Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Frederick St protest and reaction

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

Thankfully I was warned about these crusties just before I turned into it. I was able to sail my land yacht around the giant sponge.

Sailing the high seas is dangerous these days. Crusties everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

THis has been blocked.

Aodhaon O'Riordan, Irelands most hip socialist opposition politician was celebrating construction getting blocked.
    As I said, Dublin says no.

It doesn't matter what bullsh|t reason it was for anymore. Dublin doesn't want houses in Dublin, and prefer that you commute from far far away. Only people on Social Welfare are entitled to houses in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I think the Government are Boards.ie readers. I seem to remember suggesting something along these lines a few days ago.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0913/993427-land_development_agency/

“The Government is to launch the new Land Development Agency, which it says will coordinate State owned lands for regeneration and development, and open up sites for the provision of housing.

It will be funded to the tune of €1.25 billion and will have the power to use State land and to buy private lands on which potentially thousands of homes will be built across the country.

The Government believes the new agency could lead to the construction of more than 150,000 homes over the next 20 years.

They will include social, affordable and private homes.

The new organisation will be run along commercial lines and it will see the State forming joint ventures with builders and developers to provide homes.

It is understood there will be a requirement that one third of homes built on State lands will have to be affordable ones.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has already said this initiative will be viewed in the future as being on par with the establishment of the ESB and the IDA.

Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government Eoghan Murphy brought proposals for its establishment to a Cabinet meeting yesterday.”

Nice little earner for a few private builders and developers that have been eyeing up prime state owned land for decades.

We'll get 10% "affordable" houses out of it at least. Keep the recovery going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

800 posts and not a single suggestion from these protestors about fixing the housing crisis, just claims that nothing is being done, complaints that the government isn't clicking their fingers to make it go away.

Occupying vacant property won't solve it. CPO'ing city centre properties won't solve it.

The only way to solve it, is to build houses. Suitable, modern, safe, well-planned, houses. Not any old sh1te in a field in the midlands with 1,000 other social tenants.

This takes time. Lots of it. No amount of protesting can change that fact.

It would certainly be of immense help if DCC got their sh1t together and starting allowing buildings bigger than 5 storeys in the city centre.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

THis has been blocked.

Aodhaon O'Riordan, Irelands most hip socialist opposition politician was celebrating construction getting blocked.

Reason: GEESE

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/500-homes-in-dublin-city-opposed-over-concerns-for-geese-36698384.html

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Hypocrite of the highers f**king order there.

And that **** Keegan. Not happy till everyone's on a f**king bike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

dav3 wrote: »
    Nice little earner for a few private builders and developers that have been eyeing up prime state owned land for decades.

You ever get tired of pathetic soundbites ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

seamus wrote: »
    800 posts and not a single suggestion from these protestors about fixing the housing crisis, just claims that nothing is being done, complaints that the government isn't clicking their fingers to make it go away.
    And the place near MountJoy Square actually just recently got planning permission to be turned into 4 apartments, from 10 illegal bedsits (they were refused permission to build 9 small apartments). But nope, they'll squat it to prevent the apartments being built, so that they can protest about the lack of apartments being built.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

the_syco wrote: »
    Dublin says no to houses to be built near them. Anywhere in Dublin will have NIMBYism.

It's BANANAs now, Build Absolutely Nothing Anywhere Near Anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Now it turns out that the tax for the van ran out in July 2014 and didn't have a mot either. The thing should have been impounded

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

You ever get tired of pathetic soundbites ?

Unfortunately I can't take credit for that particular pathetic soundbite.

BAZ_1898.jpg

28%20COMMENT%20II%20leo%20pic%20new%202.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Didn't all the arrestees go to hospital after release? What a waste of hospital resources.

Yep they rocked up to A&E and were discharged a few hours later. Wasn't much wrong with them if they managed to get in and out of A&E that quickly.
    gandalf wrote: »
    At the end of the day it's your own responsibility if you take on a loan of any type. However I'm just countering the narrative that people who own a home all are living on easy Street.

Agree with you. They are one economic downturn away from being in negative equity up to their eyeballs in truth.
    dav3 wrote: »

€300K is affordable these days. Not sure how that adds up when you look at what people are earning.
    This takes time. Lots of it. No amount of protesting can change that fact.

