Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards PES 2019 League - Season 4 Fixtures and Results

• Registered Users Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭Colemania

Congratulations to you both. We both finished on 60 points with 19 wins and 3 draws but my goal difference is greater so I'm taking that as an overall win ;)

All this won't mean a thing unless we win the Champions Cup!

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Walter.White

Fair play lads some going to go the whole season unbeaten !

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭reganreggie

As highlander said there can be only one :)

PES Champions Cup

xmJ67cR.jpg

PES Shield

W1HIusy.jpg

PES Wooden Spoon

ptHzuhT.jpg

See webpage here for groups and fixtures: Boards PES League

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

PES Shield Quarter Final

1st Leg
    AC Milan 1-1 PSG

A cagey affair to begin with both teams feeling each other out and looking for weaknesses in the opposition. Very little openings were created in the first half an hour until PSG crafted some nice passing interplay to free up Mbappe out on the right wing who crossed to the near post, finding Cavani in a half yard of space who rifled the ball past Donnarumma.

Milan came out in the 2nd half pushing forward to try find an equaliser and it duly came around the hour mark when Suso collected the ball out wide and dribbled past several PSG defenders before rifling past Buffon in the PSG goal.

The game was end to end at this stage with both sides looking for a winner, Milan would probably consider themselves unlucky not to have found one towards the end as they piled the pressure on.

2nd Leg

PSG 3-1 AC Milan

PSG came out attacking on home soil and put some pressure on early, winning a few corners and putting some decent crosses in without creating anything of note. The rossoneri gained a foothold then and created some openings of their own without ever testing Buffon. After some messy buildup play the ball squirmed out to Meunier who fired in a low hard cross which Draxler scuffed home past Donnarumma to give PSG the lead.

Cavani doubled their advantage minutes later, this time Mbappe crossing to find the Milan defense AWOL and Cavani all on his own to tap past the keeper. Milan weren't done yet however and came right back into it in the second half, getting a goal back after some poor play by PSG inside their own half, Suso again with the goal (i think?).

Milan pushed and pushed for an equaliser but as the game got stretched PSG began to find holes appearing in the Milan rearguard and it was Di Maria who sealed it with a neat finish on 87 minutes.

Two well contested games which could have gone either way, PSGs better overall quality probably being the main difference between the sides.

Thanks for the games Kingosh!

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭KennyG192

Chelsea 3-3 Southampton
    A cracker of a game ,Danny Ings absolutely tore chelseas defense apart scoring a hattrick with 30mins on the clock
    Chelsea would fight back to 3 1 down at half time
    Giroud would come on late to score Chelseas second in the 90th minute before Loftus Cheek would find the back off the net in the 92nd minute to leave it all square going into the second leg at St. Marys

Southampton 0-3 Chelsea
    This time Chelsea would fly out of the blocks and take a 3 nil lead into the half time break
    Southampton had their chances but Kepa was up for the task , plenty more chance coming in the second half for both teams but 3 nil it would finish leaving it 6-3 on aggregate
    Great games Koolhanger hard luck

First leg
    Arsenal 2 vs Napoli 1
    Very tight game, arsenal huffed and puffed but could only score through defensive errors. At 2 nil napoli took change and some nice work on the wing found mertens to rifle home near the end.

Second leg
    Napoli 0 arsenal 5
    Arsenal off to a flyer with 2 in the first 15 minutes. As napoli pushed up arsenal caught them on the breaks and finished more of their chances than in the fist leg.
    Good game planetpotter

Champions Cup Quarter Final

First leg

Athletic Bilbao (Stephen_Mc91) 3-2 (Colemaniser) Liverpool

Early goal here for Liverpool but Bilbao fought back immediately with an equaliser. Draw at half time. Benat scored a back post header after the break to make it 2-1 Bilbao and from then on it was an uphill battle for Liverpool with Bilbao operating at ultra defensive. An 89th minute goal to make it 3-1 Bilbao looked like they would take a 2 goal lead into the second leg but sturridge scored at the death to leave them 1 goal behind going into the return leg at Anfield.

