Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The 70's and 80's in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

whitey1 wrote: »
    Remember all the Lada jokes

What’s the difference between driving a Lada and putting your hand inside Kylie Minogues knickers?

What’s the difference between a Lada and a Tampon?

Why does a Lada have a heated rear window!

took me a while to get the first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

took me a while to get the first one.

Still not getting it!

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Still not getting it!

actually i'm not sure i do get it. I was thinking of a different one:

What's the difference between being caught inside Kylie Minogue's Bra and being caught inside a Skoda ?
    You feel a bigger tit in a Skoda !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

actually i'm not sure i do get it. I was thinking of a different one:

What's the difference between being caught inside Kylie Minogue's Bra and being caught inside a Skoda ?
    You feel a bigger tit in a Skoda !

I think the joke with kylie in it should have had a male, the punchline being you'd feel a bigger b0ll0cks driving a lada

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Azatadine wrote: »
    Yeah, I always thought he was Falcon Eddie too. Actually, if there was a list of bad eggs out there, he would be top of the list.
    He was about 10 years on from the original "one armed man" in The Fugitive.
    A Quinn Martin Production.

nthclare wrote: »
    Ahhh yes the 70's and 80's

Never heard of sjw's, no manginas, no femminazis....

Men were men and women loved men they didn't hate us guy's.

Kids loved nature, kids stayed out in the rain and loved it.

We lit fire's, cooked on those fire's, dad would build a tree house and if you fell out of it tough ****.

Someone would only claim compensation if they were badly injured.

Ah yes the 70's and 80's a great decade for real men.

Men were supposedly better than women lol

As a girl born in 1961, from the getgo I felt very naturally that females were equal human beings, without anybody suggesting it to me. I was brought to Dublin Airport Control Tower regularly as my parents were friends with Chief air traffic controller Tom Donovan, and developed a huge interest in aviation, which I have to thus day. As a little girl I adored all things mechanical, and LEGO was my favourite toy out of which I built interesting little houses. My mother always had to tell people to give me boys toys when they suggested giving me a birthday or Christmas present. As a teenager I also loved boys and putting on make-up. When looming a future career prospect I was absolutely outraged about the male/female pay differential. Mother used to try and explain it by saying men most often had to pay for raising a family. This didn’t cut the mustard, I said some men do not raise a family and remain single, and some women likewise don’t marry and equally need to buy a place for themselves to live. She said indeed that’s very true, your aunt didn’t marry and she was refused a mortgage as a single woman, even though the mortgage would have been less than the rent she is paying.” And of course it wasn’t so long since women had to cease working once they got married, but as a little kid I thought this was cool enough as I loved having my mother at home. Though she did run her own small business from her house and was always very busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »
    i remember the free 1/4 lt milk cartons we got everyday
    igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I remember goat's milk in triangle shaped tetrapak.

goats milk? in school?........must have been a trendy school you went to

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

I've only been aware of them after watching Threads. As a child of 12! Chilling.

I remember broadcasts by Irish civil service around the same time, showing projected damage on CUH (hospital).

They were the days alright.

Were they shown on RTE, I don't remember those?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

As a girl born in 1961, from the getgo I felt very naturally that females were equal human beings, without anybody suggesting it to me. I was brought to Dublin Airport Control Tower regularly as my parents were friends with Chief air traffic controller Tom Donovan, and developed a huge interest in aviation, which I have to thus day. As a little girl I adored all things mechanical, and LEGO was my favourite toy out of which I built interesting little houses. My mother always had to tell people to give me boys toys when they suggested giving me a birthday or Christmas present. As a teenager I also loved boys and putting on make-up. When looming a future career prospect I was absolutely outraged about the male/female pay differential. Mother used to try and explain it by saying men most often had to pay for raising a family. This didn’t cut the mustard, I said some men do not raise a family and remain single, and some women likewise don’t marry and equally need to buy a place for themselves to live. She said indeed that’s very true, your aunt didn’t marry and she was refused a mortgage as a single woman, even though the mortgage would have been less than the rent she is paying.” And of course it wasn’t so long since women had to cease working once they got married, but as a little kid I thought this was cool enough as I loved having my mother at home. Though she did run her own small business from her house and was always very busy.

I think when some posters on here moan about how women "seem to have it better" and all that guff - they conveniently forget that women in every way were second class citizens in this little country right up to the 1990s.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,656 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Were they shown on RTE, I don't remember those?

They must have been I guess, but I remember it being late night viewing. It was also quite technical and not aimed at your regular viewer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

fryup wrote: »
    i remember the free 1/4 lt milk cartons we got everyday

We got that too from the local co-op. Would be frozen into ice some mornings as they were left out on the wall in the early am before anyone arrived

It wasn't free and your parents paid every term. Some children didn't subscribe. It was dirt cheap though, not paying anywhere near retail price

Sometimes Dawn Dairies would try to muscle in and give free flavoured milk but they never got any deals. The local co-op had this sewn up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,564 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

They must have been I guess, but I remember it being late night viewing. It was also quite technical and not aimed at your regular viewer.

