Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leinster Vs Munster buildup

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

great to see both brothers on the field, and i say that as a munster supporter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

fenris wrote: »
    Whitehouse for motm? ðŸ˜

bitter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,225 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Dogged performance from a half strength Leinster. Didn't play near their best but still beat a full strength Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,998 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Thought we deserved at least a point out of that. Whitehouse was atrocious and will bear the brunt of the Munster fans ire I'd imagine. My favourite bit was the incessant 'hands off blue' in the phases under the posts, the multiple penalties and telling an advancing scrum under the posts to 'use it'. He was poor for Leinster too mind.

Leinster defence was awesome, great contest by both sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Ben Whitehouse obviously furious that Byrne left Scarlets. Clear penalty for holding on at least once in the last phases of the game.

I assume you mean the Scannells!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭budhabob

The scannell, they play regularly together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

So.

That ref eh?

All kidding aside, cracking game and one of the most entertaining interpros between the two sides the last couple years.

Looking forward to seeing the absolute vitriol being spewed about Whitehouse over the next few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Totally wrong call for "deliberate" knock on just after half time results in a 14 point swing and ruins the game imo

munster should give exeter a good game next week. could be tough one for Exeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,998 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Byrne with no interest in a medal from Guinness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭scott1974

Ross Byrne MOTM..

twinytwo wrote: »
    Totally wrong call for "deliberate" knock on just after half time results in a 14 point swing and ruins the game imo

move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Superb game.

Absolutely fantastic from Ross Byrne and James Lowe.

Great to see how well Ross Byrne and JGP have come along since last season. Early doors yet this season but they're showing huge improvements.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

leakyboots wrote: »
    Thought we deserved at least a point out of that. Whitehouse was atrocious and will bear the brunt of the Munster fans ire I'd imagine. My favourite bit was the incessant 'hands off blue' in the phases under the posts, the multiple penalties and telling an advancing scrum under the posts to 'use it'. He was poor for Leinster too mind.

Leinster defence was awesome, great contest by both sides.

Lads, that scrum was stationary for a long time when he called for Mathewson to use it.

Can we stop peddling the absolute bull**** that it was anything else? So many people posting complete and utter lies in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Faugheen wrote: »
    Second time Archer has done that.

He cost them the game he's a ****ing clown

So.

That ref eh?

All kidding aside, cracking game and one of the most entertaining interpros between the two sides the last couple years.

Looking forward to seeing the absolute vitriol being spewed about Whitehall over the next few days

I'm not. It's always boring.

This is a great read - on a not-so-similar topic, but on the idea of motivated reasoning. I imagine it applies terribly well to sports fans and decisions too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Beirne’s reaction after having hands on the ball for ages before getting upended and Whitehouse telling him “away” just sums it up.

Incredible game though, ideal for both teams going into next week.

It was a knock-on though right?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭mangobob

Nah it was a penalty either way for Leinster. No points swing. The right team won.

Great game though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭budhabob

Genuinely thought Munster were the better team, but Leinster defense was immense. Great game!

I don't like to blame the officials, but I thought they all looked amateur.

Think Munster are certainly in a better place then some would have you think, and can take some confidence for Exeter next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Defunkd

All the moaning about the ref is pathetic. He's been grand.
    For one team, yeah, he was grand. I didn't see him as being consistent.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Leinster kicking that out at the end made absolutely no sense. Players don’t understand the conference system?

He cost them the game he's a ****ing clown

Well considering they were about 5 points down at that stage I would disagree.

I'm not. It's always boring.

This is a great read - on a not-so-similar topic, but on the idea of motivated reasoning. I imagine it applies terribly well to sports fans and decisions too.

Ah it was more in jest at the Munster fans.

It's definitely a problem though, even with the AIs and the 6 Nations etc it generally seems to be the main point of topic after every game. And generally it's all bs.

No obvious injuries either? Both teams get through pretty unscathed?

