Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

KevIRL wrote: »
    Give him number one pls.

I like Michael D, would have taken an extraordinarily epic campaign (or an extraordinarily damaging scandal) to change my #1 this time. But I hope Casey gets a high enough number of transfers that people realise how idiotic it is to try to undemocratically remove a candidate from an election before the people have had their day at the ballot box.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,775 ✭✭✭buried

It was very funny watching the rest of the candidates at the first debate, all of them answering the question of "would you want a community of travellers living at the side of the road next to your gaff" to shoddy nods of the head whimpering 'yep.....yep I would like that" lol All them hoors wouldn't even want the likes of me living next door to them in a mansion if I won the lotto. That's where they all funked up bigtime

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 68,817 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

buried wrote: »
    It was very funny watching the rest of the candidates at the first debate, all of them answering the question of "would you want a community of travellers living at the side of the road next to your gaff" to shoddy nods of the head whimpering 'yep.....yep I would like that" lol All them hoors wouldn't want the likes of me living next door to them in a mansion if I won the lotto. That's where they all funked up bigtime

Despite the fact that Michael D lives near to a halting site?

The others I don't know about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Doesn’t he live in the Phoenix Park?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,775 ✭✭✭buried

Yeah well maybe Micheal D, but when Gavin Duffy said that I was literally falling about the gaff laughing

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

buried wrote: »
    It was very funny watching the rest of the candidates at the first debate, all of them answering the question of "would you want a community of travellers living at the side of the road next to your gaff" to shoddy nods of the head whimpering 'yep.....yep I would like that" lol All them hoors wouldn't even want the likes of me living next door to them in a mansion if I won the lotto. That's where they all funked up bigtime

Their neighbours will be hopping mad listening to them.

I wouldnt put it past some council official to find out where they live and set plans in motion to install a halting site nearby. I can guarantee you they would change their tune then.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,467 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I like Michael D, would have taken an extraordinarily epic campaign (or an extraordinarily damaging scandal) to change my #1 this time. But I hope Casey gets a high enough number of transfers that people realise how idiotic it is to try to undemocratically remove a candidate from an election before the people have had their day at the ballot box.

Would need to be caught sunk ‘conkers deep’ in Bród to unseat him, I would suggest.

Nothing else would do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

What j see was a question asked of a presidential candidate, and a very poor hatchet job attempt on his answer.

I think it was more a case of the media looking to jazz up what was a fairly boring campaign. Here was the germs of a story with a whiff of controversy that they could fan up into headlines. Combine that with the other candidates and the establishment looking to put the boot into an opponent and the whole traveller thing took on legs entirely of it's own.

The funny thing is that Leo Varadkar got lots of kudos for answering questions in a fairly straightforward manner. But when Casey did it, Leo was jumping all over him. Very odd sort of double standard.

Sure Michael D has been grand, done a reasonable job but he'd should never have agreed to run a second time. That's just greedy.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,546 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Pity, cause a mdh 1 means your number 2 won't ever be recorded

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

What do you define as “near”?

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

What do you define as “near”?

TbL

Near is in the Phoenix park surrounded by armed gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Seems MDH has a secret property he bought in Galway in 2014 for 370k No 2 Sylans Rs Newcastle Galway. Story is carried by The Times behind a pay wall can't link off my phone. He was strangely quite about his property ownership when asked on one of the debates.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Would need to be caught sunk ‘conkers deep’ in Bróda to unseat him, I would suggest.

Nothing else would do.

Who is broda Brendan?

There's been rumours about Michael D for years to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

KevIRL wrote: »
    Pity, cause a mdh 1 means your number 2 won't ever be recorded

Does it? I would have assumed that, like a general election, the surplus will be allocated for the record even though it's a one-seat election?

Seems MDH has a secret property he bought in Galway in 2014 for 370k No 2 Sylans Rs Newcastle Galway. Story is carried by The Times behind a pay wall can't link off my phone. He was strangely quite about his property ownership when asked on one of the debates.

What do you mean “secret” property, is he not entitled to buy property?

TbL

JMNolan wrote: »
    Near is in the Phoenix park surrounded by armed gardai

Lol.

If Francie the Crusader is refering to the Aras that a complete joke!!!!

TbL

What do you mean “secret†property, is he not entitled to buy property?

Its how the Times has described it, just surprised he felt no need to mention it when asked about being a landlord.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Gravelly wrote: »
    Nasty, snide attempt at slander with no basis whatsoever. Every post of yours is groundless conjecture, you can't back up a thing. You are a spoofer.

A sooofer says the lad barred from the animal forum for greasing cats.good lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,467 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Who is broda Brendan?

There's been rumours about Michael D for years to be fair.

Nothing sinister Paddy ...got it a bit wrong Bród...

https://www.dailyedge.ie/michael-d-higgins-dogs-4123639-Jul2018/

Sorry bout that

• Its how the Times has described it, just surprised he felt no need to mention it when asked about being a landlord.

I wouldn’t either. It really has nothing to do with the debate one way or another.

Its how the Times has described it, just surprised he felt no need to mention it when asked about being a landlord.

Maybe he bought it for a family member?

I’ve no problem with him owning property I do have a problem trying to reconcile his socialist ideals with his personal wealth

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 14,965 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Gotta love the moratorium.
    Brings them all out.

Maybe he bought it for a family member?

According to the article he has never been in it, seems more like an investment . Nothing untoward but strange be neglected to mention it when questioned about being a landlord. He said he only had one property he rents, maybe this one is sitting idle. Still the optics of keeping a property and not renting it would odd considering the housing demand.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Allinall

I was down there recently and that’s just a plot of land.

I think he must have had the house buried underground so it could be kept secret.

Allinall wrote: »

I think he must have had the house buried underground so it could be kept secret.

If he paid 370k for a plot of land in Newcastle he’s daft 😭

TbL

Allinall wrote:

Would like the eircode? It's a house right beside Number 1 Sylvan road.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Allinall

Would like the eircode? It's a house right beside Number 1 Sylvan road.

So it’s not secret then.

Allinall wrote:
    So it’s not secret then.

As I said secret according to The Times. So what did the plot of land look like? Did you miss the house sitting on it? Still have that eircode if you would like. Fierce handy for Google maps, although you were there.... right?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

This is a plot of land?

2 Sylvan Rd
    https://goo.gl/maps/jYtV6PjCD732

Seems like a nice leafy suburb to me.

So it’s not secret then.

So you weren’t down there so or you were but just failed to notice the house on it!!!!!

TbL