There was a civil defence / Met Eireann exercise thing every year up until some point in the 80s. They used to warn you on RTE not to be alarmed if you turned on your radio to hear fallout reports in the middle of the night (well, not that night.) Remember the old weather maps drawn with a marker? I remember seeing one of those with fallout predictions drawn on it one night, after normal programmes had finished.

Scrap the cap!

JupiterKid wrote: »
    they conveniently forget that women in every way were second class citizens in this little country right up to the 1990s.

This May, really...

Scrap the cap!

There was a civil defence / Met Eireann exercise thing every year up until some point in the 80s. They used to warn you on RTE not to be alarmed if you turned on your radio to hear fallout reports in the middle of the night (well, not that night.) Remember the old weather maps drawn with a marker? I remember seeing one of those with fallout predictions drawn on it one night, after normal programmes had finished.

Yes, thank you, that must have been it.
    What strange parenting I had, for them to show me that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

I've only been aware of them after watching Threads. As a child of 12! Chilling.

I remember broadcasts by Irish civil service around the same time, showing projected damage on CUH (hospital).

By Irish Civil Defence surely?

The civil service - being Dublin based - wouldn't really have worried much about what happened to a mickey mouse hospital somewhere a long way from the capital!

(btw, it was Cork Regional Hospital back then, not CUH!)

Squatter wrote: »
    By Irish Civil Defence surely?

The civil service - being Dublin based - wouldn't really have worried much about what happened to a mickey mouse hospital somewhere a long way from the capital!

(btw, it was Cork Regional Hospital back then, not CUH!)

Yup! That's what I meant. The grey matter is aging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I remember as a kid getting our first colour TV

Imagine the shock I felt when I discovered The Incredible Hulk was green!
    I had never known he was green
    I was like, that's ****in retarded!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Holy Hour in the pubs on Sunday

As I remember they closed for two hours so people would go home for dinner and not go boozing after Mass and stay in the pub all day

It didn’t work as the publicans just locked the doors and pulled down the blinds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I have memories of rural Leitrim during the seventies and eighties of going to mass with the folks, all the lads and men would sit outside the chapel having a chat and a smoke and then go into the chapel for the last five minutes. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

mikemac2 wrote: »

As I remember they closed for two hours so people would go home for dinner and not go boozing after Mass and stay in the pub all day

It didn’t work as the publicans just locked the doors and pulled down the blinds

Holy hour in the pubs on the other days of the week as well. Except that actually was an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Linked on that page

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2016/0526/791179-donegal-disco-doubles-as-nuclear-bunker/
    Donegal hotel prepares for nuclear disaster and hopes to make some money in the process.

Jackson’s Hotel in Ballybofey county Donegal is making an underground disco available as a nuclear shelter at a price of £250 a head.

Barry Jackson, Manager of Jackson’s Hotel, describes the facilities on offer at the hotel and believes that the disco could hold 400 people comfortably in the event of a nuclear accident.

Reporter Cathal MacCoille suggests that people may think he is cashing in on people’s fears as a result of the Chernobyl disaster.

When asked about the public interest in his venture Mr Jackson says

We’ve had nobody paying up front yet.

A ‘Morning Ireland’ report by Cathal MacCoille broadcast on 29 May 1986.

Squatter wrote: »

Most civil servants don't work in Dublin, and wasn't that hospital the biggest in the country at the time, maybe still is?

Someone in the 1960s worked out that ONE fission bomb (not a hydrogen bomb) would overwhelm the entire UK NHS with casualties.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,519 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Most civil servants don't work in Dublin, ...

Back then, the vast majority of civil servants were based in Dublin.

I would think that, even with the various decentralisation phases, the majority of civil servants are still based there.

Unless you are confusing them with public servants, of which they are only a subset.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    I would think that, even with the various decentralisation phases, the majority of civil servants are still based there.

Nope. There were always lots of civil servants working outside Dublin, in garda stations, dole offices, school inspectors, veterinary inspectors, etc. A lot more back office functions moved out of Dublin in the 80s and 90s and that brought the numbers outside Dublin into the majority.

Scrap the cap!

mikemac2 wrote: »

Ya I was a kid, I remember looking out the window at the pub across the street and watching fellas furtively tapping on the door to get in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭Masala

Anyway... with the Season upon us...... Midnight Mass was at MIDNIGHT!!!

Those were the days.... you would always get your 'Christmas Pint' on Christmas Eve so you had to go out or you would miss it!!

then stay on and go straight to midnight mass...