Ideal.

Munster's firsts lose to Leinster B again and the ref blaming begins.

Clegg wrote: »

It's great isn't it.

No obvious injuries either? Both teams get through pretty unscathed?

Ideal.

Ross Byrne was taken off and was clearly in some discomfort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Mookie Blaylock

I think it's about time the reffing situation was addressed properly...we have a professional league.. professional players at the top of their game...and yellow pack officials...it's just not good enough I'm afraid

That Cavanaghs of Charleville ad is beyond annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Great game ruined by a ****ing dope of a ref. It could have been a very different story without him playing for ye ;) Hope he never gets a pro 14 game again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

fenris wrote: »
    Whitehouse for motm? ðŸ˜

bitter?
    Not really, to my mind he is a baby Barnes who seems to feel that he has to make a personal impression rather than "just" ref the game. It takes from the game whatever the result.
    As someone pointed out earlier, it's not a great state of affairs when you check who the ref is before you decide whether to watch a game.

Faugheen wrote: »
    Ross Byrne was taken off and was clearly in some discomfort.

He'll have a tight hamstring from the kick. Be grand.

will she ask pete were munster lacking pashun?

Great game ruined by a ****ing dope of a ref. It could have been a very different story without him playing for ye ;) Hope he never gets a pro 14 game again.

bitter? move on.

ask pete about his binding?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Well it was probably the worst refereeing performance I have seen and that’s saying something, he was the only reason Leinster won the game, simple as that. Better team lost, any other ref and it’s a 15 point Munster win even allowing for slight home bias.

But this was just laughable in its onesidedness, you would wonder did a Limerick man Rodger his wife or something...

Anyway positive signs for Munster after Cardiff embarrassment, looked far more powerful and the near 80% possession stats bear that out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

ask pete about his binding?

His been binding like that for a while now...It's certainly not new for him

Tommy Bowe is a natural here. Ryle picked the right protege.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭mangobob

You mean, with a different referee you might have actually beaten our B side? :P

Ref was poor for both sides. Munster can feel hard done by in some ways, but the ref was not the reason they lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,603 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

It's great isn't it.

yeah. Cause when one team is camped on the other teams 5 metre line spending 5-10 minutes dominating scrums and the other team gives away 4 penalties in a row and the referee doesn't give a yellow card. That's good refereeing

And when one team gets a penalty just before half time that costs 3 points when there wasn't even a hint of a foul

And when one team wins multiple legitimate turnovers but the referee blows penalties against them, over and over and over again...

Yeah, the referee didn't influence the outcome of the game at all

mangobob wrote: »

You mean, with a different referee you might have actually beaten our B side? :P

Ref was poor for both sides. Munster can feel hard done by in some ways, but the ref was not the reason they lost.

No doubt in my mind we would have beaten ye with a different ref, don't flatter yourself. It will be a different story in December.

Much easier to blame someone else for your own teams inadequacies.

Yep.

mangobob wrote: »

No doubt in my mind we would have beaten ye with a different ref, don't flatter yourself. It will be a different story in December.
    Like last December?

We sent the seconds over to give you a confidence boost ffs. Not our fault you lost. Again.

Much easier to blame someone else for your own teams inadequacies.

Yep.

Nothing inadequate about any of our team tonight, not really a fair game when we get one of our top players sent off for **** all 15 mins in to match. Not really a fair game when the referee is a Leinster fanboy blind to clear and blatant fouling from them. Ye only won because of the ref, don't make any mistake about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭kub

That ref is always useless, nothing surprising about his performance at this game.
    And his next one and all others after that.
    The guy is a tool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

bitter? move on.
    Waiting for posts you dont agree with and telling people to move on? Great contribution lad.
    Its the match tread, people talk about how they feel about the match, whether thay have a point or not. How about some constructive counter arguments and less childish smugness.

Hazardous-Label-Toxic6.gif