Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Micheál Martin & his Late Late (Electioneering) Thread Sept 21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Des Cahill discovers family secret...

His great X2 grandad died his hair in 1861

Does he think nobody can see that he's dyed his hair? Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Des might have been in the green room to long :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Jesus. Shìte story.

Not knowing what happened, really, but everyone should have to learn to swim at school.

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Defaulter1831

Azatadine wrote: »
    Does he think nobody can see that he's dyed his hair? Strange.

Matt Morrissey the same.

Sad story here in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

Strange that Des uses the word Step. They are his half siblings, not step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Balmed Out wrote: »
    That was a great show, good old number six.

I'm not kidding, when I checked in and the concierge asked if I have any questions, japester that I am and without missing a beat, I said ''Yes...who is Number One?''

He gave a look that suggested either:-

a) he has never seen 'The Prisoner', and had absolutely no idea what I was talking about.

b) he has heard that rib-tickling question asked one too many times and has now been mentally broken.

I never saw him again.

Matt Morrissey the same.

Des would totally be the hottie of RTE sports, if it weren't for Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Is Des an Employ E or contractor for RTE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Ludikrus

Why is there always so much f*cking misery on the late late?

The other family secret I expected was Dessie discovered his granduncle joined the Bolshoi ballet in the early 1900s and used go on the lash with Rasputin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Des might have been in the green room to long :)

I was thinking the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Des is really not managing to squeeze a story out of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Ludikrus wrote: »
    Why is there always so much f*cking misery on the late late?

It's written into Tubs' contract.

M

De Aer Lingus, I knew it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

His voice hasn't changed at all.

Brae100 wrote: »
    Strange that Des uses the word Step. They are his half siblings, not step.

I wonder is it because it was the father who is the shared parent which is more unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Nice champagne glass. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Who exactly is buying a Des Cahill book? Who are these people? Presumably the publishers must think there is a market out there for it.

M

sudzs wrote: »
    Nice champagne glass. :rolleyes:

The seats on the plane looked like a crappy couch you would pick up in a charity shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Dessie is a decent skin,

I used to see him at the Carlisle Grounds at Bray Wanderers games. He was always good craic.

M

The FAI, ultra joke of an organisation.

Who exactly is buying a Des Cahill book? Who are these people? Presumably the publishers must think there is a market out there for it.

Ha! What is his demographic? I don't think he has the older lady market cornered like Daniel..

Skid X wrote: »
    Dessie is a decent skin,

I used to see him at the Carlisle Grounds at Bray Wanderers games. He was always good craic.

He is a decent skin. Grew up around the corner from me and hung around with my brother and David McWilliams.
    Not sure his life story is worthy of a book though.

Heroditas wrote: »
    He is a decent skin. Grew up around the corner from me and hung around with my brother and David McWilliams.
    Not sure his life story is worthy of a book though.

Everyone's life story is probably worthy of a book.

M

Des is 65, looks very well for it, if he's RTE employed he will be told to feck off next year.

Watching this interview makes me think RTE are saving money for the big stars when the LLS heads to London.

You could write it down but nobody might want to read or buy it! :D

Dessie is a decent skin,

That was getting quite fun at the end, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Cork

Yay!!

Night all

M

Cork, sweet jaysus, it has to be gambling capital of the country, Dublin with much more population wins feck all on the show.

CARK!

True, everyone has tales to tell

Cork, sweet jaysus, it has to be gambling capital of the country, Dublin with much more population wins feck all on the show.

Sure if yoouure not I-in you can’t wi-in :)

I would have no knowledge of the man but like Marty you couldn't say a bad word about them. They seem like gentlemen.

Looking very well for 65. And shur why not die the hair. Starting to grey myself and can understand the feeling behind it of staying young.

Coming soon: Jailbreak - The PlentyOhToole Story.

I’d buy it

Till tomorrow night, folks!

Nos da :)

Theresa May looking for more respect from the EU

I would love it if she had burst into song and started this

(or alternatively Aretha's RESPECT, but I think she doesn't have the range for that)

Theresa May looking for more respect from the EU

I would love it if she had burst into song and started this

(or alternatively Aretha's RESPECT, but I think she doesn't have the range for that)

Respect is earned, baby. That's what's up.

M

Justice for Plenty

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

vladmydad wrote: »
    FF has collapsed in the polls so he’s out doing damage control. There is no difference between any of our political parties. All center left and have the same opinion on everything. All pro abortion, pro EU, anti Trump, anti Brexit, pro mass immigration etc etc , no political diversity whatsoever. And to make it worse, they have taken up virtue signaling.
    You nailed it. Politically there's no differences. Sinn fein perhaps being a bit more marxist. Ireland is screaming out for a strong right/centre right party. A UKIP maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Emer is an absolute gob****e
    She seems pleasant, but she could defo lose a few kilos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

I'd rather find out there was a contract out on my life than be asked to be a best man.

With your cheery optimistic personality, I don't think you need worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I'm going to say for the millionth time, what's the point in having a house band that you don't interact with at any point?

Be grateful for small mercies.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I'm going to say for the millionth time, what's the point in having a house band that you don't interact with at any point?

With no interaction, Ryan’s missing the opportunity for comedy gold...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭Radio5

Ryan's constant interruptions of Micheal Martin were embarrassing. He must have been to the same interviewing school as Mary Wilson. MM should have just asked him why he bothered to invite him on to the show at all. I'm not an FF supporter at all but I just think it shows a lack of respect for any guest if you keep on interrupting. Pointless exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭uptherebels

vladmydad wrote: »
    He did lose support for it , FF are down 11 points.

And the loss of eleven points wasdue to his stance on abortion?

Alright, it appears that Plenty got a 3 Day Ban for something not related to this thread

I did indeed but got released early for good behaviour- they're an understanding bunch in the Prison forum once you buy er, win their trust :D

I know Plenty is a fan of the Dan, so...

Nice one Welshie, how well you know;)

I'm signing in Eason's this Saturday morning. An excellent stocking filler (oooh matron) for Christmas:P
    Lisha wrote: »
    I’d buy it

I'm humbled Lisha:o:D

Prison was tough (they made beef bourguignon with a Bordeaux - can you believe it? :eek:) but I this thread kept me going through my lonely hours of incarceration. :P

Thank you all so much for the songs and the best wishes. :)

Anyway, back OT, i went looking for tickets for Mr. Super-vet a few weeks ago- something like 80 euro a pop:eek:. There were a few cheap seats up in the vertigo areas left at 45, so 50 after fees.

Anyone seen his show? It would want to be something special at those prices.