Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v9] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Crashed at commercial break - desperate

It got an upgrade last December and I fonder it brutal. Luckily I got a few days later.
    I tried using it again and found it rubbish

Quick question is Jarleth an unusual name or is it just me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

It's fairly common out Galway direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Jarlath - think there's a Saint with that name. Now dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Did Orla borrow Nora Batty's coat ?

What are the chances Heather's going to break the snow globe?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Ha ha. Priceless. Hughies face !

The only bit of skin Hughie is going to see for a long time...no wonder he had a sneaky second glance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Has to be one of the weirdest episodes...

Heather may be brain damaged but it seems to be ingrained in her to go after a man who’s in a relationship.

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    The only bit of skin Hughie is going to see for a long time...no wonder he had a sneaky second glance.
    Why? Don’t get that? he’s with Jackie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Just passing through, dudes...how in god’s name are some of you still going?

Just caught glimpse of tonight on FC....oh god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Poor oul Hughie, he better never go to the beach if he is ever in Spain or all the boobs around him will send him over the edge!

fin12 wrote: »
    Why? Don’t get that? he’s with Jackie.

Jackie has the patience of Job. But I can't see her putting up with the care and attension he's showing Heather for much longer. There'll be three of them in the marriage if she doesn't tell Hughie to ask Heather to move on.

If the marriage goes ahead is another day's work.

Jackie has the patience of Job. But I can't see her putting up with the care and attension he's showing Heather for much longer. There'll be three of them in the marriage if she doesn't tell Hughie to ask Heather to move on.

If the marriage goes ahead is another day's work.

Jackie's going to go off with Pete again I'd say!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭threetrees

Just wait til Dolly finds out that the Child of Prague isn't going to be her grandchild.

threetrees wrote: »
    Just wait til Dolly finds out that the Child of Prague isn't going to be her grandchild.

It's an awful mess altogether. They're lying left, right and centre.

Sash will shortly be getting homesick, and with the morning sickness and missing Samantha, the Child of Praque might yet be the Child of Pimlico or the Child of Portmarnock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

It's just you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Jarlath - think there's a Saint with that name. Now dead.
    Well if he is a saint he'd have to be dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

All the money Fiona has and she is staying in a hostel, what happened to the hotel Jackie used to manage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

Heather told to 'go to her room': Serena Joy in The Handmaid's Tale comes to mind! Blessed be the Fair City fruit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,110 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Sash will shortly be getting homesick, and with the morning sickness and missing Samantha, the Child of Praque might yet be the Child of Pimlico or the Child of Portmarnock.

I don't think she's staying in Prague for the full pregnancy, I think the plan was to go get pregnant then come home and tell Deco that it didn't work out with the girl she went to meet, that she met a guy and had a ONS or some sort of **** like that.

How can Heather even fly alone to and from Brazil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Damo coould really do with some fashion tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,110 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Did Bob and Renee get married? I do remember that there was always planning going on, on every episode for about 6 months but I don't remember a wedding... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

The heather story line is terrible. Some of the worst characters in the show all in one storyline. She is really over acting the part as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

I am so sick of Paul and Fiona, the same every night. "Stay away from Root" It's such a boring story line. And please send Heather back to Brazil,she's driving me mad.

Okay, so maybe I'm not in the best of moods today. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Did Bob and Renee get married? I do remember that there was always planning going on, on every episode for about 6 months but I don't remember a wedding... :confused:

Didn't they get married the time the Garda pulled in the wedding car as stolen or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

tototoe wrote: »
    The heather story line is terrible. Some of the worst characters in the show all in one storyline. She is really over acting the part as well.
    I think shes a brilliant actor. At least she has the ability to Express herself as does ellie. Some of the other actors are so so monotone its pathetic.

Ellie or Heather will discover Jackie and Pete getting it on and no one will believe them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭PinkLady2016

yeah its a crazy mess :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,194 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It's badly written IMO. If she had a recent brain injury, you would expect her to be receiving regular speech and language therapy and yet this doesn't seem to be happening and her vocabulary hasn't improved at all in the last 12-18 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

Strazdas wrote: »
    It's badly written IMO. If she had a recent brain injury, you would expect her to be receiving regular speech and language therapy and yet this doesn't seem to be happening and her vocabulary hasn't improved at all in the last 12-18 months.