The Pogues summed it up on Sickbed of Cuchulainn.... the crack was mighty down the back of the Church. I felt so bad one time at all the talking and giggling .. that I got up on Xmas Day and went to Mass again!!

You saw a lot of skangery fellas in the 80's who looked like the guy here on the far left. Medium length hair, not quite a mullet and the obligatory wacker tash.

ModsInTramore_large.jpg?width=648&s=ie-462748

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

You saw a lot of skangery fellas in the 80's who looked like the guy here on the far left. Medium length hair, not quite a mullet and the obligatory wacker tash.

ModsInTramore_large.jpg?width=648&s=ie-462748

He looks like Sylvester Stallone with the tash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Dude on the right looks like he photobombed them.

I'd say that two of the three on the left have since come out :)

Scrap the cap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Masala wrote: »

Those were the days.... you would always get your 'Christmas Pint' on Christmas Eve so you had to go out or you would miss it!!

That's why they changed it to 9 - to stop people coming in hammered after the pubs closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Masala wrote: »

The Pogues summed it up on Sickbed of Cuchulainn.... the crack was mighty down the back of the Church. I felt so bad one time at all the talking and giggling .. that I got up on Xmas Day and went to Mass again!!
    I remember a mate's Mammy having to sit between meself and himself at a midnight mass sometime in the mid 80s. I've no idea how or why we ended up there in Dominic St Church after being on the tear all night in Bartley Dunnes and others.

The Lone Ranger cartoon in the 80s. I think it was on every day during the week at teatime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

branie2 wrote: »
    The Lone Ranger cartoon in the 80s. I think it was on every day during the week at teatime.

The Lone Ranger weetabix ad. Whats this we business, pale face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Ipso wrote: »
    The Lone Ranger weetabix ad. Whats this we business, pale face!

Brilliant! Thanks for reminding me of that ad! :D

I was an 80's child and we had one bathroom for 2 adults and 7 kids which seems like luxury compared to what I've heard 70's generation had to put up with. Is it true ye only had one outhouse per street with a chamber pot for nighttime wee wees or was that just a British thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I remember a mate's Mammy having to sit between meself and himself at a midnight mass sometime in the mid 80s. I've no idea how or why we ended up there in Dominic St Church after being on the tear all night in Bartley Dunnes and others.
    Bartley Dunnes Ooooh Vicar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

photos where everyone is smoking

even the children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

nice_guy80 wrote: »

even the children

I was in the Coombe in 1980 and not only were the patients smoking in the rooms but so were the visitors ! The room I was in had 3 out of 6 smokers and it was a smokey haze for the duration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I was in the Coombe in 1980 and not only were the patients smoking in the rooms but so were the visitors ! The room I was in had 3 out of 6 smokers and it was a smokey haze for the duration

My dad was given his first cigarette in hospital by his parents when recovering from having his appendix removed at 11 years old.
    That was the 1940s though.

Another detective series in the 80s was Dempsey & Makepeace, about an American cop and a British detective who joined forces in England

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    When did they ban smoking in maternity wards? It seems crazy now that you could have the newborn in one hand and a cigarette in the other!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

branie2 wrote: »
    Another detective series in the 80s was Dempsey & Makepeace, about an American cop and a British detective who joined forces in England

She is beautiful.. Think she was in eastenders recently

She was, as the mother of Ronnie and Roxy Mitchell

Heroditas wrote: »
    Brilliant! Thanks for reminding me of that ad! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I was an 80's child and we had one bathroom for 2 adults and 7 kids which seems like luxury compared to what I've heard 70's generation had to put up with. Is it true ye only had one outhouse per street with a chamber pot for nighttime wee wees or was that just a British thing?

I recall fairly regularly sharing the bathroom at home with two brothers in the mornings. You'd have one at each of the showering/shaving/sh1tting workstations, rotating every 10 minutes or so. The odour of poop, mixed with cigarette smoke and steam hasn't quite left me yet.

Tell that to the kids today with their en-suites and wet rooms.
    Edgware wrote: »
    Bartley Dunnes Ooooh Vicar!
    It had a real alternative music scene in the 80s, goths (in the days before they were called goths), punks, cureheads and hangers on like me. There was a 'Bartley Dunnes Reunion' guy on Facebook who used to get the crowd back together from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

It had a real alternative music scene in the 80s, goths (in the days before they were called goths), punks, cureheads and hangers on like me. There was a 'Bartley Dunnes Reunion' guy on Facebook who used to get the crowd back together from time to time.

Lots of Joy Division as I remember, it was a good spot, gay gang at the front of house, music nerds and smokers at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

I only made it to Bartley Dunnes towards the end - finally got in summer of 1990. Great spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

nice_guy80 wrote: »

and you had to be that extra careful taking a photo cause you only had 24/36 shots...whereas nowadays you can delete and re-take willy nilly....and then you had the week long wait for them to be processed and then collect them at the chemist