Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metallica for Slane 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

thought ghost were brilliant, Metallica awesome but "Wild Rover" was one of the worst things i ever witnessed on a stage in my life, some eejits about the red bus park (quarry) afterwards, can't complain tho, fantastic day had although it would take alot for me to go back to Slane again , a really massive massive band but who could do it?

You mean these guys to the left of the stage where we were?

I spent a lot of the night just holding them back. I loved it tbh. One guy there next to us looked PISSED at them, though. Fury in his eyes all night long.

Those guys were right in front of me, and to the right of me close to the walkway 2 big bald guys causing absolute mayhem, they were really into it fair play

anyone else see the lad in the red jacket and trackies off his head raving thinking he was at a Scooter gig in the toilets bottom left of hill, living the dream !!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Bus Eireann are a disgrace.

Scheduled buses every 5 minutes from 11pm to Navan.

No buses showed at all til after 1AM. Money had already been collected by then.

Didn't make it home til 2:20AM.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

lukesmom wrote: »
    God be with the days you could disappear on a bender without a search party been called.

I agree, but I also have to say there were some really daft people on Saturday night creating incredibly dangerous situations; A I left the pink car park and drove towards the M1, I came up multiple groups of people just walking along the dark and narrow N51. Most at least had the sense to walk opposite traffic, but almost all were invariably wearing dark clothes and walking two or three abreast.

Only a couple of them were smart enough to at least walk around holding their phones with the light turned on; In that situation it's not that absurd for somebody to be knocked into the bushes by a passing vehicle. I had to stop at the junction and tell the Gardai, who sent their van to take a look / collect them (they'd have needed a bus, I counted at least 6 groups of 2-5 people each).

The gig - Metallica great, it's not so common for a band to play 2.5 hours, Ghost I didn't know them, but some songs are good. The venue...horrible, it would take...Metallica to get me in Slane again :D.

All in all, I don't think the logistics could really be much better, nor that the Garda could do more, it's basically a countryside location in the middle of nowhere, with exactly one road serving it. All in all, at least by car, it was relatively easy to get in and out all considered.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,409 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

NufcNavan wrote: »

Saw that line may not be urs but it was getting quite heavy getting Gardi involved etc

• Registered Users Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

rob316 wrote: »
    Social media is ridiculous. I stopped sharing these things ages ago. She obviously got hammered met some lad and went away with him. Or went to a house party and her battery died. Wasn't even 12 hours later and it was been shared all over ffs.

Battery died man, it died!!

To be fair your not wrong but id say it was her folks that were worried about her and it just blew up from there from eejit friends doing the whole please share ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

that mosh pit in the circle to the left was literally at my back,during Ghost this couple kept giving my mate daggers when he would brush off them in the tooing and frooing of people near the front,he told them to grow up and GC was no place to be if you wanted a safe space at a metal gig.....anyway mosh pit started and of course they are at ground zero!

Highlight before Metallica was listening to a dude with a thick dub accent try and chat to 2 Italians that flew in for the gig,and inform them that they must be drowning in fanny with an axxcent lyke daahh......and then having to explain what a fanny is :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Thrashssacre

I was on a Navan bus way before that as I caught the 109 in the town at 1:05

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

When I was heading towards Navan, I saw 6/7 cars getting a garda escort, was hardly the Metallica lads, was it?

They arrived by helicopter so I’d imagine they left in one too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

I got the Bus Eireann back to Navan straight after the gig. Somewhere around 11:30 or so. Got into Navan around midnight.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭arsebiscuits82

They arrived by helicopter so I’d imagine they left in one too.

Doubt it, only the air corps can fly at night with night vision, a civvy helicopter wouldn't be able to fly at night.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,040 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Doubt it, only the air corps can fly at night with night vision, a civvy helicopter wouldn't be able to fly at night.

Dunno about that a chopper took off after the gig

• Registered Users Posts: 21,040 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That was a Freddy mercury esque performance by tobias forge, hard to believe he was working in IT and had a pregnant girlfriend before making a last attempt at making it in music!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,647 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Someone said the band were in fibbers Sat night -anyone at it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭PCros

Someone said the band were in fibbers Sat night -anyone at it?

The band were in the Grayson on Saturday night.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,647 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

PCros wrote: »
    The band were in the Grayson on Saturday night.

Oooh fancy ! Around the corner from merrion hotel as well

• Registered Users Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭RoryMurphyJnr

Got there for about 1.30 parked in the blue car park near the exit 30 mins walk to the castle.
    Grabbed a couple of t shirts and ice creams and settled in for the day
    Fangclub not bad
    Bokassa pretty good hadn't heard them before
    SLF quality but Jake please stop talking and throw in another tune
    Ghost surprised how much I liked them, will be giving them a listen this week
    Metallica just bloody awesome, 5th time seeing them and they just get better.
    Brilliant set list delighted they played Halo but ditch Frantic and stick in Fuel
    Stage was amazing once they got it sorted after the intro.
    James showing the plec and horns always gets a great response.
    Headed to the blue exit before the encore.
    Once they finished had a 40 min walk to the car, straight out home to Bray by 1am
    Never been in or out of Slane easier (5th visit)
    That was some serious rock and or roll and as my wee lad said to me when we were leaving "that was awesome)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

Dunno about that a chopper took off after the gig

Definitely a helicopter flying around afterwards.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Ridiculous traffic set up this year from AGS. Directing every local taxi into a field beside the N2. In previous years we were able to be left up reasonably close to the Slane Farm Hostel on the Drumcondrath Road where there hasn't been one issue in previous years.

Pointless meddling.

