Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are you right now? Part 5

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

smurfjed wrote: »
    Ugh, made the mistake of telling my office boss that I'm in town so the work requests have started :):)

I understand that Grace is OK, but offline due to technology. Will post if I find out more.

Please tell her we are thinking of her. X

I am lying in bed feeling hungover but am not. Had a rather dramatic night....

Myself and himself went to the local food truck park for dinner last night. I did my usual quizzing each van about what oils they use, what can I eat etc. Settled for a meh veggie burrito and some chips. Got myself a virgin mojito after reading the ingredients on the syrup bottle for my nemises.

It started to rain so we packed up and took it home. Sipping away on my drink that had loads of mint and other herbs at the bottom as well as lemon slices, a plum type thing and muching on my food when I statrted to get my Spidey senses tingling ( really my lips tingle) and start feeling a bit unwell.

We are home at this stage and bf looks at my drink and spots lumps that I thought were pear in my cup but are actually nata de Coco or in other words a type of coconut jelly.

Took an antihistamine and tried to relax. Went for a shower to calm down but to no avail. Luckily one of the best private hospitals in the city is basically across the road from us so into a taxi and away we go as my breathing becomes very difficult. An hour, injections of adrenaline, steroids and antihistamine later am home in my own bed again.

Feck off death. Cheated you again despite your sly hiding coconut in my drink trick. Ha!

It is scary though how easily things can go wrong even when am so careful. Walked away from 2 food trucks coz they weren't sure what oil they used for their food but didn't think to tell the drink guy my allergies, just read the syrup. Big mistake.

I always feel almost embarrassed like am being a drama queen when am asking so many questions, showing my translated allergy list and telling them I could die if I eat these things but unfortunately I have to.

So if you're ever somewhere and your order is being delayed by someone asking questions, getting staff to check ingredients etc, please be patient, they may be only trying to stay alive.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

The feckin google doodle game, played it once earlier now itching to go at it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Still in my hotel in Salt Lake City, waiting to go home. I fly out at 11 tomorrow morning... so happy to be going home I can't sleep - until about an hour before I have to get up.. Typical.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Listening to Rezz very loud in the office.. Have to turn it down soon, daywalkers are due. Hmph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Shpud2

Walking along the riverbank. Very aware of my surroundings. The shadows moving across my path. The crunch of leaves underfoot as with each step I get further towards the edge. The water is calm, reflecting the clouds above and their slight green tint as the moonlight shines through.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,113 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Got woken by the sound of thunder, there is a massive thunderstorm sitting off the coast, hopefully it will dissipate before hitting land otherwise we are in for a wet day.
    Poor mutt decided that he didn't like loud noises while sitting on the balcony, so he has returned to bed with the missus.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Couch side. I've had breakfast. Day 3 of 4 today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Back at the coalface, nice short week ahead

Finally finished at the coalface

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Glad you're ok witchie! Did you always have allergies or did they develop as you got older?

Purple I read that as "I just had breakfast 3 of 4". Thought that 4 brekkies sounds like a great idea.

The coalface - what does that mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,260 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Morning all :)

Back to hell today :( wonder what will be in store for me today

Coalface = work

Whispered wrote: »
    Glad you're ok witchie! Did you always have allergies or did they develop as you got older?

I have had asthma officially since I was 16 but had constant chest infections since had pneumonia when I was 2 so think probably was asthmatic all along. Also had excema all over as a baby but just get small patches now.

When was in my teens became allergic to codiene, then Alo vera and iodine presented problems. When was in my late 30's developed an allergy to penicillin and at the grand age of 40 the nuts, coconut and seeds decided they no longer wanted to get in my belly and have been trying to kill me for the past 5 years.

In Starbucks. Today was a red velvet day. Feel like crap still so heading home to work on the sofa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Breakfast table, blinded by low bright sunshine through the window. It looks lovely outside...I may head that direction shortly.

blinded by low bright sunshine through the window.

That light shows up dust, dog hair and wrinkles. It's the only thing I dislike about this time of year :D

I have bread dough rising for burger buns and I'm about to bring the little fella to the park then into the shop for cupcake ingredients and some firelighters. Cosy evening planned.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,251 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

The coalface - what does that mean?

It basically means you put coal on your face before you go into work as it has calming effects.......

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Why is leaving bed always so hard on a Tuesday morning? :(

It basically means you put coal on your face before you go into work as it has calming effects.......

Calming effects you say?

Currently dipping face into the coal bucket.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

@Witchie, glad you're OK. I've had the delightful experience twice. Unfortunately I'm in the small percentage that they can't pinpoint what I'm allergic too. So after 9 years of yearly testing my specialist told me about the trials using vitamin D to boost the immune system. Paracetamol, a random ingredient in curry will send me anaphylatic but there's a few thing affect my breathing and bring me out in itchy skin and hives. Fckin nasty stuff.
    Anyway the vitamin D seems to work cos I ate chicken wings that had curry powder listed in the ingredients and nothing happened.. (discovered after the fact)
    Currently on the couch having cuddles but need to do a nappy change soon, my eyes are watering :D then bathtime for a scrubbing.
    I've just cleaned up after breakfast.. Now they're asking for lunch..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,251 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Calming effects you say?

Currently dipping face into the coal bucket.

Deskside sniggering to myself :pac:

Sitting in the car about to head off. Today is my first day of being alone in a week so am very much looking forward to putting on the pjs and enjoying the lovely peace and quiet :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

At the coalface.

(Picking up the lingo around here)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,260 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Busy little bee I am today and I've only half a days work done

Now carside people watching :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Cleaning, well taking a break from it. I detest cleaning. But Autumn means shedding season, amazing how much hair comes off one small dog.

It's a loosing battle :o

• Registered Users Posts: 21,907 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

La.de.da wrote: »
    Cleaning, well taking a break from it. I detest cleaning. But Autumn means shedding season, amazing how much hair comes off one small dog.

It's a loosing battle :o

Fecking same here !

At last if they were sheep we could make wool from the amount that's shed :)

cbyrd wrote: »
    @Witchie, glad you're OK. I've had the delightful experience twice. Unfortunately I'm in the small percentage that they can't pinpoint what I'm allergic too. So after 9 years of yearly testing my specialist told me about the trials using vitamin D to boost the immune system. Paracetamol, a random ingredient in curry will send me anaphylatic but there's a few thing affect my breathing and bring me out in itchy skin and hives. Fckin nasty stuff.
    Anyway the vitamin D seems to work cos I ate chicken wings that had curry powder listed in the ingredients and nothing happened.. (discovered after the fact)
    Currently on the couch having cuddles but need to do a nappy change soon, my eyes are watering :D then bathtime for a scrubbing.
    I've just cleaned up after breakfast.. Now they're asking for lunch..

I was that soldier for a few years where was just getting almost mild anaphylaxis that a few antihistamines would cure. The immunologist I saw told me they didn't know what was triggering them but it would become apparent eventually. She wasn't wrong.

So this vitamin d, me getting out in the sun isn't enough? Do you have any links or info on it that I can look at? Would be great if could get some relief.

Currently on the sofa waiting to interview someone over whatsapp for my magazine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Fecking same here !

At last if they were sheep we could make wool from the amount that's shed :)

No wearing black for the foreseeable future. Lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

In the airport in Salt Lake City on my way home :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,907 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Getting ready to go pick up granddaughter , for her sleepover .. She's three , and it was her idea ha !
    To say it shall be an interesting evening would be putting it mildly :D

At the coalface.

(Picking up the lingo around here)

Did you apply the coal to your face for the calming effects though?