Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

spurshero wrote:
    Let’s win tomo first and see where we are then . Meath are not as bad as table suggests they were very unlucky v Mayo and were far from disgraced down in Kerry last week . They will get a result soon let’s hope it’s not tomo .

As I sit here in Navan I'm somewhat worried. And maybe tomorrow will show what mindset PJ has instilled in these lads. Go from 2002 up to recent times how many "easy" games have Galway footballers been red hot favourites and lost. Antrim, Sligo, Westmeath, Tipp to name but a few when the wheels fell off in games we couldn't lose. PJ was a ruthless player. He never took a point when a goal was on. And hopefully he'll instill that cut throat attitude in these lads. This is probably the first game Galway are clear cut favourites. They need to handle that mantle as well. Couple more steps and we could be in a league final. With that can come belief. Match belief and talent and you never know.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭threeball

spurshero wrote: »
    Let’s win tomo first and see where we are then . Meath are not as bad as table suggests they were very unlucky v Mayo and were far from disgraced down in Kerry last week . They will get a result soon let’s hope it’s not tomo .

I wasn't counting chickens but was outlining the position tonights result affords us. I also amn't one to go for the don't talk us up lest we come crashing down approach. This management team aren't either.

We can and should win tomorrow, Meath are not bad but we are better and we should go in there with that ruthless belief that their is a job to do in a professional manner. Give Meath the respect they deserve by putting in a performance against them, not just bigging them up beforehand.

Power on the bench. Slowly but surely returning.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Comer out with hamstring injury according to the wireless.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭testtech05

Comer out with hamstring injury according to the wireless.

Who is replacing him do ya know?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,339 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

testtech05 wrote: »

D'Arcy apparently.

McDaid out too. O'Donnell starting in his place.

D'Arcy apparently.

McDaid out too. O'Donnell starting in his place.

Ian Burke on the bench.

testtech05 wrote: »

Darcy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭elefant

Nice to hear Shane knock that free over and stick it to that crowd. Serious jeering out of them.

Farragher subbed off for Conroy.

Meath 1-6 Galway 0-5

Galway score last 4 points of the half. They have the wind for the 2nd half.

Farragher subbed off for Conroy.

I'd like to have seen him get a run in the second half. Hard to make an impact as a corner forward against a big breeze. Not good for confidence to only get 30 mins too.

Good to draw back that lead against that breeze.

FT

Meath 1-12 Galway 1-14

Conroy had a stormer after coming off the bench.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Huge win in the hurling. Have to say Jason Flynn was excellent. Took a cracking goal after he'd missed a sitter and made an absolute nuisance of himself to Cork. Conor Cooney also worked his bollocks off. Both goals were excellent too.

Mac and Morrissey really impressed me bar Mac's unfortunate brain fart.

Tuohey and Brennan off the bench swung it along with two great frees from Niland.

Only worries would be Padraic Mannion. Felt he's been off form for a year in all honesty.

He has but he seems to be carrying an injury at the moment which probably doesn't help.

Well done to sarsfields.congrats to them.great win

There won’t be a drop of porter left in bullaun

• Registered Users Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭Robson99

Huge win in the hurling. Have to say Jason Flynn was excellent. Took a cracking goal after he'd missed a sitter and made an absolute nuisance of himself to Cork. Conor Cooney also worked his bollocks off. Both goals were excellent too.

Mac and Morrissey really impressed me bar Mac's unfortunate brain fart.

Tuohey and Brennan off the bench swung it along with two great frees from Niland.

Of all the players you have mentioned there P Mannion would be the least of the worries.
    Both C Cooney and J Flynn have been missing since we won the All Ireland

Robson99 wrote: »
    Of all the players you have mentioned there P Mannion would be the least of the worries.
    Both C Cooney and J Flynn have been missing since we won the All Ireland

Cooney was pretty good today. Cathal Mannion was excellent apart from missed frees. Would have had a good few scores to spare if joe was taking frees today.
    Daithi coming back will be a big boost. Whelan worked hard but had little joy today. Flynn is still too wasteful. He needs 10 chances to score 3.

Wonder if Joe Cooney came back for the Sarsfield all Ireland. Did he have relations playing?

Paul Conroy on his own more or less won the game for Galway. Won the frees. Kicked the scores. Positives after that are few and far between. Kickouts were so poor I feel Gleeson may now be in trouble for his spot. Defenders struggled with the runners all day. A lot of niggling ****e all over pitch. Including between management late in the first half! Brannigan scored a point but did not have his usual influence. D'Arcy gave a shocking hand pass that ended up in a goal but otherwise thought he was ok. Varley was his usual out in from all day and is a great link player. Shane Walsh left some scores behind him but was still unmarkable some of his distribution was phenomenal. The point to put us back in front in injury time was a thing of beauty. Farragher was never in the game until replaced by PC. Competition for places is increasing week on week. All roads to the Mayo game who like Meath will be fighting for their lives.

threeball wrote: »
    Cooney was pretty good today. Cathal Mannion was excellent apart from missed frees. Would have had a good few scores to spare if joe was taking frees today.
    Daithi coming back will be a big boost. Whelan worked hard but had little joy today. Flynn is still too wasteful. He needs 10 chances to score 3.

