Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is Darndale that bad??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Alias G wrote: »
    Are there no ghettos in the Netherlands that he could have profiled?

He did. Show is called probleemwijk. (Bad Neighbourboods)
    This is from a spin off called buitenwijk. (Bad foreigners/outsiders neighbourhoods)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Simona1986 wrote: »

Is the house behind new or abandoned? Looks decent, be a shame if it’s empty because of, you know, er, being a sh!thole area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,903 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

As someone who has served in both the Lebanese civil war and the Israeli occupation of south Lebanon I feel safer walking around the streets of Beirut unarmed day or night than I would in Darndale armed to the teeth (as I was in Lebanon).
    That documentary maker is actually from Beirut, and moved to The Netherlands with his family when he was 15 (in 1993). Maybe he had that in mind when he made the programmes in Darndale, Marseilles and Naples.

Nostalgia, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Simona1986 wrote: »

Where's the blue rope and the car tyre for the swing?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Is there a subtitled version ?

You don't really need subs, there is so much English in it.

It was good they showed a couple of local people standing up to the hands in jocks businessmen, though I dread to think what sort of life the 'rats' (as they called them) have up there.

The cheek of them wanting a safe and decent place for their kids to grow up/play in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,895 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Is there a subtitled version ?

Those lads from Darndale are very hard to understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

neris wrote: »
    the only upgrading the lamp posts in darndale get is a new dublin flag every year before the gaa season

And black flags on the anniversary of Bobby Sands death and other IRA gunmen's deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Feisar wrote: »
    Yer from where yer from, nothing one can really do about it.

It's where you are going that matters.

Eh yer from where yer parents decided to shack up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭LaChatteGitane

He did. Show is called probleemwijk. (Bad Neighbourboods)
    This is from a spin off called buitenwijk. (Bad foreigners/outsiders neighbourhoods)

That is not what buitenwijk means. :D Een buitenwijk is just a suburb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭oceanman

neris wrote: »
    the only upgrading the lamp posts in darndale get is a new dublin flag every year before the gaa season
    noting wrong with that..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

I spent a while there as a young buck, though my father actually worked hard enough to get us out of the place. It was a LOT worse in the 80's, the houses were basically back to front; what are now front gardens/doors used to be the back gardens which were walled in. The front doors opened into laneways or courtyards. And they were all brown.

It didn't seem too bad back then but my folks didn't let us out alone, we moved when I was around 7. I've been back many times and I can honestly say that it is the worst place in Ireland.

I remember back in the day, the church used to publish the total amount of money donated from all the parishes in Dublin, most were in the thousands, Darndale was something like £15. ROFL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

I watched that episode a couple of weeks back. It was something else. Fine ambassadors to the country :pac:

I’ve seen another one of that series, in Marseille. I do want to watch the rest too. One big difference though, was the lads in Darndale were not afraid of the camera. Showing off how to break into a Toyota Corolla with a filed down Nissan key etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I spent a while there as a young buck, though my father actually worked hard enough to get us out of the place. It was a LOT worse in the 80's, the houses were basically back to front; what are now front gardens/doors used to be the back gardens which were walled in. The front doors opened into laneways or courtyards. And they were all brown.

It didn't seem too bad back then but my folks didn't let us out alone, we moved when I was around 7. I've been back many times and I can honestly say that it is the worst place in Ireland.

I remember back in the day, the church used to publish the total amount of money donated from all the parishes in Dublin, most were in the thousands, Darndale was something like £15. ROFL

A bit after the 80's but I used to do deliveries for Thang Kong in Priorswood and we used to have to have a runner to deliver to the doors because car's weren't safe left alone.

I lost count of the amount of times the runner was beaten up and robbed, coming back to the car beat up and crying (they were always kids).

When we'd be delivering and a cop vehicle would go onto the Darndale ring road we'd have to pull in and wait for the garda vehicle to go a little ahead of us because the lads would be waiting to brick them.. The ring road would be like missile ally.

That was back in the 90's. The place is a nightmare.

Do I a 5km run every Saturday morning, its called 'Parkrun' and they're held all over Ireland (and 20 other countries). My 'home run' is Saint Annes park where we get over 400 runners, I'm also a regular at Father Collins Park (70-100 runners).. Darndale park has one, its got more outside volunteers show up than local runners. It averages less than 10, and visitors are advised to park their cars over in Tescos in Clarehall and walk over to the park.

