Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metallica for Slane 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 18,112 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Camping only way to go if you don't want hassle.

Left cork Saturday morning at 4am, got to campsite at 7.45. few beers got settled before 9, sleep till 12, few more beers cooked bit food on the disposable bbq and some salads brought from home. More beers chatting to car next to me, then strolled down to castle to meet my mates about 3.

Back to my tent at 12, few more beers chat with the people around about the gig, sleep about 1. Up at 8 on the road at 8.30, home in cork having breakfast at 11.30

Only thing was it was absolutely freezing but that's what you get for been cheap and buying a sleeping bag for 15 euro.

In contrast two lads that bussed got home at 6. Two girls I know drove up had to walk two hours to the green car park, spent another hour getting out of there and then 4 hours driving back to cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

They've been saying that for years and it's never happened

It could this time around though as the band has been seen going into a warehouse together to record their new album. Let me have my hope :P. I have always wanted to see them but havent yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

killanena wrote: »
    They said at the end ACDC are rumored for next year. That will sell out in minutes if thats the case lol..

Is Brian Johnson back with them? Can't see it a runner without him, and of course no Malcolm Young.

Ya BJ is back but it's all been kept hush but not very well.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭arsebiscuits82

Had an absolute blast, was up on my own from Cork, drove up Friday and went to the village Inn for a feed of pints, was in bed for 11.30 Friday night. Got up at 0730 yesterday and strolled down for food in the campsite, glad I did as there was some queue later. Had 1 beer before I went down to the gig, went in had food and got water and made my way to the gold circle to pop my Metallica and Slane cherry.
    Loved ghost and Metallica, slf maybe should have been on earlier. Back in campsite for 12 made some grub and into the tent. It was freezing last night, got into the car at 0430 as it was warmer. Got up and 0745, and hit the road after 8.
    I think Slane will be my "me time" away from the wife and kids in future, came back today totally chilled and got the biggest hug from my 4 year old daughter and 3 year old son, one happy man here tonight though fit for bed since about 7.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭fallen01angel

Camping was definitely the way to go,only issue I had with it was where I was set up,you had to wait for your neighbours around to pack up and leave in order to get out,I would have been on the road at 8ish but was blocked by cars/tents on all sides till 10.00.
    Gig itself was amazing, the set list wouldn't have been my favourite, but had something for everyone, old fans and newer fans.I had a gold circle ticket and have to say it was worth it,great view and I even managed to get a plectrum😊😊

• Registered Users Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

rob316 wrote: »
    Ya BJ is back but it's all been kept hush but not very well.

They were incredible in Punchestown 2009, a bit meh in the Aviva four (!) years ago. This is the last chance saloon for AC/DC Slane.

On the moshing, I thought the security were way too heavy handed. They broke up a pit of about 20 next to me left front in the GC, who were just pushing and jumping into each other nothing mad. Starting pulling people out too for jumping thought it was ridiculous.

I was at wacken 5 years ago for slayer and it was actually crazy in there and nothing was done. When I got a flying knee to the jaw I called it a day haha

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

rob316 wrote: »
    On the moshing, I thought the security were way too heavy handed. They broke up a pit of about 20 next to me left front in the GC, who were just pushing and jumping into each other nothing mad. Starting pulling people out too for jumping thought it was ridiculous.

I was at wacken 5 years ago for slayer and it was actually crazy in there and nothing was done. When I got a flying knee to the jaw I called it a day haha

was that in the circle or further out? I was in the circle on the left and there was a pit there that started a few songs in and kept going the whole way through. Security never came near it and there was fights breaking out in it every few minutes. Only for a massive lad that happened to be in there that was breaking them up every time, it would have been mayhem.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Capra

was that in the circle or further out? I was in the circle on the left and there was a pit there that started a few songs in and kept going the whole way through. Security never came near it and there was fights breaking out in it every few minutes. Only for a massive lad that happened to be in there that was breaking them up every time, it would have been mayhem.