Agreed, and there are organisations such as Headway Ireland who would give support and therapy to Heather and family. Heather needs to be occupied and stimulated, a local Headway group could sort that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,194 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

jos28 wrote: »
    Agreed, and there are organisations such as Headway Ireland who would give support and therapy to Heather and family. Heather needs to be occupied and stimulated, a local Headway group could sort that out.

The idea that someone with serious issues stemming from a head injury would just be dumped with the Phelans and not receiving any treatment or therapy is ridiculous. A young woman like Heather would be a prime candidate for speech and language therapy and probably counselling as well.

It’s not going to be a happy ending for Fiona and Paul cause even if Fiona is genuine that guy who she was colluding with, will spill the beans to Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Sparko

The idea that someone with serious issues stemming from a head injury would just be dumped with the Phelans and not receiving any treatment or therapy is ridiculous. A young woman like Heather would be a prime candidate for speech and language therapy and probably counselling as well.

I'm surprised we haven't heard anything about her being escorted off the plane home from Brazil by the gardai - based on her behaviour so far it just doesn't seem likely that she was stable on the plane by herself.

If anything Heather seems to be getting worse instead of better. It's a sad affair.

Her behaviour is affecting so many people around her.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭threetrees

I'm not sure how long Wayne can keep schtum about the child of prague. It's all going to come out soon I reckon.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

The stooges filming a commerical, remember they were filming one as well in Wayne's gaff with damo.

Great camera work there from Orla.

I wouldn't buy a car at Molloy's the reg's don't even exist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

It would be far more realistic if they even showed her family struggling/campaigning to get treatment for Heather. Dealing with HSE, waiting months for appointments etc etc

The stooges filming a commerical, remember they were filming one as well in Wayne's gaff with damo.

Great camera work there from Orla.

It looks so professional a garage with it's employees working on cars parked on double yellow lines on the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Sparko

Has Ray ever shown any interest in Ruth before tonight?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Oh god, Wayne’s video hahahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Heather really is a terrible person.

I'm 99% sure in about 07/08 Heather was researching for a book about being a prostitute so she went out on the street for research.(She did nothing).
    I could just imagine the spin on this if it happened now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Jesus christ, this show, heather shouting out she loves duck tales in the middle of the pub, fecking hell they've ruined her character, she was actually funny before this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

Jesus christ, this show, heather shouting out she loves duck tales in the middle of the pub, fecking hell they've ruined her character, she was actually funny before this.

Its really poor and continues to slide . The garage video thing was pathetic and the whole Heather storyline is a complete disaster. As others have said the way her supposed condition is being handled is not in the least bit credible. I dont think the 30 something team of writers do credible though. Its worse that storyline is getting and the acting is just terrible.

. The viewing figures must be on the slide, rte have a post about fair city on their website nearly daily, pushing the molloys garage video thing being one of the recent ones and it stank of desperation tbh. How they think that will entertain or attract viewers is beyond me or even that its a worthy storyline to report on. I know its Rte but come on.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2019/0610/1053321-watch-orla-shoots-promo-video-for-garage-on-fair-city/

Fair city has always been criticised, it comes with the territory but over the years they did some storylines well and there was always a bit of humour, not always intended its fair to say...but now its just nonsense. Somebody thinks we shoukd be entertained by mundane storylines around cass and leo as an example. They are repeating more or less the same storlines around paul brennan for years.

For my money, the current slide started with katy in the box and its like a runaway train going down a steep hill since.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

It's fairly common out Galway direction.

Sometimes the Irish version, Iarfhlaith, (ear-la) is used.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Afollower

Orla has looked very rough for the past week. Is she letting her hair go grey or what. She looks a right state.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭bm_1212

For my money, the current slide started with katy in the box and its like a runaway train going down a steep hill since.

the "jumped the shark" moment..