Second Leg

Liverpool 8-1 Athletic Bilbao

Bilbao took the lead here through Inaki Williams but Liverpool raced back with an in form firmino grabbing 2 goals before the break to leave it 2-1 and level on aggregate at half time.

The second half would see the floodgates open. Salah grabbed a third goal and at this point Bilbao went on the attack which left gaps in behind. Both firmino and salah would go on to complete their hattricks, with Salah going 1 better and scoring a 4th late on followed by a customary Daniel Sturridge super sub goal.

Good game Stephen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭ItsHoggie

Man United 2-1 Athletico Madrid (nslattery)

United opened the scoring after Lukaku pounced on a defensive error, Koke (I think?) brought things level with a rocket from about 30 yards out until Lukaku sealed the win for United in the 90th min.

Athletico Madrid 0-4 Man United

United ran away with this one, Lukaku hat trick and Pogba goal helping United reach the next round.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

Juventus 0 Roma 7 ....maybe 8

I'm **** and can't defend against anyone decent , no second leg necessary , off to bed

Hard luck Juventus you missed a couple of sitters early on

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

ItsHoggie wrote: »
    Man United 2-1 Athletico Madrid (nslattery)

United opened the scoring after Lukaku pounced on a defensive error, Koke (I think?) brought things level with a rocket from about 30 yards out until Lukaku sealed the win for United in the 90th min.

Athletico Madrid 0-4 Man United

United ran away with this one, Lukaku hat trick and Pogba goal helping United reach the next round.

Well played mate.

I now officially hate Lukaku :D

Good luck rest of tourny

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭az1234

Wooden Spoon

First Leg: Monaco (TheOriginalJipo) 2 - 2 (az1234) Tottenham
    Goalscorers: Falcao x 2; Eriksen, Lamela

Second Leg: Tottenham 2 - 2 Monaco
    Goalscorers: Falcao x 2; Lamela, ?

Third Leg: Tottenham 1 - 0 Monaco
    Goalscorer: Son Heung-min

Really close games, not much in any. Falcao was unstoppable in both the full length games. In the first leg it took free kicks from Eriksen and Lamela to rescue a draw.

Similar story in the second leg, a mad goal from Lamela pulled one back and I can't remember who got my second, maybe Son. Lamela's goal was a curling shot from about 30 yards out that went straight down the middle but seemed to bamboozle Subasic in goals and he hardly even moved! :pac:

Son popped up in the 89th minute of the third leg to decide the tie after I went all out attack!

3 great games though!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Shield quarter final.

Barcelona 2 - 1 Lazio
    Lazio 0 - 3 Barcelona

Lazio tried, but nothing they could do to stop the mighty Barcelona. At least I'll get a better team in the next competition. Well played niall.

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Det Somerset

PES Shield Quarter Final

Real Madrid (philamental) 3 - 1 Celtic (DavidJKennedy)

Mostly a difference in quality in this first tie, well balanced with Celtic doing well considering the stats difference but Real scored with two goals from Bale crosses with Vazquez and Benzema heading home, before Griffiths pulled one back for Celtic for a 2-1 score at half time. A tense and close second half again saw Celtic get little reward for their efforts and Benzema scored a third late on to seal it for the home side

Celtic (DavidJKennedy) 1 - 4 Real Madrid (philamental) ABD

With a two goal deficit from the first leg Celtic had to try and make something happen and when Oriozola opened the scoring for the visitors it always looked like a losing battle. Bale notched a couple more and Celtic got a well worked goal back in between but with the tie as good as over the Celtic fans vented their frustration by throwing projectiles at the linesman and as both teams were taken off the pitch until order was resumed, it was agreed to abandon the match with 15 mins still to play.

Lets face it, DJK was screwed here with the difference in quality in the teams and the scorelines definitely flatter me. That said, a shout out to Osh who helped me prepare for this tie a few days ago by playing a couple of friendlies as Celtic and letting me get used to playing against them which helped a lot. Thanks Osh, and thanks to DJK for the games. He'll be back next season with a higher pick and prove his quality, I've no doubt!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,656 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Feckin weirdos doing that with Celtic !!!

