Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 229 Nurmagomedov vs McGregor - Sat Oct 6th **Warning in first post!**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Nurmagomedov by Decision
    this is just like the wwe, too bad tge russian bloke took mcgregors post fight crap talk personal. Perfect business for the dwindling ratings this so called sport is suffering from. Too bad people are oblivious to it. Wouldn't mind, the actual contests are quite boring to watch!

If last night was boring for you then you will never like mma.

Some great fights last night.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

khaldrogo wrote: »
    100% it was
    Of course it was, it was at least related to his ethnicity?

He's mocking him from where he's from, Dagestan is in the second, maybe even third world.

I don't see any religious aspect when he says that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭IsMiseJoe

The Irish must be getting nose bleeds up there on the moral high ground.
    The moral gymnastics been shown by Mcgregor fans is quite a sight to behold. Your boy started all of this. Years ago. He has been allowed act like a toe rag without any meaningful reprisals or sanction.Dragging every pre fight into the gutter.

He was a spoiled brat and was allowed become bigger than the business.

Every indiscretion justified with cries of "genius" "numbers" "marketing" "moving the needle" .

Well guess what boys.The needle got moved. It got shoved clean up your arse. You wanted a war and you ****ing got one. Except this time the playground bully was bigger than yours.

The snake oil salesman has been found out. The emperor has clothes bar his fur coat with no knickers.

If you wrestle with a pig and it gets dirty, the pig might like it.

All the talk of "**** on bus" and "coward" and "tapping windows ".

Who's the tapper now? who looked afraid now?

Slagging off peoples family, culture ,calling them backwards kunts , laughing at other cultures because they don't drink and then the fans have the temerity to be offended when the taste gets slapped out of his mouth.

Manners well and truly put on the lot of them. That was a hiding. Khabib even landed the better punches.

Beaten in the Octagon in the stands and on the streets.

Get the ole ole'rs back to ireland. The streets won't sweep themselves.

Broken, Bloodied and Beaten. You'll die in the class you were born.

Inshallah

Hey that's uncalled for. The ole ole'rs wouldn't lower themselves to sweeping the streets - but they do have to be home by Tuesday to sign on.

But the rest was great!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Nodferatu

Woke up this morning to find Mcgregor lost the fight and got his ass whooped. What a great start to the day. Delighted for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

McGregor by Sub
    IsMiseJoe wrote: »
    Hey that's uncalled for. The ole ole'rs wouldn't lower themselves to sweeping the streets - but they do have to be home by Tuesday to sign on.

But the rest was great!! :D
    Well done for quoting a troll.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    Just watched it a while ago having not heard the result or anything about the shenanigans afterwards.

Delighted the d*ckhead got his arse handed to him again. I was actually laughing at Khabib shouting down at him after he tapped out.

The salty tears out of his fanboys are delicious. Close fight me bollix.

Khabib v Ferguson next hopefully

Mod:Fighter bashing, trolling..see the charter

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭pgj2015

jesus the Irish fans made a show of themselves after the fight. got their asses handed to them by the russians, wouldn't even back each other up, cowards. singing ole ole ole waving the tricolor, ashamed these people are the same nationality as me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

McGregor by Sub
    pgj2015 wrote: »
    jesus the Irish fans made a show of themselves after the fight. got their asses handed to them by the russians, wouldn't even back each other up, cowards. singing ole ole ole waving the tricolor, ashamed these people are the same nationality as me.

It was pitiful, lads with beer bellies hopping around like they're pro-fighters after a big feed of pints. The cringe was off the charts.

Obviously though most fans are just normal people who had no part in it....

Hearing alot of "2016 McGregor would of got a KO", "he was flat-footed", "real McGregor didn't show up" etc. Always a mitigating factor when he loses, isn't there? Same after the first Diaz fight. It's as if when the "real" McGregor shows up he wins no matter what, regardless of what the opponent does. Total arrogance from his fans really.

McGregor was taken down straight away really. He gases all the time too when he gets a few digs, he's not a warrior. Conor came in shape, he wasn't flat-footed trading in round 3, nor was his game off on the night, he simply wasn't let fight his fight, because Khabib showed up to do exactly that. Does it really give people comfort coming up with the "if the real Conor showed up", "2016 Conor" excuses? Every iteration of Conor loses this fight

Nobody is taking anything away from Khabib for winning. He's a beast.