It would certainly be of immense help if DCC got their sh1t together and starting allowing buildings bigger than 5 storeys in the city centre.

Much like health, I think the housing crisis is a ten year project. Why are they refusing to build up, as a matter of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Dublin says no to houses to be built near them. Anywhere in Dublin will have NIMBYism.

Indeed.

Criticism as Leo Varadkar opposes four-storey development in his constituency

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭Samsong

Who owns the building anyway? Or is it not known

And the place near MountJoy Square actually just recently got planning permission to be turned into 4 apartments, from 10 illegal bedsits (they were refused permission to build 9 small apartments). But nope, they'll squat it to prevent the apartments being built, so that they can protest about the lack of apartments being built.
    I can guarantee you if the suggestion was that the place be knocked and turned into a 20 storey block of apartments, they'd complain that private developers and property companies will be renting it out and not the government giving it to needy families.

They can't see the wood for the trees.

zapitastas wrote: »
    Now it turns out that the tax for the van ran out in July 2014 and didn't have a mot either. The thing should have been impounded

Do you think AGS should spend their time enforcing English Road Traffic laws?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

What are the middle-class folk here, giving out about fg for being middle-class, doing to help the homeless/poor?

Oh yeah sneering on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

bubblypop wrote: »

No but they should be enforcing our laws. Try driving a vehicle around town with no tax, insurance or nct disks visible and missing a reg plate and tell us how you get on?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭Samsong

We need a yearly purge event. If any of you have seen the movie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

Berserker wrote: »
    Yep they rocked up to A&E and were discharged a few hours later. Wasn't much wrong with them if they managed to get in and out of A&E that quickly.

Agree with you. They are one economic downturn away from being in negative equity up to their eyeballs in truth.

€300K is affordable these days. Not sure how that adds up when you look at what people are earning.

Much like health, I think the housing crisis is a ten year project. Why are they refusing to build up, as a matter of interest?

The refusal to build up is to protect what remains of the Georgian skyline in the historic city core. Personally I think this is a rather weak reason since 1. Dublin is not an attractive city architecturally, 2. The city must function for the people that live in it now, not those that lives there 150 years ago.

That said, if there was an easy fix to this problem, or it was simply a case of throwing money at it, that would have been done long ago. It would be an easy win politically. The reason why government hasn't taken upon itself to construct thousands of social and affordable homes is for the following reasons:

The capacity does not exist in the Irish construction industry. So import labour you say
    The industry cannot import labour as this would increase cost. Let people borrow more you say
    Overall cost is constrained by the availability of credit - make credit more available you say
    If credit flows again, it will be like setting a fire under house prices and unbalance and overheat the economy.

The other big big reason is the government cannot interfere to a major extent in the market. A public development agency cannot put houses on the market at below cost as this is illegal state aid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Can anyone give me a costing for these social houses?

I constantly ask this and no one can answer here.

Let’s say 250,000 each.

100,000 houses is 25 billion euro.

Do people think we have that money????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

They should be enforcing our own. They should be ensuring that vehicles that require it have a certificate of roadworthiness. You can't dive any clapped out piece of junk around because it us registered someplace else . Especially if you are driving around with balaclavas on. Whatever company it is must be pretty shady. You would imagine they could at least have their van meeting the miminum requirements and not show up like that.

Obviously not, but I'm wondering how.I'd fare out if I got a few buddy's of mine to balaclava up, hop in a van which has its front UK registered plate missing and drive it through the city.

There'd be uproar here if a group of nomadic people, who often drive UK registered vans were doing it, that's for sure.

Regardless of the protesters, the optics weren't good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

They should be enforcing our own. They should be ensuring that vehicles that require it have a certificate of roadworthiness. You can't dive any clapped out piece of junk around because it us registered someplace else . Especially if you are driving around with balaclavas on. Whatever company it is must be pretty shady. You would imagine they could at least have their van meeting the miminum requirements and not show up like that.

You can't go breaking into peoples privately owned buildings and tresspassing in them either though, and then refusing to comply with a court order when you're told to move on. where's all the what-abouts about that?

This is like brexit - the protesters want change - but they can't say what it is because even they don't know how to solve it. Because it's immensly complicated.

You can't just up and build a mass of high density social housing - because in 10 years its a fcukin ghetto. We've moved past that disastrous carry on because it's knee-jerk and doesn't work!