Well played

PES Shield Semi-final 1st leg

PSG 4-2 Manchester United

PSG started the better here and Draxler struck a somewhat fortuitous volley in past De Geas near post after 8 minutes. United worked their way back into the game and Buffon was made to work a couple of times. Despite that it was PSG who scored next with Mbappe cutting in from the right and finishing into the corner to make it 2-0 at the break.

United were a different proposition in the second half and came at PSG in waves. It took a lapse at the back for them to get their goal but it was no less than they deserved and it was game on at 2-1, Martial the scorer although PES ruled it as an OG after a slight deflection.

PSG tried to settle the nerves and keep some possession, winning a corner just after conceding. Neymar whipped in the cross which was cleared to the edge of the box to the lurking Kurzawa who struck his volley cleanly but benefitted from a massive deflection which wrong footed De Gea and sent the home fans wild. 3-1 with 30 minutes to go.

United threw everything at PSG to try get one back but Thiago Silva was in inspired form and repelled attack after attack. This left them vulnerable at the back and some neat interplay between PSGs front three left Mbappe with the simplest of finishes to make it 4-1. It would have been easy for United to give up at this stage but again they pushed on. Finally they got their reward after Rashford finished neatly into the corner in the 93rd minute.

What a game the first leg was, really good fun and could well have been a different score. United hitting the post with a vicious volley which could have made it 3-2 I think.

Manchester United 1-1 PSG

With a two goal deficit from the first leg United had it all to do at home and they got the best start they could hope for with Lukaku rifling an unstoppable shot past Buffon after 10 minutes (or so). PSG were clinging on for dear life at this stage with United and particularly Martial running riot down the left wing.

Eventually PSG managed to get their foot on the ball and take the sting out of the game, giving their back like a much needed break.

The second half was a much more even affair and PSG equaliser through Cavani who calmly slided the ball into the corner after an hour.

United piled everything forward but PSG were resolute in defense and the game petered out to a 1-1 draw. PSG celebrated wildly on the final whistle, except for neymar who sulked in the corner having been once again left in the shadow of Mbappe.

2 great games Hoggie, really enjoyed them and could have been a very different outcome on another day.

Champions Cup Semi Final

First leg

Chelsea (KENNETH192) 3-5 Liverpool (Colemaniser)

Great first leg here. Chelsea took the lead straight from tip off with Morata but Liverpool would then race into a 3-1 lead before half time with Mane and a Firmino brace giving Liverpool their half time lead.

Second half started just like the first except this time it was Liverpool to strike early with Firmino completing his hattrick. Fabregas pegged one back immediately but Mane would score from what looked like a tight angle when he smashed in off the post. A defensive mistake handed Chelsea a lifeline to go into the second leg with.

Second leg

Liverpool 2-0 Chelsea

Chelsea, chasing the game, adopted a 343 formation from the start and put Liverpool under relentless pressure all game long. The breakthrough would come just before half time when Keita was taken out in the box as a cross zipped across goal with a tap in awaiting back post. Fabinho struck a nice penalty right into the bottom corner to give Liverpool the half time lead and Chelsea needing 3 goals to level the tie.

The second half started with a barrage of Chelsea pressure and some horrible luck preventing Chelsea from pegging back their deficit. Mane would eventually break Chelsea hearts with a well taken goal to end the tie with 20 minutes to go.

Good games Kenneth! Very unlucky in the second leg

First leg champions cup
    Arsenal 3 Roma 3
    Excellent game which looked like it was going to finish 2 -1 to arsenal untill a crazy spell of 5 mins lead to it being 3-2 arsenal with minutes to go dezko scored to make it 3 all going into the second leg.

