Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

An entitlement is not the same as a right. The person next door entitled to a medical card while I am not, is still my equal and I his/hers.

Next door? The halting site? Surely you mean people.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,427 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

About what?

Well do you not believe anything he says for the same reason you don’t believe the council didn’t agree to horses and stables?

Did you believe Michael D when he said he wouldn’t seek a second term as president?

Did you believe Micgael D when he said he traveled in the state jet to Belfast due to security concerns?

Do you believe the “non political” president didn’t use his influence or state funds in his daughters successful senate campaign. This spawning a political dynasty in the fashion of many an idealistic socialist?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I said I don't believe either because I have nothing to go on, only what people 'said'.

Well we have proof that the travellers lied, in the form of quotes, from the travellers, who stated at the start that they were promised 2 stables and 1/2 acre of land for grazing at each house, which was rowed back on once the story went national. I’ve not seen any contradictory quotes from the council.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,830 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Edward M wrote: »
    Ah here Francie, who are you calling a mob?
    There are people voicing their opinion, not going up the road with pitchforks and hedge knives.
    There are no crowds out there wanting to be militarised to batter anybody.
    Get a grip!
    There are people voicing their opinion,

If you want to voice an opinion, I am sorry, you are going to have to listen to mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

If the council agreed to horses and stables it would be in writing somewhere.

If there is nothing only the travellers word to say this was agreed then it wasnt.

No council official is ever going to promise land for horses and stables in a group housing scheme. This is nonsense. This would mean the council would be ultimately liable for roaming horses and no council legal department would approve of this happening.

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Well do you not believe anything he says for the same reason you don’t believe the council didn’t agree to horses and stables?

Did you believe Michael D when he said he wouldn’t seek a second term as president?
    I believed him. I also believe people can change their minds. In fact, I think it is one of the most honourable traits in a politician.
    Did you believe Micgael D when he said he traveled in the state jet to Belfast due to security concerns?
    I have no reason to disbelieve him. I, personally would be more distrustful of 'sources in the PSNI' tbh. Long story...about 100 years long around about now. ;)
    Do you believe the “non political” president didn’t use his influence or state funds in his daughters successful senate campaign. This spawning a political dynasty in the fashion of many an idealistic socialist?

Father helps his daughter? Hmmm don't have much of an issue there. If he bribed someone, then maybe.
    Is there any proof 'state funds' were used in her favour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

If you want to voice an opinion, I am sorry, you are going to have to listen to mine.

No problem, but I'm not calling you a "mob".

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Honestly this is getting boring now.
    A traveller has not got one single right more than you have.

An entitlement is not the same as a right. The person next door entitled to a medical card while I am not, is still my equal and I his/hers.

The person next door to me had their house built by the council, I paid for mine, but I don't mind that
    They have a home, but a stable with it, I would be furious if they were handed that also

• Registered Users Posts: 14,970 ✭✭✭✭elperello

"Sources in the PSNI"
    Quoted by the SF candidate.
    We live in strange times.

goat2 wrote: »
    The person next door to me had their house built by the council, I paid for mine, but I don't mind that
    They have a home, but a stable with it, I would be furious if they were handed that also

They haven't been fecking handed anything. Have you not read the papers, listened to the news?

Why would they not move in to the houses in Tipperary again?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I apologise for this, sorry,
    I did not read the papers, or heard the news,

Why would they not move in to the houses in Tipperary again?

:D:D People are complaining because somebody didn't get what they wanted.

Tipp LA are winning here folks. The travllers are not getting something they wanted.
    Do we all understand this or will youse require a diagram? :D

:D:D People are complaining because somebody didn't get what they wanted.

Tipp LA are winning here folks. The travllers are not getting something they wanted.
    Do we all understand this or will youse require a diagram? :D

But that was Casey's point, the sense of entitlement alone is enough to make one feel that they are taking the piss now, the feel because of their ethnic recognition this should be their right.
    They do get a lot of help already, but now they want more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Are the houses still sitting there empty.

If the tipp travellers dont want them can Margaret Cash be told to take one.

But that was Casey's point, the sense of entitlement alone is enough to make one feel that they are taking the piss now, the feel because of their ethnic recognition this should be their right.
    They do get a lot of help already, but now they want more!

More of Casey putting his foot firmly in his gob. This housing thing in Tipp has been going before they got SEMS.

People refusing Social Housing is a problem that involves a lot more than one family in Tipp. But let's target a community that will get certain people riled up like a 'mob'.

https://www.google.ie/search?ei=GH7PW7OOEc21sAfZtpeQAQ&q=Almost+one-third+of+families+refusing+social+housing+were+homeless&oq=Almost+one-third+of+families+refusing+social+housing+were+homeless&gs_l=psy-ab.12...3894.3894.0.5241.1.1.0.0.0.0.83.83.1.1.0....0...1.2.64.psy-ab..0.0.0....0.Wugkd8iW30Y

• Registered Users Posts: 10,459 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

More of Casey putting his foot firmly in his gob. This housing thing in Tipp has been going before they got SEMS.

