Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cafe Owner Tells Customer to Drop Dead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

€11.99 for a stir-fry - you be charged more than that in Dublin for a panini.

Let's just call it €12 altogether. It's not like you're going to get your 1c change.
    Hate these .99 prices, just call it what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

B0jangles wrote: »
    Strange people. There’s a thread about rip off Ireland, and there’s this - a thread supporting rip off Ireland.

Did you not get the memo? - Tom's a LEGEND! Yer wan's just a whiny aul yoke who probably should have had her stirfry thrown in her face and been thrown out of the building!!!

He chose to turn it into a panto performance.

He did and now he's got a shedload of exposure for it,Wiley auld fox is our Tom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I said earlier that he was as credible as Brent Kavanagh. I actually made the connection while listening to him
    What surprises me about both the comparison of Brett Kavanaugh and Tom, is both people had a public allegation against them, in an attempt to sully their good name and affect their profession. And the people who took the allegation without any actual proof or evidence, and publically attempted to ruin careers, one being a Supreme Court judge of the United States, the other a cafe in Offaly, in the media, act appalled and angry and like they were somehow justified in their witch hunt because the accused, faced with an unfair trail by media, is angry and annoyed.

What do you expect? Them to be falling across themselves to kiss the arse of the people who try ruin them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

What surprises me about both the comparison of Brett Kavanaugh and Tom, is both people had a public allegation against them, in an attempt to sully their good name and affect their profession. And the people who took the allegation without any actual proof or evidence, and publically attempted to ruin careers, one being a Supreme Court judge of the United States, the other a cafe in Offaly, in the media, act appalled and angry and like they were somehow justified in their witch hunt because the accused, faced with an unfair trail by media, is angry and annoyed.

Bret Kavanagh has no good name. The whole thing is whitewash. FBI investigation was a farce. They were called in to the investigate yet the people who called them in limited them to questioning 4 people. He lied before giving evidence, during evidence and since giving evidence.

As for your friend Tom, he couldn't keep his story straight either.

I hope he enjoys his vat inspection that has to follow.

How do you know it’s lies? Proof that what both parties claim didn’t happen. Or do you know more than the fbi with your crystal ball?

Or I suppose if you are a trump supporter then you'd call them alternative facts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

If I go into a restaurant to eat, always there are prices next to the dishes, are there prices on Toms menu, I bet there are, she should have known the price before ordering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭jluv

Listened to the whole thing. Now none of us can know what was said or not.
    But in my view the lady came on to question the adding of extra VAT before January as in "her opinion" that was the explanation given to her. I tend to believe her purely on Tom's behavior on the show. He came in to give his "side" of the story but when he could'nt he became a bully. He was rude,offensive,obnoxious and couldn't support his claim. He tried to make it about 2 euro. The lady on several attempts said it wasn't about 2 euro but about the explanation. To be fair she wasn't targeting his establishment but was asking if anyone had been faced with the same problem. He then came on all contrite but soon changed.
    His restaurant may be full due to his great staff and good food but not due to Tom's customer service. And after his antics on this interview I'd worry about his staffs working conditions. He was out of control on that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Any chance the Trump/Kavanaugh butt-hurt could be kept to the Anti-Trump thread in Politics.
    I couldn't care less if they appointed a chimpanzee to the supreme court, I can't see why so many Irish are throwing their toys out of the pram about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

jluv wrote: »
    Listened to the whole thing. Now none of us can know what was said or not.
    But in my view the lady came on to question the adding of extra VAT before January as in "her opinion" that was the explanation given to her. I tend to believe her purely on Tom's behavior on the show. He came in to give his "side" of the story but when he could'nt he became a bully. He was rude,offensive,obnoxious and couldn't support his claim. He tried to make it about 2 euro. The lady on several attempts said it wasn't about 2 euro but about the explanation. To be fair she wasn't targeting his establishment but was asking if anyone had been faced with the same problem. He then came on all contrite but soon changed.
    His restaurant may be full due to his great staff and good food but not due to Tom's customer service. And after his antics on this interview I'd worry about his staffs working conditions. He was out of control on that..

