Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

bubblypop wrote: »
    This is not a corrupt country!
    Lol.
    It's funny when people say that, it's not even the most corrupt country in Europe! Maybe you should travel a bit.......

Unsure if you're boasting about not being the most corrupt country in Europe or not... :cool:

Your post would have looked a hell of a lot less sinister if you were posting that we lived in one of least corrupt country's in Europe, but anyway......

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

How many people in the electoral register?
    3.2 million I think were eligible to vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

How many people in the electoral register?

Approx 3.2 million afair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

tom1ie wrote: »
    Why? There’s no comparison. Trumps racist and a bigot, Casey’s not.

Big businessman with no political experience moves from 500/1 to 10/1 on a platform of populism and bashing minority groups.

If you can't see the similarity then you've got the blinkers on.

jjmcclure wrote: »
    Whats your point.

My IQ average = 137

Well, I don't know what a tracker mortgage is. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Yes, I’d say they are. But what does this Casey vote mean? What happens going forward? Is there room for a new party, because Renua rapidly flopped. Will FF/FG merely polish up their law and order image to compensate the supposed anti traveller sentiment out there and head this off?

A new party is needed -- not a socially conservative party like Renua, but one that supports genuine fairness, where the people who work hard get rewarded for it, and those who don't contribute to society don't get everything handed to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,219 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

jjmcclure wrote: »
    Ehh... Bollix. No references or sources required :rolleyes:

Perhaps a history lesson.

We have always had either FF or FG (previously Cumann na nGaedhael ) in power since 1922.
    Both are centre-right parties.

Most of that time it was FF who are socially conservative, fiscally reckless, and most certainly not left-wing.

FG are slightly less socially conservative (or perhaps more liable to bow to voter pressure), fiscally more conservative, and most certainly not left-wing. Under Leo they spout a touchy feely load of nonsense but when you look at their actual polices they ain't left-wing.

The PD's were Thatcher Tory lite.

Renua were pro-life FG.

Labour haven't been Left since James Connelly was shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Cina

I agree. This is a very very corrupt country. But still I am happy with Peter coming 2nd. I said before I would be happy with 15-20% to send a message. 21% in an exit poll is a great result and I'm confident we may have a few shy Casey voters adding to that tomorrow. be good if it went to 2nd count.
    I'm delighted that Casey came second too because he highlighted a lot of the issues the working class rightly have in Ireland, BUT we are not a corrupt country.

I think you should go to an actual corrupt country and come back to us on that one.

Pity that the present incumbent wasn't honest about another seven year gig that he said would not happen.

That is what swung it for me anyway. I dislike dishonesty.

If Higgins didn't go for re-election, would there have been any other candidate put forward by the Government?

Coz I'm damned if I could see any of the other 5 wannabes rolling around in a vintage Roller, waving at the Patricks Day Parade.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Peter Casey is the only man for the workers

flat,550x550,075,f.u3.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭kennypowers

The question here is where do we go from here.I was delighted to hear what Casey said about the abuse of our generous welfare system and the kid glove treatment of travelers.
    A silent core of people finally had a voice I think he may lack the charisma to lead a party.Whatever happens I hope they will learn the lessons of renua and realize you dont have to align yourself to Catholic views to appeal to middle Ireland .

• Registered Users Posts: 16,882 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

buried wrote: »
    Interesting result as may be a opportunity for a definite right of centre party to be set up in the country off the back of what Casey has said. There is no real definite real right of centre party in the country as of yet, but I'm not too sure how one would really tract here if one was set up, Renua didn't do too well on their first outing, are they fully gone? But the ultra ultra left never did any well here either. Divisive politics of the ultra left vs ultra right won't really fly here as there is actually some semblance of community still all throughout the various towns and rural areas, even though there are problems and things to be disscussed that sometimes aren't really highlighted, the strong sense of community in most areas keeps most divisive political issues from spiralling out of control. Small blessing for being able to live in a small country I suppose, nobody wants the noise here whats going on over in the likes of America at the moment.