The locals just aren't getting behind anything which requires effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

If you see a dog with a tail its a tourist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

A bit after the 80's but I used to do deliveries for Thang Kong in Priorswood and we used to have to have a runner to deliver to the doors because car's weren't safe left alone.

I lost count of the amount of times the runner was beaten up and robbed, coming back to the car beat up and crying (they were always kids).

When we'd be delivering and a cop vehicle would go onto the Darndale ring road we'd have to pull in and wait for the garda vehicle to go a little ahead of us because the lads would be waiting to brick them.. The ring road would be like missile ally.

Do I a 5km run every Saturday morning, its called 'Parkrun' and they're held all over Ireland (and 20 other countries). My 'home run' is Saint Annes park where we get over 400 runners, I'm also a regular at Father Collins Park (70-100 runners).. Darndale park has one, its got more outside volunteers show up than local runners. It averages less than 10, and visitors are advised to park their cars over in Tescos in Clarehall and walk over to the park.

Same as that
    I was a motorcycle courier by day and a doorman by night
    And darnedale was too rough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Came across this photograph collection by a French photographer,few photos of darndale in it,granted they're a few years old,but it made the Soviet union look appealing

https://pro.magnumphotos.com/Catalogue/Martine-Franck/1993/IRELAND-NN112611.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Came across this photograph collection by a French photographer,few photos of darndale in it,granted they're a few years old,but it made the Soviet union look appealing

https://pro.magnumphotos.com/Catalogue/Martine-Franck/1993/IRELAND-NN112611.html

Everything is poor in stark black and white.

I actually just did a mini tour on google street view and it’s nothing like the worst areas I have seen in the 80s and 90s as a kid.

https://goo.gl/maps/ASFVG6kVwkR2

Contrast with Dear old dirty Dublin in the 80s

https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/books/book-reviews/capturing-dublins-lost-communities-34939391.html

The older parts of Coolock had a great community spirit, despite having the same perceived deprivation. I'd say the only other place that could've given Darndale a run for its money was Finglas South back in the day. Thankfully I haven't been there in over 20 years, last time was a summer job helping with deliveries to the shops, getting bricked out of it in broad daylight lol

Everything is poor in stark black and white.

I actually just did a mini tour on google street view and it’s nothing like the worst areas I have seen in the 80s and 90s as a kid.

https://goo.gl/maps/ASFVG6kVwkR2

Contrast with Dear old dirty Dublin in the 80s

https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/books/book-reviews/capturing-dublins-lost-communities-34939391.html

https://youtu.be/a0p8e1MUC0E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭showpony1

Lack of facilities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Never been, but looking at it on Google street view, the architect must have been a chimpanzee with downs.
    The buildings are so oddly laid out.

Just nuke it and start again, next time with high-rise towers..... to give them something to whinge about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

As the snow flies
    On a cold and gray Darndale mornin
    A poor little baby child is born
    In the ghetto
    And his oul' wan cries
    Cause if there's one thing that she don't need
    Its another hungry mouth to feed
    In the free house, in the ghetto

People, don't you understand
    The child needs a helping hand
    Or he'll grow to be an angry young man some day
    Take a look at you and me,
    Are we too blind to see,
    Do we simply turn our heads
    And look the other way

Well the world turns
    And a hungry little boy with a runny nose
    Plays in the street as the cold wind blows
    In the ghetto

And his hunger burns
    So he starts to roam the streets at night
    And he learns how to steal
    And he learns how to fight
    In the ghetto

Then one night in desperation
    A young man breaks away
    He buys a gun, steals a car,
    Tries to run, but he don't get far
    And his mama cries

As a crowd gathers round an angry young man
    Face down on the street with a gun in his hand
    In the ghetto

As her young man dies,
    On a cold and gray Darndale mornin,
    Another little baby child is born
    In the ghetto

PAR12678.jpg

One of those two youngfellas is now a consultant cardiologist in the Mater Private
    Other is fairly high up out in the European Commission over in Brussels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Two man enter, one man leave.

Out of the ruins, out from the wreckage
    Can't make the same mistakes this time
    We are the children, the last generation
    We are the ones they left behind
    And I wonder when we are ever gonna change?
    Living under the fear, till nothing else remains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

The Satanist: ...I can honestly say that it is the worst place in Ireland.
    Well fuck me, that's that settled then - got that from the highest authority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

It's a wretched place and nothing good about it at all really. But at the same time, no, it's not that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Well, you grew up to be a satanist so Darndale did you no harm at all! :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Darndale is an extremely deprived area and has a reputation for being very rough and rather dangerous.

