    It is really. By their logic, they'll be terrible to work for if they become bosses. And why do they have to use the derogatory "paddy" term about themselves.

Some of the most valuable property in the country under their remit, and the same hypocrites will have the gall to whine about a lack of funds...

A gang of bluffers.

If the property tax rose along with property prices electoral pressure would force construction.

It really pisses me off. Im a house owner now and i rented for years so Iv seen both sides, feel bad for renters but have no quarrel with landlords.

If the LPT goes up by 100 euro annually there is holy war and politicians lose their seats and its talked about in the papers and the dail, but the rent on my old apartment went up by several hundred quid A MONTH and nobody bats an eyelid. :rolleyes: :mad:

NIMAN wrote: »
    What were the injuries?
    Have you any links to reports of these 4 injured people?

https://twitter.com/ruairimckiernan/status/1039905371685613568

Not the worst Iv ever seen. The social media exaggeration bs doesn't help things.

Is that it? A scratched hand.

My wee boy had worse falling off his bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Is that it? A scratched hand.

My wee boy had worse falling off his bike.

Concussion and neck injuries as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

J_E wrote: »
    Was it necessary to have 2 groups of masked security for this? One still unknown with an illegally parked/registered vehicle? This is a scary police response. You can't tell me this was in any way necessary.

Is there evidence the occupiers were violent and warranted this level of force?

To be fair, they couldn't have known exactly how many people were inside.
    As it turns out there were only 4 people inside

They're the same people who occupied Summerhill Parade which they left without any violence
    There would have been no reason to assume they would violently resist this time. I completely agree that the private security sent there and the Garda backup were way in excess of what was needed

4 people inside yet 5 reported with injuries.

Must be looking for a personal claim, or else time off work.

I'd say these protesters are easily persuaded to attend an A&E Dept with concussion and neck injuries to suit an agenda. Not surprisingly, hard injuries to prove by medical staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Fact sheets that you can lift from the information boards in the hospital aren’t exactly evidence of anything.

But then again, when you’re dealing with someone who vocally advocates violence against people with different politics to yours then I’m not sure rational thought is what I should be expecting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

4 people inside yet 5 reported with injuries.

Must be looking for a personal claim, or else time off work.

I'd say these protesters are easily persuaded to attend an A&E Dept with concussion and neck injuries to suit an agenda. Not surprisingly, hard injuries to prove by medical staff.
    Work?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭Samsong

Balliffs with balaclavas on usually hug and gently remove people. Especially when they have the riot squad protecting them

Of course I know it affects middle-class people - I didn't suggest otherwise. What do you mean "Do you genuinely believe" in relation to something when I didn't mention believing anything about it. I was specifically referring to the likes of Paul Murphy, who DO lecture other middle-class people.
    Middle class people are affected by the crisis in far greater numbers than those who are homeless!

Obviously, I'm not comparing the stress or anxiety of homelessness to househunting, I'm simply saying the use of the verb "to lecture" is a pretty strange choice of word, when those people you claim are being lectured to, are actually victims of the crisis also.

I disagree with Paul Murphy on a lot of things -- I think his role in the Water charges and Property Charge protest was deeply cynical and opportunistic, and the latter was totally at odds with his socialist credentials.

But he's dead right when it comes to the housing crisis, and anyone with a shred of concern for their community, and cannot acknowledge the valid points he is making, seems to me to have some pretty odd priorities. Nobody -- not ordinary workers, nor their children, nor the wider economy -- benefits from this crisis and the lack of public investment.

The only people who benefit from the lack of investment (and therefore, lack of competition in the market) are landlords. Fair enough if they benefit, but excuse me if i don't join the majority of people in this thread in seeming to cheer them on, whilst booing and hissing at calls for public investment in housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,244 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Another wall of nonsense. When did I say the building owners family were in the “industry”? The building owner has the right to enforce the court order.

2nd part of the nonsense. Anyone “calling on your person” while you are illegally occupying someone else’s house would have to show you ID?? FFS.

3rd paragraph. You read “somewhere” online? I’ll go with the Garda spokesperson on this one.

And the final para of nonsense. As far as you are aware. Jesus wept. Maybe it fell off and they had informed the Gardaí of same, which the Gardaí took at face value.

i wonder what would happen tomorrow if my front plate "fell off" and i informed the gardai. not sure it would go well for me?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Gatling wrote: »
    Where was the "States police " hired ,
    Why inverted commas? AGS are the states police force last I heard.
    By all accounts they attended what could have been an eviction which could have turned nasty considering all the social media waffles about it .

They did their duty and kept the peace which is what they are paid to do

I've no problem with the guardians of the peace keeping the actual peace.