Fine Gael are the Irish Tories.
    Varadkar might feign concern for travellers but he'd squirm at the thought of them living next to him.
    I know Leo is gay and we all need to give our selves a nice big pat on the back for having a gay Taoiseach but realistically his party don't give a hoot about travellers homeless people the housing crisis, they exist in a parallel Ireland where "those people" are "over there".
    We've been governed by right wing governments for years, albeit one's who pretend to be left leaning.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

A new party is needed -- not a socially conservative party like Renua, but one that supports genuine fairness, where the people who work hard get rewarded for it, and those who don't contribute to society don't get everything handed to them.

Agree. But it will never be a walk in the park either. And I wonder why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Cina wrote: »
    I'm delighted that Casey came second too because he highlighted a lot of the issues the working class rightly have in Ireland, BUT we are not a corrupt country.

I think you should go to an actual corrupt country and come back to us on that one.

We are not corrupt, we pay over the odds for idiots to run things and when something goes wrong said idiots get away with it and walk away with there pensions, it's border line corruption.

We are really a nanny state, the big lads tell the little lads what to do and how to do it and you get on with it, while not doing much themselves other than talking out there arses.

nullzero wrote: »
    We've been governed by right wing governments for years, albeit one's who pretend to be left leaning.

Bertie the Socialist :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭anewme

But like, what's the Presidency election got to do with it?

We need a man or woman in a Rolls Royce, parading around, saying "stuff"- it's always been that way:confused:

:P

It's the fact he spoke out.

It was oh no scandal ..you must resign.

Leo asked people not to vote fot him.

The message sent as others here have said is that no, we believe the situation has to change.

Getting the message out there.
    2% to 21% after being asked not to vote for him.

That shows his comments reflect public opinion and sentiment..

When you have people on welfare with a better lifestyle than those working, but you are not allowed to object, then it's a boiling pot going to bubble over.

That's what this is.

Statement against how things are.

Warning shot across the bow for the politicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Allinall

The question here is where do we go from here.I was delighted to hear what Casey said about the abuse of our generous welfare system and the kid glove treatment of travelers.
    A silent core of people finally had a voice I think he may lack the charisma to lead a party.Whatever happens I hope they will learn the lessons of renua and realize you dont have to align yourself to Catholic views to appeal to middle Ireland .

Where we go from here is back to normal on Tuesday morning.

MdH will be back in Phoenix Park and life will go on.

All the hysteria over the last couple of weeks will be forgotten

Unsure if you're boasting about not being the most corrupt country in Europe or not... :cool:

Your post would have looked a hell of a lot less sinister if you were posting that we lived in one of least corrupt country's in Europe, but anyway......

Oh I'm sorry!!
    My English isn't good enough, clearly.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,816 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

How much did you win Johnny?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,816 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Allinall wrote: »

No, us radio listeners will have to endure Duffy for the week and selected horror stories. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Off to the leaba now.

May I say a big thanks to all who contributed to this thread.

We may not always agree, but there has been little madness to be fair.

Oiche Mhaith.

TallGlass wrote: »
    We are not corrupt, we pay over the odds for idiots to run things and when something goes wrong said idiots get away with it and walk away with there pensions, it's border line corruption.

We are really a nanny state, the big lads tell the little lads what to do and how to do it and you get on with it, while not doing much themselves other than talking out there arses.

Absolutely.

And we are riddled with stupid bureaucratic red tape.

It's cock up after cock up. For example right now Illness Benefit (which is based on PRSI) is in melt down with people waiting months and the silence from the government is deafening.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭billr67

buried wrote: »
    Interesting result as may be a opportunity for a definite right of centre party to be set up in the country off the back of what Casey has said. There is no real definite real right of centre party in the country as of yet, but I'm not too sure how one would really tract here if one was set up, Renua didn't do too well on their first outing, are they fully gone? But the ultra ultra left never did any well here either. Divisive politics of the ultra left vs ultra right won't really fly here as there is actually some semblance of community still all throughout the various towns and rural areas, even though there are problems and things to be disscussed that sometimes aren't really highlighted, the strong sense of community in most areas keeps most divisive political issues from spiralling out of control. Small blessing for being able to live in a small country I suppose, nobody wants the noise here whats going on over in the likes of America at the moment.