When it was built in the 1970s and early 80s it was an "experimental" design where the dwellings faced little courtyards - it was modelled on a UK housing estate in Andover in England (which itself was a huge social failure) - anywho this design meant that was little to no "defensible space" where residents could monitor and curtail anti-social activity. Mix this major layout flaw with the estate slipping into being the most deprived in the country by the late 1980s due to the Surrender Grant and Dublin Corpo allocation policies and you have a recipe for disaster.

I know a bit about how estate design can create social problems as I did my Masters Thesis on the evolution of local authority housing estate design 1930-1990.

Would I be correct in saying that Darndale's estate design consisted of a lot of small courtyards, that had alleyways through them to other areas/courtyards (which in itself created issues.. as needless amounts of alleyways tend to do).

But that Dublin Council went in and closed off all these alleyways and made the courtyards cul-de-sacs, so you couldn't pass through them anymore? Apparently this has cut down on a lot of the issues in the area?

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I know a bit about how estate design can create social problems as I did my Masters Thesis on the evolution of local authority housing estate design 1930-1990.

Interesting. Are there any online resources that claim to have solutions to the poor design of such estates? I find the estate layout in itself can be the cause of anti-social behaviour, but i wonder has there been anything conclusive in terms of estate re-design (altering the area without demolishing it) that can assist with removal of the undesirable behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Corb_lund

wexie wrote: »
    No the government should build social housing, they should just do it properly and integrate it with other types of housing rather than building it all in the same place. That's how you create ghetto's.

Yes I like the idea of paying a fortune to buy and house and spend half my life paying off whilst my neighbour gets the same and never works..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Always remember talking to someone a few years back who lived their in the late 90s. I asked him how bad it was? "I'd rather go live in Iraq than there"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

Corb_lund wrote: »
    Yes I like the idea of paying a fortune to buy and house and spend half my life paying off whilst my neighbour gets the same and never works..

You’ll have no choice in most new housing developments. Already in Fingal 1200 new houses being built in donabate will have 30% social housing and they will be “pepper potted” (their words) into the estate, and would be private buyers will not be allowed to know which houses are social ones. So after moving your family into a lovey 3/4 bed new ~€400k home, you could find out you’re now living next to the worst social welfare tenants the council has to offer.

It’s an absolute kick in the teeth for law abiding tax payers, and as someone looking to buy in the next few years I am in dread of this. I will gladly pay more to avoid the potential of getting problem social housing tenants next to me, as I’m sure many others would too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

rob316 wrote: »
    Always remember talking to someone a few years back who lived their in the late 90s. I asked him how bad it was? "I'd rather go live in Iraq than there"

Did this someone actually spend some time in Iraq to enable him to make a proper comparison?

murpho999 wrote: »
    Did this someone actually spend some time in Iraq to enable him to make a proper comparison?

I don't know don't think so he was a rep for a supplier where I work. I've a good bit of family in Dublin so was just asking where he was from.

Does it matter it's a joke just like the op's post about Ethiopia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Elessar wrote: »
    You’ll have no choice in most new housing developments. Already in Fingal 1200 new houses being built in donabate will have 30% social housing and they will be “pepper potted” (their words) into the estate, and would be private buyers will not be allowed to know which houses are social ones. So after moving your family into a lovey 3/4 bed new ~€400k home, you could find out you’re now living next to the worst social welfare tenants the council has to offer.

It’s an absolute kick in the teeth for law abiding tax payers, and as someone looking to buy in the next few years I am in dread of this. I will gladly pay more to avoid the potential of getting problem social housing tenants next to me, as I’m sure many others would too.

To me this is an interesting policy and I think it's in effect screwing over the younger generation who are moving into new estates.

The older generation (including politicians etc..) don't have to worry about being cheek and jowl with the great unwashed, whereas couples who are paying big money for a new house for the very reason of avoiding anti social neighbours and hotspots are now in a lottery. Not to mention that their neighbour is essentially getting the same thing as them for a fraction of the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,332 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Never been, but looking at it on Google street view, the architect must have been a chimpanzee with downs.
    The buildings are so oddly laid out.

