Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 68,822 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

No, but this thread is about a candidate challenging his presidency.

Basic enough stuff I would have thought.

Also. Paddy Power has now Casey at 10/1 to win outright.

From 500-1 to 10-1 in a week. Don't they conduct their own internal polls on things like this?

As sidesteps go, that was pretty neat Johnny.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

No, but this thread is about a candidate challenging his presidency.

Basic enough stuff I would have thought.

Also. Paddy Power has now Casey at 10/1 to win outright.

From 500-1 to 10-1 in a week. Don't they conduct their own internal polls on things like this?
    surely they have to play it safe to an extent ? They can’t be giving out ridiculously generous odds in case he wins ...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

maccored wrote: »
    stop voting in the same fecken governments that increase the dole and make more entitlements available then would be a start. voting for casey as president isn't going to fix it.

The thing is though most people didn't have the option for voting for someone with those views. Candidates always want to play it safe and not say anything too controversial. In the last GE I voted based on who I disliked the least rather than liked the most.

So saying stop voting in the same candidates doesn't work, there weren't viable other candidates to vote in.

Peter Casey getting in or coming second won't change anything now, but it might come the next GE make more viable alternative candidates put themselves forward, that is my hope anyway, so it isn't a wasted vote to vote for him even though I am pretty confident he won't get in. It is a way for the electorate to have a voice on a particular issue than most candidates didn't go near beforehand.

Also he is now down to 10/1 and 10/15 without MDH on PP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭rovertom

I think it was too late to register to vote when people would have realised what was happening here. That was good because a large number of travellers have multiple identities relating to claiming multiple welfare payments. This may have allowed many travellers to see multiple additional votes which would be unfair to casey.
    Even the courts cannot identify travellers.

Traveller: It wasn't me Judge.
    Judge: Are you John Connor
    Traveller: Yes
    Judge: Are you John M Connor
    Traveller: Yes John Martin. You are looking for John Michael.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,868 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

So somebody saying, 'basically they are just people camping on other people's land' is wholly wrong and is generalising.

I think somebody pronouncing on the issue of travellers here (or any issue for that matter really) while not knowing the info you are now quoting is all the evidence you need that their opinion was kneesjerk and dangerous to begin with.

It would be like somebody wading into a claim that the welfare state was unfair without knowing what the basic rates of welfare were...That would never happen would it? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Well, you don't seem to understand the statistics.

Renting from a local authority would include living on a council-owned halting site.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Actually, yes.

Bertie Ahern made clear that the allowance was increased and unaudited to support the work that Mary McAleese was doing in terms of reconciliation in the North. I would not agree that that was sufficient to leave it unaudited, but I can see the reasons why there wouldn't be an audited list of which unsavoury unionist character or "good republican" was being lobbied by McAleese.

However, Higgins cancelled the peace efforts of McAleese. Since then, nobody has any idea what he spends the money on.

Incidentally, your vote for Higgins is especially surprising as you have constantly criticised the "Dublin government" for what you see as them losing sight of what is happening in the North. Given that Higgins abolished one of the more important lines of communication in that regard, your vote for him is confusing.

I don't think McAleese did a whole pile of good tbh. She probably entrenched unionist opinion more with her Casey like generalisations and Nazi comparisons.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,868 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I don't think McAleese did a whole pile of good tbh. She probably entrenched unionist opinion more with her Casey like generalisations and Nazi comparisons.

So you accept that Higgins was responsible for waste?

You haven't challenged my point in relation to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    18% decrease is probably because private landlords do not need the aggro from the neighbours around the rented property.

I wouldnt let a property to anyone who hasnt an employment record and wants to keep their reputation. People may have let to travellers in the past if there was little demand for rental accommodation but houses are in short supply now so landlords can have their pick of tenants.

People are very angry about how much tax the government is taking to literally give to able bodied adults who choose not to work. There is a special anger for travellers because not only are they having their entire lifestyle funded, they also terrorise local communities with the viciousness of their attacks. Other burglars dont do this, they will break into empty houses but most dont want any contact with householders, they will flee if disturbed and not beat ninety year olds to a pulp.

The Government increased the inheritance tax by 10,000 euros in the last budget. House prices are rising so this means the Government gets a bigger share of gift tax, most people only have the family home they have lived in all their lives to hand onto their children, these people for the most part have lived lives with dignity and go to their graves having made sure they have money for funeral costs and they probably didnt qualify for much in the way of handouts from the Government. They made sure their children went to school and didnt induct them into shop lifting while they were in buggies. The system is just so unfair.

If you inherit a house from your parents and its been valued for property tax, another tax travellers avoid Revenue will revalue that house when your parent dies and you will be stuck for Capital Gains Tax, this tax is on top of any inheritance tax due. You will be caught all ways while other people seem to have endless money for expensive communion outfits, money for beer, money for nike runners and they have the gall to post this on facebook probably using the most expensive iphones.

