Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New gaming build advice

Options
  • 22-09-2018 11:46am
    Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

I have no previous experience doing a build but all say it is much better than buying a pre-built model. I have also been told that it is much easier to but motherboard with processor already installed rather than doing it yourself.

What is your budget? [€xxx] 2000

2. What will be the main purpose of the computer? [Gaming/Video editing/3D Modelling/HTPC/Internet] (If gaming include which games)

Gaming. The likes of upcoming cyberpunk game, FPS,...

3. Do you need a copy of Windows? [Yes/No]
    Yes

4. Can you use any parts from an old computer? [Hard drive/DVD Drive/Case/PSU/etc.] (If possible state brand and model of the parts to ensure compatibility)
    No

5. Do you need a monitor? [Yes/No]
    Yes - would like 4k if possible - could go higher price if needed (say 2500)

5a. If yes, what size do you need. [19'/20'/22'/24'/etc.]
    Not sure - will follow advice

5b. If no, what resolution is your current monitor and do you plan to upgrade in the near future? [1920x1080/1440x900/etc.] [Yes/No]

6. Do you need any of these peripherals? [Keyboard/Mouse/Wireless Card/Card Reader/Speakers/etc.]
    Will be hard wired. Could probably do with new mouse keyboard and speakers

7. Are you willing to try overclocking? [Yes/No]
    Yes

8. How can you pay? [Bank Transfer/Credit Card/Laser]
    All

9. When are you purchasing? [In x days]
    This week ideally but can wait for better deal.