I guess a lot of the new stuff is as result of infill housing. Years ago councils throughout Dublin thought it would be a good idea to combat anti social activity by building houses on any bit of green space they could, often leading to worse conditions that were there previously. Lets move lots more families in, but we'll remove any bit of green space first where the kids can play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Interesting. Are there any online resources that claim to have solutions to the poor design of such estates?

I think that this has been proposed by some noted scholars who worked on the issues.

Whether I agree with their findings is another matter I cannot comment on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Elessar wrote: »

I work in homeless services specifically around supporting people getting housed , what's happening now is that when local authorities have someone to house they go through to estate management checks first to purposely identify problem family's or individuals .
    After that a housing association interviews the individuals or family to decide on suitability.The housing associations now charities/ngo independent of the local authorities and they have more power over selection to be housed and are quicker to deal with problem tenants.

So to say you could end up living beside a problem family is not quite true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I work in homeless services specifically around supporting people getting housed , what's happening now is that when local authorities have someone to house they go through to estate management checks first to purposely identify problem family's or individuals .
    After that a housing association interviews the individuals or family to decide on suitability.The housing associations now charities/ngo independent of the local authorities and they have more power over selection to be housed and are quicker to deal with problem tenants.

Sounds like genuine progress to me. Social housing can be really great - but when it is coupled with loose laissez-faire law and order, disaster ensues. It is a mistake to blame the social housing concept per se for these past woes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,332 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Isn't the housing association interview process only applicable when someone is being housed in home that the housing association bought?

Someone has to live beside a problem family if that family gets housed.

Hurrache wrote: »
    Isn't the housing association interview process only applicable when someone is being housed in home that the housing association bought?

Yes. What's happening is that housing associations are buying up more and more stock.
    Local Authorities do not want the hassle anymore of large amounts of properties.

There are people who will never be or at least not for years by anyone because if behavior.

Hurrache wrote: »

I'm aware of families being told "you will not be housed or will be evicted " because of the behavior of a son or daughter.
    Then having to make them homeless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I'm aware of families being told "you will not be housed or will be evicted " because of the behavior of a son or daughter.
    Then having to make them homeless.

What happens then?

Not saying that it's not a good thing that antisocial behaviour doesn't get dealt with but evicting them and leaving them homeless isn't going to make them any less of a problem family?

What happens then?

Not saying that it's not a good thing that antisocial behaviour doesn't get dealt with but evicting them and leaving them homeless isn't going to make them any less of a problem family?

What tends to happen is the son or daughter makes themselves homeless rather than have their family become homeless.
    It takes years however to evict someone from a local authorities property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭6541

Watched that documentary - its not that bad. When I was 15 I lived in a squat in Hulme, Moss Side Manchester. That place was a complete crap hole with open gun crime. Darndale looks okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Alias G wrote: »
    Are there no ghettos in the Netherlands that he could have profiled?

Have RTE call me if they want to take "revenge". I can show them around some "nice " places in Amsterdam, Rotterdam and The Hague.

Had no idea about this program on Dutch tv although i really was surprised a couple of days ago that people knew where Darndale was when i posted a link to that horrible scrambler crash that took place there, on a Dutch website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

inforfun wrote: »
    Have RTE call me if they want to take "revenge". I can show them around some "nice " places in Amsterdam, Rotterdam and The Hague.

I remember trying to get something delivered to the Bijlmer, courier company flat out refused to go, eventually the customer more or less said that's fair enough and collected it.

That was nearly 20 years ago though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

6541 wrote: »
    Watched that documentary - its not that bad. When I was 15 I lived in a squat in Hulme, Moss Side Manchester. That place was a complete crap hole with open gun crime. Darndale looks okay.

I thought it was pretty good myself. Some of those tossers should be locked up though and do society a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I remember trying to get something delivered to the Bijlmer, courier company flat out refused to go, eventually the customer more or less said that's fair enough and collected it.

That was nearly 20 years ago though.

Sounds worse than i mean it because of the victims but the best thing that happened to the Bijlmer was the El Al plane crashing into it.
    Still no paradise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,563 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

joe stodge wrote: »
    just watched a Dutch documentary about Dublin, the interviewer asked some lad in Dublin to describe how bad darndale is. The lad says “There’s little villages in eithopia that do fund raisers for darndale.”

Why did you go to a lot of trouble OP to disguise that Facebook link as a non-facebook link? Are you getting referrals or something?

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

I drove through O Malley Park in Limerick once, is it worse than that as that was horrible, regretted going in there.