Anyone know how to mute messages during a game your bloody co op is not helping lol

Second leg champions cup

Roma 3 - 1 Arsenal

Roma were lucky to still be in the tie after Arsenal dominated the first leg. So Roma knew they had to create a hostile atmosphere for the second leg. Arsenal dominated with some early pressure but a blue form Olsen kept them at bay. Perotti scored to make it 1-0 from a counter attack after some hold up play from Dzeko.
    Arsenal again dominated the ball but couldn't find a way passed Olsen and perotti struck again. El sharawy struck to make it 3-0 and arsenal had a mountain to climb , after this Roma would defend well and counter attack. The ever dangerous Aubameyang would score finally but it would be too late and Roma held on for the win. Very tough match

Great games Reggie know idea how I came back in that first match ! Great debut season

PES Shield Semi Final

1st Leg: Real Madrid (philamental) 2 - 1 Barcelona (niallym)

It was El Clasico for the second Shield Semi which would determine who would go on to face PSG in the final. Despite being the home side Real couldn't find their feet initially, and it was Barca who looked more dangerous testing Navas with a number of shots but the keeper was up to the task. Just when it seemed that Madrid may have weathered the storm Pique headed down from a corner and Dembele was able to force the ball home from 6 yards through a number of players. This gave the Catalans a deserved lead at half time with Real failing to register a single shot on target in response.

Real were clearly looking to avoid travelling back to the Nou Camp with a deficit and came out with more purpose in the second half and they turned the tables in terms of creating chances and looking more dangerous. The home side then got back into the game when some clever right wing interplay ended with Benzema laying the ball on for Isco to smash home for the equalizer. Madrid continued to press hardest for a winner while Barca attempted to counter in a tight affair where either side could have won the game but it looked as if the spoils would have to be shared. However deep in injury time Benzema again layed the ball on for Bale who was on as a second half sub. The Welshman hit a speculative shot from the edge of the box that Ter Stegen probably had covered but a slight deflection from Pique sent the ball into the goal and Bale over the hoardings into the fans for a dramatic late winner! (and a trophy for me too!) Real were more dominant second half for sure, but it was a harsh way for Barcelona to lose the game.

2nd Leg: Barcelona (niallym) 2 - 1 Real Madrid (philamental) [Aggregate 4 - 4]

In the return leg Madrid attempted to turn the screw with some early attacking intent but again it was Barcelona who opened the scoring, again it was from a corner and again it was a knock down and the ball was forced home from close range. The away side clearly not learning their lessons from the first leg! Almost immediately from the restart, a fast right wing attack resulted in a low cross to Benzema who poked home at the near post and we were level in the match but Madrid were crucially back in front on aggregate.

After this the game became incredibly tense. Barca pushed forward for the goal they needed to level things, and Real had some chances to exploit the extra space on the break but they lacked the composure to take advantage. Dembele was a constant threat down the right in the second half with Madrid struggling to deal with him every time he got the ball, and he was involved again when an incisive attack from the right resulted in a killer through ball to the far post and Alba popped up unmarked and slotted home for the lead on the night and levelling things on aggregate! Both sides were out on their feet at this stage and the chances dried up so we headed to Extra Time!

ET: Barcelona (niallym) 0 - 0 Real Madrid (philamental) [Aggregate 4 - 4]

With the shortened game length it was always going to be difficult to make a breakthrough here and while Madrid did create a couple of half chances neither side will feel they should have won it here and so on to Pens!

Penalties: Barcelona (niallym) 3 - 4 Real Madrid (philamental)

After an absorbing two legs this epic tie went to the lottery of penalties. Both keepers saved the opener and both takers scored the second. The exact same pattern occurred for the 3rd and 4th pens so we were level at 2-2 after four and effectively it was sudden death from then on. Again goals were exchanged on the 5th pen to make it 3-3. Ramos slotted home the 6th to give Real an advantage and Courtois saved to his right to bring the rollercoaster shootout and an absolute classic affair to a close!

Real Madrid who finished 8th in Division B now advance to the PES Shield Final to face PSG who were 6th in Division A and another epic battle surely awaits!