Wonder if Joe Cooney came back for the Sarsfield all Ireland. Did he have relations playing?

Not sure if he was back but his sister Maria is on that team.

Paul Conroy on his own more or less won the game for Galway. Won the frees. Kicked the scores. Positives after that are few and far between. Kickouts were so poor I feel Gleeson may now be in trouble for his spot. Defenders struggled with the runners all day. A lot of niggling ****e all over pitch. Including between management late in the first half! Brannigan scored a point but did not have his usual influence. D'Arcy gave a shocking hand pass that ended up in a goal but otherwise thought he was ok. Varley was his usual out in from all day and is a great link player. Shane Walsh left some scores behind him but was still unmarkable some of his distribution was phenomenal. The point to put us back in front in injury time was a thing of beauty. Farragher was never in the game until replaced by PC. Competition for places is increasing week on week. All roads to the Mayo game who like Meath will be fighting for their lives.

Niggling between the management camps or within the Galway camp. We have a tendency to follow a great performance with a poor one. Sometimes within the same game!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Niggling between the management camps or within the Galway camp. We have a tendency to follow a great performance with a poor one. Sometimes within the same game!

True but if you can scrape over the line on a bad day it's a great sign

• Registered Users Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Conroy's point from the sideline in the second half, one of the best ive seen. Tapped it with the instep. He was phenomenal

Galway very sloppy and naive in the first half. Sometimes you have to cede to the elements. Open through the middle time and again. Second half performance was good, albiet gifted a goal. Sean Kelly's a fine little player. We need serious kickout work before championship if Glesson is to be no.1. Midfielders dug in well, but it's just not on to kick to midfield and let them hang against a wind like that. Hopefully Comer's injury isnt too bad, we're not the same without him. Great leadership from Walsh near the end after an up and down day

Niggling between the two camps. Meath selector squaring up to Pj. Game was the same throughout. A lot of lads spent a lot of time on the ground wrestling.

The cheek. Still bitter over the Joyce demolition job of Meath in 01 maybe

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Conroy's point from the sideline in the second half, one of the best ive seen. Tapped it with the instep. He was phenomenal

Galway very sloppy and naive in the first half. Sometimes you have to cede to the elements. Open through the middle time and again. Second half performance was good, albiet gifted a goal. Sean Kelly's a fine little player. We need serious kickout work before championship if Glesson is to be no.1. Midfielders dug in well, but it's just not on to kick to midfield and let them hang against a wind like that. Hopefully Comer's injury isnt too bad, we're not the same without him. Great leadership from Walsh near the end after an up and down day

We simply have to have our centre back and full back hold position. As it stands Daly or whoever is playing there charges off upfield to support the attack which is grand as long as we don't get turned over. When we do we end up coughing up goal chances. If we don't change that by the Dublin came they'll carve us up like the Christmas turkey. Kickouts won't be sorted by then but do need a ton of work.

Tbh Dublin beating us by about 16 points could nearly be a positive thing if it happens in Salthill. Less so in a league final. It's going to happen with what theyre at eventually and would much rather they got the shock to the system before championship. Even in second half against the wind, Meath still cut through at times and probably shouldve tried work a goal instead of tapping over. Mulkerrin, while talented, has a tendency to be dragged out of position. Would agree that Daly would probably be better served holding his position, especially given the maurading the two corners are doing

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Tbh Dublin beating us by about 16 points could nearly be a positive thing if it happens in Salthill. Less so in a league final. It's going to happen with what theyre at eventually and would much rather they got the shock to the system before championship. Even in second half against the wind, Meath still cut through at times and probably shouldve tried work a goal instead of tapping over. Mulkerrin, while talented, has a tendency to be dragged out of position. Would agree that Daly would probably be better served holding his position, especially given the maurading the two corners are doing

I think Mulkerrin is probably getting pulled out because his support, particularly the CB is hanging him out to dry and hes trying to cover two bases. It has to stop. We don't need 13 attackers.

Second goal vs Donegal was completely his fault, getting pulled into challenging a man around the 45 when no need. Don't want to be picking on him, there's countless occasions theyre being sliced open and the missed chances should be treated the same as scored ones. Id hope there's some serious video analysis being done. Dont want to be too negative, as its been a dream overall so far

• Registered Users Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

I think Mulkerrin is probably getting pulled out because his support, particularly the CB is hanging him out to dry and hes trying to cover two bases. It has to stop. We don't need 13 attackers.

😂😂😂 ah but it's glorious when it's working