Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hosting in your home

Options
  • 25-09-2018 11:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

Hi all,
    I'm looking for a bit of advise here. I live alone and have a spare large en-suite double room which I have decided to rent out as I need a few bob extra for bills etc
    I have a male student coming for a few weeks through an agency. It is my first time doing something like this and I'm a bit anxious. I really don't know what to expect. I have to give him breakfast, packed lunch and dinner which is fine. I'm reading about house rules etc on the schools site this is all new to me, do I have to do their laundry ,do I charge extra for Wi-Fi?.

Anyone experienced at hosting students, maybe share some tips and advise?

thank you
    Anxious

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭notharrypotter

Do not charge for the WiFi.
    From what you have posted I would believe it is a foreign student here to learn English.
    If so then be aware that you will have them at the weekend.

A lot will depend on the age of the student.
    Adults are aledgely self sufficient 😁.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 doylerkelly

notharrypotter, thanks for your reply. he is 26 yr old business analyst over for his job but I received him through this agency that Host foreign students etc.
    Someone told me that WIFI and laundry are not included in the price. But then as I said this is all new to me. Also, I heard them spend too long in the shower some taking several showers a day. I have to give him breakfast ,lunch and dinner, are they allowed to eat from your presses also?