Ok, to make one thing absolutely clear, niallym was playing with Barcelona on E form for these matches. I had one week on E form in the league and it was like my players were running, passing and shooting through treacle. From that perspective Barcelona played brilliantly and niallym can consider himself really unfortunate to have such crap form at a critical stage in the season. Also he didn't even mention the form once, not even in passing, whereas I was whining about my E form to every opponent that I played back then :P After a full season with Division B and getting to know the players there and in Co-Op games a little bit, it was unusual to play an opponent I had no previous contact with, but you were a true gent, niallym. Thanks for the games and I hope we'll have opportunity to play again next season :)

PES Boards League Finals Week

Champions Cup Final

Liverpool (Colemaniser) vs AS Roma (DamoK21)

Shield Final

PSG (Ivefoundgod) vs Real Madrid (philamental)

Wooden Spoon Final

Tottenham (az1234) vs Rangers (Wilberto99)

All games to be played over 2 legs

See webpage here for groups and fixtures: Boards PES League

PES Shield Final

1st Leg: PSG (IvefoundGod) 3 - 0 Real Madrid (philamental)

2nd Leg: Real Madrid (philamental) 0 - 3 PSG (IvefoundGod)

Agg: PSG 6 - 0 Real Madrid

Not much to write up here in fairness, but I'll give it a crack. In the first game, PSG scored the opener through Cavani and deservedly led in what was at the time a close enough match. With only a single goal between the sides, Real always had hope and there were a few good saves from PSG's keeper to keep the score at 1-0. However with minutes to go, PSG scored another two goals to take complete control and effectively kill the tie as a contest.

In the second leg, Real had no chance but to go chasing the game and overall gave a better show of themselves, but just couldn't score. With a comfortable lead PSG were just able to wait for counter attacks, always looking dangerous and after opening the scoring mid way through the first half, added another two in the second half to absolutely crush Madrid with an overall aggregate win of 6 goals to nil.

Congratulations to IvefoundGod and PSG! Worthy and well deserved PES Shield winners! PSG will go on to play the winners of El Manual Passico to compete for the final match of the season against the Champions Cup winners (Roma or Liverpool)

From my own perspective I must admit these two games were the most frustrating of the entire season. I doubt I'd have ever beaten PSG over two legs and probably would lose to God 9 times out of 10 if not more based on the two games I saw, so I'm not complaining about the loss, but it's just I felt I did everything I could, created some good chances and couldn't even score a single goal. About 5 or 6 times across the two matches I thought I had scored when I struck the ball yet the keeper kept making save after save. With Real losing 3-0 to Eibar yesterday I can only take solace in knowing things would have probably been even worse if I played PSG after the next form update! :pac: Thanks to God for the games, and sorry I couldn't make more of a match out of it. Congratulations again, and well done to all who participated this season. I'll go lick my wounds for a bit, take in a bit of co op and then I'll be ready and raring to go for the next season! :)

Finally while it goes without saying, I'm joining in those who are saying it anyway. Thanks to Colemania for all the time and effort he puts in each and every week for organising the whole thing from start to finish.

Thanks for the write up phila. As you said the two late goals in the first game killed it and they were done to bad luck rather than any skill on my part. The score line in the second game is not at all reflective of the game, you created a lot and like you say everything was saved or poorly struck. From memory I think bale missed a sitter that you’d have bet your life on him scoring. Think we’ve all had those games where your players seem to let you down and inexplicably miss what should be simple chances.

Didn’t realise there were more fixtures now, feel like it’s only fair I use the manual passing against the guys as well, whats a broken controller amongst friends :D

Thanks for the write up phila. As you said the two late goals in the first game killed it and they were done to bad luck rather than any skill on my part. The score line in the second game is not at all reflective of the game, you created a lot and like you say everything was saved or poorly struck. From memory I think bale missed a sitter that you’d have bet your life on him scoring. Think we’ve all had those games where your players seem to let you down and inexplicably miss what should be simple chances.