He came across as a bully and an ignorant bollix. The lady had no agenda only that the vat had been upped to 13.5% prematurely. ( I believe he said that to her). He threatened that one of his staff would have to go,again in my view bullying them into performing better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

He came across as a bully and an ignorant bollix. The lady had no agenda only that the vat had been upped to 13.5% prematurely. ( I believe he said that to her). He threatened that one of his staff would have to go,again in my view bullying them into performing better.

Massive stretch. No suggestion of that whatsoever. Trying to send a message to the politicians maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The lady had no agenda .

I think the lady had every Agenda. She was trying to belittle the guy. Pure one upmanship and cock crowing.

The poster whose Dad ran a small business put it perfectly.

These type of negative insipid begrudging whingers literally suck the life out of everything and anything they they touch.

anewme wrote: »
    I think the lady had every Agenda. She was trying to belittle the guy. Pure one upmanship and cock crowing.

The poster whose Dad ran a small business put it perfectly.

These type of negative insipid begrudging whingers literally suck the life out of everything and anything they they touch.

She had no need to belittle him, he needed no help,as a matter of fact he is a champion of self belittlement.

robbiezero wrote: »
    Massive stretch. No suggestion of that whatsoever. Trying to send a message to the politicians maybe.

Plz explain !

He said he would have to let someone go because of the increase in the VAT rate.
    You made that out to be bullying his staff to perform better.
    I make out that to be a bit of a stretch.

She had no need to belittle him, he needed no help,as a matter of fact he is a champion of self belittlement.

Nope, he told her he would not bow down to the likes of her.

She didn't like it one bit.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

You know, sometimes, just sometimes, the customer is not always right...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

He said he would have to let someone go because of the increase in the VAT rate.

Why the Fcuk would a tiny increase need layoffs. Either take the hit or add it on.

The same gombeen increased prices anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

JupiterKid wrote: »
    You know, sometimes, just sometimes, the customer is not always right...

Remarkable defense of a guy who increased prices by 20%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Stark wrote: »
    As someone whose granny is dead, I find his comments totally offensive and am prepared to start a Twitter meltdown over it.

Your being offended, offends me.

He up his prices by €2.00. In January he will increase them again by 4.5%. He is threatening his staff with dismissal because of the vat hike. He never mentioned the initial €2 raise. He is a bully and told a blatant lie to Duffy during the programme. He was asked if he ever had any other business,he replied no,this was untrue.

anewme wrote: »
    Nope, he told her he would not bow down to the likes of her.

She didn't like it one bit.

The likes of her just calld him out for lying,wheres the problem there. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

If it is a stunt it could backfire on the cafe owner. Its been claimed that he's charging too much vat. I would be surprised if he doesn't have a VAT inspection, or worse still a full audit, this side of Christmas

If she was charged the higher rate of vat as she claims, it would show up in the breakdown on her till receipt. There was no mention of a receipt on Liveline. All a big storm in a coffee cup.

Hoping to see the 'Big storm in a coffee cup' latte on the menu shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

He is a bully and told a blatant lie to Duffy during the programme. He was asked if he ever had any other business,he replied no,this was untrue.

Joe asked him do you have any other restaurant businesses and he replied 'No, I used to have a department store'.

Wheres the blatant lie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭vectorvictor

Joe asked him do you have any other restaurant businesses and he replied 'No, I used to have a department store'.

Wheres the blatant lie?

Will ya stop letting the truth get in the way of the morally outraged.

Serious lack of listening ears on this thread.

He up his prices by €2.00. In January he will increase them again by 4.5%. He is threatening his staff with dismissal because of the vat hike. He never mentioned the initial €2 raise. He is a bully and told a blatant lie to Duffy during the programme. He was asked if he ever had any other business,he replied no,this was untrue.

Wrong.

No evidence he is a bully. He might be a very decent employer, we don't know.
    "Threatening his staff with dismissal" - He said he will probably have to let one staff member go because of the VAT hike. In your eyes this equates to him going in to work roaring at his staff to up their performance because one of them is going to be fired.
    Is every company or person that says they will have to lay off staff a bully then or threatening their staff?

The likes of her just calld him out for lying,wheres the problem there. ?

Just because she says iit, does not mean it's true.

He said it wasn't true. .