However , it doesn't sit very easy with me that it (optics wise) appears that they have been drafted in to enable some (thus far) unknown, unnamed anonymous group of masked men who have turned up on our capitals streets to carry out a high court eviction notice, in an unmarked van which appears to be registered outside the state.

The guards refusing or unwilling/unable to confirm who actually employed the services of these masked men doesn't appear to be doing them much favours either.

For the record, I have no qualms that the guards who attended had their faces covered, in the social media world we all reside in these days, I get their reason to hide their faces.

The fact that they seem to have been deployed in this instance to support masked men who were there to carry out an eviction on behalf of the high Court is where it doesn't sit easy with me.

Before I get accused of being some Marxist dole scrounging teen, I would like to point out that I'm a university educated professional - married to another university educated professional.

The protesters illegally occupying the property should absolutely have been evicted, but true to form the manner in which it was carried out was wrong, aesthetically at least.

In order words, 2 x wrongs don't make a right.

Not a great start to the newly (though I predict fairly short served) commisoniers role imo.

i wonder what would happen tomorrow if my front plate "fell off" and i informed the gardai. not sure it would go well for me?

If your plate fell off, nothing would happen you.
    If caught with no plate I am sure 99.9% of guards would inform you you have no plate and to get one fitted.

No drama.

Hurrache wrote: »
    So they had blacked out plates now, and were out of state security operatives.

This just keeps giving.

well, this is what happens when shadowy hired private goons have no id, people begin to think all sorts. if they had id, then there would be no theories as to who they may be.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Here’s a crazy suggestion, maybe the Garda would just tell you to get it fixed as soon as you can.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭Samsong

People on twitter offering money for names of the masked Gardai and any other information.

Madness

well, this is what happens when shadowy hired private goons have no id, people begin to think all sorts. if they had id, then there would be no theories as to who they may be.

It’s more than likely that the Guards knew the identity of these so called “hired goons” and would have liased with them before the eviction begun. What makes you think that these people were required to identify themselves to the protesters on the street?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Samsong wrote: »
    People on twitter offering money for names of the masked Gardai and any other information.

Madness

Duckheads. They’ll do **** all except harass and troll Garda on the internet. Any attempt to interfere in Garda business or pervert the course of justice should mean custodial sentences. Gardaí should be monitoring I.P. Addresss for clowns like these

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Four of the people evicted were hospitalised due to injuries suffered during the eviction. Assault by masked men protected by the Gardai, a sinister thing to happen.

Wasters going to hospital for a cast when the wound only needs an Elastoplast. Propaganda.

No doubt there will be tons of videos on YouTube claiming the "Illuminati" are behind it. NWO cleansing and RT watching foilhats talking crap.

Any excuse for more wasters to shout "shame on you" and claim they were injured while resisting a lawful action to stop their unlawful actions.

Peaceful protest works both ways folks. If you did not force your way into someones private property, force would not be needed to remove you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I'd say it's only a matter of time before the people of the country lose their collective **** with everything. Perhaps this is some sort of trigger but it will happen in the next decade unless the standard of government improve and they actually begin to fix broken systems across many areas.

This is not a war of classes. They have repeatedly failed the people who have elected them for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Here’s a crazy suggestion, maybe the Garda would just tell you to get it fixed as soon as you can.

Ah come on, if our states police force are going to be deployed to support/enable a privately employed eviction task force in a foreign registered van, you would, at the very least expect them to tell the lads to head to the nearest motor factors and sort themselves out with a front registration plate just Incase they got accused of hypocrisy/incompetence or bias at a later date.

I wonder if the British public would react badly to the London metropolitan police being deployed to assist a group of masked men who were anonymously employed to take part in an operation that involved a few masked lads who emerged from a clapped out van with a van with an Irish reg?

Serious answers on the back of a postcard please.

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Remember, the people involved in this are low life scum.

Unemployable waste of space.

They scam the taxpayers out of hundreds of euro every week because they think they have a right not to seek gainful employment or contribute to society.

As they believe they are a law upon themselves, they think nothing of harassing anyone that does not agree with their effed up thinking and would have no issue in putting images and personal details online of anyone getting in their way.

Hence it is quite correct for those imposing high court ruling to prevent these scum from making personal attacks on these people.

Personally I think the Gardai should have gone in with full riot gear and beaten the sh1t out of these Unemployable scum. Thats how it would be done in other countries

i presume you know all these people personally to call them all you have called them and accused them of? or is it the old they don't work the same hours as me mistruth?
    it was the hired masked hoodies who prevented themselves from being identified in any way, not even a badge. something it is not correct to do, as it would prevent prosecutions against them should that need to happen. that's among many other potential issues.
    beating up people isn't done in most countries these days, the world has mostly moved on, recognising that beating someone up is asalt.
    Anyone who was employed to get those squatters out had no option but to cover their faces with masks.