But Conor fought 6 times in 2015/2016. He was in peak condition.

He hasn't fought in 2 years. That obviously has an impact. Saying it doesn't is naive. Training is not the same. Trying to get back in the groove against an opponent like Khabib was madness.

Ever had a hobby and stopped doing it for 2 years? It's not simple to just pick up were you left off.

It was pitiful, lads with beer bellies hopping around like they're pro-fighters after a big feed of pints. The cringe was off the charts.

Obviously though most fans are just normal people who had no part in it....

taking on lads who grew up in a country where military service is compulsory:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

ricero wrote: »
    If last night was boring for you then you will never like mma.

Some great fights last night.

didn't watch nor have i for a long time, maybe it is improving. no doubt mcgragor has had a big influence on tbe sport in general and levels have improved. anyway....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭.G.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    He's mocking him from where he's from, Dagestan is in the second, maybe even third world.

He doesn't drink alcohol because he's a muslim, not because his country is second or third world.

Either way it doesn't make him a backwards c*nt for not drinking alcohol.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,375 ✭✭✭✭blade1

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Pity you weren't there to sort out the Russians!:P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Homer

The Irish must be getting nose bleeds up there on the moral high ground.
    The moral gymnastics been shown by Mcgregor fans is quite a sight to behold. Your boy started all of this. Years ago. He has been allowed act like a toe rag without any meaningful reprisals or sanction.Dragging every pre fight into the gutter.

He was a spoiled brat and was allowed become bigger than the business.

Every indiscretion justified with cries of "genius" "numbers" "marketing" "moving the needle" .

Well guess what boys.The needle got moved. It got shoved clean up your arse. You wanted a war and you ****ing got one. Except this time the playground bully was bigger than yours.

The snake oil salesman has been found out. The emperor has clothes bar his fur coat with no knickers.

If you wrestle with a pig and it gets dirty, the pig might like it.

All the talk of "**** on bus" and "coward" and "tapping windows ".

Who's the tapper now? who looked afraid now?

Slagging off peoples family, culture ,calling them backwards kunts , laughing at other cultures because they don't drink and then the fans have the temerity to be offended when the taste gets slapped out of his mouth.

Manners well and truly put on the lot of them. That was a hiding. Khabib even landed the better punches.

Beaten in the Octagon in the stands and on the streets.

Get the ole ole'rs back to ireland. The streets won't sweep themselves.

Broken, Bloodied and Beaten. You'll die in the class you were born.

Inshallah

Couldn't agree more with this but unfortunately if you post it in a forum of mcgregor fans/wannabes they aren't going to agree with you unfortunately. The truth hurts as they say.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

I saw one fight online between fans outside the arena, 2 different angles, where the lad in the white shirt gets KTFO at the end, was there much more trouble?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭sxt

If McGregor got fined 150k for launching water bottles at a press conference by nevada...

How much is Khabib going to get fined for launching himself out of the octagon at someone,on live TV, and inciting a riot in a Las Vegas casino... ¿?

Yikes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Ethnic slandering is just as bad. You would think a "proud Irishman", as he sells his spiel would be aware of the effect of degrading someone's heritage/nationality/culture to a title like backwards.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

superg wrote: »
    He doesn't drink alcohol because he's a muslim, not because his country is second or third world.

Either way it doesn't make him a backwards c*nt for not drinking alcohol.

I still don't see that as him mocking Islam.

Also not all Muslims don't drink, like not all Christians go to Mass every week, so it's not sure if McGregor knew Muslims are not meant to drink.

Let's be realistic there are many things to say to mock Islam.

blade1 wrote: »
    Pity you weren't there to sort out the Russians!:P

it would have been a bloodbath:pac:

Ethnic slandering is just as bad. You would think a "proud Irishman", as he sells his spiel would be aware of the effect of degrading someone's heritage/nationality/culture to a title like backwards.

Not really as Khabib had no problem talking about McGregor's nationality.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,423 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Nobody is taking anything away from Khabib for winning. He's a beast.

But Conor fought 6 times in 2015/2016. He was in peak condition.

He hasn't fought in 2 years. That obviously has an impact. Saying it doesn't is naive. Training is not the same. Trying to get back in the groove against an opponent like Khabib was madness.