I'm not against fixing this but there's no visible solution, but firing public money at it without a real solution & punishing the middle class even further with higher taxation will not fix this - it will make it fecking worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I see these protests as a symptom of the shambolic way we build and rent homes in this country. As I said earlier our politicians have paid lip service to dealing with horded vacant property and sites but have done nothing. If there was a sustained effort to build affordable housing by the state it would have a relieving knock on effect for the private housing and rental markets in readjustment of the prices. This needs to happen, ordinary families are being priced out of the buying and rental markets across the country.

We need to stop viewing property as an investment and view it as a home again.

Hand over your own property to some moocher if you feel so passionately about it!

Obviously not, but I'm wondering how.I'd fare out if I got a few buddy's of mine to balaclava up, hop in a van which has its front UK registered plate missing and drive it through the city.

There'd be uproar here if a group of nomadic people, who often drive UK registered vans were doing it, that's for sure.

Jonathan, you're getting far too worked up about the bloody van.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Hand over your own property to some moocher if you feel so passionately about it!
    He's living in it. That would make no sense, trading one homeless family for another.

People should not be allowed hoard property. Simple as.

If you're in an RPZ with a vacant property, you should be paying a penalty for that vacancy.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Let’s say 250,000 each.

I'm not sure that factors in the acquisition of land in order to build them. So on State-owned land it may be 250k, but may be different if purchases are needed.

We clearly don't have anywhere near 25 billion euro. That would be our total infrastructure budget for half a decade.

They'll be out screaming about gentrification in a few weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

What's an mot and it wasn't taxed in the UK mainland

To be fair, 100,000 houses would be a decade worth of social/public housing. It's still 2.5 billion a year that we realistically don't have.

We shouldn't be building massive amounts of state housing. State housing should only be necessary for a tiny proportion of the population who can't buy or rent under their own steam. You're talking 2-3%, maximum.

Affordable housing sounds like a cop-out, the state pushing the obligation onto private enterprise, but why shouldn't it? We should be aiming for a place where most people pay for their own home, not where most people rent from the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Delighted. I'm confident that the many public transport users who face the brutal increases in rents and witness the incredible explosion of homelessness in our country will recognise the importance of this action and support it.

Of course there will also be people who feel like they've been murdered because there journey home took a while longer.

Occupy vacant houses lying idle for profit in the midst of a housing crisis? While done peacefully and respectfully (i.e. not ruining the interior of the property or violently resisting, etc) I'm behind you.

The sit down stuff on O'Connell street doesn't help your cause however. It fuels the divide and conquer narrative the media successfully peddle to the sheep and is so frequently expressed here on boards. It's just not good strategy. This happened a couple of times during the water protests. The protests would successfully march and rally through town, then a rump end of extremists blocked O'Connell bridge. I support the former I don't support the latter. And you want my support.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Jonathan, you're getting far too worked up about the bloody van.

Not worked up, just curious as to which laws our national police force may or may not turn a blind eye to - that's all.

No one seems to want to answer the question either.

He's living in it. That would make no sense, trading one homeless family for another.

People should not be allowed hoard property. Simple as.

If you're in an RPZ with a vacant property, you should be paying a penalty for that vacancy.

I was being facetious, but I think you knew that.

I wouldn't rush to judge anyone who leaves a property unattended, particularly for a period of just three years.

Old/listed buildings can't just be renovated straight away, there can be mountains of red tape to get through depending on what the owner wants to do with the property.
    In this case, it seems they were ready to go with turning it into much needed accommodation before the crusties decided to play silly beggars.

It’s their PRIVATE property they can do as they please with it.

**** me whats next I don’t use my car for a few days should I give it to some homeless person??

Keep repeating this. It sounds good but it's a mantra that is being outflanked. Short term lets are in the cross hairs. Vacancy will be next. The situation is untenable and action will be taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Not worked up, just curious as to which laws our national police force may or may not turn a blind eye to - that's all.

Possible (probable) explanation:

The public order unit is not generally tasked with road policing duties, so they likely don't care. likewise when you encounter a detective - they rarely give a fiddlers fcuk about tax / roadworthiness cerification either.