Sometimes I think the travellers are right, especially when I see the pressure other young people put themselves under to get good CAO points. The travellers look at the hard work and committment it takes to get a good education and they choose the alternative course of doing nothing and the do gooders and the Government facilitate them in this choice.

It simply has to stop, its now 2018 and no one should be allowed to rear their children in squalor at the side of the road. No one should be allowed to keep any animals that arent micro chipped and licenced, simple as.

Children need to be registered at birth and once they reach the age of six they need to be in education or homeschooled, the authorities need to enforce the Law and the best way to do this is to stop paying Child Benefit if children arent in school.

There is a problem with travellers not vaccinating their children too and its this community who mainly are responsible for measles breakout, they need to be educated on the importance of vaccines without officials being accused of being racist towards "ethnic minorities".

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Idbatterim wrote: »
    That snake varadkar. I’ll do anything to see him removed as Taoiseach and this Casey vote may feel the same. I’ll vote F*cking Ff before I’ll see thqt lying , leftie, liberal snake as Taoiseach again !

If you think Leo is a leftie I'd say you're fairly right wing to be honest.

He talked the talk until he got into power. The current government lead by Leo is a trendy centre left outfit.

The only difference between current FG policy and the likes of SF is the latters policies have no grasp of economic reality. If SF were in power tomorrow the lived reality wouldn't be a great de different.

Varadkar is a treacherous snake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

To be honest, I think there's a big risk with this election that the presidency becomes a background issue for the next 7 years. Michael D's fine and has done a decent job in the office but he's getting very old and the rest of the candidates are simply either only OK or in some cases don't seem to be suitable for the job at all and are political amateurs.

Back in the McAleese and Robinson elections and in the last presidental election with Michael D, there were clear leaders emerged and people who you felt you could see in that office.

It's not an executive presidency, rather it's a lofty, fairly high brow and cerebral kind of role that involves a lot of interpreting the mood of the nation, representing the entire country abroad and basically being our national figurehead. It's entirely about exercising soft power, building and maintaining connections.

Of the candidates, Michael D. seems to still fit that best and I'll still be voting for him on the basis that I would rather have someone in the office who understands what it is, even if he's going to be quite a lot older in 7 years time. That being said there are US senators in their mid 80s and US supreme court justice Ruth Bader-Ginberg still hits the gym every morning doing exercises many 25 year olds would find challenging. If you look across to London, the Queen isn't far off 100 and is still going strong doing ceremonial stuff all the time.

I mean think about it long and hard before you vote. This isn't a job that's about narrow issues and it's absolutely not about picking divisive topics and rabel rousing. Whoever is in the office has to represent the entire nation and that's even beyond just the 26 counties - it includes those who consider themselves to be Irish in North and the diaspora.

This is going to be someone who represents all of Ireland for the next 7 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Higgins odds have increased now too.

Doubled to 1-25.

Paddy Power internal polls?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

stratowide wrote: »
    There are some shenanigans afoot here..The result of this election will be interesting to say the least..:pac:

Just got this error when connecting to boards

li8Vxom.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

I think the role should be voluntary with just expenses paid.

If the salary is almost three hundred thousand euros this means Michael D is earning more than the President of the US.

There is no real responsibility with this job, its a nice gig and plenty of people would be happy to spend seven years in the Aras rent free.

The salary at the moment is unreal and so are the expenses. To be honest with the homeless crisis is there any need for the ARAS at all, surely if Michael D gets back he could move with Sabina and the dogs to Farmleigh in the Phoenix Park, he is supposed to be a socialist isnt he. If the travellers in Tipperary wont move into houses without stables though then I suppose Michael D if he did move would like a long dog run for the Dog and luxury kennels, we could rise to that demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

And then hightailed it down to a photo op at the one site and issue he could find that would enflame the most.

Yeh, pull t'other one on his 'honesty'. :rolleyes:

I think you're giving him too much credit in calculating this play.

Do you believe the others were honest when they said they wouldnt mind a halting site next door?
    Seriously?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭omega man

From 500-1 down to 10-1 but nothing to see here.....

Going to be interesting tomorrow.

I agree it's over paid and I think those funds for running the office should be transparent and audited but I don't think an office like that can be voluntary.

If you don't pay people to do the job you end up just enabling the millionaire class who do it for power. The president should have a decent salary commensurate with the job but not an excessive one.

I don't buy this idea that public representation should be done as a hobby on the side. That's how you get into the US style mess of the best democracy money can buy and it ends up being a play thing of those who can afford to run and hold office, instead of open to everyone.

All I would say though is those pay rates and systems are defined by the government of the day, not the President. So they're actually matters to be lobbying the Dail and members of the PAC about rather than the president who actually has no role oddly enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

tretorn wrote: »
    I think the role should be voluntary with just expenses paid.

If the salary is almost three hundred thousand euros this means Michael D is earning more than the President of the US.

