Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

Macdarack wrote: »
    I thought the media screwed Casey last weekend with "latest poll" news bulletins. It may have taken the wind out of his sails a little and certainly stopped the news of a massive rating boost by Casey in the space of a week. But why did most of the media outlets run the phoney poll story? And how was it across the board?

I think "the media" are far, far less influential than the paranoid Brexit-supporting, Trump-supporting eejits here - who are united by the extraordinary delusion that Trump/Brexit etc offer something better - give them credit for. People who believe this need to look up "confirmation bias" and the enormous amount of research done on the actual influence of the media.

Confirmation bias
    Confirmation bias, also called confirmatory bias or myside bias,[Note 1] is the tendency to search for, interpret, favor, and recall information in a way that confirms one's preexisting beliefs or hypotheses.[1] It is a type of cognitive bias and a systematic error of inductive reasoning. People display this bias when they gather or remember information selectively, or when they interpret it in a biased way. The effect is stronger for emotionally charged issues and for deeply entrenched beliefs. Confirmation bias is a variation of the more general tendency of apophenia...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

LOL. Getting stuck in to Martin Collins from Pavee Point... Brilliant stuff, cant believe that I'm hearing this on Newstalk after years of only hearing the one side.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

What should political parties do to respond to what Casey voters want? What policies? Roll back the €5 welfare increase?

Roll back on the last 3 budgets and give that money back to people who work would be a start.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,242 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Whatever party comes out with a cap on social welfare that a family is entitled to, gets my vote.

Better still if they grade it so that you have a higher limit if you have contributed to prsi for a minimum of five years. And go further with reduction for anyone with a criminal conviction of a crime that has a maximum sentence of 12 months or more.

This ensures anyone who is entitled to payments gets it, but those that play the system and cause trouble, cannot abuse it.

You're going to be disappointed I'm afraid. No party is going to come out with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,588 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

LOL. Getting stuck in to Martin Collins from Pavee Point... Brilliant stuff, cant believe that I'm hearing this on Newstalk after years of only hearing the one side.

What show? Who's getting stuck in?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,311 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

So far we have roll back the €5 social spending increase and the Christmas bonus. Not sure pensioners would be too happy about that. We have rural law and order, so what are the policies there? Relocate Guards from cities to rural locations? We also "have a discussion about travelers", OK discuss what exactly?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

NIMAN wrote: »
    What show? Who's getting stuck in?

Peter Casey on Newstalk with Pat Kenny. ;)

that battle axe Shinner Louise O'Reilly is in studio as well, be interesting to see what way they justify Ni Riada's flop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Don't forget the Xmas bonus!

Dont forget compensation culture and our self serving judicial system.

-€550,000 payout for some idiot who went Luas surfing. Stupidity is rewarded. Travellers are also notorious for this.

-People walking in and out of court with 150+ convictions and being rewarded with a life time of welfare. Solicitors milking the free legal aid applications each time.

Country is a joke which rewards moronic and thuggish behavior whilst hard working law abiding citizens are treated like nothing more than plebs.

It will reach a tipping point. Don't be surprised when people kick back.

Whatever party comes out with a cap on social welfare that a family is entitled to, gets my vote.

Better still if they grade it so that you have a higher limit if you have contributed to prsi for a minimum of five years. And go further with reduction for anyone with a criminal conviction of a crime that has a maximum sentence of 12 months or more.

This ensures anyone who is entitled to payments gets it, but those that play the system and cause trouble, cannot abuse it.

And how long before innocent children suffer from that ostensibly sound policy, and what do you do then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

And how long before innocent children suffer from that ostensibly sound policy, and what do you do then?
    Do you not think it’s the parents responsibility to worry about their innocent children? Are they concerned about shelter, food, clothes or an income when they’re expelling a child from their crotch every year? Don’t you think people should be allowed worry about themselves and their own families before taking on the responsibility of a child with two parents of its own?

ChikiChiki wrote: »

-€550,000 payout for some idiot who went Luas surfing. Stupidity is rewarded. Travellers are also notorious for this.

-People walking in and out of court with 150+ convictions and being rewarded with a life time of welfare. Solicitors milking the free legal aid applications each time.

Country is a joke which rewards moronic and thuggish behavior whilst hard working law abiding citizens are treated like nothing more than plebs.

Won't happen. As usual at local and general election time the cute hoor politician who can get your medical card sorted or the potholes filled will be elected.

I think we’ve reached it.

Peter Casey has opened the box and no matter how hard the establishment and the media try over the coming weeks, they won’t be able to close it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The whole won't someone think of the children argument?

Maybe start with their parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

dav3 wrote: »
    Well, as the sockpuppets and astroturfers drag themselves out of bed with tears streaming down their faces. It's important to remember that for those of you living in Ireland, the majority of people you talk to and interact with today voted for Michael D Higgins. 8 out of 10 people didn't vote for Casey.