The likes of her are those you'd hope stay away from your business. Just waiting on an opportunity to complain.

The person whose Dad ran a small business and had to put up with this crap summed it up.

Whingers like that are more trouble than they are worth.

Anyone who has ever worked in retail will recognise this type of customer.

Mena Mitty wrote:
    If she was charged the higher rate of vat as she claims, it would show up in the breakdown on her till receipt. There was no mention of a receipt on Liveline. All a big storm in a coffee cup.

Not all receipts show the vat. Most don't if fact. It's usually when someone can claim the vat on that a company will show vat on the receipt. A cafe defiantly would ha to show the vat on the receipt.

She paid by card & has two transactions on statement. One at the old price and one for the budget price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭QueenRizla

She paid by card & has two transactions on statement. One at the old price and one for the budget price.

I thought she said she didn’t have noodles in the last stir fry and did in this one. That might explain why this one was €2 more.
    That’s about right for a portion of noodles. He said you pay different prices depending on what’s in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Regardless of why she was charged 2 euro extra (noodles or whatever) this man either has psychological problems or he is on something. He was worse than rude.
    Having said that I alternated between thinking above and wondering was it a comedy sketch and yes I laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭facehugger99

QueenRizla wrote: »
    I thought she said she didn’t have noodles in the last stir fry and did in this one. That might explain why this one was €2 more.
    That’s about right for a portion of noodles. He said you pay different prices depending on what’s in it.

Surprised so few people picked up on this. She basically admitted at the start of the interview that she'd paid €9.99 for the stir fry WITHOUT NOODLES the last time.

Mystery solved.

Now fcuk off the national airwaves with your €2 whingefest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Surprised so few people picked up on this. She basically admitted at the start of the interview that she'd paid €9.99 for the stir fry WITHOUT NOODLES the last time.

Mystery solved.

Joe Duffy gets paid huge amounts of money to take the piss out of the afflicted .

A large part of Duffy’s show is the equivalent of going in to mental asylums and laughing at the affiliated patients . Only in Ireland would this lowlife get paid money for doing this . The British do not have the equivalent of Joe Duffy . They have a higher level of common decency .

blinding wrote:
    Joe Duffy gets paid huge amounts of money to take the piss out of the afflicted .

Believe it or not LiveLine is one of the most important radio shows in Ireland. There are times votes have been delayed so parties can gauge the publics reaction on LiveLine. Its the only way parties can get an immediate idea of public reaction to something happening in real time.

Most of the time it might be meaningless stuff but several times a year it plays a big part in Irish politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

blinding wrote:

Believe it or not LiveLine is one of the most important radio shows in Ireland. There are times votes have been delayed so parties can gauge the publics reaction on LiveLine.

The problem with that is, most of the public doesn't listen to Duffy and his verbal diarrhoea, which would actually explain why politicians are so out of touch with reality.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

I worked in his dept store when it was open as a weekend job when I was 16. He was a strict boss but fair. He wasn’t difficult to work for at all, and definitely couldn’t describe him as a bully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Lol, just listened to the podcast, and was laughing out loud, enjoyed it so much, I sent it by WhatsApp to the old man (cos I know he'll appreciate it too)

Them two yokes got more than they bargained for with that man, who gave way more than he got.

Kinda felt it was pretty unfair that the lads behind the scenes on liveline seemed to line up the callers to attack the owner, with only one lad backing him up.

As previously mentioned, It's his business, he can put his prices up if he wants to, don't know why anyone would bother calling a radio show about 2 bloody euro.

If I was walking home from the pub and seen 2e on the footpath, I wouldn't even bend over to pick it up FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

blinding wrote: »

A large part of Duffy’s show is the equivalent of going in to mental asylums and laughing at the affiliated patients . Only in Ireland would this lowlife get paid money for doing this . The British do not have the equivalent of Joe Duffy . They have a higher level of common decency .

I really like listening to Irish radio but Joe Duffy's show is just a bit more restrained version of American daytime trash tv. Sad part is part of the public takes it seriously and the rest listen to it to laugh at them.

Mystery solved.

I was sure said that as well.

He said that the price differs depending on what you get.

She's hardly going to expect free noodles in a cafe?

