Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

seligehgit wrote: »
    Aodan Mac Gearailt later in the half said the wind was assisting Dublin.:confused:

It must be swirly one.

Yeah, it seems a hard one to pin down (the wind). Some flags seem to be blowing towards the canal end while others seem to be blowing towards the hill :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

seligehgit wrote: »
    Aodan Mac Gearailt later in the half said the wind was assisting Dublin.:confused:

It must be swirly one.

It is swirling. Just looking at the green flag there and it's blowing in all directions.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭threeball

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Your team is winning. Both teams are trying to play in poor conditions and a cut up pitch and there are only 5/6 posts relating to the actual match and all of them are blaming Dublin on fouling.
    I think ye are playing the victim here lads.

What victim, we're winning. We're just calling the game as it is. If you are too sensitive to take it on board then head off back to the Dublin thread. If you can't see its fouling then you don't even know the rules of the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

threeball wrote: »
    What victim, we're winning. We're just calling the game as it is. If you are too sensitive to take it on board then head off back to the Dublin thread. If you can't see its fouling then you don't even know the rules of the game.

I've said it already. It's not one way traffic. Both teams are at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Two big losses

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Poor fcuker, unluckily injury, could cost galway

Great goal

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

Some lovely football being played by Galway. A few classy looking footballers too.

Kicking long range frees from your hand is criminal.

Far too inaccurate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Jizique

Fann Linn wrote: »
    I've said it already. It's not one way traffic. Both teams are at it.

12 Dublin fouls to 6 just shown there

Jizique wrote: »
    12 Dublin fouls to 6 just shown there

And that's just the ones called. You could double it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

You hate to see that type of pricking about that Culhane was at there when a point was on. Two soft points given away on the counter.

Silly pot shots killing us. They could take a bit of time in the build up rather than throw away possession

You hate to see that type of pricking about that Culhane was at there when a point was on. Two soft points given away on the counter.

Be some sickner to leave an AI we should have won by 10pts behind us.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭testtech05

threeball wrote: »
    Be some sickness to leave an AI we should have won by 10pts behind us.

That was a poor miss being Tomo

This is shaping up a bit like the minor final from last year...

testtech05 wrote: »
    That was a poor miss being Tomo

Getting a bad feeling about this one. Another one thrown away

One point in 20mins.

Your lead will only go one way when that happens.

Theres always a correlation as well between losing kick outs and momentum.

Galway just bombed a number down the middle which is the one area youre turning into a 50/50 and Dublin have kicked off at least 5 in a row short to a target.

Dublin zonal marking just like the senior team and we're man marking just like ours and both getting the same results.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭elefant

Would've loved to see a free out for diving there.

elefant wrote: »
    Would've loved to see a free out for diving there.

Yes, that was a dive but gill had his hand on the back in the second instance that could well have given a free in.

We made that awful hard on ourselves. We should have won that by 4 or 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

That was some dive by dublin no, 4 in an attempt to cheat a free. Delighted the ref didn't fall for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Well done Galway,Dublin are never easily beaten.

Got over the line.

Very good team of young fellas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

My heart. Awesome.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭Tellyium

That’s one of the most satisfying ones ever! We nearly threw it away, but what a way to win. I couldn’t care if it was a free or not for Dublin at the end - after that dive he deserved nathin

• Registered Users Posts: 18,760 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Fair play Galway. Hopefully a good few will break into senior!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Well done Galway, I'm a Mayo man living in enemy territory, now for the double over the Dubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

UsBus wrote: »
    That was some dive by dublin no, 4 in an attempt to cheat a free. Delighted the ref didn't fall for it.

Im a galway man and it was a free all day long. Mistake was he got up. Well done Galway. We need to bring a few of these guys through.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Cracking result but by jaysus they nearly lost it on their own.

Culhane was excellent before the goal but just melted after.

Glynn was sensational.

Congrats to the lads on an All-Ireland win.

Also delighted that ginger no.4 didn't get his reward for that dive. Hate to see it.

One point in 20mins.

Your lead will only go one way when that happens.

Theres always a correlation as well between losing kick outs and momentum.

Galway just bombed a number down the middle which is the one area youre turning into a 50/50 and Dublin have kicked off at least 5 in a row short to a target.

Dublin zonal marking just like the senior team and we're man marking just like ours and both getting the same results.

Don't know how you make out the man to man wasn't working. We were quite clearly on top throughout 50 mins and the man to msn served us well. Dublin should have lost that by 10 so their zonal marking was clearly doing fcuk all.

We just always seem to find a way to throw away dominance in both codes. Hernon was a big loss in midfield. If we can cut out our habit of carrying into contact there'll be some good additions there. Our corner backs were outstanding.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Tellyium wrote: »
    That’s one of the most satisfying ones ever! We nearly threw it away, but what a way to win. I couldn’t care if it was a free or not for Dublin at the end - after that dive he deserved nathin

That dive was a disgrace, no place for it in a GAA game.