I would suggest that the Gardai made a conscious decision about priorities at that present moment and decided the most effective use of the manpower available was to ensure the safety of both sides during the enforcement of the court order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

What are the chances that public order unit will be brought out? Does it only happen when it escalates into violent protest or also when it's affecting current state of city? (Blocking roads, access etc...) ?

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Isn’t it possible that one of the Guards spoke to the owner of the van and issued him a ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

In reality, visiting UK (or Spanish or German or whatever) vehicles are not checked for tax in this country.
    Why would the Gardai care if the German government wasn't paid ?

As long as the driver has a licence and insurance thats all they are bothered about.
    An RSA check will look for test cert. and be a different kettle of fish.

Back in the UK you wouldnt last a day without being picked up on a NPRS, either on a squad car or fixed camera.

To be fair, 100,000 houses would be a decade worth of social/public housing. It's still 2.5 billion a year that we realistically don't have.

We shouldn't be building massive amounts of state housing. State housing should only be necessary for a tiny proportion of the population who can't buy or rent under their own steam. You're talking 2-3%, maximum.

Affordable housing sounds like a cop-out, the state pushing the obligation onto private enterprise, but why shouldn't it? We should be aiming for a place where most people pay for their own home, not where most people rent from the state.

Can someone please tell these morons and Ruth and her cronies we simply don’t have that money???????

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Occupy vacant houses lying idle for profit in the midst of a housing crisis? While done peacefully and respectfully (i.e. not ruining the interior of the property or violently resisting, etc) I'm behind you.

The sit down stuff on O'Connell street doesn't help your cause however. It fuels the divide and conquer narrative the media successfully peddle to the sheep and is so frequently expressed here on boards. It's just not good strategy. This happened a couple of times during the water protests. The protests would successfully march and rally through town, then a rump end of extremists blocked O'Connell bridge. I support the former I don't support the latter. And you want my support.

Judging by Twitter, maybe they don't.

https://twitter.com/Rubberbandits/status/1039956427526365184

Apparently what you want is less important. Plenty of them very difficult to engage with unless you put their cause above all else in importance, giving out about slowing commuters is being part of the problem...

Normally I would be against this sort of protest but we live in extraordinary times. For years politicians have been saying that they were going to stop the hoarding of vacant land and property. That has not happened. It's needs to. There should be a policy of use it or lose it. The state needs to build homes again. In this country we have gotten obsessed with investing in property rather than viewing it as a home. There needs to be proper laws protecting long term renters.

Apart from the obvious issues for people who are homeless the property situation at the moment is impacting on the economy. Those who are paying high rent have a reduced or nonexistent disposable income. Foreign companies will avoid the country because they can't guarantee their employees can get a home.

As for the gardai yesterday the optics were dreadful. They protected a bunch of anonymous heavies who were themselves breaking the law with a van that wasn't taxed or ncted and parked illegally. No wonder the lads had balaclavas on, you normally act like that when you're ashamed.

Nail on the head. When you have people with lower expectations than their parents for housing despite earning more supporting such a use of Gardai resource and slamming these protests it shows how successful the divide and conquer narrative is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Berserker wrote: »

How did they manage this? Its has taken me 5 hours each time I have gone.

I must take up the old protesting :P

Can someone please tell these morons and Ruth and her cronies we simply don’t have that money???????

Once that useless shower have defaulted on our national debt commitments, stolen the Apple money, introduced a wealth tax etc etc there'll be money for everything.

Simple!

naughtb4 wrote: »

I must take up the old protesting :P

Squeaky wheel always gets the oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

guylikeme wrote: »
    i'd like to hear why Gardai wore Balacalavas. Seems a little overdone.
    It keeps their ears warm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

naughtb4 wrote: »

Boredom kicked in and they went home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Let’s say 250,000 each.

we dont need 100,000 social houses. 3,000 maximum would solve most of the issue. opening up vacant council houses would solve more and moving people into empty units around the country also would help more.

3,000????

Where did you get that from.

Interesting

Very simplistic view. An awful lot of people in this country are "married" to onerous mortgages that they can barely afford to service. So a very high proportion are not alright.
    Here's something I genuinely don't understand. Irish households are earning more now than we did during the boom; rental and property prices are higher than they were during the boom, and the country is almost at full employment.

So with these combination of factors, even if a person took out a mortgage at the height of the boom, why exactly are they unable to service and repay it? The economic conditions are better now than they were when the mortgage was drawn down.