Ever had a hobby and stopped doing it for 2 years? It's not simple to just pick up were you left off.

Man, the gulf here was huge. McGregor hardly touched Khabib in any meaningful way. Even taking into account an improvement from McGregor, he still ain't beating this guy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

Nurmagomedov by Sub

He was mocking that Islamic wording they say after saying something. Inshala or whatever it is. McGregor was rhyming something that sounded like it after khabib was saying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Ah, I forgot that two wrongs make a right.................

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

From what I can see, two things cannot be disputed.

1) Khabib absolutely mauled Conor. Conor's takedown defense was great to a certain point but Khabib still managed to take him down and submit him. Khabib dominated the fight as a whole.

2) Conor just about edged Round 3 10-9 for me.

backspin. wrote: »
    He was mocking that Islamic wording they say after saying something. Inshala or whatever it is. McGregor was rhyming something that sounded like it after khabib was saying it.

If he said he it he said it, I didn't see it though
    Ah, I forgot that two wrongs make a right.................

Ah here it's very common place for fighters to mock where opponents are from.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,013 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Watched it this morning.

Aspen Ladd, beast.

Lewis with the greatest post fight interview of all time.

Ferguson and Pettis with one of the best ten minute brawls you will ever see.

An odd main event. Khabib won the first round due to control, but that was all. Second round he was dominant, but although the commentators were going wild, his ground and pound missed more than it hit, at one point he punched the mat full force. Surprised he didn't break his hand. Thought the ref did a good job of not stepping in, and I think towards the end of the ground and pound you can hear Conor shouting "I'm okay" while covering up.

Third round, Conor recovered, and won the round, stuffing almost every take down attempt, with a quick trip that he got back up from, but he was still wasn't using his range and precision like he normally would. Standing way too close, so much so that his corner advised him against it between rounds.

Then he did the same in the fourth, got taken down, tried to roll to start a sweep, but Khabib rolled with him, and took his back, and tried to lock in the RNC. Didn't quite get his arm under, so turned it into a modifed neck crank, which Conor tried briefly to escape from, and then tapped to prevent any serious damage.

Then Khabib went crazy, tried to double foot stomp on Danis' head. Conor tried jumping the cage after him, but was grabbed by security, then Khabibs coach tried climbing the cage, so Conor climbed up and hit him, and was again dragged off the cage, when Khabib's teammates jumped the fence and attacked him from behind.

Absolutely crazy stuff, just mental.

It obviously goes back to the bus incident, which goes back to the Lobov incident. Hopefully this'll be the end of it, but there's huge money in a rematch, because despite it being a clear win for Khabib (even on points before the finish), it's not the mauling that some people have described, and the brawl sells the rematch by itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,436 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

McGregor by Sub
    A question on Round 3. For me, it's conceivable that either of them won it and while watching it live, I definitely thought Khabib was slowing down. However, it was clear at this stage he had no respect for McGregor's power. He stood right in front of him, centre of the Octagon, hands down.

My question is was he really slowing down (and thus was there a ray of light for McGregor) or was he just taking it off, waiting to re-engage in the 4th? Think he only went for two takedown attempts in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

From what I can see, two things cannot be disputed.

1) Khabib absolutely mauled Conor. Conor's takedown defense was great to a certain point but Khabib still managed to take him down and submit him. Khabib dominated the fight as a whole.

2) Conor just about edged Round 3 10-9 for me.

Nope. Didn't win a round. Done relatively ok against takedowns to save some face, but got destroyed. I don't think his heart was in it. He looked tired from the off. He wasn't hungry.

I expected him to have moved more, used sharper footwork, mixed up the hands, made Khabib miss, confused Khabib's sense of distance, and got him frustrated. He has those fast twitch muscle reactions, he could have chinned him, whatever it was he was definitely was capable of a better showing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Rivet

Khabib gave nothing more than a light hearted dig about Irish people speaking English. Harmless compared to the nastiness that came from McGregor and Khabib was only responding, not initiating. McGregor on the other hand attacks even if his opponent is respectful toward him.

Imagine if McGregor wasn't Irish and was fighting an Irish fighter. He'd have said a lot worse than the banter we heard from Khabib. The famine, the IRA, the Catholic Church. Nothing would have been off limits.