I know it makes them look evil and all, but would you do that job and show your face, so that the social media mob could find out who you are, post your name and your address for the world to see, identifying your house for possible attack by halfwits?

They have form, they did it to members of the Gardai before, public servants who were simply following the orders of their bosses and doing their job.

the gardai are different to hired masked individuals. hired masked individuals don't get to not identify themselves in some form. the gardai have to have a badge, so the private security lot (who shouldn't be carying out evictions anyway) should definitely have identification. if they don't want to take the risk, don't do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

No.. Read the letter. It says "If a friend or family member spots any of these symptoms return the patient to hospital".

The guys injury's were so severe that they discharged him. Real neck injuries would be a stay in hospital longer than a few hours.

Absolute bull**** propaganda.

Ah come on, if our states police force are going to be deployed to support/enable a privately employed eviction task force in a foreign registered van, you would, at the very least expect them to tell the lads to head to the nearest motor factors and sort themselves out with a front registration plate just Incase they got accused of hypocrisy/incompetence or bias at a later date.

I wonder if the British public would react badly to the London metropolitan police being deployed to assist a group of masked men who were anonymously employed to take part in an operation that involved a few masked lads who emerged from a clapped out van with a van with an Irish reg?

Serious answers on the back of a postcard please.

I was answering the poster’s query about what would happen if he informed the Guards that his front plate fell off. I didn’t make any reference about what occurred at the eviction. But sure don’t let that get in the way of a good rant. Hope you enjoy the postcard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm trying to figure out how they got the wound. A defensive wound would generally have been on the other side of the hand.
    Laneyh wrote: »
    There would have been no reason to assume they would violently resist this time. I completely agree that the private security sent there and the Garda backup were way in excess of what was needed
    Private security were there because the trespassers didn't leave of their own accord before the private security turned up.
    The Gardai were there in relation to the large group of protesters that turned up.
    The guards refusing or unwilling/unable to confirm who actually employed the services of these masked men doesn't appear to be doing them much favours either.
    If they're unable to confirm who employed them, do you not think that they'd wait until they're able to confirm who hired them before telling the press?
    if they had id, then there would be no theories as to who they may be.
    Why would they have ID?

In the UK, there are companies to remove people who overhold, or illegally trespass and squat.

The obsession with the private security guys and the balaclavas is real strawclutching stuff.

And number plates. And tax discs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

If your plate fell off, nothing would happen you.
    If caught with no plate I am sure 99.9% of guards would inform you you have no plate and to get one fitted.

No drama.

Meh, that really depends on if they know you.... That's a lot of bs now, a few years ago.yes but not now. No matter how I feel about the last few days. I find it hard to find it's OK for outside forces being brought in and being allowed drag people out that were protesting.

And backed up by the "police" , I really find it hard to believe that anyone can put on a balaclava and can be backed up by the guards and let them hurt people. No matter how much I disagree with the protest. People coming from outside of the country to do this and to be backed up by the guards.

Also, plays into the hands of... Ohh look who our new commissioner is, and were he was recruited from.

Not good is it?

the_syco wrote: »
    Why would they have ID?

because dispite being private security, they were involved in enforcing the law. a job they shouldn't actually be doing, but still a job they were doing.
    In the UK, there are companies to remove people who overhold, or illegally trespass and squat.

those are the bailiffs. the uk's bailiffs are privatized.

not at all. it's very reasonable to be concerned about out of state, unidentified and unidentifiable shadowy hoodies who are workers of a private company, doing a job that a state service should be doing, being helped by our boys in the gardai.

deco nate wrote: »
    I find it hard to find it's OK for outside forces being brought in and being allowed drag people out that were protesting.
    So you're totally okay with people gaining unlawful entry to accommodation, and squatting there?
    And backed up by the police
    You must have had your head in the sand. The Gardai were there to keep the peace.

so in the Land League era, you'd only have sympathy with the actual tenants who were evicted, and not those from other walks of Irish society who chose to show solidarity with them and help them in their fight for justice because they believed that it was the right thing to do?

I put it to you that if participation in every single social issue fight in history was restricted only to those who were the direct victims of it, and not those who merely sympathised with them ideologically, a great multitude of successful fights for justice and human rights would at best have taken far longer to win, and at worst would have been lost altogether. That sucks, but it's a fact. The fight for civil rights in Northern Ireland couldn't have been won without the help and support of people from outside that jurisdiction. The civil rights movement in the United States could not have been successful without the help of sympathetic white legislators already in power. The fight against apartheid couldn't have been successful without international pressure as well as pressure from the actual downtrodden.

Your position is quite odd, to be honest. I genuinely don't think I can get my head around it.
    "So what you're saying is..."