On the gig itself, thought Ghost were great despite the sound being at half volume for them. Hopefully they'll be back to do a gig of their own soon.

Enjoyed half of Metallica's set. Loved Ride The Lightning and then from One onward. Thought their set list could have included more of their old classics like Harvester of Sorrow, Blackened, Fade to Black etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭arsebiscuits82

D.Q wrote: »

Garda chopper flown by aer corps pilot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

D.Q wrote: »

More than one. And one wasn’t sticking around hovering overhead. It headed off towards Dublin. Maybe the head of the Air Corp was at the gig and wanted a quick lift back to Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Gig was awesome , went the camping way this time and its the only way to see slane
    Friday night in campsite was awesome , one of my favourite nights ever.

Got there just before ghost so avoided all bar one shower , waited and watched fireworks and then 20 mins later back at the tent , fire on ,beer from the cooler and talked ****e about the state of metal till about 2am.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭memorystick

My neck and shoulders are sore as fûçk from throwing back pints and head banging. Class memories.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭keeponrockin

rob316 wrote: »
    Does anyone have a golden circle for sale or can you go to tm and upgrade?

PS I have 2 general admission for free if anyone stick
    Well that was a mad weekend..really enjoyed the gig and feeling very sore in work now haha!.Huge Thanks to rob316 who sorted two of my mates out with free tickets..thanks to the delay with Metallica coming on they made it in just in time to grab couple pints and join us. Awesome gesture and thanks a million rob..will send you on a ticketmaster gift voucher during week so check your emails!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Fvck me there has been a lot of posts since I was last here! Here's my experience of the day:

- Marathon coach was well worth the money. Dropped us at first security checkpoint. No delays on the journey
    - Security point worked very efficiently
    - No problem with my backpack or the fact that I had food and cans of beer inside although they took the lid off my bottle of Fanta. Also said that they weren't allowed to let in anything with spikes (my pants had metal spikes all over) but she said "I can't take your pants off ya" :D
    - Then it was the walk down the road, over the river to the next checkpoint (entry into the property). Again, very efficient and just a pat-down. Having the toilets there was a good idea.
    - Next was the trek through the forest which was actually quite nice.
    - Got to the point where the tickets are scanned and bags are checked etc. I had my bag opened ready for checking. The guy didn't even make an attempt to look into it, just but the "bag checked" band around the strap and off I went.
    - Small walk to the actual venue and I had to stop and pick my jaw off the ground once I saw the stage!!! :D
    - Fangclub were quite good as were Bokassa. Didn't think much of SLF. Ghost were superb and Metallica, well let's just say they were Metallica and they once again proved they're an absolute force to be reckoned with. Their set was brilliant (I'm glad they didn't make a big deal about playing Whiskey and just played it). We started walking back up the hill during Enter Sandman and stopped to look back every so often.

IMO the whole thing went very smoothly. There were no traffic delays or delays of any sort from my experience. It was all done very professionally and I'd gladly go back again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Fvck me there has been a lot of posts since I was last here! Here's my experience of the day:

- Marathon coach was well worth the money. Dropped us at first security checkpoint. No delays on the journey
    - Security point worked very efficiently
    - No problem with my backpack or the fact that I had food and cans of beer inside although they took the lid off my bottle of Fanta. Also said that they weren't allowed to let in anything with spikes (my pants had metal spikes all over) but she said "I can't take your pants off ya" :D
    - Then it was the walk down the road, over the river to the next checkpoint (entry into the property). Again, very efficient and just a pat-down. Having the toilets there was a good idea.
    - Next was the trek through the forest which was actually quite nice.
    - Got to the point where the tickets are scanned and bags are checked etc. I had my bag opened ready for checking. The guy didn't even make an attempt to look into it, just but the "bag checked" band around the strap and off I went.
    - Small walk to the actual venue and I had to stop and pick my jaw off the ground once I saw the stage!!! :D
    - Fangclub were quite good as were Bokassa. Didn't think much of SLF. Ghost were superb and Metallica, well let's just say they were Metallica and they once again proved they're an absolute force to be reckoned with. Their set was brilliant (I'm glad they didn't make a big deal about playing Whiskey and just played it). We started walking back up the hill during Enter Sandman and stopped to look back every so often.

IMO the whole thing went very smoothly. There were no traffic delays or delays of any sort from my experience. It was all done very professionally and I'd gladly go back again.

+1 on Marathon

They dropped you as far down the road as possible, we drove a good bit past the green car park where people were starting to walk in and was glad we didn't have to make that walk in and especially back out after the gig.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,111 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Well that was a mad weekend..really enjoyed the gig and feeling very sore in work now haha!.Huge Thanks to rob316 who sorted two of my mates out with free tickets..thanks to the delay with Metallica coming on they made it in just in time to grab couple pints and join us. Awesome gesture and thanks a million rob..will send you on a ticketmaster gift voucher during week so check your emails!

My mates broke down on the way up, so didn't make it i was gutted, but this post has had made my day. Thanks man your very welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

threein99 wrote: »
    +1 on Marathon

They dropped you as far down the road as possible, we drove a good bit past the green car park where people were starting to walk in and was glad we didn't have to make that walk in and especially back out after the gig.

Having said that, it didn't matter for the journey home what bus you got on. You just got in a queue and whatever bus pulled up to that queue you got on. We got the Marathon bus to Slane and a Dublin bus back to Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭snoopy84

didn't fancy carrying the poster around all day so thought I'd buy online instead. SOLD OUT! do you think they'll come available again when they get back unsold ones from the gig or do you think that's already happened?