She knew well her order was different and still tried to moan.

He should have just said. This time you got a different order, with additional noodles.

The fact he didn't though, made for great radio.

She expected and wanted him to bow and scrape and grovel and when he said, you know what you can do with your principles, she was gobsmacked and there was silence.

You'd half wonder if the whole thing was a wind up, it was that funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

It was comedy gold. I was down the local last night and it popped up in conversation. Everyone had just read on line article about so were brain washed in to thinking Tom was an bastard. I said you have to hear and tell me if you think the same after it.
    So sipping pints listen to the conservation and the laughs were had by the end of it Tom was the good guy .

Make no mistake to anyone who ever work in a bar \restaurant\ retail this was porn. They have met those people before who take advantage of the “customer is always right” mantra and get off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I worked in his dept store when it was open as a weekend job when I was 16. He was a strict boss but fair. He wasn’t difficult to work for at all, and definitely couldn’t describe him as a bully

He was a master at coming up with idea's for his business. One I remember was 'Dangerous prices' section of the department store and the wall to wall advertizing on local radio.....dangerously low prices yelped Tom 40 times a day on the radio ( slight exaggeration there maybe 30 times a day ) His sales were legendary with the carpark full of buses from the four corners of Ireland. Those were the days. I'm feeling an ol' poem coming on...

The storm in the Coffee cup.

Yup !

The yellow star of Tullamore
    Is no more
    The Coffee club is now his hub
    There's always a welcome
    at Texas Tom's door
    no matter who you are.

;-)

The problem with that is, most of the public doesn't listen to Duffy and his verbal diarrhoea, which would actually explain why politicians are so out of touch with reality.

You do realise that liveline has one of the largest listening figures in the county right? They usually hover 370,000 to 400,000.

Yeah to laugh at the perpetually offended, the likes of someone who’d happily ruin a small business over €2/not getting her noodles for free

Well for whatever reason they are one of the most popular radio shows & probably the one that has the most influence on the Dail. There's many a 10 minute pole that has influenced politicians. Close to 20 percent of Irish adults from all over the country listen to liveline.

Well they didn’t have any influence on damaging a small business, thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

She wasn't trying to damage the business, she was wondering why the prices went up before the tax was implemented. Then yer man went full strawman. Decent entertainment. 6/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

While in business you could never ever say what Tom said. Many days, these old biddies complained about EVERYTHING. It was such a nice change when I was no longer in business, to hear the same old see you next Tuesdays pulling the same crap in another business and telling them that they haven’t changed and are still a pain in the arse of humanity.

Grayditch wrote: »
    She wasn't trying to damage the business, she was wondering why the prices went up before the tax was implemented. Then yer man went full strawman. Decent entertainment. 6/10.
    When I go into a restaurant and notice the price went up, I would assume that the cost of ingredients or wages or indeed any overheads would be the reason for the rise in price. In fact, I might not even wonder at all, if my order was completely different from the last time I was charged the lower price.

What I wouldn’t do, is broadcast the business name and location on a show known to be frequented by the perpetually offended unless I wanted to make a show of the business or cause the business harm.

Well they didn’t have any influence on damaging a small business, thankfully.

Ah look. Country folk can be a strange bunch. Michael Lowry topped the poll for the first time after he was caught with his hand in the cookie jar, taking bribes and generally selling the country down the swanny. Country folks love a crook. Lowry actually got the highest vote in the country the year he was caught if I'm not mistaken. They don't like country folk telling them right from wrong.

Liveline doesn't set out to ruin any business. This lady would have had to email her bank statements to show that she had a genuine case before they let her on the air. It's not livelines fault that he couldn't stick to his story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

My favourite liveline recently was the Chao who was shopping with his son and was asked by the checkout person if he'd like to buy chocolates for the homeless, he expressed his excitement to his son on the way home about getting home and having a nice cup of tea to go with his chocolates... His son then explained that he actually bought chocolate FOR the homeless and actually had no chocolate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

QueenRizla wrote: »

This explains the whole thing, I think Tom did not know of this when she spoke to him, of course an extra would cost that, and in most places it would cost more, I must listen to the interview back, does anyone know where we can link to that to hear it from the horses mouth, so to speak