Yeah there is utterly zero odd about my original stated position which was: directly comparing tenants being cruelly evicted from their home in the 1800s to the removal of squatters who accessed a private property without permission... is grossly dishonest. Nothing more. All the other bits were added by you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Akabusi

God we really have a lot of stupid wasters in this country who think they are entitled to everything without contributing anything. Stupid is a strong word but they hold Murphy and Coppinger up as some sort of crusaders, fools the lot of ye, they are playing you, jumping on any populist situation that keeps them in a great job. Get a job, contribute and make this country better, oh wait it’s an unjust society, house prices are too high, we can’t afford to rent, well try moving to somewhere that you can, if the country is that bad then leave, you have the whole of the EU to chose from. I am glad the majority of the country are hard working people that uphold the law, just a pity they don’t come down harder on the wasters.

So you're totally okay with people gaining unlawful entry to accommodation, and squatting there?

You must have had your head in the sand. The Gardai were there to keep the peace.

What are you on about? They were there to help hired hands from outside of the state. Read my post again.

And stop with the bs please, thank you........

What are you on about? They were there to help hired hands from outside of the state. Read my post again.

And stop with the bs please, thank you........

How do you know that they were from outside the state?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Four of the people evicted?? There were only four inside the house in total.

If you are going to ask me about anything, quote it all and don't try to dissect it.
    I could say more about the bs that people try this ****e. How about you quote my full post next time, you know so to put it into context. As I posted it.
    But you are trying to get me a ban. As you wouldn't quote my full post and reply to it as a hole as it does not suit your narrative.

Akabusi wrote: »
    God we really have a lot of stupid wasters in this country who think they are entitled to everything without contributing anything.

we have a small amount in reality.
    Get a job, contribute and make this country better, oh wait it’s an unjust society,

according to who?
    house prices are too high, we can’t afford to rent, well try moving to somewhere that you can,

often that isn't viable.
    if the country is that bad then leave, you have the whole of the EU to chose from.

it's great we have the whole of the EU to choose from, but leaving ireland isn't viable for some, and it's not sustainible for the country as a whole to have large amounts of people leaving.

I am glad the majority of the country are hard working people that uphold the law,

as are we all. however, a lot of those people are protesting as they have had enough of poor everything and a very high cost for it.
    just a pity they don’t come down harder on the wasters.

they do when they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭rom

Electric picnic security used to come from Scotland. We are part of this thing called the EU. It's great indeed. You should read up on it. It's mad sure it is.

How do you know that they were from outside the state?

they were driving a uk registered van with a uk number plate. that would certainly be a possible give away. and apparently, at least one or 2 of those companies who cary out evictions are from out of the state.

rom wrote: »
    Electric picnic security used to come from Scotland. We are part of this thing called the EU. It's great indeed. You should read up on it. It's mad sure it is.

i bet those security were identifiable as security.

they were driving a uk registered van with a uk number plate. that would certainly be a possible give away. and apparently, at least one or 2 of those companies who cary out evictions are from out of the state.

Certainly is possible. It’s also possible that the owner could live in NI but work in the Republic. Also possible that the van was recently purchased by someone living in the Republic and not registered yet.

if they were carying id, we'd know. if they came under the the PSA like all other private security, we'd know. but neither are the case, so we haven't a clue who they are.

Why should you, an anonymous poster on a Internet forum be entitled to know the identities of people who are involved in something that has nothing to do with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The only thing worse than no protest is an ineffective protest.

Marches and blockades dont work anymore. Do you think the elites give a shiite about them bar laughing as the rest of us who have to deal with their shiite turn against each other?

The next logical step is to take the fight to them. Blockade them in their ivory towers. Find what businesses they own and boycott the living daylights out of them. Hit them where it hurts, in their pockets. Then we might actually see some change happening.

Stupid, ineffective protests like today achieve nothing bar turning the rest of us against each other and letting the bastards win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Why should you, an anonymous poster on a Internet forum be entitled to know the identities of people who are involved in something that has nothing to do with you?

What are you talking about... citizens have a right to know. What are you even arguing here?

It seems posters here can't seem to make the jump in logic, that it is possible to not necessarily condone the behaviour of the protesters while raising concern why an anonymous hooded group of men were assisted by a state police force.

J_E wrote: »
    What are you talking about... citizens have a right to know. What are you even arguing here?

It seems posters here can't seem to make the jump in logic, that it is possible to not necessarily condone the behaviour of the protesters while raising concern why an anonymous hooded group of men were assisted by a state police force.
    So you think every citizen of this country have a right to know the identities of those men? That would set a very dangerous precedent if that was the case.

If you are going to ask me about anything, quote it all and don't try to dissect it.
    I quote the bit I'm responding to.
    But you are trying to get me a ban.
    I actually have no idea wtf you mean by this?
    So you found out who bought it in 2014?