Yeah we were in a decent sized pit that started at the beginning and it never stopped. It was well behaved although two lads started boxing the head off each other at one point alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Leppard Messiah

Anyone got pics/videos from the Olympia warm-up gig......if anyone was lucky enough to go????

it wasnt a gig..they rehearsed to an empty olympia instead of travelling up to slane on the fri night..they always rehearse the night before the first show of a new tour leg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,590 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Leppard Messiah

It could this time around though as the band has been seen going into a warehouse together to record their new album. Let me have my hope :P. I have always wanted to see them but havent yet.

is brian johnson back in the band?..if its axl rose on lead vocals id leave it

• Registered Users Posts: 26 keith06

What happened to zone A?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

They said at the end ACDC are rumored for next year. That will sell out in minutes if thats the case lol..

Who will sing? Beano Johnston is deaf and retired

• Registered Users Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

keith06 wrote: »
    What happened to zone A?

It never existed. I'd say they set GA at 80 a ticket and then got greedy and put them all up a tenner

• Registered Users Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭gebbel

I only ended up going at the last minute and so delighted I did. It was the best concert I’ve ever been at. Loved every minute. Memories for life. Cheers all of you folks who were there and made a brilliant atmosphere.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Good news they found the missing Dundalk girl.

She must have been having a great time 🙄

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Really enjoyed that.

20 Euro for parking is taking the piss, wouldn't have minded 10/15.

Came in just before SLF, not really into punk, didn't mind them, those exclusive Slane T-shirts were deadly, sold out when I got in :(

Was queuing for a vegan burger for most of Ghost's set, to me they sounded like a mix between Alice in Chains and Lordi, they weren't bad, didn't win me over either, tried the vegan burger out of curiosity, it was nice, was a massive queue for them, they did well.

When I was leaving the car I contemplated leaving my rain jacket behind, good thing I noticed that big dark clouds coming our way, some nasty showers all day.

When waiting for Metallica a woman accidentally bumped into a girl holding one of those plastic things holding 6 drinks, spilling a small bit 'YOU F*CKING C*NT' she roared at her, when she turned around I thought there would be a scrap :o

Was standing in practically the same spot I was in for GNR and while there was the same things that get on my nerves, people talking and strolling around non-stop, this crowd at least seemed more enthusiastic, singing along and all that, better than that disinterested GNR crowd.

There was this one girl talking loudly in an annoying high pitched voice for the first few songs, my options were either strangle her or move forward, I moved forward.

Not surprised people are giving out about the setlist, but was great to hear RTL and Whom the Bell Tolls, Memory Remains and Frantic were interesting choices, wouls have loved Orion or Ktulu, I liked The Wild Rover :o

Was glad they did Seek and Destroy before the encore, so I could leave early, would have liked to have stayed but the trauma of leaving GNR is still burned into my head, was in Navan before 12 and back home after 2, only got 4 hours sleep Friday night and I was pretty tired getting in the door would have in far worse condition 2/3 hours later.

When I was heading towards Navan, I saw 6/7 cars getting a garda escort, was hardly the Metallica lads, was it?

• Registered Users Posts: 86,573 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Just read that they, through their All Within My Hands Foundation, made two donations €35,000 to the Capuchin Day Centre and the ISPCC Childline. Fair play.

€35,000 to each, fair play to them

• Registered Users Posts: 20,905 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

to be honest these missing people things are gone a bit daft.

Went to a gig
    Didn't come home
    Missing

• Registered Users Posts: 38,409 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Facebook post - missing person after gig

"My sister Tara Mccrave went to Slane yesterday and has not come home last seen at 11pm she missed her bus and her phone died so she has no way to contact anyone! If anyone has seen her please contact 0838705716"

Or Navan Garda Station 046 9036100

https://www.lmfm.ie/news/family-appeal-for-information-on-whereabouts-of-mi/

Any update send u a message there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭whomenonotme

to be honest these missing people things are gone a bit daft.

Went to a gig
    Didn't come home
    Missing

Social media is ridiculous. I stopped sharing these things ages ago. She obviously got hammered met some lad and went away with him. Or went to a house party and her battery died. Wasn't even 12 hours later and it was been shared all over ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

God be with the days you could disappear on a bender without a search party been called.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,321 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

lukesmom wrote: »
    God be with the days you could disappear on a bender without a search party been called.

I know they're can be tragic ends of this but it's unlikely. I used to go missing for days at that age sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,409 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Great

Scary place to be in the dark

• Registered Users Posts: 6,376 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Birneybau wrote: »
    Delighted. That's a god awful website.

At least it's not rip dot ie

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I thought I was going mad but I wasn't. James really made a balls of Enter Sandman.