There is no real responsibility with this job, its a nice gig and plenty of people would be happy to spend seven years in the Aras rent free.

The salary at the moment is unreal and so are the expenses. To be honest with the homeless crisis is there any need for the ARAS at all, surely if Michael D gets back he could move with Sabina and the dogs to Farmleigh in the Phoenix Park, he is supposed to be a socialist isnt he. If the travellers in Tipperary wont move into houses without stables though then I suppose Michael D if he did move would like a long dog run for the Dog and luxury kennels, we could rise to that demand.

Peter Casey will be doing it on a voluntary basis. He said he’ll be giving his wages away to councils for local projects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

rovertom wrote: »
    I think it was too late to register to vote when people would have realised what was happening here. That was good because a large number of travellers have multiple identities relating to claiming multiple welfare payments. This may have allowed many travellers to see multiple additional votes which would be unfair to casey.
    Even the courts cannot identify travellers.

Traveller: It wasn't me Judge.
    Judge: Are you John Connor
    Traveller: Yes
    Judge: Are you John M Connor
    Traveller: Yes John Martin. You are looking for John Michael, my brother

Better?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

BattleCorp wrote: »
    The social welfare figures for them would be the most accurate. They ain't missing out on that.

If there's 30,000 of them in the census, there's probably 60,000 of them in reality, and 120,000 of them drawing the dole!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

eeepaulo wrote: »
    Absolutely nothing on the election on the rte.ie homepage

The media elite have gone into lockdown in this because it threatens their cosy consensus. Two pages of election in Indo today, overwhelmingly pro Higgins. Two letters to the editor on election, both pro Higgins, one saying the other candidates aren’t worthy to lace his shoes! Letters to the editor are selected by the editor for publication in the paper. It shows the media bias against any opinion other than what is acceptable to the Troika of politicians, media and left wing elite.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

I don't think so to be honest. There is nothing to report.
    I mean what have any of the candidates been saying or doing to warrant a news story anywhere ?!

The election and the blasphemy referendum are both about as boring as it gets.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,775 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    The media elite have gone into lockdown in this because it threatens their cosy consensus. Two pages of election in Indo today, overwhelmingly pro Higgins. Two letters to the editor on election, both pro Higgins, one saying the other candidates aren’t worthy to lace his shoes! Letters to the editor are selected by the editor for publication in the paper. It shows the media bias against any opinion other than what is acceptable to the Troika of politicians, media and left wing elite.
    meeja.jpg.877daea9982dc8e1ffdb52379f2923a4.jpg
    I like your hat by the way!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

You are just being ridiculous now Francie. With 500 posts and slavish devotion to MDH I’m beginning to think you are an algorithm.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Casey has done a great service to democracy in Ireland .

Its not the Media and Political establishment that decide what TRUTH is .

We the Irish People decide what TRUTH is .

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The "Troika of politicians, media and left wing elite" are dead right on this occasion as far as I can make out. The opposition to Higgins consists of boorish, know-nothing lummoxes and one-trick ponies with over-developed senses of self-worth. :pac:

Having had a range of heavy weight candidates in this election would have done a great service to Irish democracy.

This is why I don't agree with the parties just rolling in behind the incumbent.

I think the failure to run candidates by FF, FG, the Greens etc has been the main problem here.

The parties decided that they didn't want to spend time and resources on a presidential election and were happy with Michael D. That left a vacuum which was filled by dragons ....

You are just being ridiculous now Francie. With 500 posts and slavish devotion to MDH I’m beginning to think you are an algorithm.

I think this is hilarious posting and shows a huge lack of self awareness among those who post like this.

WE DEMAND THE RIGHT FOR CASEY TO SAY WHAT WE BELIEVE.....but we will do our best to shut down the opinions of others

I find it a prevalent lack in those who jump onto bandwagons tbh. Keep it up, grist to the mill, so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,775 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

EdgeCase wrote: »
    Having had a range of heavy weight candidates in this election would have done a great service to Irish democracy.

This is why I don't agree with the parties just rolling in behind the incumbent.

I think the failure to run candidates by FF, FG, the Greens etc has been the main problem here.

The parties decided that they didn't want to spend time and resources on a presidential election and were happy with Michael D. That left a vacuum which was filled by dragons ....
    That isnt a new thing though, Mary Mc Aleese stood unopposed in 2004....

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

I think this is hilarious posting and shows a huge lack of self awareness among those who post like this.

WE DEMAND THE RIGHT FOR CASEY TO SAY WHAT WE BELIEVE.....but we will do our best to shut down the opinions of others

I find it a prevalent lack in those who jump onto bandwagons tbh. Keep it up, grist to the mill, so to speak.

No, he is just pointing out your creepiness.

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭ArrBee

I use 4g broadband and get a consistent 20mb and work from home with an online business.

I now have the option of ftth, but I don't see the need for it, so staying with 4g.

You will at some point though.