Renuas issue was tying themselves to the Catholic Church which is a dying institution. Once they started talking about abortion and gay rights they lost any support they had. If they'd just stuck to racism and bashing welfare recipients like Casey they'd have satisfied the thirst for a 'right wing' party which obviously exists amongst portion of the population it seems. Hopefully this party will be formed by some of you and further dilute the right wing vote that currently votes for Fianna Fail and Fine Gael and we might finally end up with a proper left wing government in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Its a brilliant result, a totally unknown person manages to get twenty per cent of the vote and Leo Vradkar can get out of bed in the morning and do something about travellers now. We can start with the entitled tossers in Tipperary and tell them they have one week to moveinto those houses or else they are going to be given to someone else. If this means putting electronic gates around these houses and regular security then so be it, the public have had enough of their hard earned taxes going to waste.

Travellers should be fined for every law they break and the fines are to be deducted directly from their dole payments. Ditto with vandalism caused to halting sites, the cost of the vandalism to be deducted from every adult living in the halting site if culprits cant be identified.

All dogs and horses are to be micro chipped and if not they are to be taken away and put down and a ban imposed on getting replacement animals.

The public couldnt have sent a clearer message about how they feel, enough is enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Till next time.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Politicians are not stupid.

The message has been delivered loud and clear.

Anyone who voted Casey is still going to feel the same sitting in traffic with post bank holiday blues.

The sentiment will not change. It's actually taken a lot to come to this point I think.

Agree. But it will never be a walk in the park either. And I wonder why.

A bigger party shifts its position to compensate and the new entity gets trampled on. A recurring feature in the Irish political landscape. Despite all the sound and fury in here for the last while it seems this will be the poorest turnout since 1997 for a presidential election, maybe around 45%. This means 55% didn’t give a f**k at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

I think the person that we've learnt most about in this race is Higgins. Lied about going for a second term, having made that one of the flagpoles promises of his original campaign. Deliberately declared late as possible to make it impossible for anybody else to compete (in spite of having criticized a previous president for doing the same thing). Played fast and loose with his expenses (something he had criticised John O'Donoghue for). Hid away like a coward from as many debates as was feasible for him to do. Said he was independent while taking money from many parties. We've really got a measure of the man from his actions in the last while.

At least we can look forward to another Christmas message telling the poor and homeless how bad things are, while having a banquet served to him in front of a roaring fire. I mean, I used to think that Ray D'Arcy was Ireland's great hypocrite, but I really think that Higgins has surpassed even him at this stage.

anewme wrote: »
    It's the fact he spoke out.

It was oh no scandal ..you must resign.

Leo asked people not to vote fot him.

The message sent as others here have said is that no, we believe the situation has to change.

Getting the message out there.
    2% to 21% after being asked not to vote for him.

That shows his comments reflect public opinion and sentiment..

When you have people on welfare with a better lifestyle than those working, but you are not allowed to object, then it's a boiling pot going to bubble over.

That's what this is.

Statement against how things are.

Warning shot across the bow for the politicians.

I've taken the time to read all of your post.
    On one hand, it's "protest vote"- I get that.

I just don't understand the "on welfare with a better lifestyle than those working" comment.
    And more importantly, I don't think the current government will interpret the vote that way. I don't like any of the candidates BTW, including Higgins.

But I'd have voted for someone like the Sinn Fein/IRA candidate if I really wanted to protest.

Off to the leaba now.

May I say a big thanks to all who contributed to this thread.

We may not always agree, but there has been little madness to be fair.

Oiche Mhaith.

Ah com'on, stay up and fight :P