The silent majority wins again.

In reality most of the people we interact with today couldn’t be bothered to vote at all.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Rennaws wrote: »

Peter Casey has opened the box and no matter how hard the establishment and the media try over the coming weeks, they won’t be able to close it again.

We haven't reached it. The presidential election will go away in a few weeks and all will be forgotten. But there will be another scandal or controversy. It will all be brought up again. Each time that happens, anger exponentially rises moreso than the event before.

I think in 5-10 years and another economic crash. FF and FG will be obliterated as the older generation and cute hoor politics die off.

Unless they start to make significant welfare reforms in the right direction and begin treat the biggest cohort of taxpayers with the respect they deserve. Because right now all they are is cash cows.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    You do realise you are being a bigot by categorising an entire group, in this case Casey voters, as a homogeneous group to be despised.
    It’s no wonder the left everywhere is crumbling.

How times have changed.
    20 years ago a man who stood up for workers rights and wages would have been seen as left wing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

The media dictating what we can talk about and what we can’t talk about . Glorified disc Jockeys ! !

Do you really believe that? Which party do you think is going to come out with sweeping welfare reforms for instance??

I think in 5-10 years and another economic crash. FF and FG will be obliterated as the older generation and cute hoor politics die off

I think a door has been opened though and there’s no coming back from this moment.

The mood has shifted.

I do agree though. The next crash will happen, we’ll all still be paying massive tax to support our welfare state and this time they’ll have no where to turn because the taxpayer has already been bled dry.

Interesting times ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭wetlandsboy

This may seem a strange thing to say, but Margaret Cash did the country a huge service. If there was a tipping point, it came when this ‘homeless’ criminal was lauded by the media and politicians as being some sort of ‘hero’. I think at that point people finally had enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,454 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Populist opinion is easy when you don't have to follow up on anything.

Saying that, the traveller debate definitely needs to happen by people who who can actually make a difference. Not the president who is basically a mascot.

This may seem a strange thing to say, but Margaret Cash did the country a huge service. If there was a tipping point, it came when this ‘homeless’ criminal was lauded by the media and politicians as being some sort of ‘hero’. I think at that point people finally had enough.

Is that why c.60% voted for Michael D?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,589 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Pavee pint already doing the shocked and appalled routine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

It’s an indication Irish politics is moving to thr right and indicating a large minority are hugely dissatisfied with the Government. The same movement is happening all over Europe.
    If Peter Casey had brought immigration into the race he would have got a huge vote from people living in urban areas with a large immigrant population. While the media wax lyrical and bring us micro stories about undocumented children the reality is immigrants are over represented in crime statistics too.There is no voice for people living in areas where large black gangs of teenagers roam, where entire schools have a black intake only because white children are travelling out of their area to school. The immigration system is a shambles but as with the travellers too many people are living off the fat of undocumented people so nothing will be done.
    If someone forms a right wing party they will get twenty per cent of the vote immediately, we only have to look at other European countries to see the future if our political leaders don’t take on the sacred cows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Punching down is always easier than punching up

tretorn wrote: »
    It’s an indication Irish politics is moving to thr right and indicating a large minority are hugely dissatisfied with the Government. The same movement is happening all over Europe.
    If Peter Casey had brought immigration into the race he would have got a huge vote from people living in urban areas with a large immigrant population. While the media wax lyrical and bring us micro stories about undocumented children the reality is immigrants are over represented in crime statistics too.There is no voice for people living in areas where large black gangs of teenagers roam, where entire schools have a black intake only because white children are travelling out of their area to school. The immigration system is a shambles but as with the travellers too many people are living off the fat of undocumented people so nothing will be done.
    If someone forms a right wing party they will get twenty per cent of the vote immediately, we only have to look at other European countries to see the future if our political leaders don’t take on the sacred cows.

A lot of hyperbole here I think.

A new right wing party to immediately get 20% of the electorate vote? :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭gaius c

tretorn wrote: »

Can you point us towards those statistics please?

Can you name the schools where the entire intake is black please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    A lot of hyperbole here I think.

A new right wing party to immediately get 20% of the electorate vote? :o

Renua and Libertas tried and failed

Try_harder wrote: »
    Renua and Libertas tried and failed

Irish people tend to stay in the middle. Left and right wing fanatics are largely ignored.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Try_harder wrote: »
    On Late Debate - @bridsmithTD talking about Casey’s Traveller nonsense. “Last year the entire budget for Traveller Accommodation was €12m - we gave the horse racing industry €67m”

Picking & choosing arguments.

How about the 80% of unemployed travellers on 188 a week (at minimum): 16,000 × 188 × 52 = €156.4m. I'd eat my hat if traveller tax returns amounted to 156m annually, they're not even paying for themselves before we count in the cost of providing housing, waste disposal, national infrastructure that we all use such as hospitals, roads etc.