Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Intimidation by a minor: is the parent legally responsible?

• 14-09-2018 7:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭

Situation briefly is that children way under 10 years are making life miserable for a woman living alone in a city housing estate. Throwing stones at her windows. Shouting at her. Taking stuff from her garden. Scratching her car. She lives alone since her husband died. The City Council has offered to move her, but she loves her house and the memories of her life with her husband are tied up there. Also she has done nothing wrong and cannot see why she should be the one to move when all she wants is to live in peace. Gardai say they cannot intervene because the children are minors.
    Yesterday a five year old threw stones at the windows and used a stick to break her letter box. She shouted at him to stop.
    Hours later the child’s mum arrived at her door and screamed obscenities at her for shouting at her child. The scene lasted for a number of minutes.
    The experience has shattered her. She is in her fifties and not in good health. Aside from leaving her home, does she have options in law?
    Any comments appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

corkdave wrote: »
    Situation briefly is that children way under 10 years are making life miserable for a woman living alone in a city housing estate. Throwing stones at her windows. Shouting at her. Taking stuff from her garden. Scratching her car. She lives alone since her husband died. The City Council has offered to move her, but she loves her house and the memories of her life with her husband are tied up there. Also she has done nothing wrong and cannot see why she should be the one to move when all she wants is to live in peace. Gardai say they cannot intervene because the children are minors.
    Yesterday a five year old threw stones at the windows and used a stick to break her letter box. She shouted at him to stop.
    Hours later the child’s mum arrived at her door and screamed obscenities at her for shouting at her child. The scene lasted for a number of minutes.
    The experience has shattered her. She is in her fifties and not in good health. Aside from leaving her home, does she have options in law?
    Any comments appreciated.

It’s not answering your question but how can that child be anything but a blight on society for the next 20-30 years with a parent like that. I feel sorry for the lady in question

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

What sort of vermin would torment a widow like that. Is it in a council estate?

It's not good enough that the guards wash their hands of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Coat some stones in poison.

I’m joking of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭corkdave

backspin. wrote: »
    Is it in a council estate? .
    Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,391 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Vital information missing from the OP.

How did this situation come about?

Is it lots of children from the neighbourhood who are behaving like thisor just children of a particular family?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭tuisginideach

Surely that's anti-social behaviour - council needs to step in and deal with the problem, not the victim.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭delboythedub

INSTALL CCTV ???

• Registered Users Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭Homer

You can get cheap cctv cameras that will record this little sh1ts activities and then bring him and/or his family to court and have them evicted as it’s fairly obvious they are living at the generosity of the local council :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,886 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Surely that's anti-social behaviour - council needs to step in and deal with the problem, not the victim.

Realistically, what can the council do? No judge will order an eviction in those circumstances.

The issue with legal recourse is that ferals have usually already got long criminal histories anyway: they don't fear legal action.

Personally I would consult with a local councillor from a political party which has a reputation for para legal solutions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭massy086

Call sf they will knee-cap them for yaðŸ˜ðŸ˜

Mod
    Massyo86
    Pls do not post again on this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 8 bushcraft90

They are below the age of criminal responsibility (12) so the gardai can't charge them. Although it might be worth while talking to the local Garda juvenile liasion officer (specialist gardai who deal with children) who may have a talk with the families about it and see if anything can be done.

Alternatively when a child is below the age of criminal responsibility they fall under the jurisdiction of Tusla who I'm sure with proof might be interested in why the young children are allowed out without proper supervision again they probably won't do much but it will put pressure on the families

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Vital information missing from the OP.

How did this situation come about?

Is it lots of children from the neighbourhood who are behaving like thisor just children of a particular family?

Problem started some years after her husband died. Local children saw her as a soft target. The original group are now teenagers and no longer bother her. This is a new generation of younger children.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭corks finest

Chav mammy/ chav kids,no responsibility,when seeing mammy boozing, shouting roaring, causing havoc with neighbours ,it's normal for these scrotes,have it here in carrigaline for years on/ off,price of living in a sinkhole,won't change,one gang opposite me have been brought to court for eviction,Cluid housing made a balls up of some paperwork, result chav and kid and partying continues

Personally I would consult with a local councillor from a political party which has a reputation for para legal solutions.
    Part of the problem is that she has no network of local friends. She is a quiet dignified woman who has no experience of having to fend for herself when faced with any threat.
    Thanks for the suggestions though. I am contacting her this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

If only we had some more Corkdaves about the place, fair play to you. It must be awful feeling under siege like that in your own home.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Doniekp

corkdave wrote: »
    Part of the problem is that she has no network of local friends. She is a quiet dignified woman who has no experience of having to fend for herself when faced with any threat.
    Thanks for the suggestions though. I am contacting her this morning.