People refusing Social Housing is a problem that involves a lot more than one family in Tipp. But let's target a community that will get certain people riled up like a 'mob'.

https://www.google.ie/search?ei=GH7PW7OOEc21sAfZtpeQAQ&q=Almost+one-third+of+families+refusing+social+housing+were+homeless&oq=Almost+one-third+of+families+refusing+social+housing+were+homeless&gs_l=psy-ab.12...3894.3894.0.5241.1.1.0.0.0.0.83.83.1.1.0....0...1.2.64.psy-ab..0.0.0....0.Wugkd8iW30Y

Jesus. Give it a rest at this stage francie. You've made your point now just let people vent via boards will ya!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,900 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Calhoun wrote: »
    The are looking for rights around animal welfare and tresspassing laws to be changed for them.

Didn't mean travellers in other jurisdictions but minority groups.

Oh right, im not aware of that, any links? And maybe links to similar actions by minority groups in other jurisdictions if you can

• Registered Users Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭enricoh

People from the settled community also require social housing? Who knew? This is very insightful Francie, keep em coming!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Sean Gallagher giving an interview there to the the 1 news crew in what looks like his own wee mini version of a presidential office, complete with tricolour in the corner.

Man getting a bit ahead of himself

• Registered Users Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭CFlat

Jaysus Francie your F5 button must be in rag order at this stage.

I live next door to the Curragh. Travellers camp there on fairly regular occasions. I'd have no problems with that, despite the fact its designated as an National Monument, BUT when they leave, what they leave behind them is nothing short of disgusting. They have no respect for their environs, have very little interest in educating their children and think that the dole is available to them in every county they move through.

I'm voting for Peter Casey. Not for the reasons above but when he's asked a question he answers it honestly. MDH said he'd only do one term as President. If it was a GE and I liked the candidate, I'd probably vote for him 'cause we all know politicians lie.

But I expect more from my President.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,900 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Didnt the travelers in Tipp issue a statement telling the council to go ahead and give the home to people n waiting list?

I believed him. I also believe people can change their minds. In fact, I think it is one of the most honourable traits in a politician.

I have no reason to disbelieve him. I, personally would be more distrustful of 'sources in the PSNI' tbh. Long story...about 100 years long around about now. ;)

Father helps his daughter? Hmmm don't have much of an issue there. If he bribed someone, then maybe.
    Is there any proof 'state funds' were used in her favour?

I understand your slavish, unquestioning devotion to Michael D but even you would have to admit there is a big difference between breaking a promise made in public and changing one’s mind. His commitment to not seeking a second term was made to boost his chance of being elected in 2011. To break that promise is dishonest, unpresidential and cynical. Yet you call it the most honorable thing? I can think of many more honorable things such as honesty in the face of criticism from all quarters including the Taoiseach and media.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭jace_da_face

Didnt the travelers in Tipp issue a statement telling the council to go ahead and give the home to people n waiting list?

Did they? Link please

He commented on a situation he came across, perfectly legitimately IMO.
    He has since widened that to include all citizens and the sense of entitlement.
    He didn't incite anything other than genuine discussion, which had previously been stifled because of a fear of breaching PC rules.
    Fair play to him for it.
    If this thread had been started without the inclusion of his name in it or the subject broached by a boardsie member without it being included as a part of a political debate, how far would it have gone?
    Casey hasn't called for any militancy other than genuine political debate on it, that has caught the imagination of social media and the press now.
    If there is inference that he has called for more than that, I haven't seen it and anyone saying other than that is merely trying to deflect from that position to favour some other candidate.
    You have used harsh language at times as to what he has incited, but no facts of any actions being taken or suggested by him or his campaign other than political considerations around decisions to do with this and other benefits which govt pays out and is responsible for.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Sean Gallagher giving an interview there to the the 1 news crew in what looks like his own wee mini version of a presidential office, complete with tricolour in the corner.

Man getting a bit ahead of himself

Seen that.Must be trying to acclimate before moving to the park.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭jace_da_face

mgn wrote: »
    Seen that.Must be trying to acclimate before moving to the park.

I hope he is not planning to camp illegally? He doesn't have ethnic minority status, he might get removed promptly.

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    I understand your slavish, unquestioning devotion to Michael D but even you would have to admit there is a big difference between breaking a promise made in public and changing one’s mind. His commitment to not seeking a second term was made to boost his chance of being elected in 2011. To break that promise is dishonest, unpresidential and cynical. Yet you call it the most honorable thing? I can think of many more honorable things such as honesty in the face of criticism from all quarters including the Taoiseach and media.

'Slavish'? :)

He is the best person for the job by a long shot.
    Is he perfect - no.
    He didn't sign an oath re: the second term, he simply changed his mind.
    In the scale of problems, national scandals permeating into Chez Francie it barely registers.

Casey was not hinest. Casey found a touchstone, that I believe he exploited (his photo op Trip to Tipp convincing me) to rile up and easily riled secton of the public.
    Unforgivable in a public rep IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Is he perfect - no.
    In the scale of problems, national scandals permeating into Chez Francie it barely registers.

Casey was not hinest. Casey found a touchstone, that I believe he exploited (his photo op Trip to Tipp convincing me) to rile up and easily riled secton of the public.

The last guy to "target" people on welfare is now taoiseach

Is he perfect - no.

Well we we have to disagree. Making a promise to get elected only to expressly break that promise is cynical and marks him out in my opinion as self serving and untrustworthy.