Didn’t realise there were more fixtures now, feel like it’s only fair I use the manual passing against the guys as well, whats a broken controller amongst friends :D

I'm not sure the write up gives you the credit you deserved in those matches, fella. I didn't feel like you had to get out of first gear to be honest. You were on cruise control for the most part as you didn't really have to do anything else to win easily. If I was able to give you more of a game, your quality may have been able to shine through more noticeably. Still, I suppose you can find some satisfaction in a 6 goal aggregate victory in the final! ;)

Good luck for the remaining matches :)

I only go manual passing against Wilberto, not in all the games! Don't know how he sticks playing lads using assisted when he's on manual!

Champions Cup Final

First Leg

Liverpool (Colemaniser) 3-4 Roma (DamoK21)

Scorers:
    Liverpool: Firmino x2, Shaqiri
    Roma: Kluivert x2, Perotti, Pastore

What a game this was, broadcasted live on twitch with our massive audience of 6 viewers!

A frantic start saw 2 goals in the first 6 minutes, 1 a piece with Roma taking the lead again in the 13th minute. Firmino equalised 10 minutes later and Liverpool would finally take the lead in the 38th minute through a Shaqiri rebounder. Roma then pulled back an equaliser in injury time of the first half to leave it level at half time with a game full of defensive errors but great for the viewers.

Roma would once again take the lead in the second half through a lovely curled goal from Pastore and from that point on, Liverpool would pile on the pressure. The introduction of Sturridge gave Liverpool an extra spark and he should have been the hero but met a Roma keeper in top form with some outstanding saves.

Roma could have extended the lead further at the end but the game would end 4-3 to Roma with Liverpool having to chase the game in the second leg in Rome.

Great game Damo

Wooden Spoon Final

First Leg - Tottenham (az1234) 1 - 1 Ranger (Wilberto)

Rangers really deserved to win by 2 or 3 in this one. They took the lead through Morelos but had about 10 more great chances but just couldn't put them away. Spurs were lucky to nick a goal against the run of play when Lamela robbed the ball just outside the box and curled it in to level the first leg.

Second Leg - Rangers 0 - 1 Tottenham

Another close game. Morelos didn't feature due to poor form in this one and that made a massive difference to Rangers as Lafferty is useless! Tottenham were lucky to get a very dubious free kick in the second half which Eriksen curled in to get the only goal of the second leg and give Spurs the win in the much coveted Wooden Spoon!

Two enjoyable games Wilberto, cheers!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,573 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Wooden Spoon Final

Full delayed coverage of both legs of the Wooden Spoon Final contested between Wilberto's Rangers, and AZ1234's Spurs. With both teams playing with manual controls, it offers a different viewing compared to usual matches.

1st Leg

2nd Leg

I think, more than the ridiculous "foul" (which is at 10:10 if you're interested), what really cost me the match (and the tie) was Morelos' red arrow. Even looking at the two games there, Morelos is so much more mobile than Lafferty, and just an all round better player as well. He was a massive loss.

Also, I just realised that they picked that "foul" as the thumnail for the video! :pac:

Champions Cup Final

Second Leg

Roma (DamoK21) 0-2 Liverpool (Colemaniser)

Liverpool win 5-4 on aggregates

Scorers:
    Liverpool: Salah x2

Liverpool adopted a deep defensive line in this leg after the countless through balls in the first leg behind the defence causing many problems and it seemed to pay off, albeit less of a spectacle for the fans.

There was a role reversal in terms of goalkeepers with Alisson in top form and Olsen on slightly bad form. Liverpool opened the scoring late in the first half after a lot of early pressure with Shaqiri absolutely smashing the crossbar and Salah on hand to score the rebounder, again, although Olsen should have done better in goals.

The second half saw a stronger performance from Roma but it was Salah who completed his brace with a kung fu kick into the roof of the net to put Liverpool 2-0 up in the game and more importantly 5-4 up on aggregate.

A resilient Liverpool defensive display with Van Dijk, Fabinho and both fullbacks having fantastic games saw Liverpool out to full time where Colemania lifted the Champions Cup for the first time and means the last 3 winners of the Champions Cup, all different winners, are all Limerick men. Come on Limerick!

Good game Damo. Hard luck. A better team and you'd have walked the league.