Fair play Dave, lots of people would just ignore the situation as its not effecting them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Honestly I would tell her to cut her losses and move. Those children and their families are not going anywhere, and like you said these are a new wave of troublemakers; when they grow up another younger wave will take their place.
    It's sad and it isn't right but these kids always look for the easy target and it looks like she has become their choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,640 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Chav mammy/ chav kids,no responsibility,when seeing mammy boozing, shouting roaring, causing havoc with neighbours ,it's normal for these scrotes,have it here in carrigaline for years on/ off,price of living in a sinkhole,won't change,one gang opposite me have been brought to court for eviction,Cluid housing made a balls up of some paperwork, result chav and kid and partying continues

And Chav Daddy has absolutely no responsibility for the situation, no? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Dial Hard wrote: »
    And Chav Daddy has absolutely no responsibility for the situation, no? :rolleyes:
    The Chav Daddy is quite often absent.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Realistically, what can the council do? No judge will order an eviction in those circumstances.

The issue with legal recourse is that ferals have usually already got long criminal histories anyway: they don't fear legal action.

When we went to a Labour councilor to get help dealing with a family bringing in a large gang of yobs to do their dirty work. She ended up trying to get some votes by going to the local paper saying that she was going to deal with anti social behavior in the area. Ended up on the front page, which made it 10 times worse as the yobs wanted to show that they didn’t care.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,557 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

INSTALL CCTV ???
    Homer wrote: »
    You can get cheap cctv cameras that will record this little sh1ts activities and then bring him and/or his family to court and have them evicted as it’s fairly obvious they are living at the generosity of the local council :mad:

CCTV is a completely different consideration now due to GDPR.

Even so, you'd have to have cameras covering all areas so that someone interfering with one camera would be seen on another. And even if you can set this up, expect one or more with their faces covered so they can't be identified to target the cameras.

My heart goes out to the lady mentioned in the OP. Wish she stood a better chance of getting support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Unfortunately, this is a regular occurrence in a lot of estates around the country, and it goes across the social divide. From my experience, well-run estates with little anti-social activity is usually the result of parents participation.
    Many kids are allowed to get away with harassing type of behaviour because of the parents' inaction. And when you go to the parent(s), many become immediately defensive and look at you as if you are the problem.

The correct societal response should be the legal route.
    If your kids are misbehaving to the point of criminal damage and harassment, then their parents should be fined. The legal authorities of the State should be involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,211 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

The council can warn the wrongdoers they will be moved. I threatened this on a brat from a council estate. I asked him if he wanted to move house. All messing stopped.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,232 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

The council can warn the wrongdoers they will be moved. I threatened this on a brat from a council estate. I asked him if he wanted to move house. All messing stopped.

He probably thought you were asking him to move in with you,scared him rightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

CCTV is a completely different consideration now due to GDPR.

Even so, you'd have to have cameras covering all areas so that someone interfering with one camera would be seen on another. And even if you can set this up, expect one or more with their faces covered so they can't be identified to target the cameras.

My heart goes out to the lady mentioned in the OP. Wish she stood a better chance of getting support.

We need a “Godwin’s law” type nickname for over estimation of GDPR; it’s still a question of proportionality, little different from the status quo ante as regards DP.

“ Security of premises or other property is probably the most common use of a CCTV system. Such a system will typically be intended to capture images of intruders or of individuals damaging property or removing goods without authorisation. Such uses are more likely to meet the test of proportionality.”

• Registered Users Posts: 25,886 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

When we went to a Labour councilor to get help dealing with a family bringing in a large gang of yobs to do their dirty work. She ended up trying to get some votes by going to the local paper saying that she was going to deal with anti social behavior in the area. Ended up on the front page, which made it 10 times worse as the yobs wanted to show that they didn’t care.

Wrong party.

Labour may see itself as for the workers, but they don't understand how feral minds work and what it takes to motivate behaviour change.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

imho Housing authority should deal with this as anti-social conduct

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

First of all there is no such thing as a private housing estate any more. Speculators buy houses on “private” estates sometimes 3 or 4 at a time and let them to families who should be, and would be happier in, local authority estates.
    In some ” private” estates up to 55% of houses are rented to families who are in receipt of HAP. Not all of these families are the source of trouble but all the trouble will be caused by children from these families.
    Nothing can and will be done about these children. They are now in a second sometimes third generation of family where nobody has ever had a job, there are no rules except that you must make sure that no one tells you what to do. Ever. Nobody else has any rights or entitlements except you and your family. If anyone ever anywhere including school try’s to stop you doing what you want to do then attack attack attack.
    This lady needs to sadly take the help offered by the local authority and move out.

Dial Hard wrote: »

Didn't mention daddy on purpose,,,,,in general he doesn't exist in the scrotes world,,had to ring the law last night,,teens tormenting a mentally ill guy nearby ,so it goes on,on,on.

nuac wrote: »
    imho Housing authority should deal with this as anti-social conduct
    They don't in general, cork co coincil ,gardai,and hse got involved a few years ago here in carrigaline,3 chav mammies were told in writing control yere teens or ye could lose tenancy, result? Trouble stopped ,or moved on elsewhere