Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

spurshero wrote: »
    Where is the extra percent gonna come from

Rounding

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 27,648 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Doesn't Ballinasloe have a fairly big traveller population?

Open to correction here, but I know there e does be a fairly big horse fair in the town.

Perhaps it's pro traveller votes?

It will be one to watch, it could also be elderly victims of travellers voting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭spurshero

Allinall wrote: »
    Someone up thread said they voted twice.

Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Damien360 wrote: »
    Sadly, unless he wins, the media will view this as a rejection of him and his views, regardless of what percent of the vote he gets.

That is the beauty of it, if PC comes second, despite the actions of Irish media, it will be a right kick in the face to them. How Irish media reacts will be irrelevant, because they are irrelevant!

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭AdrianLM

Enda started the trend but Varadker has moved it to the point that FG are not far off where labor used to be.

When Leo first made that statement about wanting to represent the people who got up early, I thought there might be some chance that he might stand up for the tax payers. As soon as there was a hint of protest from the media he backed off - "Limp Leo"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭golfball37

Everyone I know has voted for Casey. His vote will be well over 20% imo

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

AdrianLM wrote: »
    When Leo first made that statement about wanting to represent the people who got up early, I thought there might be some chance that he might stand up for the tax payers. As soon as there was a hint of protest from the media he backed off - "Limp Leo"
    he's a disingenuous turncoat. he has done sweet FA for the people who "get up early" in this country.

Haha Paddy Power have made gains on the stock market.

Wonder what drop they’ll be next week when all payouts for betting without MDH are complete.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,538 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That is the beauty of it, if PC comes second, despite the actions of Irish media, it will be a right kick in the face to them. How Irish media reacts will be irrelevant, because they are irrelevant!

What actions of the media?

He made his rabble rousing comments on the MEDIA. And they have been repeatedly repeated on the MEDIA.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

AdrianLM wrote: »

Leo has one goal and one goal only - to be popular. He doesn't give a damn about workers or the unemployed, or travellers, or LGBTXYZ or any of the other crap he spouts. He wants to be Europe's Justin Trudeau - a vacuous "It Boy", who gets discussed on social media. Despite his age, he is the ultimate expression of millennial self-absorption.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,833 ✭✭✭✭elperello

knipex wrote: »
    Back to where they were 5 years ago would do it for me.. just right of center. The party of law and order, the party of economic prudence and the party of the working person.

Enda started the trend but Varadker has moved it to the point that FG are not far off where labor used to be.

Lots of FG voters feeling betrayed but where have they to go ?

Renua or The Nationalist Party ?

Personally I would immigrate (again) first but lots of disenfranchised voters out there.

I really hope that a high turnout for Casey will re-calibrate Irish politics and remind them its not all about the race to the left, Murphy and his ilk are not the threat anymore..

Otherwise I fear for the rise of the hard right..

I suppose that would be the end of Varadkar.

I doubt that this election will re-calibrate Irish politics but it could be a contributory factor

Agree about the far right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

How Irish media reacts will be irrelevant, because they are irrelevant!

No, they are far from irrelevant sadly.

When PC came out with this statements, rather than falling all over themselves to paint him as a bigot or racist or whatever, they could also have taken a stance of 'well you know what, perhaps these were generalizations but....there may be some truth to them?' and encouraged an open and constructive debate rather than just trying to shut it down before it got good and well going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Jeez Francie, what will you do with all your spare time once this is over?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

He made his rabble rousing comments on the MEDIA. And they have been repeatedly repeated on the MEDIA.

The media have repeated his comments solely to condemn him and those who would vote for him. Contrast that with fawning articles in praise of Michael D right back to the “do we really need an election” stance many took.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

He'll be kept busy - the Sinn Fein propaganda department never rests.

Haha Paddy Power have made gains on the stock market.

Wonder what drop they’ll be next week when all payouts for betting without MDH are complete.

Good one Casino makes money.
    Bookies make money.
    Everyone is happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,504 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Gravelly wrote: »
    Leo has one goal and one goal only - to be popular. He doesn't give a damn about workers or the unemployed, or travellers, or LGBTXYZ or any of the other crap he spouts. He wants to be Europe's Justin Trudeau - a vacuous "It Boy", who gets discussed on social media. Despite his age, he is the ultimate expression of millennial self-absorption.
    Clearly you don't give a damn about LGBT people either if you are referring to them as LGBTXYZ.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,648 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

he's a disingenuous turncoat. he has done sweet FA for the people who "get up early" in this country.
    elperello wrote: »
    I suppose that would be the end of Varadkar.

I doubt that this election will re-calibrate Irish politics but it could be a contributory factor

Agree about the far right.

The thing is, Leo is smart enough to see what way the wind is blowing. What odds that the talks with FF break down because FF want more money for welfare but FG want more money for those who work?

gmisk wrote: »
    Clearly you don't give a damn about LGBT people either if you are referring to them as LGBTXYZ.

I'd say you are great craic in real life. Loads of friends who call around all the time to listen to your witty banter, and enjoy the wonderful and extremely popular parties you throw.

Why were there no polls since Oct 17 last....it doesn't take a genius to figure it out...even our self appointed "intellectuals" should be able to hazard a guess on that one!

blanch152 wrote: »
    The thing is, Leo is smart enough to see what way the wind is blowing. What odds that the talks with FF break down because FF want more money for welfare but FG want more money for those who work?

Whatever happens the punch and judy show will go on...both parties do not have the resources for a GE, I'd bet my house on it!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Damien360 wrote: »
    Sadly, unless he wins, the media will view this as a rejection of him and his views, regardless of what percent of the vote he gets.

No doubt they will but for certain there will be plenty of people in Leinster House watching.

I'd say you are great craic in real life. Loads of friends who call around all the time to listen to your witty banter, and enjoy the wonderful and extremely popular parties you throw.

No.
    The remark you made would be considered offensive by that particular minority group.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Guess I have to put this here too (from other thread: )
    Nixonbot wrote: »
    Mod: Any more of this shite gets a ban. People can post how they want.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

What about you’re “banter” about the cat.that one backfired

• Registered Users Posts: 32,504 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Ah thanks you are so sweet, it's obvious what you are hinting at....but I am not single, cheers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

100% of the lads, 99% of the gardai, how can Casey lose at this stage!? :D
    Great to see you coming round .

What about you’re “banter” about the cat.that one backfired

:D:D:D:D

I love you and the imaginary cat. I can imagine you sitting at home alone, surrounded by about 170 cats, crying every time you think about it.

Please tell me you look like this:
    simpsons-crazy-cat-lady-02-chung-in-lam.jpg

Right, wtf is the cat stuff about Dr?

Ah thanks you are so sweet, it's obvious what you are hinting at....but I am not single, cheers.

You're welcome. But I got slumming it out of my system a long time ago ;)